Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Scarce echo of Khairy’s speech in Umno Youth debate

Scarce echo of Khairy’s speech in Umno Youth debate PDF Print
Thursday, 15 October 2009 00:07

Written by Chua Sue-Ann, The Edge

Hundreds of Umno Youth delegates rose in standing ovation during their chief Khairy Jamaluddin’s fiery maiden policy speech on Oct 14, but the debate that followed made little mention of Khairy’s calls for the party to stay away from its “siege mentality” and the “Malay dominance” rhetoric.

The key feature during the debate of the Umno Youth chief’s speech by some 13 state representatives was Barisan Nasional’s (BN) victory in the recent Bagan Pinang polls as well as Umno’s proposed constitutional reforms set to be officially unveiled Oct 15.

Tuan Aziz Tuan Mat, who was BN’s candidate in the Manek Urai by-election, reminded delegates that Umno still faced larger struggles ahead despite scoring a strong showing in Bagan Pinang.

“The power of the rakyat is stronger than the party’s power. We have to find a new mechanism to make the party more people-friendly,” Tuan Aziz said.

On the party’s constitutional reforms, Tuan Aziz reminded that the structural changes to Umno were merely a small part of the change desired by the grassroots and the rakyat.

“Umno cannot just rely on abolishing (nomination) quotas and increasing the number of eligible voters. There is more room for improvement to increase people’s confidence in the leadership of Umno and Barisan Nasional,” he told some 795 Youth delegates on Oct 14.

With the elation of the Bagan Pinang polls still fresh, on Oct 14’s speeches by many of the Umno Youth state representatives sounded as though they were tailored for a ceramah.

Many could not resist taking swipes at the opposition, particularly PAS and Pakatan Rakyat (PR) leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim.

Meanwhile, several speakers took the opportunity to vent frustration at the purported lack of funds for Umno Youth divisions to operate while one speaker managed to slip in a thinly-veiled request for a cabinet position for their chief.

Khairy is the only wing leader in Umno without a ministerial position. Wanita head Datuk Seri Shahrizat Abdul Jalil is the women, family and community development minister while Puteri’s Datuk Rosnah Abdul Rashid Shirlin is the deputy health minister. Khairy’s deputy, Datuk Razali Ibrahim is the deputy sports minister.

Indera Mahkota Umno Youth chief Suhaimi Sulong made an appeal to his “friends sitting up there and in government positions” to look after the welfare of the party’s grassroots.

“Our friends up there, don’t be too comfortable. Do what you need to do to channel (funds) to them because it is Umno Youth (that fuels the party’s machinery),” said Suhaimi, who represented Pahang Umno Youth.

Jasin Umno Youth chief Zaidi Atan, speaking for Melaka Umno Youth, similarly issued an urgent call to Umno president Datuk Seri Najib Razak to increase allocations for Umno Youth so that the party’s youth wing would not be seen as “beggars or contract hunters”.

Responding to that matter in his winding-up speech, Khairy pointed out that Najib on Oct 13 announced increased allocations for Umno divisions and pledged to ask for the additional funds to be channelled directly to Umno Youth divisions.

Khairy also told delegates he was encouraged by the spirit of unity within the Umno Youth wing despite the close fight for leadership posts during the party elections in March this year.

Khairy won the three-cornered battle for the Umno Youth chief seat when he bagged 304 votes against deputy minister of international trade and industry Datuk Seri Mukhriz Mahathir and former Selangor menteri besar Datuk Seri Mohamad Khir Toyo who won 232 votes and 254 votes respectively.

written by cheekhiaw, October 15, 2009 00:16:21
What did that half-child half-devil say?

written by raven1958, October 15, 2009 00:40:29
That's because everyone knows he is an actor maaa....all sandiwara. Begging for attention and yah contracts too..

Ought to be taxi driver...tapi jadi UMNO Youth boss...sama macam Zak jaga pintu line keretapi tapi jadi DUN. UMNO..dead in the mind,body and soul. Tunggu masok kubur saja.
written by Sutha, October 15, 2009 00:53:35
Standing Ovation?

Well,...... that's what spineless and opinionless people do. Easier, right?
written by storm62, October 15, 2009 00:57:48
wah, umno youth asking for more allocations to up-grade their Mat rempits snatch thives get-away bikes?

people, better fasten your seat belts and get ready for more mat rempit actions.
written by Arowana, October 15, 2009 01:10:39
Talk is Cheap Nowadys!!!

Tear Down NEP !!!
Tear Down Scholarship Quotas !!!
Tear Down Biro Tata Negara !!!

If these 3 issues is seen to be done, we shall move on to the next stage....

That is the most crucial of all, your Idiot Little Napoleons.

written by NSTPravda, October 15, 2009 05:44:07
It's the Oxfarter not the Oxfart that counts. One cheer to Oxfart Khairy! Semua-nya OK!
smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by krising1, October 15, 2009 06:42:00
Beggars! Semua minta duit atau pangkat! Days of free flowing funds are over boys. Kitty has been robbed blind by the likes of Khir Toyol!
written by ROBERTNGTG, October 15, 2009 09:01:39
Jasin Umno Youth chief Zaidi Atan, speaking for Melaka Umno Youth, similarly issued an urgent call to Umno president Datuk Seri Najib Razak to increase allocations for Umno Youth so that the party’s youth wing would not be seen as “beggars or contract hunters”.

WALAU EH. ISNT THAT IS WHAT YOU BLOKES HV BEEN GETTING THESE DONKEY YEARS?? STILL NOT ENOUGH??
written by Bigjoe99, October 15, 2009 09:13:08
The response is NOT unexpected. So why did KJ made the speech that he did? It got into the papers but its not telecast live anymore. It has little impact on urban votes who are online..

My sense is that KJ is just too full of himself. He really over-stretch himself as far as playing he hypocrisy game. His words and actions can be poles apart. He fundamentally don't get that the game he plays has reach its limit and he has no clue how to play a different game - the honest game.. The compromise game..If the future leaders of UMNO don't even have a clue they have to play a compromise game for the future much less actually actually do it, then what hope is there of real reform?

UMNO is finished, sooner or later. It really is no matter what...
written by Just Gan, October 15, 2009 09:40:09
Khairy,
At last a speech more in tune with being educated at Oxford. Go beyond the speech and act. Mobilize your UMNO Youth to implement a Malay-led Malaysian agenda which is just and fair to all regardless of race or religion, an agenda which helps those who need help. Make sure that your future speeches continue your call at the UMNO Youth AGM. When you see any event which is contrary to a Malaysian agenda, come forward and openly criticize those responsible. Your Malay-led Malaysian agenda will win the support of not only right thinking and decent Malays but also the non-Malays. You will be be well-positioned to become PM one day.

Alas, your past actions and behaviour suggest that what has been mentioned above is unlikely to happen. Unfortunately, your greed combined with your cowardice will ensure there will be no follow-up action to the speech at the UMNO Youth AGM - your UMNO youths do not appear to be inspired by your speech. I'll bet that your next year's speech will be very different, more in the genre of those made by the "kurang ajar" keris-wielding coward Hishamudin, your predecessor.

You recently called Anwar a chameleon and said that UMNO youth will prevent him from becoming PM. Unless you follow-up your UMNO Youth speech with solid action, you will be the real chameleon, saying one thing and acting differently depending on the situation and audience. Here is an opportunity for you to rise above the cowards, morons and crooks in UMNO aspiring to become the next PM (Hishamudin, Mukhriz, Khir Toyo, etc., etc.) , and position yourself as a responsible leader and a potential PM for all Malaysians. Looking at your track record and past actions and speeches, this appears to be mere wishful thinking. Prove us wrong in our assessment of you as a greedy cowardly ultra-Malay. Prove to us that you are indeed an Oxford-educated intellectual and a potential PM for all Malaysians.
written by verifunny, October 15, 2009 10:26:18
If I were you, I would have left. Why listen to someone suspected of corruption during Umnono election. Why listen to a double-headed snake? Same like your president, clear your name first and talk later.
written by alpha1, October 15, 2009 11:45:25
All who stood and gave the ovation are obviously ball carriers! This KJ PIG is nothing w/o his sleepy FIL! UMNO Youth chief w/o a ministerial post?? What an embarrassment & joke! It's so obvious the top leader made him seat warmer, gave his FIL a little bit of face, thats all! Got a few tight slaps from the top and still unaware! Stupid idiot still thinking of how great he is! Be ashamed of yourself, monkey! smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif
written by sataysticks, October 16, 2009 00:39:44
These UMNO YOUTH goons frequently stand to FART !!!! (too much free food)

NOT a standing ovation!