Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow Let the Imam do the talking

Let the Imam do the talking PDF Print
Tuesday, 20 October 2009 01:14

If I write about Islam there will be many who will question my credentials to talk about the subject. They will ask me to ‘go learn more’, or go speak to the people in UIA, and they will demand to know what my references are and which ulama I am quoting. Today, I am not going to write anything about Islam. Instead, I am just going to copy pages of a book by Imam Abu Hamid Al-Ghazali with regards to Sultans, as translated by Dr Kamal El-Helbawy.

Comments (84)Add Comment
written by hakuna, October 20, 2009 01:42:59
Pete, thanks for posting this. You definitely put to shame all those who belittle you on your religious knowledge.
agree 263
written by JinJangJoe, October 20, 2009 01:55:00
UMNO, greed for power. The Sultans (not all), greed for money. Where do the Imams stand? The victims are the Rakyaat.Decide! Do the the right thing at the next G.E.
agree 259
written by verifunny, October 20, 2009 02:53:11
It's the right time/dimension to quote these paragraphs as it fits in perfectly.

To learn to see through the evil plots of evil ones.

I like the wise teachings of Imam Abu Hamid Al-Ghazali.

To live like a human being.
agree 134
written by Semut Jantan, October 20, 2009 03:50:46
Dear Abang RPK,

What would be Imam Abu Hamid Al-Ghazali's answer to this question -

"Do non-muslims go to heaven?"
written by Siebel, October 20, 2009 04:13:43
What an educational piece? Thanks, RPK.

This article should put the Imams and Kadis in Malaysia to shame.

The Muslims should wake up from their slumber now and face reality.
written by SBennit, October 20, 2009 04:57:44
This guy is not an Arab; so you got to take him seriously.
http://www.answers.com/topic/al-ghazali
written by johanssm, October 20, 2009 05:28:24
Dear RPK , The jawi , jais , mais , kais ,mawi ,kayu , mawas , kelab mamak , perkosa and etc will make another "repot polis " that you are insulting Islam and the satan .Ops sorry i mean the sultan.
Because you copied something that is written/printed in English.
written by wongnoball, October 20, 2009 05:42:19
I don't need to be Islam expert, I am not muslim and I don't read the Koran nor any of those who write and elaborate on the Koran.Yet I feel good for not wanting a stupid Datuk, wearing Songkok Adat to receive it from Sultan. No need to follow RPK band wagon to criticise Sultan.better spend effort resources.Sultan are like window shopping fashion.so called Myth guardian of Islam.now that all Myth have been exposed like the Ballon Boy from US for Media Publicity.we have to move on and make Malaysia better!The Joy of life is to do as the spirit within compels not submitting to the Fake, Hypocrisy, angkat & bodek ideology of Malaysia. Be the man or women God intended you to be without the influence of your surrounding.then you will sleep well.Meanwhile do your worst to disrupt the Murderous Regime of UMNO-BN.make no mistake.otherwise people seems to think Kugan, Teoh and lots of innocent death are part of life.just like the rate now in MALAYSIA.Fight we must!
written by educationist, October 20, 2009 06:29:25
Very interesting and enlightening abstrct indeed!
But here in bolehland, criticising the sultans is seditous[unless it's the UMNOputras who led the charge once upon a time in history]
And, so we have historical evidence, the sultans of old are as corrupt an influence as now.
written by Ghifarix, October 20, 2009 07:42:28
Our Sultans and Politicians have gone beyond redemption, they rubbish any religious advise especially when there is clear and overwhelming proof against them - The same warrning Allah warns of those in high places; In deed Allah verily revealed the truth.
written by sydput, October 20, 2009 08:16:52
I think, when it comes to seeking guidance, we should only ask God, not some religious scholar from UIA. However, only those who trust in God will do this. Those who seek guidance from religious scholars do not beleive in God.
written by DreamLady, October 20, 2009 08:25:10
Good morning!! my dear Raja Petra, thank you once again for your effort to enlighten us further. Muslims and non-Muslims alike should make it a point to understand the concept of Islam and its doctrine, at the same time make notes to compare other schools of thoughts from other sources as well. Overall it is beneficial to acquire whatever knowledge such as music, literature, marshall art, oil painting,sewing,foreign languages etc...so as to enrich our life and make it more colourful and vibrant!

Have a blessed day, my dear...
written by mikewang, October 20, 2009 08:44:30
wow .. shouting & chanting daulat tuanku is against the will of God.
This country may ban this book because of seditious content. javascript:void(0);
written by singam, October 20, 2009 08:50:35
Have our Constitutional Monarchs overstepped their bounds and thereby outlived their purpose? Does Allah have other plans for them? Will He call upon those who have truly submitted to His Will carry out His Purpose? Allah knows best.
written by biggun129, October 20, 2009 08:55:03
'The right person always do the right thing' and 'The wrong person always do the wrong thing', how many of us will take this Talking by the Iman, even though it is the 'Right thing' to do!The poor exchange their penny with faith, and the rich exchange their wealth with greed!
written by singam, October 20, 2009 08:56:46
Dear Semut Jantan, before answering your question, we first need to answer the question, Who is a Muslim?

Do we define Muslim based on his adherence to the stipulated rituals or do we recognise him by his submission to Allah's Will?

Before that, we have to answer the question, Who is Allah? Is he the deity of the people who proclaim themselves to be Muslims or is He the All-pervasive One to whom belong All Names?
written by karpi77, October 20, 2009 09:00:12
Dear YM Raja Petra,

that why UMNO government very hate you sir,finally rakyat will know the truth,may Allah bless you and family and give some hidayah and nur,amin
written by Beezee_Beezee, October 20, 2009 09:13:30
With barely 3 years towards the next GE13, we the rightful Malaysian should start to look at what needs to be done to ensure enough Malaysian to support the Opposition. For the BN they already admitted that what we told the people of the country were right. E.g 16/09/2009 is the MALAYSIA DAY and acknowledged by them. We was the one in BN disagreed earlier to this?....
So we shall not waste time and should look forward and move with integrity, respect and value.
Start with SABAH and SARAWAK which are the two deposit for BN.
PR should start to identify the right SABAHAN and SARAWAKIAN to establish the foundation for the Opposition before its' too Late. Let the PR State government take care of the state and the rest should start work..Just like our YM Datuk ZAID did to come to Sabah recently to show morale support to the people.
written by khongja, October 20, 2009 09:24:07
Hey! remember that idiotic iman that nearly caused a riot in Ipoh with his malicious lies about muslims being converted to christians?? He was even awarded datukship for this by good old sultan himself! Could you beat that ? And this hippocrits give islam a bad name!
written by hanisma, October 20, 2009 09:46:50
Very informative piece Bro Pete. Alas! How many Sultans, royalties, Umno/BN goons, Muslims and Malaysians read this? Please translate this wonderful piece to BM because those Muslims/Malays who 'spiking no Engrish' would not understand the contents. I would print the translated versions and pass them round to many of my Umno leeches and ball-lickers friends. I thank you.
written by 2edgedsword, October 20, 2009 09:50:06
Not agreeing to translate the Koran to other languages is to keep the masses ignorant and beholden to the religious leaders. This way, control and keeping the masses compliant is assured. The Catholic church did this decades ago, but under the auspices of Britain, the Bible was translated into English, and now, all Engllish literates can understand the Bible and criticize the church leaders' interpretation. So, it all about control by the leaders and their political cohorts to hold on to power for their own neferous purposes.
written by amoker, October 20, 2009 10:48:45
Oh, i am sure the goons will come in and say that this is sufi and shiite stuff and then put RPK in jail for being out of the line with the resk of Malaysian ulamak. Think it is funny that the Islam evengelist continue to quote the different denomination of Christian and Buddhism etc. and then claim that it is not an issue in Islam.
written by Kuku Burung, October 20, 2009 11:01:41
Well, Imam Abdul Hamid is just human. We, the sultans, especially in Malaysia, are above Imams. So don't listen to those imams that are not sanctioned by us. Besides we have all those other little sultans from united morons national organisation to back us up.
written by hellosunshine, October 20, 2009 12:13:27
Wow! This was observed 1500 years ago and is still applicable today in this modern day and age. Very enlightening on the evils of such people in their ivory castles.
written by arazak, October 20, 2009 12:19:35
“And whoever prays (to Allah) to lengthen their (the Sultans and their princes) lives is actually desiring that Allah be disobeyed in His land.”
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
There you go! I have told you guys (the Muslims) before. . ., turn your palms to the earth when the Khatib is doing the doa’ praising the Sultans and praying to lengthen their lives. After the Khatib had finished mumbo-jumboing ranting praying for the Sultans, turn your palms back to heaven if he prays for the Ummah (the masses, i.e. the people)!

Please do this on your next Friday prayers!
written by lakian, October 20, 2009 13:11:24
If not mistaken RPK must be one of the opostles sent by Prophet Muhmd to save this umno muslim and this boleh land.Allah will protect you RPK.
written by non conformist, October 20, 2009 13:44:21
The God of heaven says,
"Thy princes are rebellious, and companions of thieves:
every one loveth gifts, and followeth after rewards:
they judge not the fatherless, neither doth the cause of the widow come unto them."

And every one thought that a former Lord President, and a Harvard boy have some morality! Robbers and thieves they are, and true usurpers of the rights of the people, saith the Scriptures.

Ps 118
8 It is better to trust in the LORD than to put confidence in man.
9 It is better to trust in the LORD than to put confidence in princes.
written by ibat, October 20, 2009 14:28:36

This is a good approach although not necessary.. anybody can write about Islamic subjects if they provide references for the readers to refer. Imams have their detractors. Corroborating and opposing views are normal due to intepretations of the same Quranic verse of a hadith. Perhaps, RPK should include such corroborating or opposing views, IF ANY, together with Imam Ghazali's above. If there is none, you say there in none. You would know because it is clear that you are well read and have searched most if not all Islamic writings.

Whatever, I agree with Imam Ghazali.
written by Admiral Tojo, October 20, 2009 15:02:22
Notice the comments by Cabearth and Rock,
basically they are saying that they have books that nobody can understand, that they refer to, as guide. Then they decide for you who they say, are the only ones who can understand these guide books. What utter rubbish. Sounds like a lot of empty space between the ears.

No SULTANS in Quran as ALL MEN ARE CREATED EQUAL.As simple as that, for those who are enlightened.

written by AtanSian, October 20, 2009 15:19:16
I have nothing against constitutional monarchs.....until they and their children and relatives start to pretend that they have divine guidance and right to take a disproportionate share of the rakyat's money, and to mis-spend it on mansions, multiple young wives, luxury cars, and foreign travel so that they can misbehave away from the eyes of the Malaysian people.
Sadly, most of them are doing so nowadays.
written by Super Admin, October 20, 2009 15:25:40
Dear cabearth, what do you mean my NEW approach? This has ALWAYS been my approach. Only that I did not cut-and-paste the source before. But that does mean it satisfies people like Rock. He does not agree to me cutting and pasting the relevant pages. He wants me to publish the whole book here. But when you quote from the Quran don't you cut-and-paste just that ayat/verse and not the entire Quran?

You see, whatever I do can never be right. That is the crux of the matter.

RPK
written by sampalee, October 20, 2009 15:26:43
The message and knowledge of TRUTH comes from Tuhan.The Truth is not worldly or secular knowledge.It is what lay cliam on the existence of ahirat and the realm of heaven and hell.Truth cannot be objectified as it is spiritual in nature and is beyond time as it is the LIGHT of awareness.Enstein theory of relativity states that any observer travelling at the speed of light bring time to a standstill[time stops in timelessness]
The hindus celebating dDeepavali is reminding mankind about this ONE light that is AWARE of all kinds of possible light seen or detacted.

RPK,you are gifted with the skill and wisdom to articulate GOD's Truth and if you stop,because of your credential,you have failed Tuhan.Allah would not have chosen Rasullah to reveal the Qu'ran as Prophet Mohammad was illiterate,if credential must be the deciding factor.
written by Super Admin, October 20, 2009 15:36:04
Dear Rock, so you do admit that there are differences in interpretation and opinions, even amongst imams/scholars, which means when I write what is a variant from your opinion it is not 'bad things' or 'lies'. Or are you saying Islam does not entitle me to a different opinion when the Prophet Muhammad said: "differences of opinion among my people is a sign of the bounty of God"?

Hmm....maybe it is not me after all who needs to 'go read more'.

RPK
written by Steven Ong, October 20, 2009 15:42:12
But then this imam practices Sufism and not Sunni Islam. So to them the Sunni, he is not a Muslim. So this revelation is not relevant. To some they are the true Muslims of God and others are misguided souls bound for hell fire.
RPK, the more you try to reveal the truth, the more their hearts harden and their ears deft. Sometimes I wonder what makes a man blind to the facts and truth. If not evil then what is it? As many murderers have said ,' The devil made me do it'. How true when one think of it. No other explanation seem able to solve this foolishness.
written by Super Admin, October 20, 2009 15:52:05
Dear ibat, all you need to do is refer to Iran's, Iraq's, Afghanistan's, Pakistan's, India's (yes, India), Saudi Arabia's, Sudan's, Indonesia's, Malaysia's, Turkey's, UK's (yes, UK), etc., Shariah laws and you will see the differences. Some use the Maliki interpretation, some Hanbali, some Shafiee, some a combination of all, some with French, British, Roman or Greek laws added to them, and so on.

So there is no 'fixed' or 'standard' interpretation. Oh, and the UK has more Shariah courts than Malaysia. And India, which uses British laws, allows the Muslims to be bound by Shariah laws on matters other than criminal issues (which comes under Hudud), which they will use British criminal laws.

RPK
written by hellosunshine, October 20, 2009 16:33:50
'teachings in the forms of wahyu (revelation)by Gibrail to Prophet Muhammad. THan he (Prophet Muhammad) taught and passed them down to opostles, then to the followers, generation to generation until now' - Rock, I cut and paste here.

Sigh! If only we had cut and paste then and not orally pass down from generations to generations, we wouldn't have these controversies now. smilies/wink.gif
written by Abajawi, October 20, 2009 17:02:45
Ihya Ulumuddin has been translated to Bahasa Indonesia. It is quite readable even if read by Malaysians, as B.I. is very close to B.M. Our local ulamaks are too lazy to translate the work into BM and so they rely on the BI translation.
written by Michael Sun, October 20, 2009 17:51:05
A lady colleague once commented.
"Money is the root of all evil but a source of many pleasures"

The bible says, "The LOVE of money is the root of all evil"

All men are born equal but some are more equal than others.

That's the real world out there
written by 1351, October 20, 2009 18:01:10
"Allah has decided that the Islamic knowledge to be taught and practised through men/women who had the knowledge (ulama) and ulama are inherritance (knowledge) of prophet" - this according to Rock.

Somehow this statement sounds divisive instead of the all encompassing, no compulsion goodness that Islam preaches. What is contained in the Quran is often tweaked to suit by individuals who profess to be more an authority than the next person.

The statement above is just as irresponsible as the Pope, in a recent decree, coming out to say that "Mass" should be conducted in Latin over other languages. Apparently, there is more currency/blessing but in actual fact, it is a decree that protects the Vatican in its monopoly over its flock.

Most of us would have read Raja Petra's posting about affairs in the royal household in Perak and I'm certain this has caused mayhem within the four walls of the Istana. It's been over 24 hours and still no rebut, denial or worst, a suit against Raja Petra.

I doubt Perak will defend the 'facts' as laid out but instead go directly to have Raja Petra ISA'ed like how UMNO tries to muffle our good host.

Today, we know why Perak fell and the unsavory business between UMNO and the Istana but it is also not lost on us how the ex-Lord President has orchestrated moves to have Nazrin inherit the throne, an undertaking that is much against hereditary practice(adat).

If not for acts of deceit against Nizar's 'Pakatan' government, the many statements coming out from Nazrin would be better received instead of the public paying scant regard.

Looking back 2-3 years, it is clear the Sultan is grooming the son to assume his role in the future. Also not lost on us that Nazrin found himself a bride not too long ago to complete the showcase. Prior to that day, there was a missing link but let's not read too much into the affairs coming out of the royal household but pay caution to the winds nevertheless - lock up both son's and daughter's - just in case key suspect swing both ways and the marriage, a sham just to placate criteria to inherit the throne near future.

Take care all.
written by Semut Jantan, October 20, 2009 20:03:06
Dear Singam,

From a "good" muslim point of view, could "good" non-muslims (like adherants of other religions) go to heaven?

Yes or no? (don't have to go into technicals).
written by SBennit, October 20, 2009 20:38:55
Steven Ong.....I think its actually a mixture of sufism and sunnism.... if I ever need or must pick a religion (i.e if somebody puts a gun to my head).....I'd pick sufism or maybe sikhism.....sufism is pretty cool....they teach a lot of peace and love, kinda christian stuff (christians teach and preach, but dont practice).....its gaining some revival in malaysia...some prominent people in malaysia who sort of think they believe they are following sufism are Anwar and Pah Lah.

This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it
written by singam, October 20, 2009 21:23:40
Dear Semut Jantan, I have not gone through any conversion ceremony nor do I follow any of the rituals of Islam, so I am certainly not qualified to answer your question.

I have met people whom I think of as "good Muslims" who are sad for me because they believe I will not go to heaven no matter how much good I do. And I have met people who I believe are just as Muslim as any other but who can understand why good people of other religions may also be acceptable to Allah.

Remember, Qur'an says that all peoples have received Messengers from Allah and that some of these Messengers are not known to Muhammad. So if Rama and Krishna and Buddha and all are also Messengers of Allah and the followers of these Messengers submit to the Will of Allah, will Allah find them acceptable in His eyes?

I think so. But you'll have to ask those who wear the label "Muslim". Many of them are likely to disagree.

Wassalaam.
written by Semut Jantan, October 20, 2009 21:32:21
Dear Singam,

Thank you for your opinion. Anyone else? Abang RPK please?

I like short answers, Yes or No.
written by ibat, October 20, 2009 21:57:32
Singam, Semut Jantan,

Who goes to heaven or hell is by Allah's pleasure and within the knowledge of Allah only. No human can determine in this world who's going where after death.
written by Semut Jantan, October 20, 2009 22:24:12
Dear Ibat,

Agreed. It is Allah's perogative.

Why on earth would people do body-snatching, religious coersion, blesphemising other religions (spitting out something in the church), etc.? Apparently these group of people do not think it is Allah's perogative; and the majority of the Malaysian populations are in this category. That is where Malaysia has gone wrong.

This is why we need a real person, a scholar, a respected individual to teach the majority of this country a HARD CORE LESSON.

The bottom line -- COULD NON-MUSLIMS GO TO HEAVEN?

If yes, let us live harmoniously in Malaysia in this life; to be continued in heaven, also harmoniously.

If no, let us live harmoniously in Malaysia in this life, heaven is less crowded when you get there, enjoy.
written by anakmalaysia777, October 20, 2009 22:33:10
Does the Holy Quran explain why human beings are born on this earth? In what way does it enrich God or any other entity?

Why is the Sultan in each state appointed as the Head of the Islamic religion? They are not the descendants of the Prophet. They are not necessarily highly educated in the religion (some did not even pass SPM)and are not known to be strict followers of the religion; otherwise we will not hear about whisky and Chivas Regal in the palaces. If the Sultans are indeed that knowledgeable about the religion, then why is there a need for a State Mufti. If the State Mufti and not the Sultan is the real expert in the religion, then why is the Mufti not the head of the religion.

If it is verily believed that every human is to meet god on judgement day to be rewarded for the good deeds and punished for the bad deeds, why are people in a rush to find people guilty of wrong doing and punish them in the name of religion. Are these jurists, who interpret religion, as infallible as god and are incapable of making a wrong finding of guilt and assessing an unjustified punishment. And will god punish a person who has already been punished by other human beings for purported wrong doing. If so, would this not be manifestly unjust? Or are people just using the good name of Islam to maintain the pre-Islamic tribal culture and maintain some order in society.

written by SamBall, October 20, 2009 22:38:19
Halo, heaven can wait.

First there are many types of heaven: one each for Muslim, Christian, Hindu etc.. Also got syurga for Melayu etc.. So there are many heavens and many "Gods".

Choose la which one you like; why worry about others? aiya, only on earth got this problem, like hell...
written by Admiral Tojo, October 20, 2009 23:02:26
Rock,
Ulama, plural for Alimin, those who reflect, analyse, implore and not accept anything that they cannot verify.

Who does the above describe, Einstein, Stephen Hawkins or Harunsainy - the mufti man of Perak?

See, a simple mistake will lead you astray, into thinking GOD is Arab.

written by Fart Fart Wah, October 21, 2009 00:42:26
No Imam or Ulama or no quoting of any holy book is going to change our UMOONO cows.
They are mooing with too much money. And money talks. YOu can even elect a corrupt leader back. 16 million Malays and you cannot find one clean Malay to stand for election???See..money talks...
written by batsman, October 21, 2009 08:01:02
Dear Rock, forgive me for interfering, but i have a problem with what you say. If one cannot interpret the Quran or hadiths without proper knowledge and credentials, would it mean that most are following the Faith blindly? Without real understanding? Does it not then become a faith of the imams only - a monopoly? Something not for the masses but for knowledgeable people only? Does this not expose the commoner to false ideas and teachings as well as manipulation for bad motives?
written by TwilightYears, October 21, 2009 09:05:28
In Aj Arberry's translation of "Discourses of Rumi", it was reported, and let me quote "The Prophet, on whom be peace, said: The worst of scholars is he who visits princes, and the best of princes is he who visits scholars". And later in the same para, "Their meaning is rather this: that the worst of scholars is he who accepts help from princes, and whose welfare and salvation is dependent upon and stems from the fear of princes. " (Chapter one; page 13 - 1961 edition)
written by temenggong, October 21, 2009 09:55:05
Why is this fixation about going to heaven? There is no such concept in Hinduism, Buddhism and Taoism. There is a 'waiting area' though. Whatever is within the time-space continuum eventually collapses. This is pure logic. Therefore, there is no such heaven (which would have collapsed). There is only transcendence of time-space, which is beyond mind and matter. So again, there is no heaven! If 'heaven' is beyond time-space, then you can say nothing about it, as to you it does not empirically exist. Again this is irrefutable logic.

I've said before that most religious ideas are redundant. People should truly learn logic and philosophy, and see the redundance of religion, which are mostly superstitions and grandmothers tales. It's like talking about the Atomic theory when we have already developed quantum Physics.
written by Steven Ong, October 21, 2009 10:38:46
You said here that the crux of the matter is that whatever you do cannot be right? Then why are you and many without ceasing trying to tell the UMNO Muslims specifically ? Even Cutting and pasting is not right, even if we quote a well known and learned imam, cannot be right. Then what is right? The facts is that few loves the truth. All they want is to dominate others for whatever reasons only evil can explained it. God is love and He wants all to be free. If we dominate others, then we cant be free as our mind and effort are poured into this action. That is all about human rights. All must be free to believe and live as one desire without hurting or dominating others. Let God be the Lord and Judge. The Sultans can be the rulers and guardians, but if the laws are flawed,unjust, discriminating, then they becomes defenders of the wrongs and evil.
written by A MI, October 21, 2009 12:32:22
And whoever prays[to Allah] to lengthen their lives...

I have been often been uncomfortable with this. In fact there are little napoleons like directors who get the staff in-charge of Islamic affairs to include this phrase" to lengthen their lives during Doas at opening ceremonies etc...

BTW why should we pray for Sultans who threw out legitimate governments just to safeguard their own selfish interests
written by singam, October 21, 2009 18:41:19
Dear Temenggong,

You may be among the few gifted with understanding of quantum and relativistic physics. But when someone asks a simple question about mass and motion, would you not use Newtonian equations to explain? Do you attract students into grasping principles of advanced physics by throwing unfamiliar concepts at them? Or would you first engage them at a level they already relate to?

BTW high energy physicists at the LHC project are in search of the God Particle. What does that tell you about what we know?
written by temenggong, October 21, 2009 20:56:30
Singam, I got your point.

I've been following CERN developments for years now. Let's see if LHC goes back in time and crashes again. Then we know!
written by singam, October 21, 2009 22:41:30
Dear Temenggong... anbE sivam. aNuvaiyum anbaal iNaikkum sivam. The Holy Spirit!
written by kawaafi, October 22, 2009 00:57:41
Salam Singam, Ibat and Semut Jantan..

Will the good non Muslim today go to hell? the answer is yes. am not happy or proud to say this. it does not make any non muslim a lesser man or women. the good non muslim must received all the awards, datukship and respects which they fully deserve in this world.
By saying 'yes', the good non muslim will go to hell, will not make me a better person or i will get any rewards from Allah swt or ensuring me of a straight path to heaven. No.
It is not me who made up the decision. But that is what Allah swt had promised. If you submit yourself to Allah swt and His Prophet pbuh you will go to Heaven, and if you are not, you will go to hell. Does not not matter how ever good you are.. unfortunately.
written by Davy McChester, October 22, 2009 01:12:14
Any doctrine that suppresses freedom of basic human logic and freedom to voice that logic will not be able to keep up with intellectual progress. Proponents have to rely on other than their own religion ,and may also have to be in infidel land to explore their own God -given intelligence. Otherwise,they may also lose their head like what happened to the this smart imam
written by kawaafi, October 22, 2009 01:19:40
Please present your basic human logic, in MT everybody is free to express their logic..
written by Proarte, October 22, 2009 04:13:19
But the state constitutions define the Sultans as defenders of the faith Islam. All the Islamic agencies in the State come under the purview of the Sultan.

So macam mana? Mana boleh kita ikut puak Sufi macam Ghazali? Kita di Malaysia Islam Sunni macam Arab di Saudi, tempat lahir Rasul Allah. Sultan di Saudi pun menjadi 'pelindung' ugama Islam. Ini sudah ditakdirkan oleh Allah Subhana Wa Tala. Jangan kita terpesong dengan ajaran sesat Sufi ini. ( Thoughts of Harussani perhaps? - UMNO and Sultan of Perak's Imam smilies/grin.gif)
written by singam, October 22, 2009 07:09:42
Dear kawaafi, you have not addressed the points I raised on October 20, 2009 at 21:23:40.

Please read Surah 35:24, Surah 16:36 and Surah 4:164 of Qur'an and explain to us what you understand of them in the context of what I have mentioned above.

Allah (SWT) does not speak to mankind in riddles. The riddles are created by earthbound interpreters of Qur'an. Allah (SWT) gave Qur'an to mankind for mankind to read an understand, not for mankind to abdicate their responsibility.

If the ulama who taught you was wrong, that excuse will not be accepted upon Judgement Day. He cannot stand on your behalf and accept the blame for your having gone wrong. Only you are responsible for what you choose to believe and what you choose to do.

Allah (SWT) is not the deity of an Arab religion. He is the all-pervasive One who has spoken to all of mankind through His Messengers.

Allah (SWT) does not require man to worship Him. He only requires that man serve (solaa) Him. How doe one serve the All-pervasive One? By serving all of creation, by living in harmony with the entire world.

How does one submit to the Will of Allah (SWT)? By suppressing his own ego and accepting with equanimity whatsoever befalls.

Wassalaam.
written by kawaafi, October 22, 2009 13:01:39
Sakam Singam..

35:24 Verily We have sent thee in truth, as a bearer of glad tidings, and as a warner: and there never was a people, without a warner having lived among them (in the past)

16:36 For We assuredly sent amongst every People an apostle, (with the Command), "Serve Allah, and eschew Evil": of the People were some whom Allah guided, and some on whom error became inevitably (established). So travel through the earth, and see what was the end of those who denied (the Truth)

4:164 Of some apostles We have already told thee the story; of others We have not;- and to Moses Allah spoke direct;-
written by kawaafi, October 22, 2009 13:03:47
Salam Singam.. (it shoulld be Salam above, sorry..smilies/smiley.gif)

All of the verses reveal the understanding that Allah swt had sent HIS warner, apostle and messenger to all people. But all come to close and end with Prophet Muhammad pbuh and declaration of Islam as the religion approved by Allah swt. After prophet Muhammad pbuh, no more apostle is send to no more people. But at the same time Allah swt had allowed the Quran to be compiled and Sunnah had become well documented. Then there will be a group of people and an ulama who will follow the footsteps of the prophet to call for good (ma’aruf) and forbid the bad (mungkar)

That is why in my comment I stress the word TODAY. What happen in the past we never know, may be it is correct if somebody may say Buddha is a prophet etc etc. It does not really matter.. because TODAY, everybody must accept Prophet Muhammad pbuh as prophet of Allah swt. And accept Islam as religion of Allah swt. to be accepted into Allah swt heaven. IF YOU CHOOSE TO DO SO, no compulsion..
written by kawaafi, October 22, 2009 13:05:36
Salam Singam,

We have a couple of issues. 1) there are people who had not heard about Islam at all, or met any Muslim in their life. Like in the jungle of Amazon or some other remote area in the world. For these people I believe Allah swt will spare them and the verses above may apply to them. But still there will be no apostle of Allah swt.

2) the rest of the world who had heard about Islam and met Muslims. Unfortunately many Muslim had not done a good job as RPK had been mumbling all this while. I believe Allah swt will punish us for that and punish us bad..
But as you said. “ If the ulama who taught you was wrong, that excuse will not be accepted upon Judgement Day.” The same thing also apply to the bad examples we Muslim had shown you as an excuse why you do not become a Muslim. You are responsible for your own fate.

I always say Islam does not belongs to the Malay, to umno, to Nik Aziz, to RPK or to me. Worst when people used Islam to control others. Granted they will be punished badly by Allah swt. and to hell with them all. But that did not release you from the responsibility to seek for the truth. Nobody is forcing you into the religion or away from it. It is your very own choice. To learn about islam from the vast resources of knowledge available for you TODAY, and I may add in Malaysia..
written by temenggong, October 22, 2009 13:13:01
According to the muslim tradition, Mohammed may be the last rasul (messenger) - with a message, but that does NOT mean he is the last prophet (nabi), or there is a cap on the prophets. We cannot just simplify things. There can be any number of Nabis since then although they may NOT have a new message.

Because of this simple misunderstanding new muslim sects have arisen.
written by kawaafi, October 22, 2009 13:13:11
Salam Singam,

5:3 ...This day have I perfected your religion for you, completed My favour upon you, and have chosen for you Islam as your religion. But if any is forced by hunger, with no inclination to transgression, Allah is indeed Oft-forgiving, Most Merciful.
written by singam, October 22, 2009 13:21:54
Dear Kawaafi, thank you for your very clear responses.

Islam does not belong to the Malays or the Arabs. Islam does not belong to UMNO or PAS. Islam does not belong to Sunni or Shia. Islam is for all time and belongs to all people who believe.

A Muslim is anyone who submits before Allah (SWT) and serves with humility.

Allah (SWT) revealed His message to all peoples in many languages. If the devout calls upon Him in any of the Names By which He has been known, he will surely answer. One should not be restricted to using the Arabic language to call upon Allah (SWT).

You can see for yourself many who claim to follow Prophet Muhammad (SAW) but have actually already fallen by the wayside. Thus it was with the followers of all of the apostles. But just as there are followers of Muhammad (SAW) who still hold to the true path, there are also followers of other apostles who have found and hold to the true path.

Finally it is up to Allah to decide who has truly submitted and who is still moved by his own ego.

wassalaam.
written by kawaafi, October 22, 2009 14:29:06
Salam Singam,

Am sorry if in my explanation, I had boasted my ego upon you. Perhaps you can explain why you always end your posting with ...by his own ego??

You said.. But just as there are followers of Muhammad (SAW) who still hold to the true path, there are also followers of other apostles who have found and hold to the true path.

But according to Allah swt, all other apostles teaching had been nullified with prophet Muhammad pbuh as the last prophet. There are 4 books that islam had qualified as word of Allah swt. Even that also being nullified except Quran.

May Allah guide us all
written by Admiral Tojo, October 22, 2009 15:02:27
Kawaafi,
may I interject here. The Arabs have confused you. For the truth about Islam the deen rather than the Arab religion do visit aididsafar.com or mentalbondageinthenameofgod.*********.com

written by singam, October 22, 2009 20:45:47
Dear Kawaati, thank you for engaging me in civil discussion. It is through discussion that one gets the opportunity to discover alternative perspectives.

You asked, Perhaps you can explain why you always end your posting with ...by his own ego?? . Actually I only did that once. But I did mention ego a number of times. This is because ego is the main obstacle to submission. Pride of knowledge blocks new understanding. Humility is necessary to reach even the feet of God.

I did not at any time suggest that you have boasted your ego on me. I appreciate your sincerity and I respect your belief. If this discussion brings us closer to understanding each other, that is the Will of Allah. If we still find ourselves not agreeing, then let us just agree to disagree and wish each other well.

I will be grateful if you can point to me where in Qur'an Allah teaches that all of His previous revelations were nullified. My understanding is as follows...

Each time an apostle of God comes unto mankind to reveal the truth, some listen and understand and obey. But many others follow their own path and end up lost. Sadly, this is also true of the most recent revelation that reached us through Prophet Muhammad (SAW). Qur'an teaches the truth. But many who claim to be Muslim are no longer following the path prescribed to them by Allah.

In fact, even the meaning of the word Muslim has been distorted. Muslim is anyone who submits to Allah. This was as true with Messengers such as Rama, Krishna, Buddha and all others as it is with the most recent messenger, Muhammad. One can call upon Allah in any language. It is still the same One God. In the Arab language, one who submits is called Muslim. In another language, the name may be different, but the meaning remains the same. All who submit, by whatever name they call upon Allah, they are Muslim.

Qur'an, and only Qur'an, makes the message clear and removes distortions added by those who strayed from the path. Anything that was added after Qur'an cannot be taken as authority. Even with Qur'an, it is possible that the translations authorised by the Arabs may already have distorted the message. If this is true, then again, we are lost.

But some fundamental messages from Allah shine through and remain unchanged - uphold righteousness and oppose evil; serve Allah by serving all of His creation; rejoice in the knowledge that Allah is Compassionate and Merciful. If we have learned these lessons, then perhaps we are not lost.

Peace be unto you.
written by slimbrowser, October 23, 2009 00:57:45
written by temenggong, October 22, 2009 13:13:01

According to the muslim tradition, Mohammed may be the last rasul (messenger) - with a message, but that does NOT mean he is the last prophet (nabi), or there is a cap on the prophets. We cannot just simplify things. There can be any number of Nabis since then although they may NOT have a new message.

Because of this simple misunderstanding new muslim sects have arisen.

I couldn't agree with your more. I chuckled when I read this and remembered about a certain prophet called The Malay Prophet who is in jail now.

Imagine.. A Muslim Malay Prophet under detention. Most probably under ISA. He.. he...he...heee LOL
written by kawaafi, October 23, 2009 15:44:31
Salam Singam..

First of all, Allah swt take the reponsibility upon HIMSELF to protect the Quran. Through HIS will, many times, such an effort to change the Quran and have a misled content had failed. There will always be only one Quran and not 2 or 3..

I will need to work on the verses nullifying the other books and teaching.. please give me sometimes. will get back to you..

wassalam
written by CatV5, October 24, 2009 02:00:07
For those who wants to know further about heaven go study out of body experience, astral projection, afterlife, past live regression, near death experience and consciousness... these guys are studying these realm beyond our world.

From my understanding everybody will get their own heaven because that place exists and will cater for everyone (even sex maniacs!)... and if they become lost or confused there will always be guides that will help if you willing to listen....

There you will always be matched with other spirits similar like you eternally... like will attracts like without restriction. conservative muslims will be attracted with conservative muslims, hindus with hindus, buddhist with buddshist and so on until they feels they had enough they will decide where they want to go after that (maybe reincarnating here or other physical realities)... those who are open minded enough may see the bigger picture while those who are not ready may stay there seeing their tiny picture until they are ready... we have to learn to open our perception further than what has been outlined by religion... it's just a guide or training wheel that gives us clues... to further evolve your consciousness one must be open and loving enough to perceive that higher vibration and be ready to let go old beliefs for the next transition.

Nobody will judge you.. you judge yourself (unless you choose to let others to judge you)... that's free will in an essence...

You have 3 fundamental choices
- Evolve and gain more new experiences, discoveries and new realities.
- Stasis and reuse old dogmas, talking and doing the same thing again and again and keep recycling until you eventually evolve or devolve.
- Devolve that will lead to your self destruct due to extreme close mindedness.

be aware of these pattern..

Cheers..
written by CatV5, October 24, 2009 02:21:48
oh yeah... those conservatives may not find their idolized prophet or god there... because it's just illogical for them to see their prophet due to extreme doubts within them instead they may build their own statues, mosque, mecca, church, temple, jerusalem or anything that satisfies them within their own little heaven. No prophet to guide them other then their own mullahs, samis and priests which they always do in their previous life that is subconsciously their choice... also loved ones may be attracted together regardless of their beliefs because love precedes all... God is fairly fair... heaven is indeed for everyone.
written by CatV5, October 24, 2009 02:37:03
If we learn not to pursue materialistic heaven... then we may want to pursue inner peace.. which is void and pure nothingness... what will we attract in the afterlife i wonder... or maybe practice love without any conditions attached (i.e "if you don't love me i won't love you back" kinda conditional love). what would we attract... *hint *hint... smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by CatV5, October 24, 2009 02:50:41
as for hell who wants to go there? for these conservative muslims little heaven they may see those kafirs rotting in hell asking for help exactly as depicted from their own little book because they can only relate from that... while those christians may see those infidels rotting in hell... while they laugh in joy drinking their wine... that's heaven.. what you want to see is what you get... no more no less...
written by kawaafi, October 25, 2009 07:50:07
Salam Singam..

Here some verses in Surah Muhammad.

47:32 Those who reject Allah, hinder (men) from the Path of Allah, and resist the Apostle(Muhammad), after Guidance has been clearly shown to them, will not injure Allah in the least, but He will make their deeds of no effect.
47:33 O ye who believe! Obey Allah, and obey the apostle(Muhammad), and make not vain your deeds!
47:34 Those who reject Allah, and hinder (men) from the Path of Allah, then die rejecting Allah,- Allah will not forgive them.

I think one of the major point here is how come a bad Muslim can go to heaven while the good non Muslim can not..? coz you keep mentioning about many Muslim had been deviated from the true teaching of prophet Muhammad pbuh.. etc etc.

But as I mention b4, the bad ones will always be there. But that is not an excuse for you from accepting Islam.
written by singam, October 25, 2009 23:36:31
Dear Kawaafi, I fear we may have arrived at the point where we will have to agree to disagree and go our separate ways. I read the same Surah as you and see a different message.

Qur'an teaches us not to reject Allah, to obey Allah and the apostle. I agree. But Qur'an does not say all previous apostles have been nullified. That is the crux of what I am saying. All the previous apostles, including those not known to Muhammad, teach us the same thing. But in each case, only some followers remained true. The rest went astray. Similarly, with those who follow Muhammad, there are those who remain true but many have already gone astray.

It is not our business to care about those who have gone astray. They are for Allah to deal with. What I want to address is those who remain faithful to the Almighty (by whatever name He is called)... and I want to bring them together in brotherhood. I believe that is what Allah would want of us.

The vedas teach us that, in this Kali Yuga, for the masses, the easiest path to God is the path of bhakthi - to submit in humility and devotion to God. In sanskrit, the devotee is called a bhaktha. In Arabic, he is called a Muslim. The path of the Muslim is called Islam. Islam is not a new path or a new religion. It is as ancient as mankind himself. The word Islam is simply the most recent name, in the Arabic language.

Qur'an, being a revelation for the Kali Yuga, appears to only teach the path of devotion. But the other paths remain available for those, such as CatV5, who would preer to traverse them. For the masses, bhakthi (or islam) remains the most effective path.

Peace and love.

Singam.
written by singam, October 25, 2009 23:39:23
Correction. The last paragraph should read as follows...

Qur'an, being a revelation for the Kali Yuga, appears to only teach the path of devotion. But the other paths remain available for those, such as CatV5, who would prefer to traverse them. For the masses, bhakthi (or islam) remains the most effective path.

Wassalaam.
written by CatV5, October 26, 2009 11:18:08
kawaafi
First of all, Allah swt take the reponsibility upon HIMSELF to protect the Quran. Through HIS will, many times, such an effort to change the Quran and have a misled content had failed. There will always be only one Quran and not 2 or 3..

There is indeed only one Quran... but why are there many many many translations and interpretations? It seems like it's not one after all. If it is truly one then all Muslim can only have one Quran interpretation no more debates and bloodshed among them. I wonder if you see through that illusion?

One here is just the object... which is the written Arabic words.... it still remain subjective interpretation of the many just like the bible (probably the Vedas Singam?).. but in a different disguise. Muslims blame the Christians for not holding the originals words so they think they are better than Christians. And rejects bible totally just because of that reason without further investigation. Christians thinks Muhammad is the false prophets in which all of his teaching is false and declare it a lie by some contradicted verses. See the illusion there? It's all about allowing the ego (or should i say satan?) to play your mind... It has the capability to blind us... that is i'm sure about.

Ego it self has it's own purpose.. as deceiving and tricky as it looks, it does serve it's function to help us become wiser and offers more experiential possibilities through segregation.. or the other side of the coin, blind us from seeing through the illusion by letting it overwhelm us without check and balance. The ego is shy actually.. once u get to know 'em it just melts... hehe... smilies/grin.gif