Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow How The Indians Are Excluded From The Agricultural Sector Systematically

How The Indians Are Excluded From The Agricultural Sector Systematically PDF Print
Thursday, 15 October 2009 21:54

By Naragan N.

Yesterday and today the last remaining structures of Kampung Buah Pala are to be torn down – the cow barns. The cattle farmers of Kampung Buah Pala have no alternative land yet. The cows are going to be stranded, literally in the streets. But who cares?

When a pig slaughterhouse was demolished in Kedah recently, the sole DAP rep in the Kedah State Government there caused an uproar by threatening to resign and the issue was immediately resolved. If the affected farmers had been Malay cattle farmers, they would have been courted and alternative land would have been provided by one of the several government agencies set up expressly for this purpose. But this is an Indian farmer and so no one really cares.

This is marginalization in real life and blood. This has been going on right from the beginning of Malaya, then Malaysia. Very systematic marginalization. Till today there is still no political will in the governing coalitions both at the Federal and the State level to resolve these critical problems. The only way we can see that these problems will be resolved is when the Indians get into the mainstream of National Development.

Let me try and briefly explain how the Indians have been blocked systematically from getting into the mainstream of National Development -  in this scenario in the Agricultural sector contributing to the marginalization we so often speak out about. The real world effect of all this is what we see happening in front of our very own eyes –  in KBP.

From the 1950s there has been significant development in the Agricultural sector spearheaded by government agencies such as FELDA, FELCRA, RISDA, FAMA  and many others (see list of these agencies at the footnote).

And for these 50 odd years we all know how the rural Indian population mainly from the estates have been systematically pushed out and excluded from benefiting from any of these efforts. This was through the period of the fragmentation of the plantations (from the 50s through to the 80s) and then massive eviction from land as a result of the development of the land for various purposes (from the late 70s through to now). They have all been turned over into the urban poor.

All of this, through the working of the racist UMNO policies. In fact the NEP of the last 40 odd years, was supposed to erase identification of race with occupation. It has done exactly the opposite in the Agricultural sector. The estate Indians were thrown out of that sector and that sector has effectively been turned into a monopoly almost of the Malays. Billions and billions of our National resource has been spent in this sector over this period, but the Indians gained nothing from it all. This is a direct result of the policies of the racist UMNO -a Malaysian version of Apartheid.

Now a new and even more significant chapter is opening up in the Agricultural Sector and I suspect many of us are not aware of the significance of what is happening or about to happen. In just the last 2-3 years the development policy of the government has changed to accelerate development in the Agricultural sector to make it the 3rd engine of growth, besides Manufacturing and Information technology, the other engines of economic growth.

What this means is that there is going to be a tremendous amount of expansion in this sector. A further large amount of the national resource is going to be invested to develop this sector into the engine of growth – like the Multimedia Super Corridor effort, the e- Government effort, the CyberCities and so on to develop the Information Technology Sector. A total ecosystem is going to be created to facilitate the development of this sector. Billions and billions are again going to be spent to develop the potential in this sector.

The functions of the Ministry of Agriculture and Agro-Base Industry has been increased and related agencies have been restructured to support and facilitate this strategic initiative. The stated objective is to evenly develop all aspects of supply chain management within the agriculture and agro-base industry – from seed production, production, post-harvest handling, storage, logistics, grading, labeling, packaging, transporting, retailing, wholesaling, marketing, branding, processing, up to the point where the goods are sold to consumers (from farm to table).

A ‘Cluster’-based development of zones of production not unlike the Fruits Production Zones, the Target Area Concentration, the Aquaculture Zone Industry and the Modern Agriculture Project and Permanent Food Production Park are also in the making. The same cluster based development effort as in the Manufacturing sector.

Marketing, Research and Development and Business Development are all slated for expansion in this sector. To enable all of this the Entrepreuner and Cooperative Development Ministry has been folded into the Rural and Regional Development (RRD) Ministry and new functions have been introduced into the RRD Ministry and its various units.

The Tekun program has been converted from an Enterpreuner financing agency to a strategic Entrepreuner development agency, now within the RRD Ministry. This is a significant program with budgets in the Billions of Ringgits.

The SMIDEC ( Small and Medium Industry Development Corporation) has been expanded and renamed to become the Small and Medium Enterprise Corporation. The National SME Development Council Secretariat Function of Bank Negara has been folded into the SME Corporation.  

Bank Pertanian has been corporatized and now operates as the Agro Bank, the official disbursement agency for the government of all the funds going into the sector.

Special Bumiputra only financing schemes have been rolled out by various banks. One example is the SPED scheme of the Bank Rakyat. They give out loans from RM 30,000 to RM 500,000. One of the eligibility is unashamedly that the applicant must be a Bumiputra.

Various educational Institutuions such as University Putra Malaysia, UiTM, Risda College, Felda Academy are collaborating strategically to produce the skilled manpower needed for this expansion.

All of the above, without exception is meant only for Bumiputras with a few crumbs thrown out to the partner political party local heads and their relatives and cronies for their connivance to maintain status quo. Tell me if I am wrong.

I know several small Indian livestock farmers, a few aspiring young farmers and I can see that at best they get cursory assistance, not the womb to tomb kind of assistance that the Malay farming community gets or is about to get with all of this. These small livestock farmers operate on TNB land under power cables or on railway land or on some land like KBP, all waiting to be evicted someday destroying even that little participation in this part of the economy. There is very little benefit for the Indian farmers or aspiring farmers or Entrepreuners from any of these programs, in fact they are about to be obliterated from this sector totally, given what we see going on.

From all of this, you can see on the one hand, the scale of things that is happening in the country for the development of the Agricultural Sector – in what we call the mainstream of National Development. On the other hand,we know from whatever little is published or from our own experience that the Indians have been totally excluded from this mainstream of development.

This is how the system operates to to block Indians from the development process. They are left to be where they are and to use the little resources they have to try and get out of their predicament.

All of this must change. The only organization in the country that can speak up in these terms for the Indians now is Hindraf and the Human Rights Party. Please see the proposal for the 2010 Budget by the HRP-

http://www.humanrightspartymalaysia.com/2009/10/12/2010-budget-proposals-by-human-rights-party-malaysia-13102009/

Let us all get together in a way that will get us the change we all seek. There is a lot of trickery and lies around. We have to work against all of that to get to the truth, but we will get there.

Foot notes:

1. Bank Pertanian, MARDI, National Paddy and Rice Board (LPN), Fisheries Development Authorities, Malaysia (LKIM) , Muda Agricultural Development Authority (MADA) , Kemubu Agricultural Development Authority KADA, Farmers’ Organization Authority (LPP), KEJORA, KEDA, KESEDAR, KETENGAH to name a few among the notable ones.

written by cheekhiaw, October 15, 2009 22:08:36
It's the result of affirmative action by thieves...

written by lynn, October 15, 2009 22:15:58
DAP shld stand solidly with the Indians. I am very disappointed with you, Mr Halleluyah in Penang!
disagree 23
written by onnetline, October 15, 2009 22:17:17
How many are actual poor and needy cases in these projects ? ?

Unashamedly, the elites relatives and cronies are definitely the privilege ' approved ' bumiputeras !
written by lamakawan, October 15, 2009 22:31:47
You can continue to say the Indians are systematically marginalised, and continually too!!! Why not?
The Indians started to get together and formed MIC.
Then they started to split into PPP.
Then they started to split into IPF.
Then they started to split into Hindraf.
Then they started to split into Maka sathi.
How come they are not systematically marginalised? You may ask, it is their own wrongdoing after all these years!!!
disagree 23
written by sydput, October 15, 2009 22:38:27
actually in the felda programme, it is the indonesian who are oing all the work, from clearing the land, to planting to picking the fruit bunch.
the felda settlers merely get the money after the cost of labour, plantation costs and machines are deducted from the sale of their produce, less FELDA management fee.
If the govenrment had invited in indians into felda, they would have done all the job by themselves.
written by devious17, October 15, 2009 23:28:09
Firstly, they voted MIC, that got the ball rolling,secondly they voted MIC again! and the rest is history smilies/grin.gif
written by nesen, October 15, 2009 23:45:11
In the late 1960's when my labour officer colleague visited Kg Buah Pala the then Manager proudly proclaimed that the estate owners had donated some land to their employees to rear cattle and BUILD HOUSES for themselves when they retired from the estate This my colleague duly recorded in the Inspection file under the column special benefits provided by employer
Unfortunately no titles were issued and the rest is history...
Moving on.. where was the MIC when the various land schemes were launched?
Would Razak Hussein Onn or even Mahathir have refused to alienate a few small schemes for the Indians. Sammy who at that time enjoyed a special friendship with Mahathir would only have had to ask..
Moving on..Najib has made a lot of promises to the Indians
Is the MIC able to position itself to take advantage of the current scenario
or once again fail the Indian community miserably ...
written by InEffective, October 16, 2009 00:59:42

all true - strategically excluded, opportunities denied, rights expropriated, purposefully disenfranchised.

but why cry, when the indians vote for communal structure of politics ? Which by definition and the gravitational forces of structure, will always ensure they will lose. (in a communal structure, you are always dependent on the handouts by race of majority).

The only hope for indians is to vote their support and allegiance by political values, issues, ideas and merit and results delivered - not by race or religion. (but they refuse to think and understand). Vote for politicians who deliver, and oppose those that don't.

Looks like the Indians haven't even learned the lessons from India - that is your own kind can screw you in politics. (try looking at Bihar - 80mill pops, WestBengal - 80mill population - to see examples of how an entire race can be screwed by their own people for decades) - so stop blaming the malays or the chinese.

But how to explain this concept to indians - they value minimal direct handouts like schools and temples (which they are entitled to as basic minimum rights and opportunities as citizens) and feel subserviently grateful and indebted. And they tradoff their rights for higher education, citizenship documentation, homesteads etc - all required to improve quality of life. (ala Bagan Pinang).

Just like the Malays should wean off the siege mentality, indians should get out of their dependency mentality.

If you can't be bothered to fight and compete for your rights, don't expect others to be concerned about it.

written by Shimshon, October 16, 2009 01:46:10
Actually - it's Islam!
The spirit/psyche of Islam makes Muslims want to grab land, and more lands - first the nonMuslim, then comes the Muslim-Muslim land-grab.

I recall back in the 1990s, MCA prez Ling Liong Sik asked the govt land for agriculture for the Chinese.

Malaya wanted the nonMuslim-majority Sabah and Sarawak as part of the Federation. And when she got it, this nonMuslim-majority became Muslim-majority (by the early 1990s).

Indonesia, other than wanting Malaysia as part of it's Indonesia Raya quest, (re: the Konfrantasi of the 1960s), also got territories way outside the 'Nusantara', like West Papua, East Timor(now independent Timor Leste), etc.

Arab-Muslims from the Arabian Peninsula ventured out and conquered lands millions and millions of square miles. They're called Arab Land & Peoples today, when these lands were taken from other ancient races & peoples and then Arabized. There are 22 states in the Arab League, when there should be just one Arab State (the Arabian Pen.)

The Hashemite family held custodian of the Grand Mosque of Makkah all along; but was ousted by the Saud family; so the Brits gave Jordan to the Hashemite royalties, by slicing Palestine (meant for the Jewish recreated state, under the Palestinian Mandate). And the Saud family named their country "Saudi Arabia" ie added their tribe's name to the land where Arabs originated.

Pakistan Islamists still want to make "Hindustan" India into a Muslim state. This after "the 2-State Solution" after gaining independance from Britain. Pak. Muslims (and nonMuslims) fled through the decades to (secular)India for a better life. So instead of being satisfied by getting a part of the Hindu-Buddhist-etc indigenous religions subcontinent, as Islamic State, the Pakis still want to Jihad/Holy War, still want all of India

Muslims like taking/stealing land from the nonMuslims, and declaring it "Once Muslim Land, Forever Muslim Land", and then claiming "native/indigenous" status.

There're "No-Go" areas in London, and other European cities, where nonMuslims dare not enter, including cops.

So you see, the relationship/connection between Islam and "land/territories".
You see the Islamic side of the Malays; it's not so much the Melayu side. And of course, this is APARTHEID policy too.
disagree 24
written by amoker, October 16, 2009 07:42:10
Agree with the article but put off with the opening of Kampung Buah Pala. Sorry dude, but after what they have done ( selling themselves to MIC / UMNO) and the merry go round, no sympathy to them. But I have been trying to help out the estate folks whenever i can.
written by temenggong, October 16, 2009 08:27:59
That is a well thought out and professionally written Budget Proposal. It is even better than the one proposed by DAP. I wonder if anyone has noticed, that it has the core ideas of economically restructuring the entire country with the Minimum Wage, Repatriation of Foreign Workers and another large allocation of land for agriculture.

106,000 Felda settlers together with their families numbering 700,000 in total, working on 2 million acres of land - this is what we need to replicate once again, but diversified into vegetables, flower, fruits, animal husbandry and aquaculture.
written by kksam, October 16, 2009 09:54:20
What, no people cares when Indian were marginalised? For how many generations have you all vote for BN? marginalised since Malaya? yeah and you vote BN since Malaya to Malaysia. and recently in Bagan Pinang. Some residents even comment what happened in national level is nothing to do with people in Bagan Pinang. Now that was the real reason why you have been marginalised again and again
written by avj, October 16, 2009 10:25:56
Naragan,Wong Mun Chee,both have one thing in common pretending to be THE champions for the Indians and LGE bashing together with DAP and PKR.I am a Malaysian of Indian origin but I disagree with both of you because Indians,particularly those from the south where my ancestor originated are made sterner stuff and are capable of great achievements. The beggar mentality that you are trying to promote is alien to them.
written by DezMalaysia, October 16, 2009 10:55:11
"Reap what you sow".

You want help, you plead for it, and not DEMAND & attacking hands that help.

"Non-bumis must be grateful for what's given" as you always hear from them all these 50years. You voted from them, then accept the fate of your decisions !

The kangaroo court of UMNO had decided that KBP are all squatters. So they are...

How naive that some people think that LGE is god who can do anything with his pen ! KBP folks are from GERAKAN & MIC.

Rewarding those squatters more is setting a dangerous precedent encouraging more people to squat for compensation. Other Malay (Bumi) demolished squatter kampungs get less compare to KBP greedies.
written by nesen, October 16, 2009 11:38:34
I do not wish to divert or distract from the above article which provides some very useful pointers for the way foreward for the Indians
But just one more time the Kamping Pala residents had in fact been promised the land by their benevolent employer (as did many other estates) but unforunately failed to put it in writing. It's like finding out after 30 years that your husband's insurance policy still had his ex-girlfriend's as the benificiary I admire lim Guan Eng and do not wish to blame him nor Prof Ramasamy who put in so much effort
We all know who is to blame....Let's move on
written by The Hammer, October 16, 2009 13:54:38
The Chinese farmers/growers will be the next target. Come soon, the pomelo farms in Perak and the vegetables growers in Cameron will be kicked out and in the end they will be hawking the goods instead.
It is already happenening.
But in way these will make the Indians and the Chinese to be more reslient if they are willing to change or end up in the dump!
written by Saint, October 16, 2009 17:24:30
You can continue to say the Indians are systematically marginalised, and continually too!!! Why not?
The Indians started to get together and formed MIC.
Then they started to split into PPP.
Then they started to split into IPF.
Then they started to split into Hindraf.
Then they started to split into Maka sathi.
How come they are not systematically marginalised? You may ask, it is their own wrongdoing after all these years!!!

And all these Indians sold their souls to UMNO Well, some Hindraf may not have.
written by SamBall, October 16, 2009 17:30:10
Why the big suprise at the agricultural sector, Mr Nagarajan?

Why only Indians? No Chinese ? Dll?

When you have systemic rape and plunder by these racist huMNoo bastards, land grab is just one sector. What about the minerals wealths, and the rest of Gods gift to all the rakyat?

Modern day raping, plundering and piracy on land and high waters still continues today in Msia by elected politicians. Why stop at agriculture??

written by bobdylan, October 16, 2009 18:18:42
BN screws indians , PR screws indians. The below could not be truer.

"When a pig slaughterhouse was demolished in Kedah recently, the sole DAP rep in the Kedah State Government there caused an uproar by threatening to resign and the issue was immediately resolved. If the affected farmers had been Malay cattle farmers, they would have been courted and alternative land would have been provided by one of the several government agencies set up expressly for this purpose. But this is an Indian farmer and so no one really cares".

Anwar, Hadi, Nik Aziz, LKS, Sing is King, LGE aka cuci tangan, Kula, Mano, Siva, Manika,...semua tak boleh pakai. Mulut diam saja.

Explain this LGE.

1. you'll have to ask LGE if you want to use the name Penang.
2. i dont need 300 KBP votes.
3. about firing penang port, when LGE finds out he's wrong, he blames the newspapers.
4. KBP resident must beg for forgiveness if they want their compensation.
5. The the oscar goes to....."Saya cuci tangan".
written by Joe, October 17, 2009 09:27:30
Soon there wont be any more ethnic Indians in Malaysia.
written by bobdylan, October 17, 2009 09:53:12
Dear Joe,

Before that we'll teach you a lesson you racist. Think Malaysian la!...soon there wont be indians, chinese and malays....there will only be foreigners
written by citizenmy, October 17, 2009 18:38:33
This article is a total BS.
When majority of Indians are still stuck in rubber and oil palm plantation, this will be interpreted as Indians are being marginalised..not given an opportunity to diversify.
When Indians find that the agricultural sector is not attractive enough, resulting in foreign labor influx, this is also being interpreted as Indians being marginalised.
The whole thing got nothing to do with marginalisation...If Narayanan. N willing to do a agricultural related job, I bet 100% there is immediate vacancy for him and his family..as long as they are willing to work for the salary offered.
written by ultraman_dyna, October 17, 2009 20:27:03
hahahahaha..
Indians blames Malays 4 systematic marginalisation..
The Malays blames Chinese monopoly..
The Chinese blames Bumiputera political hegemony..
Some blame Religion too..
Why not blame God 4 creating human into races?
Instead of writing/commenting this article blaming here & there..
Why not pen ur idea on how to ensure everybody gets a taste of the pie..
You write as if everything is peach & cream in the 'lucrative' agri industry..
The farmers are making enuf money just to live above poverty...
Which Malay/Indian/Chinese/Iban/Kadazan etc wants to work in the agri industry?
I have 2 vacancies for general workers at my workplace
No Malaysians seems to be interested working in a ladang anymore..
The pay is RM500p.m but accommodation & monthly food supply is provided
written by thirdeye, October 18, 2009 08:34:33
OK I agree there is systematic exclusion. Now how can we reverse this situation? I believe that should be the thrust of Naragan's next article.

I am sure if there is a REAL plan and ability to translate to results we can mobilse the Indian community towards success. Which individuals are feeling excluded from assistance? Why do they feel excluded? What can be done to be included or have a feeling to be included? I believe this should be the thrust of the Indian community.

I am Indian too and I do not subscribe whinging as a solution. Then we will soon be fearing our own shadows. I strongly believe there is no substitute to hard and effective work. Our forefathers who came here benefitted from this attitude. We are like any other community.

Yes a little help will go a long way but lets try to be more independant. Then we do not need to kowtow. Mr Naragan please, we need positive outlooks. Indian-based political parties, NGO's and the community have to deliver to themselves based on this relationship. There must be 'ottumai' amongst us to succeed.