Home arrow The Blogs arrow The Corridors of Power arrow The trouble is, they don’t listen

The trouble is, they don’t listen PDF Print
Saturday, 17 October 2009 16:30

I wish Zaid good luck. I agree that the opposition needs a major overhaul. But I am not sure that the existing party structures and cultures would allow him to do what he wants to do. Would PKR, DAP and PAS agree to be ‘put to sleep’ so that a true Pakatan Rakyat can emerge in its place?

On 13 October 2009, I republished a nine-year old article called ‘Sanggang - the BA’s wakeup call’, which was first published in Harakah on 1 April 2000. Harakah is the party newspaper for PAS, the Islamic Party of Malaysia.

On 26 November 2001, I wrote an article called ‘KeADILan’s true colours revealed - which is a shade of Umno’. What I wrote then could be regarded as quite tame compared to how I normally whack. Anyway, let’s see whether what I wrote eight years ago is still relevant. You can read the piece below.

I remember having dinner with Zaid Ibrahim and a group of friends from various civil society movements some time back. At that time he was still in Umno and not yet made a minister.

I spoke to Zaid about the possibility of him leaving Umno and, together with a group of, say, 10 or 20 Malay academicians and intellectuals, joining DAP. My wife and those from the civil society movements agreed and thought it was a good idea.

“Why DAP?” he asked. “I would have thought you would ask me to join PKR.”

“Not PKR,” I replied. “DAP. PKR is a Malay-based party so you and the 10 or 20 other Malays would just be more Malays amongst so many Malays. I think you should join DAP. DAP is perceived as a Chinese party. As much as DAP tries to shed its Chinese image it is not easy. So, if a group of 10 or 20 Malay intellectuals led by you join DAP, then you might be able to help DAP change its image from a Chinese party to a more multi-racial party. In fact, we should not even be using the term ‘multi-racial party’. We should use the term ‘non-race-based party’. Multi-racial is still racial, only that it is multi-racial. Non-race-based would be more what we would like to see.”

Zaid just smiled and said nothing. Was that a yes or was that a no?

“Anyway, you don’t have to say yes or no tonight,” I added. “Sleep on it. Take a few nights to sleep on it. Then come back in a few days and say yes.”

Zaid laughed and asked what role he could play in DAP. He did not see the logic of him leading a group of 10 or 20 Malay intellectuals to join DAP other than to make up the numbers and help give DAP a more ‘Malaysian’ image.

I stressed that DAP and PAS are the more difficult of the three in the opposition coalition. PKR is sort of in the middle, balancing the two. But it is a delicate balancing act. Ultimately, PKR can’t keep playing the role of ‘fence’ or ‘barrier’ whose only function is to keep DAP and PAS from going for each other’s throats.

Granted, thus far PKR has been able to keep DAP and PAS on opposite sides of the PKR ‘fence’. But in the end we must find a solution where DAP and PAS can meet in the middle and share a common platform. For this to happen both DAP and PAS must sacrifice some ground. It can’t be either PAS’s way or DAP’s way. It has to be a compromise. And I believe if DAP can be seen as less Chinese then we can convince the PAS people that DAP is not the enemy of Islam as some may be thinking. After all, DAP too now has Malays in the party, although liberal or intellectual Malays at that.

Imagine my surprise and disappointment a few days later when it was announced that Zaid had been made a minister. When we met even Zaid did not know yet he was going to be made a minister. He too was surprised. “Sheesh,” I told my wife. “There goes our plan.”

“Never mind,” my wife replied. “Zaid will not last in Umno. When he realises that even as a minister he can’t change the Umo culture he will leave. You watch.”

“I am not so sure,” I said. “When Anwar joined Umno he too said it was to change Umno. But instead Umno changed him. The same will happen to Zaid.”

“Not Zaid,” my wife insisted. “He will get disgusted and leave. Mark my words.”

True enough, it did happen as my wife had predicted. And after he resigned we again had lunch together with a few members of the civil society movements and tried to convince Zaid to form a new party. But Zaid did not see the prospects of a new party.

“Forming a party and running it costs a lot of money,” he replied. “I am not that rich and do not have the kind of money needed to run a party.”

“I am sure there are a lot of rich Malaysians out there who want to see a truly Malaysian party, not one based on race or religion. I am confident they would support this type of party and will contribute towards it. And this party would be able to attract middle-of-the-road Malaysians who view themselves as Malaysians rather than Malays, Chinese, Indians or whatnot. There are many who do not fit in PKR, DAP or PAS and would support a party that shuns race and religion as its platform.”

“It would cost too much money and we will not be able to sustain the party. And elections also cost a lot of money. We would not have enough funds to contest the elections,” Zaid argued.

“We don’t have to contest too many seats,” I replied. “Even if is just five parliament seats and ten state seats that would be enough.”

“Still, that would come to millions,” Zaid said. “We would never be able to find the money. And PKR, DAP and PAS would never give us seats to contest. We would be viewed as a competitor and politicians do not like competition. Which party is going to sacrifice seats for us?”

I could see Zaid was not keen on the new party idea so we just ate and talked about other things after I concluded, “Okay, sleep on it anyway. I still think you should form a new party. There are many Malaysians out there who want to see the emergence of a two-party system. And we believe you can play a role in uniting the opposition so that it can become a strong opposition, even if not the ruling party. Many Malaysians still feel that Barisan Nasional should rule. But they would like to see a strong opposition to keep the ruling party in check.”

“In that case I can still join one of the three opposition parties and do the same thing. I need not form a new party to do that.”

I, of course, disagreed because I felt that the three existing parties had a different culture, which would be very difficult to change. We need a new party with no fixed culture and which could be moulded the way we want it to be.

Anyway, the lunch ended with no resolution and, to my dismay, not long after that, Zaid joined PKR. He felt we could still achieve what we wanted, a strong and united opposition, with him in PKR. I did not think so and I told him so. But I was prepared to go along with it until I am proven wrong. And I was confident that I would be proven right.

Zaid had ideas, which are not a far departure from our own, and he needed to be ‘free’ to expand on them. In PKR he would be stifled and tied down by many of the ‘bad habits’ acquired over more than ten years and which are very difficult to change.

Now, Zaid has taken six months ‘sabbatical leave’. He wants to be free to focus on the plan to register Pakatan Rakyat and turn it into a legal entity. This would involve many things, not just a certificate from the Registrar of Societies. So the six months leave would enable him to focus on the colossal job ahead of him.

I wish Zaid good luck. I agree that the opposition needs a major overhaul. But I am not sure that the existing party structures and cultures would allow him to do what he wants to do. Would PKR, DAP and PAS agree to be ‘put to sleep’ so that a true Pakatan Rakyat can emerge in its place?

Time will tell. But if PKR, DAP and PAS face the next election as an informal coalition and not as one registered party like Barisan Nasional, then the future may not look that bright.

And this is my greatest fear. Politicians talk about struggles and sacrifices. But this is the last thing they would do if it involves their own interests. They want us, the people, to struggle and sacrifice. But they themselves are not prepared to struggle and sacrifice.

And this is what makes Barisan Nasional and Pakatan Rakyat no different.

KeADILan’s true colours revealed - which is a shade of UMNO

26 November 2001

The media had predicted fireworks in Kemaman. Many had hoped that Parti Keadilan Nasional (keADILan) would break apart due to the intense infighting. Most people had expected nothing less than the worst when keADILan held its first party election last weekend in Kemaman, Terengganu. However, what came out of it, instead, was a delightful surprise. The members, in a demonstration of their maturity, elected a whole new team of leaders whom they felt would strengthen the party.

The media had played up the ABIM versus ex-UMNO issue to the hilt. They made it seem like there was a power struggle between two major groups in keADILan to wrestle control of the party. If this were so, then how come Irene Fernandez got in as the Women’s Deputy Leader and Tian Chua as one of the three Vice Presidents when both are neither ABIM nor ex-UMNO members?

The keADILan contest was just a normal contest for party posts. All political parties in Malaysia go through it. But when the other parties see a contest it is not a big deal. For keADILan, however, it is front-page news with doomsday predictions thrown in. Maybe, as this was the party's first internal contest, all eyes were on it to see how it manages its elections against the backdrop of a fierce fight.

It was quite apparent that the contest was between groups and not individuals as nearly every delegate was armed with a complete list or chai of who to vote for. There may have been about three or four variations to this list but the main players would be what were perceived as the ex-UMNO group of Abdul Rahman Othman, Saifuddin Nasution and Azmin Ali and the ABIM group of Dr Mohd Nur Manuty, Mustaffa Kamil, Anuar Tahir and Ruslan Kassim.

As in any block-voting, an entire team would be voted in and the other sidelined. In this case, the perceived ex-UMNO group came in as the winner. How unhappy the “other side” was at losing was demonstrated when most who lost did not attend the closing session of the AGM. It was estimated that only about 300 of the 1,004 delegates turned up, which puts to question whether there was any quorum for the closing session.

Party President Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail tried to justify the high absentee rate by explaining that many had to return to their hometowns or go back to work. But no amount of explaining could dispel the impression that these were sore losers who would rather boycott the remaining session of the AGM because they did not get voted in.

If this is the attitude of the losers then maybe it was best that they did not win. Everybody knows how to manage victory. Only the matured know how to manage defeat. And if this is a demonstration of how they manage defeat, then they are certainly not matured enough yet to lead the party.

The campaigning was another source of anxiety. Some of the campaign tactics were rather dirty and centred on character assassination. In the euphoria to win seats and defeat their rivals, some candidates would resort to anything just as long as they win in the end. It was good that these people did not win, as this is certainly an unhealthy culture that should be rejected.

KeADILan preaches justice and fair play and urges the populace to reject the corrupt Barisan Nasional and its leading partner, UMNO. However, some of the keADILan leaders demonstrated that they are no better than the BN or UMNO leaders. Why, therefore, would Malaysians need to kick out the ruling party just to replace it with a party that has the same practices and culture?

The next party contest will be in March 2002 when the more than 120 division posts will be up for grabs. If the recent AGM was anything to go by, expect an equally intense and filthy contest during the division elections. If this happens, this would be the beginning of the end for the party.

Many supporters are disgusted with what they saw over the last month or so with reports of dirty tactics a la UMNO and even fisticuffs and punch-ups at Majlis Pimpinan Tertinggi (MPT) meetings. Some of the die-hards are now becoming cold towards the party and no longer want to support it. They feel keADILan has deviated from the right path and has become just another political party. Worse than that, it has become another UMNO-like party.

If keADILan wants to continue getting the support of the people, it needs to demonstrate that it is a matured and responsible party. The test would be in March next year when the campaigning for the divisional elections heats up. If the Kemaman affair is repeated, then expect many to turn their backs on the party for good.

Comments (37)Add Comment
written by SamYap, October 17, 2009 17:02:29
I recall that recently Tok Guru Nik Aziz did say that PAS is ready to dissolve and form a Pakatan Rakyat party. Frankly, after all the hooha, debates, name calling and what other nonsense here and in other blogs, lets be honest...Tok Guru seems to be the only PR leader who is consistent in his views, willing to listen and certainly a very just and fair man. I can't say much for some leaders from DAP and particularly from PKR.
agree 167
written by citizenmy, October 17, 2009 17:04:18
If Zaid plan to include the kind of Anwar, I think it will eventually lead to failure. He need a team with at least solid 100 members who are educated, with leadership quality and open minded clean to start with.
Going solo is tough as he will become irrelevant, but with a good team and clear manifesto, support will come in fast.
written by krising1, October 17, 2009 17:44:36
I am sorry the idea of Zaid joining DAP with a group of Malay intellectuals did not work out. It sounds so fantastic. PAS, DAP and PKR - Putrajaya is within grasp but you are letting it go. Looks like UMNO has seized the initiative from you. So sit and think. If you let this opportunity go, thinking of your narrow intersts, you will never get another opportunity for another decade or two.
written by Zym Zym, October 17, 2009 18:04:36
I am all for a party who does not represent any race or religion. I always write Malaysian instead of my race. That pisses off a lot of people. As for religion, to hell is religion. Religion is nothing but a consolation for an after life. Grown up guys, be more critical on what you are reading. All you have to do is doubt. It's as simple as that.
disagree 16
written by hellosunshine, October 17, 2009 18:07:20
As we all know, the main stumbling blocks to a united opposition are race and religion. BN had been able to work because the umnoputras are the dictators and they will take no shit from nobody. Period. The eunuch parties like MCA, MIC, Gerakan and the rest are like slaves to the umnoputras and only given crumbs falling off the umno table. PAS will never give up their Islamic agenda and unfortunately, RPK is correct in reading PKR as still practicing their umnoputra cilture and DSAI has really not shown true leadership in reigning in and punishing the trojan horses. DAP? Will the old warhorses make way for the young turks? Looks like it's a steep uphill climb all the way, any way you cut it. Sincerely hope the politicians cast away their prejudices, craze for power and come down from their high horses for the sake of the rakyat.
written by leftygoodfella, October 17, 2009 18:19:23
We tend to forget there's another party besides DAP, PAS and PKR in Pakatan Rakyat. The forgotten, PSM. I wonder why..
written by storm62, October 17, 2009 18:23:44
If we have hundreds like Datuk Zaid in the Parliament then our country will be saved.
written by malsia1206, October 17, 2009 18:25:48
I get an impression many PKR memebers and their heads and leaders are the off-shoot from UMNO. They jump ship because they did not get what they had expected which their other brethen had been given. Notwithstanding several others being sincere and geniune members, this stigma is a matter of concern as they are no better than opportunists in the political game. As for DAP, they apparently do not have many ex-MCA members who fall in this same scenerio. Therein lies the big difference in the structural set-up between these 2 'component' parties of 'Pakatan Rakyat'.
written by rocky, October 17, 2009 19:08:34
some in PAS are not for one entity called PR. They do not see the big picture. PKR is the weakest link and they have too many UMNO traits and self centered people. DAP, well they do need Malay members and they need to go all out to do that. Zaid well lets see his next move. Maybe a party with members from peninsular, sabah and sarawak. we do need a Malaysian party.
written by malgal, October 17, 2009 19:27:51
not much time for farting around tho'.
underdogs have less of everything so they got to outsmart and outwit instead.
do something soon.
written by lynn, October 17, 2009 20:39:07
If Zaid starts a new party, I will be the first few to support him. It's rare or unheard of to find an ex-umno man of integrity. They don't exist. A lot of non-Malays would support him, since he is learned as well. Trouble is, will the Malays support a man of integrity? Can you imagine, Malaysia's next PM is a man whose hands are clean?
written by defendermalaysia, October 17, 2009 21:20:11
I agree that PKR is the weakest of all party refering to party disapline.At present there are a lot of internal blikerning inside PKR over the role Zaid should play in PKR.Most of them do not think of party interest and Anwar should promote a second leader or third leader inside PKR should anything happen to him. In fact he should lay out this plan now instead of delaying tactics inside PKR. In fact should anything happen to Anwar, then PR govt is bound to fall apart. So Anwar himself should plan party interest first before himself.
written by cocomomo, October 17, 2009 21:51:37
PKR, DAP and PAS should realise that if they are unable to change to the people's expectations, they should expect to loose most their in GE12.
The people are looking for an alternative. So stop bickering and harping on issues that upset the voters. If the leaders of these parties are unable to sit together come with common stand on various (even though you may loose some votes because of this), it will be a disappointment to the voters and they will stay away from voting or feel they have no chooice but to accept that bn is the better of alternatives despite how much they dislike what bn has done to the country!!
It would be good if leaders like Zaid can merge the 3 parties(though it it is TALL order noting the differences they have) or come out a new party that is indeed non race and non religion based but based on universal human values and respect the rights of individuals.
written by James Loh, October 17, 2009 22:13:32
PAS,DAP and PKR must ironed out all their problem. Our hope depends on them and if they fail again Malaysia will definitely be destroyed. Thus, for the sake of fellow Malaysian all party must work together and fix their internal problem.
written by InEffective, October 17, 2009 22:21:59

Indeed - of all the non-BN politicians, the only one with consistent reliable credibility is Tok Guru.

His challenge should he accept the mandate would be to find a durable path that appeal to non-muslims and anchor himself with a platform that all can accept.

If there were only just one instance and example of a society that flourished under the governance of religion - history has shown that never has been achieved.
written by sltemp, October 18, 2009 00:03:11
DAP, PKR and PAS each have their own existing power structure with leaders comfortably in their spheres of influence. In order to merge DAP, PKR and PAS into a truly cohesive PR, things must be shaken up and this means that many of these leaders would lose their positions and power.

BN is different in the sense that UMNO is the taikor and all other components parties must give way and follow instructions. This situation won't happen in a PR coalition as DAP, PKR and PAS see themselves as equals. Very often when there is equal say, critical decisions that require unanimity are not made. This is the classic example of "too many cooks spoil the soup", broth or whatever.

It may take the next-generation of leaders from DAP, PKR and PAS to truly form a strong PR coalition. As the sayings go, "leopards never change their spots" and "you can't teach an old dog new tricks". In Malay, the popular saying is, "melentur buluh biar dari rebungnya".

As RPK recently wrote, we may need a dictator albeit a benevolent one. It may be that Malaysians have much to learn about democracy and governance due to political immaturity.
written by imanj, October 18, 2009 00:07:56
Agreeing with SamYap and Ineffective...my mind was on Tok Guru while reading the sbove article....

Honestly,these 3 parties separately went to the polls last GE and came out with tremendous results.That alone shows their first steps to endless possibilities..
Why stop now with such unsettled issues and mannerisms when it's certainly imparative to compromise to co-exist in their current status..

Pakatan Rakyat don't loose it now,however it seems,Leaders of these 3 parties must think with the same agenda to gain confidence in the people to continue till the next GE...Whether it be a coalition,come together as one party to transform into a new party altogether,there must be absolute sincerity from Leaders,party members and supporters..Do you want to see Malaysia progress for all it's people irregardless of race,religion,culture or tradition.We are just people who need to survive a world of so many challenges and you too are just people we depend on to find us a way out of all that is unfair,negative,
stressful,painful and sad......

Our children need to survive the current politics..And surely it is not a child's need to start preparing for a bleak future which is the work of selfish adults...

Be a people's people for once.You too have children and we all breathe the same air.Do we need to live life the way it's handed down to us just cause someone says so? Or do we have a say to live life a better way,the just way,the right way,the more positive way???

corrupted,painful,sad and
written by fireduck, October 18, 2009 00:50:34
Right after Zaid's Press Statement on him taking leave was posted here, I wrote,

Datuk Zaid, you'd probably do better to start and helm a Third Force. We the rakyat, are willing to give Pakatan a shot at the leadership and to subscribe to the 2-party system. But looks like there are little napoleans in Pakatan too and they are not interested in the bigger scheme of things. Only their own little agenda.

So, like Pete proposed before, I think there should be a Third Force with people like yourself and bro Haris involved.

And I got 73 Agree, 27 disagree. So, there are people out there who either still think that Pakatan has no problems or just refuse to accept that there are problems within.

I too, had suggested here, on hearing Zaid contemplating re-joining politics after the short hiatus, that Zaid would do better and would be more impactful if he joins DAP. Tunku Aziz sure can do with some help from fellow like-minded Malay politicians, to team up and help give DAP the much needed makeover. But sadly his decision was otherwise.

PKR is about Anwar. Like it or not, that remains a fact. Anwar is PKR, PKR is Anwar. But Pakatan and the results of March 08, is more than about Anwar now. Pakatan and the aspirations of the rakyat has taken on a life of its own, with or without Anwar. The rakyat's expectations has ratcheted upwards since. And we are now looking at a viable change of Federal Govt come the next GE. If Pakatan cannot give us that, then we should have a Third Force.
written by Kopi37, October 18, 2009 01:53:48
I quote PR as an example of an apartment of three rooms. There are three big beds in each and every rooms which have tags on the door leaves - PKR, PAS and DAP! They are all in the same apartment but on different beds. Even in the lounge, there are three sets of TVs, each sees different program! In the kitchen, 3 different sets of kitchen utensils in the cabinet! They don't have a synchronized way of life style and a common house rule with unanimous support!

Till date PR is still working on a cartel basis with diversified interests more than only a bloc of trio with one single and unified ideology, or in simple term, principle. On this point, the disliked BN has a whole horse gap ahead of PR, which, the venerable Zaid Ibrahim knows and he's committed to bring about the unison of differences into an aggregate of cohesiveness, and makes PR into one concrete block. Can he?.....Of course, our only hope he can so as we can have a concise and precise objective to throw on all our supports with full confidence.

The main worry lies with the over complexity of ideologies and too many cards above the sleeves of each and every of these three party supremos namely, DSAI, Tok Guru Nik Aziz and Lim Kit Siang. They are all above bi-centennial old oak trees and all have been set to almost fossil, when the mindset mentality is concerned! Whatever they do they propagate may well be just some kind of gloss over, if not a political posture, to smoodge the supporting voters for the continuing support to push them up higher upstage come next GE!

Each of the supreme leaders has got a can of worm in their grip. DSAI is serving a a hedge as mentioned by Pete and everybody agrees. DSAI too has to face his revolting children of various genes and hyper-activeness - the old and young generation gap, the street fighters and the grass hoppers clinging to the fence and the most touchy is the multi-ethno relationship amid the pluralistic memberships! Whereas, Tok Guru might be seen as more a leniently humble scholar cum spiritual leader, his close aide Hadi Awang may just any time play the role of Liow Tiong Lai to put a knife at the back of Ong Tee Keat without making any appointment; many again those religious bigots are pulling the legs of the feeble and exhausted old Guru and how long can he last is a bold question mark to most Chinese voters to give him full marks!

And Lim Kit Siang the old horse is still thinking of keeping a stable of horses to his breed and liking, he probably wishes to be the Mentor of Singapore, emulating his clan Lee Kuan Yew and forever hold the stick to whack the mules for mileage! In DAP, there are no less than half a dozen partitions in the party. The infighting is undercurrent and it's a matter of time it surfaces! Yet the crave for powers is like a marijuana his son has tasted for 620 days in Penang and has been fast addicted, to be de-intoxicated!

With all these in place and for Zaid to play a Director and the cameo role as the chief warden, it needs a Rambo's virility and also a Mahathir's Machiavellian in order to succumb all these revolting characters to the required tameness! It's going to be so much a task than Datuk Zaid reading the aplenty law books on the shelve in his office!

I am sad to have been imbued with this pessimism....sigh!

smilies/sad.gif
written by tumbledore, October 18, 2009 02:50:03
as usual you are right RPK.
there is still time till the next GE and maybe Zaid would come up with a masterplan that would also contain your ideas. especially learned people would want to turnover the things you tell them in their minds first. they would'nt hesitate to use good ideas from others.
lets hope and pray that this happens!
written by Daryl, October 18, 2009 07:30:08
It is very easy for us to give up on these guys but we shouldn't. This is our hope for a better government and move our country into the next level. If we leave it to BN they do not have any credibility especially the PM because of his involvement in so many controversies. Based on that along I should just throw in the towel but yet I am still here trying my best. Also, if I am to read into it than Malay don't care if their leaders is tainted or not because of the PM. But, we know there is hope so please Datuk Zaid please fight on.
written by ibabonma, October 18, 2009 10:09:36
How come during those days when Labour Party and Partai Rakyat formed Socialist Front everything seemed ok and accepted Ahmad Boestamam as its Chairman/President? If not for the dirty hands of Umno and lackeys, SF would have formed the government then.

written by Rock, October 18, 2009 11:15:10
I still believe that PR can work as a team. DAP, PAS and PKR don't have to sacrifice their principles. What they need now is a framework that provide boxes of action within the PR limits to exercise their roles. Just like unity in diversity. It can work if all parties are willing to agree on how should any action taken by each of them will be accepted as a consensus action of PR. They need a centralized action committee which coordinates all contentious actions. It is of course within the framework of common advocacy of justice, transparency, equality for all Malaysian.
written by bobdylan, October 18, 2009 11:44:46
DAP must shed it Tongsan mentality and change...represent all Malaysians, for that to happen Zahid should lead DAP but will the old horses give in...never
written by bobdylan, October 18, 2009 11:46:57

Your wife assesed Zahid very accurately....sometimes the ladies can really see through men. 6 sense i guess
written by sueteh, October 18, 2009 12:10:03
of course, the ladies can really see through men the mighty sixth sense, thank you bobdylan! now, you know women power, huh?? only the gods can challenge women power. you forget the china's soong sisters, matahari?? so, please treat your women well. honestly these are my only own opinion without prejudice!

PAS is gung ho about everything being HALAL in the face of Islam. DAP is literally the opposites. How can HALAL and HARAM be married?? Either the HALAL become HARAM (which in Malaysia, PAS & UMNO will not allow it) or vice versa. We have the internet, try to ****** about information living totally under the HUDUD law in other Islamic countries and judge yourselves if you can truly live with it. I know I can't.

I had enough of One Malaysia. Bullcrap. It is not about racism. It is about money. You see the Chinese rich mistreat the Chinese poor. OneMalaysia is only on the surface. The rich men are not interested in politics literally and the heck do they care about racism and OneMalaysia. Who cares what race? So long i continue to have more wealth.. racism is immaterial. Yes, CAPITALISM rules mightily. You have the moolah, the world is your oyster. Who cares about being proud as a Malaysian. If Malaysia like civil war, don't we all quickly flee the country?? Chineses are very good in this. To Chinese there is no LOYALITY except to oneself and the money. Money is not everything yet it helps a lot, you know. The Malays is learning fast from the Chineses on this principle.

DAP cannot and will not shed its chinaman concept. Why should they?? Will PAS shed its Islamic Kemelayuan concept?? It is like waiting for each other to mengalah.
written by joeawk, October 18, 2009 12:45:35
Some people are destined to be in the opposition, not because they are more comfortablke but that is their destiny.

Why would they behave the way they did if that is not what they are destine for.

Look at PKR, many of them thought they are forming the next federal government. They have started jostling for position and fighting to consolidat themselves.

To the PKR, DAP n PAS, unless you put us , the people first, why would we want to vote you in when you are telling us that you are no different from the BN. That being the case, better then dvil we know than the devil we don't.

Pakatan parties, you still have many miles to walk your talk. Meanwhile, drem-on.
written by takbolehtahan, October 18, 2009 13:03:32
Well, what can you expect. Most of PKR leaders are ex-umno. They have been trained to think 'Malay' first, then Malaysian. Why do you think Zaid joined PKR? He's not comfortable to be seen with any party that is strongly non-Malay. So you see, unless the PKR leaders themselves can get out of this 'Malay first' mentality (most of them talk, but don't practise), they will never be able to lead as a true Malaysian.

And PAS, they need to go back to the basics of politics. I think they don't even know what politics really mean. They are just a religious party trying to gain power. And the only way of getting power is to be politically involved. That is exactly what they are doing. They are not interested in leading the country, they are only interested in telling people (and even then they are wrong most of the time) how to live according to the way they (PAS) want and according to the principles of 'Malaysian' Islam.

And DAP, stop picking on the faults of BN and start showing what you can do for the people and the country. We all know the faults of BN. Show us what you can do with your ideas. No more talk, start acting.
written by Wisdom above, October 18, 2009 15:07:06
"There are many Malaysians out there who want to see the emergence of a two-party system." I am wonder what happened to the " Multi-racial Malaysian Party " CONCEPT which should take shape by now? SABM.
written by Prem, October 18, 2009 22:51:56
The root of all PR's problem is that all the 'power-crazy' morons want to be the leader,but the true,capable,intelligent ones,like Zaid,have only the interest of the Rakyat,above self serving!!! Ever since PR won the 08 elections,they are literally,'camping' outside the various courts,mainly for their individual 'problems' and not for the Public. When will they start behaving as the 'ruling'forces and 'try' to solve the Public's problems? PR does not seem to have enough people with integrity,to run the Party. Zaid must be fighting a losing battle with PKR,DAP,PAS to project the PR as a Party of integrity!!!Who knows, he might succeed in the end,till then,we will support men like Zaid and fight for justice for the people.
written by PresleyP, October 18, 2009 22:57:36
Guys,

We can see some breeze of fresh air after the last GE. Government services are more efficient nowadays, especially my income tax rebate!! First time ever seen an ADUN appearing in Resident Association meeting eventhough it is still long time before next GE.

No matter what it is, we still need PR to win the next GE. It might not have the cleaniness as everybody expected, but at least it will not be old and rotten as BN, right ?

The idea is to have TWO strong parties in exist in this country, and it will eventually shape itself as time goes, because the ruling party knows that if it does not perform, then it will face with Waterloo in the next election. This is the system that make most of the Western Countries excel compared to a lot of Single Partied countries. BN is less arrogant nowadays ever since the last GE. This is one of the good example of having a stronger Opposition party.
Of course there are exceptional countries like China and Singapore.

It does not sound very professional, but my opinion is to vote for PR in the next GE !!!

P/S: To sueteh, please write your comment about lady power in some woman magazines, not Malaysia-Today. And I know you probably have your bad personal experience towards certain group of people. Please reserve it to yourself and have some respect for yourself.
written by Kopi37, October 19, 2009 11:16:44
PresleyP,

I believe all these 'adverse comments' against PR are none other than the old comrades who followed Pete in MT long before 308, helped fanned up the tsunami, and supported PR by actions of voting PR component Parties in the 308 GE. I for one had thrown in all my dozen of family votes to the ballot box of DAP in Penang.

Since voted, and PR had also pledged their manifestos for the CHANGE agenda, and that's supposedly the Rakyat's Agenda, PR would have to walk it in order to repay as a thanksgiving gesture for the supporting Rakyat like we all!

Regrettably, after the dusts of 308 GE had settled down, the trio in PR are still restless of their politicking, infighting and childish spats amongst their own houses which virtually not only hurt the supporters, but also the voting rakyat at large! The middle stand voters have seen such political squabbling and disarrayed situation, had also switched to support BN as evidenced by the Bagan Pinang by-election!

The trio supremos must wake up and buck up now to deliver their pledged manifestos and walk their talks! We the supporting voters have had enough of political histrionics and postures of these so-called component parties and enough is enough, they must do something more than that to deserve all our further supports in the next 13th GE. We definitely will continue to support the CHANGE movement by voting the proven to be good oppositions and that's the time when they have opportunity to walk the corridor of power, they will not fail us and the Nation as the whole! We will not do so if otherwise!...

Governing a Nation is not like taking care of a grocery store and no amount of histrionics can prove to be effective governance!

Should there be any hatreds, it's all because of the love(s) granted to the oppositions. And if they dun treasure the rakyat's loves and continue to take for granted and strife for their own self-interests, there are more fair-minded and righteous MT followers here will rise their hackles and will not be stingy with their howitzers to discharge all the barrages of gun fires on them!

Trust me, by then, no amount of cyber-troopers or cyber mercenaries employed by the component parties of PR, you know who, will be able to withstand the heat!

We merely wish to teach the Parties concerned good by resorting to using the sticks in lieu of the carrots since they are misbehaving like the revolting kids, and also to remind them that, the water can float a boat, can also sink it! They have better retrained themselves not to grow into swollen heads when they are supposed to deliver the sanctity jobs of reforms and CHANGE, as had been pledged! That's the agreement!

And with due respect to sueteh also, please save your comments on 'loyalty' in your archive. This issue of who are the real patriotic ones had been debated long ago in this blog, and your comment was very superficial and naive in the sense that you only interested to instigate and make it a racist one by bashing on the Chinese as the mostly disloyal countrymen!

How many old folks you had met, those above 60's?! Or you only had talked to your father or grandfather and found out that your family is the most disloyal teh family which had their children migrated overseas to run away from wars?!

Lay the facts right and proper! Statistic had shown there are more Malay emigrants in overseas than any other races and yet they have good reasons to do that within their rights of doing so! Only the most disgusting and depraved corrupters, viz. Daim, just to name one, had also organized a Malaysian Rotary Club in foreign land to recruit all the other bastardly corrupters to join his rank! Why didn't you go for that and disclose their identity and where about?!

You have all your pot shots, sueteh, and are you not one of the low grade BN cyber-troopers who sneaked in to this domain like a cockroach to create nuisance in our MT family?!