Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow Banks Stealing Our Hard Earned Money

Banks Stealing Our Hard Earned Money PDF Print
Saturday, 17 October 2009 09:07

By Simon Templar

Who has tried to get an overdraft facility from a local bank only to be told to place a fixed deposit of similar amount with the bank?

How often have we heard of stories of small time entrepreneurs who needed bank loans to help their businesses only to be turned away because they do not have strong collaterals?

Has anyone who has a business idea but no capital tried approaching our local banks for a start-up loan only to be turned away for having no past track record?

The above are common knowledge among laymen Malaysians. Not to our political leaders though because they are never interested in our welfare and neither are they in touch with reality on the ground. And do not be fooled into believing that only non-bumiputras are faced with the above problems. The available government schemes are not that easily disbursed even to the bumiputra entrepreneurs. Not connected kot...

Malaysian banks are rubbish. From the ridiculously stupid requirement of requiring an introducer to open an account (what the hell for, seriously) to their level of service to the very objective of running a bank.

Read more at: http://saltpepperandalittlekicap.blogspot.com/2009/10/banks-stealing-our-hard-earned-money.html

written by educationist, October 17, 2009 10:18:47
Simon has spoken out on what i believe is in the hearts of many common man on the street.
With online banking & electronic banking machines, shouldn't some of the savings in terms of manpower filter down to the bank's customers?
Wolf's point about moving to another bank does not ***** - i do not believe there's a single bank in malaysia that does not impose service charges.
Yes, Bank Negara hopeless, it's helping banks earn more profits at the expense of the common folks.
written by Jan, October 17, 2009 10:24:40
Malaysians are generally poor paymasters. They default from scholarship loans to car loans. They default on anything if they can get away with it. The '98 financial crisis exposed many of such easy loans which caused some banks to go bankrupt, a case in point is Sime Bank. Therefore I don't blame banks for being careful these days and especially so when a large segment of Malaysians are mollycoddled into believing the whole world owes them a living, no need to pay back also can.
written by biggun129, October 17, 2009 10:30:06
'Borrow your own Money', and the Bank charges you the Service Charges,the Bank are worst than 'Ah Long', 'Ah Long''s borrowing rate is higher than 'Bank', but at least you do not have to pledge any 'Security' but only your worthless 'Life'!We bring nothing to this world, and we leave this world empty handed!Dust to Dust, Ashes to Ashes!
written by Jan, October 17, 2009 11:12:52
Chinese people are generally more successful in business because they usually don't get bank loans(don't qualify) but use their hard earned money. Being their own money they work harder to ensure success. If they have got their capital so easily they are less likely to work as hard. Another successful trait of the chinese is they are more entrepreneur and more willing to take risk. This is especially so in Malaysia because they know no one owes them a living and this govt is not bending backwards to help them like they helped the majority race.
written by Vivarium, October 17, 2009 11:17:37
Has anyone of you ever remitted money from overseas into a Malaysian bank account ? This is how it works : The Malaysian receiving bank would normally take 3 working days from the day of remittance before crediting the beneficiary's account, thus keeping your money floating in their favour for free for 3 days.
However, banks in neighbouring countries would credit the beneciary's account no later than 2.30pm the same day if the remittances are effected before 10am in the morning.
It is not about efficiency, but honesty.
written by Jan, October 17, 2009 11:33:58
To be a Chinese or Indian in Malaysia is not easy especially trying to make a living. When young they go to vernacular schools which are usually crammed and not well supported by the govt. Grants to such schools are hard to come by and only when the local ADUN or MP dies will they get promises of such grants. When in secondary schools their malay classmates disappear one by one from form 1 to go to fully aided residential colleges and go on to matriculation which is much easier than the STPM which they eventually face. Even when they come out of STPM with flying colors they won't be guaranteed of a place in university or a course of their choice much less a scholarship.
Even when in working life a chinese or Indian face discriminations inspite of what our PM says. It's hard to get into govt service or even GLCs so they hope to be employed by their own or go into business. Setting up a business here is no breeze either, you have to grease palms along the way to get all the permits and business licences. And when you are successful some putras will knock on your door to demand for shares in your company. You even don't have a full say in who you hire, your staff have to be 30% of their kind.
It's easier to be a criminal as some Chinese and Indians must have found out. But those who have made it just get out of the country they have enough of this nonsense from this govt.
written by Vivarium, October 17, 2009 11:39:32
Wolf, being at middle management level, only deals with small people with little or no capacity to borrow. That is all he is allowed exposures by his boss.
He surely has no idea how banks have lent out mega-buck loans to corporates based on cooked-up working papers and inflated collaterals plus a memo from the politicians. They are the ones who had dragged most banks down the drain during the crisis.
After the crisis, it is the retail borrowers who had helped the banks maintain their bottom-line. It is also the small people who deposit their savings in the banks. The corporates are the ones who screw the banks big time.
written by imanj, October 17, 2009 11:40:53
Simon Templar 'The Saint',the question these two bankers posed to you shows that they are more 'bodoh sombong',cause they know you are better euipped understanding the operations of the banking industry and speak about it...

It's always the better layman that have better insight into many issues and come up with more human solutions as we are the ones that face the garbage of the these scrupulous and evil people of power.......
written by Vivarium, October 17, 2009 11:55:28
Mafiaa, the economy does not work the way you understand. You don't save up to the whole amount before you invest. You save a margin of the amount and borrow to finance the balance which you are going to repay with interest in the future with your future incomes. This is how economy grows.
I can see Simon's point : It is social injustice the the banks have done to retail depositors and borrowers.
written by lamakawan, October 17, 2009 12:06:39
THe public will always end up the losers when they borrow from the bank.
In this case where you need a fixed deposit to borrow. Well, if you have the money to place in fixed deposit, why do you need to borrow?
You are in effect asking the bank to charge you interest for using your own money!!!!
we can say the banks are like politicians. They cheat you and me who are timidly naive by nature!!! Tidak apa people of Malaysia.
written by peter, October 17, 2009 12:12:01
You may want to watch this documentary:

"Money as Debt" , An Informative Look at How Banks Create Money
http://rapidshare.com/files/55049101/Money_as_Debt.part1.rar
http://rapidshare.com/files/55051157/Money_as_Debt.part2.rar

Worth downloading...
written by NSTPravda, October 17, 2009 12:31:13
Banks $tealing Our Hard Earned Money??!! $ay what? Isn't that what bank$ters are suppose to do? They use your money to earn more of your money, lending you money when you don't need it, but take it back when you do. That
written by Vivarium, October 17, 2009 12:33:11
Ever heard of corporates buying back their own debt at 5 cents for every dollar they borrow, during the height of financial crisis ? It is then you and me who pay back the balance of 95 cents to the lending banks, while these corporates got back their pledged assets and were free from debt. The government called that exercise " Banking sector restructuring and re-capitalisation " or whatnots ! We should call that manipulation of nation's wealth.
A year or two later, these same people emerged in Forbes magazine list of wealthiest men in Malaysia with accumulated worth of US$100 million and above.
Anyone to take on me ?
written by Hakim Joe, October 17, 2009 13:01:59
If you people think the banking system here sucks, try talking to a bank manager. Those stuck up "I think I am God" people along with the bank tellers are intolerable. One would think that we (the clients) owed them favours when we deposit our hard earned money into the bank. How many times have we waited in a long queue with only one or two counters open? (When the rest of the bank employees are chatting at the back, doing nothing?) Or when they allow a "big boss" to cut queue?

written by kensball, October 17, 2009 13:30:20
If we have the money, why should we lend from them...
written by AsamLaksa, October 17, 2009 15:34:56
Bankers' aim is to make loads and loads of money. In itself it's not a problem. The problem comes when they charge you excessive fees for services that do not cost the bank much at all.

For example the situation where you have to pay certain charges if your deposit falls below a certain figure. Even if your money falls below the threshold, you still have money in the account. The bank loses nothing yet charge you. The bank could always disallow overdraft and thus prevent loss of bad debt. But no, the banks want to charge you for using your own money. Don't get me started on overdraft charges.

The small /- medium businessmen are usually the ones who suffer when applying for loans. The large businesses usually can provide collateral. The result is rich gets richer, the poor gets poorer; capitalist rich controlling the poor. Thus the need for socially responsible banks. Banks are also often accused of discharging social responsibility. Just giving out donations now and again does not cut it. See Grameen Bank for more idea on a bank with social responsibility.

http://www.grameen-info.org/
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Grameen_Bank

Banks however have no qualms in losing millions and billions in questionable investments. But to provide start up capital to the poor? No way.
written by Ben, October 17, 2009 16:23:11
I was pursued by an overzealous pretty girl selling credit cards at Mutiara Damansara Curve. She just would not give up. So I told her the truth, banks are blood suckers. They suck you for every penny you are worth then they spit you out. I don't need banks, I use cash. I will live longer and happier and I suggest you do the same. Good day. She smiled and agreed.
written by raven1958, October 17, 2009 16:58:17
Our bankers are morons that loose billions on questionable investments and kill the small guy who is financially illierate....

Malaysia should never hav given Monopoly to these current blood suckers...they al should have been dead especially CIMBlong time ago. We need more more banks so that there is an element of competition.

And who eliminatecd the competition ...its that low down pirate Daim with the help of that Mamak Nor Mohamad who stole billions at Bank Negara forex losses. These are the bastards looking after your money. Any wonder why everyone is forced to shop with Ah Longs.
written by leftygoodfella, October 17, 2009 19:11:41
I am convinced that the way to build a new and better world is not capitalism. Capitalism leads the poor people straight to hell, while the bourgeois filling up their pockets and fat belly.
written by Sabahfan, October 17, 2009 22:38:29
SO LETS ALL BRING BACK CHENG PING AND START A NEW WAVE OF COMMUNISM..

SOMETHING THE UMNO REGIME IS SO BLOOODY SHIT SCARED//
written by bluefire, October 18, 2009 01:12:21
Everyone, just cut up your credit cards and send them back to the banks. This is one of the ways to stop banks from exploiting people. Spend only for what you need and pay cash at all times. Banks will smile when they offer you a loan and they will scold you and take everything away from you when you cannot pay back the loan. No one can help you at that time. So please do yourself and all of us a favor - toss out the credit card. Stop living on credit as it is a trap to remove your freedom. Imagine no debt and having no worries which is when you will sleep peacefully at night. Debts are not worth it. Debts drive us to wake up real early so that we can join the cattle rush to work. Debts force us to clock in for fear of losing our jobs. Debts do not allow us to spend time with our family. Get rid of debt - cut up your credit card first.
written by gorshan, October 18, 2009 12:28:49
next time you see a banker cross the road, accelerate up. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by bodohland_citizen, October 18, 2009 13:57:04
Very recently, Bank Islam contacted me and warned me of the RM 20.00 imposed on late installment payment (monthly panalty). I took a car loan with that bank, and to my surprise, after all these years, why now and why suddenly ? The officer told me that its a new directive from the board. I see, so only in Bodohland, you can come up with your own banking rules and just inform Bank Negara about it and you for sure get the blessing. Easy !

My friend had a Maybank account for a very long time, maintaning it so well. What happened was, he obtained an housing loan with RHB long ago but could not serve the interest (only in Malaysia, you pay the interest first, then your principal). Later the bank served bankruptcy notice in our famous BN newspapers. He was not even a convicted bankrupt, but quickly, Maybank, which has no fcuking interest in the case, closed his account. My other friend had her account with RHB closed without any notification just because she maintained no transactions for the last 3 months. To re-activate the account, she needed to pay some fee, so she told the bank clerk, fcuk off !

OK. Lets look at the second scenario. I opened an account with HSBC (a foreign bank). I maintained a very good book record with the bank, and very often they send me thank you SMSes, their product offerings and so on and so forth. Whenever i visit the bank for any over the counter transaction, they give me a VIP treatment though i'm not their affluent customer. See, i lost my job and could not credit my salary with the bank anymore. They're so concern about my business absent that thay sent me a letter telling that i'm not doing any transaction with them for the past months, so concerned, they asked me visit them to share my problems and find solutions to maintain the relationship (something so strange with our own banks). They just want me to be their customer no matter what it takes.

There's another banking professionalism demonstrated by Standard Chartered long ago (no queing ticket system at that time). I was there queing up, the line was so long it was basically like i had to wait for another hour before called to be served. One officer came out, saw the long line, quickly disbursed the crowd by deploying additional staff (Have you ever experience this with our local banks ?) they don't give a fcuk of your inconvienience and suffering. To them, they are doing you are favor, not the opposite.

FYI, i've closed all my local banks accounts and do all my transactions only through foreign banks who are more professional and humane.
written by bodohland_citizen, October 18, 2009 14:17:46
Seems to me, Wolf (the very first and low rated comment)is so shallow in the issue of banking corporate responsibility. He speaks shit, not logic. Banking is ursury, legal way of making illegal and exhorbitant money out of the thin air. If banking is not profitable, no one, not even a filing clerk (dig AmBank), would be in the business. I started my business without any favor from any local (emphasized) banks and my business is now working out well...do you know what's the secret ? Be frugal and prudent, find out the most cost effective ways of starting up your business, save the business plan, cash flow projections, earning ratio statements and so on which you'll need thousands to produce to get your business loan.
written by ron46, October 19, 2009 09:49:51
Couple of months back, i was 3 months behind my housing installment, an auction note was sent and i have to settle my 3 months due (RM3150) plus force to pay another RM2600 for legal fees. Is this humane??..F**K YOU Bankers
written by Susuit, October 19, 2009 12:55:34
A bank is a place where they lend you an umbrella in fair weather and ask for it when it begins to rain.