Tee Keat clings on, Liow is No 2 and MCA heads for implosion PDF Print
Thursday, 15 October 2009 19:12
By Lee Wei Lian and Leslie Lau, The Malaysian Insider

Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai was appointed deputy president of MCA today after a heated central committee meeting that saw him at loggerheads with party president Datuk Seri Ong Tee Keat who says he will now call for another EGM.

Ong also refused to resign as party president today despite losing a confidence vote last week.

The party president will now use his powers to call for another EGM to decide if the party should have fresh elections.

Ong, Liow and other central committee members emerged from their meeting today without speaking to the press.

In a posting on his blog put up immediately after the meeting, Ong said he had directed MCA secretary-general Wong Foon Meng to call for an EGM under Article 30.1 of the MCA constitution to decide whether to hold fresh polls.

“The EGM/AGM will allow delegates to end the impasse over whether the central committee should seek a fresh mandate.

“I still have a long list of unfinished business involving party and public interests, like the direct election of the MCA presidency and the Port Klang Free Zone issue. It is my wish to see such issues addressed without any abrupt disruptions.”

He added that any hopes today, for fresh polls was dashed “because certain quarters are worried that I would renege on my words and decide to stay as the party president.”

“This is absolutely baseless.”

Despite being appointed the party No 2 today, a sombre-looking Liow also refused to talk to reporters.

The Malaysian Insider understands that the meeting was heated, with Liow and Ong at the centre of arguments.

As expected, Ong’s refusal to resign has split the party further.

READ MORE HERE: http://www.malaysiainsider.com/

written by by2020, October 15, 2009 19:26:42
Any body who doubted my earlier posting that those who wish to see the ouster of OTK were those around him claiming to be his royal supporters, but instead voted otherwise!

Those so called MCA leaders are a bunch of cheats!
written by billykbk, October 15, 2009 19:44:58
This OTK is an incorrigible liar. I heard him said that he would resign if voted down by delegates in EGM. So, politicians from BN always speak with a forked tongue, right? How to let them lead the Chinese, they can't even lead their own deluded minds properly. Scumbags!
disagree 26
written by devious17, October 15, 2009 20:17:50
You flers in the mca are total DISGRACE to the fore fathers of the real MCA. MCA was conceived with noble intentions and had gained respect over time by the community by and large only to be blemished by all you crooks and umno lackeys!

Shame!!
written by inoi, October 15, 2009 20:20:14
Buddhist proverb said "Beauty does not delude man to folly,it is man who delude himself to folly".
written by KingSolomon, October 15, 2009 20:43:49
The chinese community couldn't give a damn to the in-fighting of MCA top crooks. This Liow fellow slithers behind OTK like a snake and has now shown his fangs. Any news whether MACC has started investigating a story in MT yesterday that a health ministry contractor bought a new RM500,000 Alphard for his wife? Another story says the silent Kong is the taiko of Lumut and is barking loudly now. A gang of snakes and rats.
written by No nonsense, October 15, 2009 21:07:46
Please we are waiting for Mca explosion. Just see for yourself that they are more interested to be leaders without thinking of the rakyat. As long as they stay on top they cannot have two hoots about the people. I still back OTK even though I am with PR cause he is doing something that no other past leaders have done or brave enough to do what he is doing. Only corrupts S-holes will want him out. OTK do what you have to do cause you will not be dissapointed by your effort and who knows more chinese will like you better. Join PKR if that is the last thing you can do. You are most welcome.
written by onnetline, October 15, 2009 21:13:46
From a contributor yesterday .....

Wednesday, 14 October 2009 07:14

Dear Health Minister YB Dato Liow,

You have the wrong priorities since taking over the ministry.

Instead of taking care of H1N1 you are taking care of your BiNi ( Lee Su Loo )!

Half million Ringgit worth of birthday presents you bought for your wife in January 09!

A Toyota Alphard costing 574,884.10 Ringgit. (Car number plate WSB 15)

Alas!!! Who paid for it? Axis Construction Sdn.Bhd, the company that always appear in your Ministry's winning tender list. God sent or dirty hand?

Mr. Health Minister, take care of the public's health not your bank account. You are no different from the rest of the corrupt officials that dip their fingers in the piggy bank.

Please tell us why your ministry's contractor paid for your wife's car down payment?

There was a cheque on January 2009, HLB 373727 ($ 324,884.10) from Axis Construction to the car dealer for the car WSB 15. Another cheque HLB 373727 paid to the seller. ($ 9,299.90).

Where is your clean heart? Gone to the Cigarette companies?

You also squeezed your contractor to pay for the Monthly instalments for that expensive gift to your BiNi!!

On the 19th of each month, Benny Ho of Axis construction will deposit $4,730 to your BiNi's bank account (Public Bank Saving Account Number 4487469902). Some of the check numbers are HLB 359666 and HLB 383393!

Our country is the worst hit country of H1N1 in the world, you have no idea what to do and all you care for is taking a cruise in your BiNi's ill gotten luxurious car!

........ God help us.
written by sydput, October 15, 2009 22:25:42
Bloody hell.
Health minister sure looks decent and innocent.
But why buy alphard when a hyundai starex cost so much less and is even bigger, plus save fuel as it runs on diesel.
written by Sabahfan, October 15, 2009 23:58:20
is it any surprise? all chinese leaders in MCA are corrupt.

tea or coffee money terms came from them..

Health ministry is most corrupted, thats why our hospital in Sabah is dead...

Health minister either too bz collecting money thru wife or fukking in hotels like SOI LEK...
written by SiHangChai, October 15, 2009 23:59:28
What sort of ethic does this OTK has to show that he is MR Clean and anti-corruption? Brader OTK, your deputy Liow was as corrupted as Ling LS or Chan KC, whoever MCA leaders are. Check his bloody luxury car transaction fro a 3rd party to his wife first before you said you are as competent to be MCA No. 1. You are just a disgrace to MCA and Chua Sok Lek.
written by rocky, October 16, 2009 00:03:38
Looks like CC wants to share out the spoils. Better to call for election and start all over. But some are afraid I guess.OTK call for election and step down. you can recontest thou.
written by malaysian7, October 16, 2009 00:17:46
Any difference???

IF OTK out.. then LTL... else the rest..

Like RPK mentioned, you don't replace an evil with another evil.

written by Ghifarix, October 16, 2009 07:50:29
I'm loving it, aren't you RAKYAT - Ong turn on his promise to resign enmass with his stooges and begins the inevitable implosion amongst the toxic cells....true to form BN/UMNO liars, they got no word no princip; just plain crooks dribbling over the soup. Fight on! you miserable thieves- RAKYAT had enough of you.
written by freerpk, October 16, 2009 08:37:02
Ai yah, all politician are there for their own benefit lah. The true & faithful ones that actually fight for the rakyat are on the opposite side of the fence lah where they are investigated by MACC, put under ISA, found dead under tall buildings. Tha is the way life is in 1Malaysia lah. The majority of the rakyat are very happy see the results of the Bagan Pinang byelection. A proven corrupt leader is voted in with an even bigger majority. That tell you very much about the voters.
written by bodohland_citizen, October 16, 2009 10:37:52
BTW, does the party president or deputy receive salary ah ? I dont know. Pls help. The way they fight the post, the money must be good meh ? Oi moh ?
written by raven1958, October 17, 2009 03:43:41
Does this mean Tiong fella will get his money and jets back.....
written by cheemengwong, October 18, 2009 18:27:02
2 cheques same number different amount? Please correct the mistake lah?
written by wood, October 18, 2009 19:11:54
It does not matter to many now who runs the MCA if it is still these bunch of fellows????? What have you guys done for the rakyat ???