After the MCA EGM PDF Print
Thursday, 15 October 2009 19:17

By Ong Tee Keat

I would like to thank my supporters from all races and all walks of life who have shown deep concern and showered me kind words and encouragement following the MCA 10/10 EGM. I am heartened by the call urging me to stay as president of the party.

Over the years, my political career has been guided by my conscience and the peoples’ aspirations. People who know me well know that I uphold my principles in my political practice. It has never been my practice to renege on my words, including what I had pledged earlier with regard to the outcome of the EGM.

Nonetheless, the disciplinary action was a collective decision of the Presidential Council and central committee. Hence, the onus and responsibility is not on me alone, but collectively.

That being the case, I had proposed to have fresh polls to seek a fresh mandate from the party, especially the outcome of the EGM was inconclusive and indicate that the grassroots were divided. The best way out of this situation is to seek the re-affirmation of the MCA leadership.

However any hopes for fresh poll was dashed because certain quarters are worried that I would renege on my words and decide to stay as the party president. This is absolutely baseless.

Because of this, today I have decided to go back to the grassroots. I have directed MCA secretary-general to call for an EGM under Article 30.1 of the MCA constitution to decide whether the Party should hold fresh poll for the central committee. The EGM/AGM will allow delegates to end the impasse over whether the central committee should seek a fresh mandate.

I still have a long list of unfinished business involving party and public interests, like the direct election of the MCA presidency and the Port Klang Free Zone issue. It is my wish to see such issues be addressed without any abrupt disruption.

I also would also like to congratulate Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai on his election as the deputy president after due deliberations by the central committee.

Last but not least, I need to tender my apologies to the people if they felt that I have not lived up to their expectations. I want to assure them that so long as I continue as a Member of Parliament and remain a discerning Malaysian, I will continue to pursue the PKFZ case in whatever capacity available to me. To my aspiring MCA colleagues, I must apologise if I stand in the way of your political ascendency. That has never been my intention.

To the genuine Party members and workers, please do continue with your endeavour to help strengthen the Party but do refrain from playing into the hands of manipulators and opportunists.

Life has to go on and I have no regrets over any decision and endeavour I had embarked upon.

http://www.ongteekeat.net/

written by Adrian, October 15, 2009 19:30:42
Press on. DSOTK.
written by clarity, October 15, 2009 19:59:11
So far OTK is the only politician that has an iota of honesty because of his relentless pursuit over the PKFZ debacle. Did CSL at any time voice his support in bringing the crooks to justice? N, all he is concerned about is his on selfish self. You leave it to the central committee, you can be sure that these bunch of corrupted chinaman will prefer not to have OTK. Common sense isn't it? Do you want a honest president who will prevent you from being corrupted?
written by Bloodhound, October 15, 2009 19:59:27
Your pledge to resign based on the outcome of the EGM must have been made with the understanding that the outcome of the EGM was not being manipulated by opportunists.

When opportunists takes advantage of the situation to manipulate the result of the voting process in order to gain benefit of such manipulations, then, Ong's pledge to resign would no longer be valid as the voting was being hijacked by nasty opportunists in order to further their own selfish gains.

As such, Ong do not need to resign. In fact, those who had involved themselves with the hijacking of the EGM voting system must be punished and discarded as members for bringing disrepute to the party's voting processes!

All genuine members must never allow opportunists to hijack the direction of the party! Anyone who dares to bring the party to disrepute must be punished severely.
written by storm62, October 15, 2009 20:08:29
OTK, to proof to the people as a reborn MCA president and also the opposition leaders, dig and bury those scumbags involved in this billion ringgit scandals and the death of a Malaysian chinese at the MACC that you truly fight for the chinese community in this country.

why not you list down all the unfinished business in your blog too for the public to view? let there be transparency too in your leadership. is it so that you are also at the mercy of umno?

otherwise, it's just a "one way tee keat" for you to doomsday in your career.
written by Loh, October 15, 2009 21:13:18
MCA EGM of 10/10 was for the meeting to decide who they support. Of the three resolutions, #1 was a vote on OTK, and the score was 1141 to 1155 against him. #3 was a vote on CSL, and the score was 1110 to 1184 against him, with 10 spoilt votes among 2304 voted. Thus a total of 2339 votes (1184 plus 1155) from 2294 (2304-10) voted against OTK and CSL. Among them 2339-2294= 45 voted against both OTK and CSL. Had the 45 voters chosen to vote against OTK only but voted for CSL, the score for CSL should read 1155 to1139 in CSL’s favour. Had the 45 voters chosen to vote against CSL only but voted for OTK, the score for OTK should read 1186 against 1110 against in OTK’s favour. If the 45 voters had randomly voted against one of the two, say 23 against OTK but for CSL, and the other 22 for OTK but against CSL, the score should read 1133 to 1163 in OTK’s favour, and 1151 against 1143 against CSL.

If OTK and CSL were to stand for the position of MCA president with the same persons from the central delegates voting, the results should read 1163 against 1143. But the results would depend on whether 20 persons among the voters change their mind.

MCA delegates are split down the middle. The current members of MCA central committee naturally want to retain the status quo, especially with the new Deputy President, who is only waiting for OTK to resign.

OTK has asked for a new EGM to decide whether there should be election for a new central committee. He should also have the proposal on direct election on the Presidency voted at the EGM. That could apply the moment he tenders his resignation. Quite obviously OTK cannot hope to get support from the current central committee. But it would certainly prevent the recurrence when 45 persons decided to cause havoc when they were supposed to vote on their preference on the question of disciplinary action taken against CSL.
written by SiHangChai, October 15, 2009 22:33:48
Just kill off MCA. A rotten and Chinese betrayer party. Arrogant leader.
written by Wudan, October 15, 2009 22:56:49
.....I will continue to pursue the PKFZ case in whatever capacity available to me.
------------------------------------

Yes please! Please ask Datuk Lee Hwa Beng to file another civil suit next week. Against Chan Kong Choy can ah?
written by sampalee, October 15, 2009 23:03:37
God is trying to wake up the masses to stop wasting time on futile effort like the childish ballot box,where even convicted corrupt person can be elected.The people have ONLY ONE choice and that is to know the Truth in the scripture and all else are rubbish as horns on a rabbit.Tuhan do not wish us to suffur unnecessarily and left behind clear instruction with mankinds over differnt nations and different epocs.That one Truth that crush all bondages both here and the hereafter[since in truth time is an illusion and the ONE timelessness includes all past present and future]
written by Wudan, October 15, 2009 23:19:46
I like this picture a lot http://thestar.com.my/news/sto...ec=nation. Ini macam 1MCA Team against its President now within a week.
written by educationist, October 16, 2009 05:20:41
Yes, i agree , going back to the grassroots is a good move.
Let the MCA members decide since there's a stalemate as a result of the EGM.
written by krising1, October 16, 2009 07:17:20
Now hear this you not so straight talking maverick and his supporters. He said that he will resign if he lost the vote. Did he lose? Yes. Did he resign? No. If he had said that if two thirds vote and want him to resign, I am quite sure two thirds would have voted against him. He has turned out to be a cheap skate like all the other cheap skates. The scandal was out inn the long before OTK became minister. No credit to him please.
written by Rhan, October 16, 2009 09:25:25
krising1, I found that your comment is very strident, however I tend to agree with you. OTK should resign first and contest again in the next election.

written by sorosapril, October 16, 2009 11:41:51
Let's dissolve MCA and get Najib to contact DAP since DAP all the while fighting for chinese rights only, and get DAP to represent the chinese instead of MCA representing the chinese.

after all PR now is like doing nothing especially in the recent by-election, like no PR at all, separate entities approach, so DAP should consider teaming up with UMNO and make Malaysia a better place.

if DAP go and talk to UMNO and start a new coalition called 1 Malaysia party, then better lah