Home arrow The Blogs arrow The Corridors of Power arrow PKR is on self-destruct mode in Sarawak and Sabah

PKR is on self-destruct mode in Sarawak and Sabah PDF Print
Wednesday, 14 October 2009 14:51

Sarawak has 31 parliament seats and Sabah another 25. That makes 56 parliament seats in all. 56 out of a total of 222 means Sarawak and Sabah control about 25% of the seats in parliament. So, whomsoever wants to form the federal government must win Sarawak and Sabah. If not, then dream on.

West Malaysians think they are very clever, much cleverer than the 'natives' of East Malaysia. Some even think that East Malaysians are head-hunters and cannibals who walk around naked save for a leaf around their waist to hide their family jewels. So East Malaysians are not clever enough to make their own decisions. Kuala Lumpur has to decide what is best for Sarawak and Sabah. And Kuala Lumpur will decide who should lead the opposition in Sarawak and Sabah and who should be the candidates in the elections.

I suppose this not only demonstrates ignorance but arrogance as well. Or should we say ignorant arrogance (bodoh sombong, as the Malays would say)? Why can’t those people who sit in their high towers in Kuala Lumpur understand one thing? East Malaysians want to decide their own destiny and they know what is good for them better than any West Malaysian who flies into Sarawak or Sabah once or twice a year.

Sarawakians and Sabahans are fed up with the domination by Kuala Lumpur. They view Umno and Barisan Nasional as parti penjajah (colonialist parties). Sarawak and Sabah agreed to team up with the Federation of Malaya to form Malaysia in 1963 because they wanted independence from Britain. It was not to replace one colonial master, 10,000 miles away, with 10,000 colonial masters, one mile away.

Now, even the opposition, who want to replace Barisan Nasional as the government in East Malaysia, are acting like parti penjajah. Why should the East Malaysians choose the opposition over Barisan Nasional if all they would be doing is to replace one colonialist party for another colonialist party?

The East Malaysians know whom they want as their leaders and candidates. They do not want Kuala Lumpur deciding on their behalf their leaders and candidates. They know whom they should choose. After all, most times, Kuala Lumpur has demonstrated that they choose the wrong person anyway and it always ends up with disastrous results.

The chasm between East Malaysia and Kuala Lumpur is getting wider. However, instead of exploring ways to build a bridge, Kuala Lumpur is 'declaring war' on Sarawak and Sabah. And the opposition is going to end up losing East Malaysia because of this stupidity.

For example, Sabah is throwing a Hari Raya bash and Dr Jeffrey Kitingan has invited Zaid Ibrahim as their guest. Zaid has agreed to attend but there are those in PKR who do not want him to go. They want him to boycott the event to send a message to PKR Sabah that Kuala Lumpur is not supportive of Jeffrey.

If the PKR leadership thinks that Jeffrey should go then tell him so. Then let him go back to Barisan Nasional if this is what PKR wants. But to boycott his Hari Raya party and to order Zaid to not attend the event is not only childish but damaging the opposition cause as well.

It is time this nonsense stops. We just can’t treat the East Malaysians like we are their colonial masters. The East Malaysians will never take this crap from Kuala Lumpur. The piece below, which was published in Malaysia Today on 12 October 2009, says it all. To West Malaysians, however, this is an East Malaysian matter and, therefore, of no interest to us in West Malaysia.

But it does matter. It does matter because Sarawak has 31 parliament seats and Sabah another 25. That makes 56 parliament seats in all. 56 out of a total of 222 means Sarawak and Sabah control about 25% of the seats in parliament. So, whomsoever wants to form the federal government must win Sarawak and Sabah. If not, then dream on.

PKR is screwing up Sarawak and Sabah big-time. The article by Paul Sir, originally published in The Borneo Post and reproduced in Malaysian Mirror, explains only part of the problem and there are some things missing from this piece.

Why in heaven’s name did Anwar Ibrahim select Gabriel Adit as his ‘horse’ in Sarawak? This is one slime-ball who does more harm than good. And now he wants to go and form Pakatan Rakyat Sarawak.

Does the name ring a bell? Pakatan Rakyat. This would mean once the Registrar of Societies approves the registration of Pakatan Rakyat Sarawak, then that name can no longer be used. And this would mean Pakatan Rakyat or PR will have to go look for a new name.

Gabriel Adit is hijacking the Pakatan Rakyat name so that the opposition coalition will not be able to use that name any longer, at least not as a registered coalition. And this is the man Anwar trusted so much.

Gabriel Adit is in fact in deep financial trouble. He is in serious debt and one of the banks he owes money to is none other than CIMB, the bank that is run by Prime Minister Najib Tun Razak’s brother. Najib has agreed to help Gabriel Adit solve his financial problems that runs into millions if he agrees to sabotage the opposition in Sarawak.

And this is exactly what he is doing.

From the word go Gabriel Adit was the wrong ‘horse’ for Sarawak. Other than his financial problems he is also a known Tiong King Sing crony, the Member of Parliament for Bintulu who is at the centre of the PKFZ scandal. Remember the plane rides and RM10 million cash he gave the MCA president, recently deposed? Yes, this is that same man.

The other person Gabriel Adit is associated with is Sng Chee Hua. This was the man behind Ummi Hafilda Ali, Azmin Ali’s sister, who was the crucial person in Anwar Ibrahim’s sodomy trial in 1998-1999. You can say that Sng and Umi are both behind Anwar’s downfall and his subsequent six years and seven months stay in prison.

Why in heaven’s name would Anwar trust these types of people? Just because they have prostrated on the ground and begged forgiveness does not mean these leopards have changed their spots. I would call them Trojan Horses. And would not someone who is having an affair with someone’s wife be a gross liability if the public were to find out? Yes, and don’t tell me that Anwar had not heard of the affair that Gabriel Adit is having with Datin Pengiran Juliana?

Anwar and PKR are making too many mistakes in East Malaysia. It is time they stopped messing up Sarawak and Sabah before the East Malaysians kicked out PKR for good. I think this boycott of Jeffrey’s Hari Raya bash is the last straw. They do this and even I will persuade Jeffrey to leave PKR and go set up his own party. And if they twist Zaid’s arm and force him to boycott Jeffrey’s event then maybe Zaid should also reconsider his position in PKR.

I have just about had it with these childish and amateurish antics of the PKR people who are messing up everything. Don’t try to push Sarawak and Sabah around. They will not take this kind of treatment. And the more you act like colonialists the more they are going to resist you. And without Sarawak and Sabah and the 56 parliament seats they control you can forget about forming the next federal government.

FURTHER READING

1. We want ketuanan rakyat, not ketuanan Melayu, in Sabah  

2. Has PKR lost the plot in East Malaysia?

Appointing ‘outsiders’: Wrong move by PKR

Paul Sir, Malaysian Mirror

For the sake of giving an honest view of this subject, allow me as a Sarawakian to call a spade a spade.

While I can readily call myself a Malaysian, at times not with much pride (for obvious reasons), I will also consider those from Peninsular Malaysia ‘outsiders’. By that, I mean they are not Sarawakians but “Orang Malaya”.

I’m sorry but I have to say this. Because of the ways so many events have been played out in our nation, I have yet to fully grasp the 1Malaysia Concept espoused by our prime minister. To me, Najib Abdul Razak’s slogan is also nothing new. We have been talking about one Malaysia since Independence.

The term ‘outsider’ can be considered quite ‘undiplomatic’. It connotes an unwanted presence – as ‘outsiders’ mean those not from within but, as its name implies, outside.

However, I have no qualms about using the word when discussing politics. It’s all part of straight talking as politics is also about the art of courageously using the ‘wrong’ word (deliberately even) at the correct time when situations warrant it.

Let me try to give a clearer explanation by reviewing the situation of Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) in Sarawak and Sabah today.

In March this year, PKR supremo Anwar Ibrahim took over as state PKR chairman in Sarawak and Sabah. To party members in the two East Malaysian states, Anwar is considered an ‘outsider’. He is not a resident from either state.

Anwar an 'acceptable' outsider

Well, the PKR boss may have valid reasons for doing so. Previous chairmen of the party’s state liaison committees in the two states might not have lived up to his expectation. So in a move to revamp and improve the set-up of his party in Sabah and Sarawak, Anwar took over as its chair.

So far, there were no complaints from party leaders and members in the two states. If there were any, it did not enter the public domain. So we can assume all was okay.

Anwar also has the clout and stature even though he is an outsider. We can conclude that he was an acceptable outsider to PKR members in Sabah and Sarawak.

Two months later, however, Anwar gave up the posts citing heavy commitments at home and abroad. He just could not give much of his time nor attention to party affairs in Sarawak and Sabah.

He appointed two persons to replace him. Party vice-president Mustaffa Kamil Ayub took over the Sarawak chair while another veep, Azmin Ali, the Sabah side.

And I believe this is when problems started to arise within PKR in the two East Malaysian states. And this is where the term ‘outsiders’ has a very negative connotation.

Right from the time when their appointments were announced, many local PKR leaders in Sarawak and Sabah already did not take it too kindly.

With due respect to the two gentlemen, Mustaffa and Azmin just do not possess the Anwar charisma nor stature to lead the party in the two states. In short, they were ‘unacceptable outsiders’.

I think I am able to appreciate and understand local sentiments. If I were a PKR member (which I am not) I would find it difficult to accept Mustaffa as my top leader in Sarawak.

Think of the reversed situation

Why? Simple. I don’t even know him. I wonder how many PKR leaders and members in Sarawak know who he is.

He may be a good and able leader but that’s not the point. The issue is why a local Sarawakian or Sabahan not appointed to head the party in their own states. Why appoint ‘outsiders’?

Put it this way. Try appointing Gabriel Adit to head Selangor PKR or Dominique Ng to lead Penang PKR and see whether they could be accepted by party leaders and members in those two states.

Local sentiments will make it difficult for them to function effectively there because Adit and Ng are considered outsiders in Selangor and Penang.

Similarly, I doubt PKR people in Malacca or Negri Sembilan would be able to accept Dr Jeffrey Kitingan, a Sabahan, as their state chief. Why? Because Jeffrey is an outsider.

Anwar Ibrahim had said that the appointments of Mustaffa and Azmin were only temporary but a mistake has been made, even if it is only a temporary mistake. Damage has been done.

Anwar should have allowed senior PKR leaders to elect an acceptable local leader from among themselves. In Sarawak, don’t tell me that people like Nicholas Bawin, Baru Bian, Jewah Gerang, Adit, Dominique and others are not qualified nor suitable to lead the party in the state.

Granted, they may have differences among themselves (but isn’t that normal in politics) but a local leader, and not an outsider, would still be the more preferred and acceptable choice.

DAP has done very well in this aspect. All their leaders in Sabah and Sarawak are locals. PKR can learn a thing or two from their ally in Pakatan Rakyat.

It’s the same situation in Sabah. Why were Jeffrey Kitingan, Ansari Abdullah or Kong Hong Ming not appointed to head Sabah PKR?

Why was Azmin Ali appointed instead? What is so right about Azmin that is so wrong with Jeffrey, Ansari or Kong Hong Ming.

As far as I know, these three are very senior politicians and Azmin can be considered very junior in comparison.

In Sarawak, Gabriel Adit is a five-term state assemblyman and Jewah Gerang is a veteran MP. Mustaffa is nowhere near Adit or Jewah in terms of experience and seniority in politics. So how can you expect these veterans to accept a junior as their boss.

And let’s not forget that most politicians have very big ego.

The notion of finding a ‘neutral’ man to lead in Sabah and Sarawak does not hold in this case. Local sentiments is paramount. It’s a pity Anwar did not pay much attention to this…or did he?

Trouble brewing

Last week, we begin to see tension and disillusionment within the ranks of PKR in Sarawak and Sabah. I believe it has a lot to do with the ‘outsider’ issue.

Gabriel Adit is on the way to form a new party, speculated to be named Pakatan Rakyat Sarawak. His party is scheduled to be launched on Oct 15. Ten months ago, he was given a rousing welcome when he joined PKR.

Where did Adit or PKR go wrong? We can continue to speculate but at the end of it all, Adit must have realized that PKR may not be the political platform he was looking for.

Over in Sabah, a group of division chiefs have expressed no confidence in the leadership of recently appointed state chief Azmin Ali. They wanted Azmin removed and proposed Jeffrey Kitingan to take over.

Azmin had since responded that he was prepared to give up the Sabah chair and would notify Anwar of his decision.

It is clear in the case of Sabah that the PKR leadership was wrong to have appointed an ‘outsider’ to head the party in the state.

Anwar Ibrahim will have some soul-searching to do and must act quickly as trouble is already brewing within his party in Sabah and Sarawak where he is, unfortunately, also an ‘outsider’.

Comments (57)Add Comment
written by gycgocnt, October 14, 2009 15:27:37
PKR leadership in Peninsular should understand that East Malaysia political parties are not mature enough to accept those "Outsider" to rules them!

The real democracy should be archieve on the basic of "Step by Step". Each democracy country undergone the process of religion politics-racial politics- multiracial politics and last the True Democracy without identified colour and religious mean.

East Malaysian still consider they are Sabahan, Sarawakian, Iban, Kadazandusun, Penan..... How are you going to ask a Malay (Azmin) to be their general?

PKR should appoint Jeffrey Kitingan as PKR chief in Sabah instead!

disagree 22
written by raven1958, October 14, 2009 15:31:47
Whatever it is...dont bring Islam to Sabah and Sarawak...sure loose wan..

disagree 38
agree 157
written by macanhitam, October 14, 2009 16:08:18
i agree wholeheartedly with this issue that east malaysians are supposed to govern themselves. i am from perak, and i would object if there is a sabahan or a sarawakian leading the party branch that i am in. i admire the charisma of azmin & DSAI but in this matter, they both deserve the boot if they were to mess up with sabah/sarawak internals.

PKR should reform itself. sometimes PKR looks more UMNO than the normal UMNO self. Oh well, a change of coat does not mean a change inside.
written by sydput, October 14, 2009 16:09:43
this gabriel chap could be anwar's new "bum boy".
To tkae over sabah can be very difficult because UMNo holds the majority in sabah. And every UMNO sabah guy is dreaming of being the PM of Malaysia, including Shafiq apdal.
That means the battle to control malaysia will have to be in sarawak. malays are only 22%. melanaus, Ibans and chinese actually will decide on which party will rule Malaysia.
written by Wisdom above, October 14, 2009 16:12:44
PR will have to go look for a new name. Look like PR have to use "BARISAN RAKYAT" as proposed by People's Parliament! SABM.
written by Mapel101, October 14, 2009 16:16:04
Jeffrey Pariah Kitingan is a liability to PKR. He is an outcast. Rejected by everyone: UMNO, Akar, PBRS, Upko, PBS, etc. He was rejected by PBS twice!!!! The sooner the PKR get rid of him the better. By Sabah will not vote for PKR is because of people like him. Pariah, talk big, corrupt and no good doer. You want win Sabah, then get credible people. Don't get pariahs.
written by Mapel101, October 14, 2009 16:18:50
Ansari also pariah. dont forget he committed CBT. criminal breach of trust. cheated bank pertanian. You mahu orang macam ni???? comon! so far, PKR can only attract rejects like Jeffrey Pariah Kitingan and Ansari CBT Abdullah.
written by Kaboda, October 14, 2009 16:38:23
East Malaysia has been the raped by UMNO for years. Infrastructure and spending has been next to nil. Its amazing how PKR cannot convince the people that there is something better. Than RM50 every election.
written by educationist, October 14, 2009 16:48:29
If an astute politician like Anwar is treating Sabah and sarawak opposition political leaders like the UMNOputras, then the PR do not deserve the chance to rule the country.
For that matter, as RPK pointed out, the PR can forget about defeating the UMNOputras in the next general elections.
and, so we who are looking at the PR to bring about change, change towards a more fair, just, civil and democractic country will just have to dream on.
written by joeawk, October 14, 2009 16:49:31
Well, well, well, PKR was going to be like this. these are not very clever people. They are opportunists who can't hack it in UMNO and they are the weakiest link in Pakatan and not PAS. PAS people, except for a few UMNO trojan horses, are very much more credible than PKR opportunists, bar the few young punks.

Pakatan talk about democracy, democrazy is more like it. Lord over no one and you will have the support. In this early day , PKR is showing us that they are just like UMNO, loving it, lording over others.
written by Kathy, October 14, 2009 17:04:22
Oops, correction:

Over the last few days the spotlight has been strained on PKR in Sarawak and Sabah and their apparent dissatisfaction with their West Malaysian leaders. We in Sarawak are fed up to the hilt with being lorded over by West Malaysians. We thought it would be different with PKR but apparently not so. I urge Anwar to resolve this urgently. Perhaps he could talk to DAP and see how they do it. I know that DAP Sarawak is run by the locals and they are relatively successful. Anwar, speak to us. Your silence is deafening! smilies/angry.gif
written by axppin, October 14, 2009 17:36:43
It should not come as a surprise if parti Pakatan Rakyat Sarawak (or Borneo or Kenyalang or whatever) is speedily approved. At the very worse the name has been reserved and no longer available. Very smart move. Very smart! So how? What has Pakatan supremo got to say now?? Perhaps an elegant silence??

written by aryn, October 14, 2009 17:41:33
The ketuanan semenanjung is the reason why Berjaya/BN lost to PBS in 1986.

Despite the severe punishment heaped on Sabah when PBS pulled out of BN in late 1980 (or 1990), PBS still won in 1994 because the party IS Sabah.

After what happened in Sabah and knowing very well that Sabahans don't like to colonised (we are once a country of our own, remember?), BN and even PKR leaders still don't wise up.

BN have the 'pengundi hantu' to help them win the PRU13 but PR/PKR need all the local supports. These party/coalition is not helping themselves.

Just digging their grave in Sabah and Sarawak.
written by SotPlug, October 14, 2009 17:44:55
"PKR leadership in Peninsular should understand that East Malaysia political parties are not mature enough to accept those "Outsider" to rules them!"

Frankly, these are the kind of comments that will make East Malaysians dislike West Malaysians. I remember coming to KL in 1996 and someone (a college mate, so this is not an idiot) asked me if Sarawakians still live on trees. duh...
written by zhugeliang, October 14, 2009 18:35:40
Maybe just what we need is to empower PKR in East Malaysia. Don't micro-manage them too much. Support them rather than tell them where they should go. PKR should go and learn some management skills. I don't know what with the KL side. It seems like politicians (both opposition and ruling) and most govt related people in KL has a very BIG ego and BIG head. Bunch of arrogant, stupid fools living in a disillusioned world of their own. Even in MCA/TAR college is the same thing. Want to control every single thing in branches all over Malaysia.
written by wongnoball, October 14, 2009 18:52:54
Unfortunately...the best opportunity have passed....Singapore did right albeit a selfish move in the face of Racism from Sultan and UMNO.

All goodies are already taken and Sabah and Sarawak are only left with Crumbs....Only DEATH to those Greedy Racist UMNO BN murderous leaders would fix anything. Continue to do your Little worst to disrupt disrupt disrupt Regim Ganaskejam Bunuh Hina Islam UMNO is still the best bet!! To progress from this point of History would need more than Miracle.!!....The Crooks of UMNO-BN leaders must Suffer......that is the only thing rakyat Malaysia can feel good!! again!!
written by pkler, October 14, 2009 20:31:57
not sure sabahans will ever accept the best candidate if he/she is from semenanjung-not appointing jeffrey was a great call. That chameleon is NOT to be trusted. He'll be off to PBS in one form or the other eventually. But why Azmin Ali? An outsider must be twice as good as the local to even have half a chance of being accepted. Quite frankly Wan Azizah should have been given the role as an outsider; otherwise, as others have commented, look at DAP!!! Lim Kit Siang is the one west m'sian pollie who has always shown us respect.
written by LJN, October 14, 2009 21:11:00
Remember the big election in March 2008? Of all the states, Sarawak was the most solid BN supporter, with voters voting their candidates from Sarawak-based BN coalition parties. You know why? The sentiments of the people is that PKR, Pakatan, DAP or whatever -- they are are all "Orang Malaya" parties, essentially no different from UMNO, so why vote for them. Most of the talks in the coffeshops, offices and kampongs do not get into the media, but seriously, that was the attitude. And here we are, we Sarawakians have been proven right once again. PKR is behaving just like those racist and colonialist UMNOputras.
written by temenggong, October 14, 2009 22:25:57
Inspite of his long involvement in politics, Anwar is not a good judge of character. Long time friends, personally handpicked by him, turned frogs on Perak.
written by Sunnysoul5, October 14, 2009 23:48:44
PKR is behaving very much like UMNO, so it is definitely a suicide to appoint West Malaysian to the the state leader. DSAI has lost his direction by trying to please his so called generals. It is surely a very wrong move by any standard.

It is really a wrong strategy and the damage may be irreparable.
written by Daryl, October 14, 2009 23:57:46
DSAI needs to choose wisely because this is critical stage for PR or any other name they choose. Name is a just a name but we need to get that brand out and also supported by rakyat as well. BN can keep playing this not so smart game but PR need to stay out of the game and focus on rakyat. Give us some hope but for all Malaysian not just West Malaysian.

Also, not only allow this East Malaysian to have their ways to pick leaders but also each state as well. That is your training ground and also allow them to have power to manage as well. Allow disciplinarians and some legal matters be a National with help from State. Other than that let State leaders manage it but must provide reports to National level committee to ensure positive progress.
written by theAlphamale, October 15, 2009 01:35:14
Hmmmm maybe base on assumption, Pakatan Rakyat is a multiracial party and that they are championing the rakyat hence irregardless of the origins of the two heads in East Malaysia is not of paramount interest. Hypothetically speaking, what if either old timer Daniel or Baru would be head over Perak or even Selangor for that matter, won't the PKR members there feel uneasy?

Yes we are trying to champion for the rakyat, but honestly to appoint some outsider to champion for East Malaysians would be a grave attempt. Not yet. Please by all means take the necessary corrective actions before things boils down to something worst.
written by Bigdawg, October 15, 2009 04:39:18
Ah ! Are we not going round in circles ?

Locals want local leaders of their own to lead and manage local chapters of PKR.

But we also want DSAI and PKR-Malaya leaders to appoint for us our local PKR man ?

Are we confused and amateurish or what ? Me-thinks we have to grow up plenty fast !!
written by Tompios, October 15, 2009 09:24:14
Since in the time of Tun Mustapa (Suluk-Polipin) and Haris (Pusthun-Pakistan), the Moslem Sabahans have indoctrinated by UMNO as MALAY. As the result; no more Bajau, NO MORE Sabahan Suluk, Sabahan Ubian, Sabahan Irranun, Sabahan Bajau Laut, Visaya, Brunei, Yakan, Elcano, and the lastest one, all Kadazandusuns Moslems are Malay. Am I racist? NO!! My point is why should Malaya Malays want Sabahans change the race that God already gave them? Austronesian's families? Bullshit!!

Now, most Sabahan's Moslem new generations facing a new syndrome called "Identity Crisis Syndrome"! Claiming that their race is MALAY. Funny, isn't? Guys, if you are Sabahans than you absolutely understand the word "memuakkanlah". And, to make it worst even the Kadazandusun non-Moslem try to imitiate Malaya's slang instead of upholding their own grass-root race' languages or at least proud with Sabahan's bahasa malayu. This what UMNO has done to Sabah. culture damage! Dasar ular Penjajah!!
written by Mapel101, October 15, 2009 10:25:00
Heh. Why am I not surprised. West Malaysia have been screwing around the East Malaysia.

I'll take one example. There is this bank. HQ for EM. There is this one boss who think the bank's in WM is soooo damn great. He keeps pulling down EM saying there is no revenue and not making enough money to the boss. He will do anything by saying craps about EM in front of the boss. He thought EM is stupid to be played around. Until, the big boss came over to EM and the officers spills out a secret. EM is making money and the 2nd highest in making revenues for the bank and this WM boss wants WM to control all the accounts. This small fry boss almost shit in his pants when the BB checks all the facts and figures and found out he is lying about the revenues in EM.

Moral of the story? Don't even underestimate the EM. Even businesses in EM has a lot of money than WM. And like the WM boss, the Fed thinks East Malaysia is not important. How stupidly thinking. EM is hating the guts of WM for "bulldozing" the people.

If PKR wants to oust BN, then they have to start concentrate on PKR EM and finding locals who can lead and act on behalf of the people of Sabah. Sabahans doesn't talks but no act action and let "outsiders" rule State. Really NATO (No Action Talk Only).

Now, I'm a Moslem. Does that make me a Malay? Hell no! The mistake maybe on my birth-cert but I'm a proud Bumiputra Sabah and will always be.
written by hellosunshine, October 15, 2009 10:48:10
After all that's said and done, I would like to remind PKR not to make the same stupid mistake in rushing to accept and appoint dubious characters like Zulkifli Nordin, the 2 kataks in Perak and their traitorous ilk. smilies/tongue.gif
written by nangkarajah, October 15, 2009 12:31:24
Actually, we shouldn't blame PKR too much for not being able to make much headway in Sarawak and Sabah, two Malaysian states inhabited by POOR people (no offence meant whatsoever except to state what is true fact) who put their votes where their mouth is. East Malaysians of whatever religion will always put themselves on the side wielding and exercising power and having tons and tons of cash to dish out to them to fill their impoverished hungry bellies. From recent history like in the Japanese occupation in the early '40s we already can see how MESRA to and fearful of Japanese conquerors they were. If not for allied forces of Aussies British troops defeating the Japs, these two East Malaysian states would still be under Japanese control. With no power and hence no money to dish out, PKR can only be deliberately made to run around exhaustingly by BN ATMs. Run around exhaustingly on a wild goose chase. Or to put it into more accurate language. PKR has been deliberately made to chase an unreachable mirage cleverly put up by toothily laughing Chinamen BN ATMs.
written by slimbrowser, October 15, 2009 12:31:43
I couldn't have said it any better RPK. You always come out with the right words at the right time.

Just to add a bit here, when UMNO came to Borneo, they try to absorb the locals into their "collective". One mean is by Islamisation. Islam in Malaya is culture to the Malays. By exporting your version of Islam to Borneo has totally ruined our culture and ripping the social fabric of our society. Most muslims here called Islamisation as "Masuk Melayu", but they don't even have a drop of Malay blood. Even brothers with different religion refuse to shake hands for fear of being tainted with pork fat.

Before this, we never ask anyone what their religion is or what ethnic they are. But with the culture of Malaya seeping into our culture, they start to ask all this things and segregate themselves from the rest of the society. I am not saying all of them but some, and the numbers are growing. Malaya export their Imams to the local mosques here and spew message of UMNO hatred against Kafir to the society, brainwashing them.

Before this, Islam already existed in borneo, but we come in and out of any religion including islam without repercussions. There is no law against it. Some families Father a Muslim, Mother a Roman Catholic, Son a Buddhist cohabit and live happily in one house. I don't think you can get that in Malaya without you people killing each other. And we don't impose our religion upon others.

With UMNO, the high positions in Civil Service and Federal Coperations are being held by Malaya Malays even in Borneo. Only recently after so much complaints from the local parties then we hear about bornenisation of the civil servise.

Get UMNO out. Get our people in. Stop this colonialist attitude by the Malayans.

written by Rock, October 15, 2009 13:22:23
The elite Federalism mentality politicians in Sabah and Sarawakian are already taken by BN. What left for PR are those second stringers and nationalists who hate KL dominant. So unless PR willing to de-centralize and go with local aspirations, sure they can kiss Sabah/sarawak goodbye. For a start elect sabah and sarawakian become Naib president of PKR....treat them like partners..not subordinates
written by jalapeno, October 15, 2009 14:24:47
I am a Sabahan and I think Jeffery Kitingan sucks BIG TIME!!!! As much as I wish PR will win the next general election, I don't think I will ever want Jeffery to lead Pakatan Rakyat Sabah! Everyone here knows his story well. Believe me, it's not a pretty picture. As for Anwar, I don't think he is doing his job as the leader of PR. PR is in a mess and he doesn't even appear to care! I see more of Karpal, Lim Kit Siang, Khalid, Nizar, Guan Eng in news than this bloody so call PR Leader. Come on, make your stance and get your hands dirty instead of asking someone else to do it for you.
written by DezMalaysia, October 15, 2009 14:37:53
Sound similiar to share holders fighting among themselves in a newly set-up company for bigger share or power before the company reap huge profits.

Most will just close down the business and everyone go their own way if the internal problems are not settle out.
written by sampalee, October 15, 2009 15:23:51
How ever well one reason and strategise,the democracy game is on the way out.How can people have the right wisdom to reflect the power of GOD.The power is derived from the holy spirits and human identities that line up to vote are the instruments that was WRONGLY credited with the hope of change.
Why not ponder this one liner found in the kithab of almost all religions and it is simply KNOW THYSELF.Who Am I?When one realise the seperation between I and OTHERS is only illusionary and unity[TAWHEED} is the TRUTH,then it become obvious why the ballot box is destined to fail as it goes against the very grain of TUHAN.Inshaallah.
written by Iliyas, October 15, 2009 15:30:03
Bro Pete....the Hari Raya bash is being organized by the State PKR and not Jeffery Kitingan,and Zaid Ibrahim is coming.
written by Pangkis Pangazou, October 15, 2009 21:19:49
What PKR is doing to Sabah right now is no diffrent from what UMNO is doing. You West Malaysians don’t get do you…. WE WANT AUTONOMY! That is ONE of the reason Sabah and Sarawak AGREED TO FORM MALAYSIA together with Malaya. We didn’t JOIN Malaysia…. we didn’t join an ALREADY EXISTED MALAYSIA. Sabah and Sarawak is NOT ONE OF THE STATES, we are AN EQUAL PARTNER in this Federation and you West Malaysians are not giving us what is due to us based on what was agreed upon by Sabah, Sarawak AND Malaya in the Malaysian Agreement.

To my fellow Sabahans, PR is a great alternative for BN at the National level but as far as i am concern, PR is not the answer for us in Sabah. If we choose them to be our Government in the next election, then we will still be in the same old BN system of West Malaysian meddling in selecting our leaders (as in the case now where our CM is selected by West Malaysian arrogant leaders. What we need is a Sabah based party to cooperate with PR in the National level. PBS gave that option to us before… but that is not the case now. We have no other choice….. we have only ONE Sabah based party strong enough who have the potential to play that role…. and your guess is as good as mine…. we have to give them a try. For me PR is not a good option for Sabah if what we crave for is political autonomy. I am a Kadazan and i have no problem in supporting SAPP. I am fed up with West Malaysian leaders telling us who shall lead us. Isn’t YTL a Sabahan?
written by Pangkis Pangazou, October 15, 2009 21:27:46
Wahai warga Sabah yang dikasihi.... kita teda pilihan lain bah nie.... PR adalah pilihan yang baik di peringkat Nasional tapi tidak semestinya untuk Sabah. Namun kita harus kerjasama sama dorang.... tapi orang putih bilang on our own terms. Ikut cara kita.... kita jangan lagi jadi kerbau ditarik ke sana ke mari ikut suka hati dorang saja. Phuiiiiii.

http://sondukut.********.com/2009_10_01_archive.html
written by Pangkis Pangazou, October 15, 2009 21:29:27
It's time.... to do a major overhaul.

http://sondukut.********.com/2...chive.html
written by RockyMountain, October 15, 2009 23:25:59
It is wrong to single out Dr J as 'katak'. In fact, almost all political leaders in Malaysia are 'kataks'. Tunku Abdul Rahman was a co-founder of UMNO but he joined and supported Semangat 46 in the last days of his life. So was Hussien Onn. Mahathir formed a new party called UMNO Baru after the original UMNO faced a political crisis in 1987. Razaleigh ditched UMNO to form Semangat 46. Najib, Abdullah Badawi and others were aligned with Razaleigh in Semangat before quickly persuaded to return to UMNO Baru. Lim Chong Eu was in MCA before he formed Gerakan. Keyvias was an MIC member before forming PPP. Lee Lam Tai was a DAP strongman before he changed allegiance to BN. Leo Moggie and others were SNAP leaders but formed a breakaway PBDS. Taib Mahmud was in a Sarawakian party but formed PBB. Harris Salleh was an USNO member but became a strongman of Berjaya, then a leader of Bersekutu in the 1999 election. Salleh Said was in USNO, then Berjaya, then PBS (he even contested in all the 3 parties and lost). He finally won a seat after he joined UMNO Baru. Pairin was with Harris in Berjaya before he formed PBS. Yong Teck Lee was a PBS man before he formed SAPP. And the list goes on and on and on and on………!!!

Now those of you who keep calling Dr J a frog, please think again. No political leaders in Malaysia are saints including Dr. J. What we want in a leader is his or her CONSISTENCY in his or her struggles and fight for the rights of the people, not just for himself or herself. Dr. J has proven himself in his political struggles for Sabah and Sabahans. He consistently fights for the 20 Points which were the basis of our agreement to form a nation called Malaysia along side with Malaya, Singapore and Sarawak. But the KL leaders had systematically eroded and did away with our rights over the decades without we even realising it.

My friends, let us now wake up from our slumber!!
written by amoker, October 16, 2009 07:33:50
This is the saame sentiment. Let the Sabah / Sarawakian set up their own structure and leadership. PKR is kinda childish if the Zaid issue is true. Aisay, big ex UMNO baggage they are carryinng
written by amoker, October 16, 2009 07:37:45
The comment on masuk melayu is fascinating. I met a mindanao filipino who got citizenship and she said that she is Malay. Only later, knew that she is actually a Mindanao. Malay is the first class bumiputra.
written by cheekhiaw, October 16, 2009 22:53:59
Parti Kuku Rakyat...

written by Fart Fart Wah, October 17, 2009 02:44:49
Anwar has made some very serious tactical flaws and is continuing to do so.
Yes,, you are right...Anwar is committing suicide in Sarawak..

There is something fundamentally wrong with Anwar...he is making too many mistakes which he needs to arrest. Unless he has been misinformed or lacks the info I think if he does not watch it...the next elections is any body's guess.
written by orangsabah, October 17, 2009 04:32:57
Sampai bila mo kasi biar ni "orang-orang lama"..
Kasi chance la ba orang-orang muda lagi..
Ini la ba jadi kalo tu orang suda telampau lama kan..
hehehe
written by sueteh, October 18, 2009 12:38:49
thank you for those who critiqued me, it is my own opinion, you do not have to agree with me. Sabah and Sarawak..you are right. You do not want to be led by the nose. Neither do I. So you MUST MAKE A DECISION. Decide for yourselves.

1. You continue to be part of Malaysia and on your own terms
2. You kicked out BN- specifically UMNO the disease
3. You kicked yourselves out of Malaysia and be an independent country Sabah a
country and Sarawak a country and get the world to recognise you as a country

You selalu ada pilihan/ you always have a choice. Please do not keep blaming the orang Semenanjung, BN-UMNO, PKR. You all tak suka orang Semenanjung then BUAT LAH PILIHAN KAMU. Stand up sendiri lah.
written by Pangkis Pangazou, October 18, 2009 20:53:57
West Malaysians think they are very clever, much cleverer than the 'natives' of East Malaysia. Some even think that East Malaysians are head-hunters and cannibals who walk around naked save for a leaf around their waist to hide their family jewels. So East Malaysians are not clever enough to make their own decisions. Kuala Lumpur has to decide what is best for Sarawak and Sabah. And Kuala Lumpur will decide who should lead the opposition in Sarawak and Sabah and who should be the candidates in the elections.

RPK summed it up perfectly. And to sueteh, you think you've got it all figured out don't you. You are right, many of us are working and studying in West Malaysia and for that dear sueteh... you think we East Malaysians should be thankful and owe you West Malaysian big time. Well you are wrong!! You are dead wrong. YOU OWE us. The imbalance and the disparity between East and West Malaysia as far as development is concern is gigantic. The wealth of these two states were 'plundered' to develop West Malaysian states (save for a few, most of the other states have very limited natural resources) and we were given mere tokens for our huge contribution to the national coffers. All those schools and universities that you mentioned and all those developments in the west could not have materialized as it is today without those considerable amounts of contributions from these 2 East Malaysian states.

I don't think Sabah (...or Sarawak) should 'depend' on PKR or UMNO or DAP.... we should go for our own state based party. Maybe you are hurt because i seem to be generalizing the whole West Malaysians for our East Malaysian woes. But I did not intend it to look that way. I am frustrated how West Malaysian 'leaders'... UMNO or otherwise seems to 'bulldozed' their might to select whomsoever they so wishes to be 'our leaders'. And i am taking action in my own 'tiny' way by persuading my fellow Sabahans to go for and vote for a Sabah based party so that this Sabah based party will be strong enough to have a powerful platform to bargain for our cause and not be led by the nose by West Malaysian leaders.
written by Rainbowseahorse, October 18, 2009 23:10:34
My dear Brother Pete (...and if you have noticed, I have not wrote this in a very long while, my heartfelt "thank you" for writing this article and for publishing the other by Paul Sir.

I now know you know the feelings of us East Malaysians and the enormity of our political challenges.

I’ll not add anymore than what you have written, but to sleep on it and with the thought, and realization, that you do care about us and, most importantly, you understand us better than most West Malaysians who, often times, simply hurled accusations with sheer ignorance of the realities that we have to lived with everyday.

May God be with you, wherever you are, and my prayers will be with you.

Sa’alam and take care, yah my Brother!
written by sueteh, October 19, 2009 15:15:11
Dear Pangkis, the case about the rapes of Penan girls..what are the Sarawakians doing about this?? The churches there what are they doing, huh?? Any updates, i dunno. Penang donated about RM300K on this right? Aiyo..now you get upset..like as though we Semenanjung your Tuan Besar.

Today, The Star people dubbed Sabah Alien Country (19/10). Why so? Because the DARN UMNO-BN sold citizenships to the foreigners by virtue masuk Islam/Melayu, then first class bumiputra?? Dear Pangkis, what are you going to do on this matter?
written by Pangkis Pangazou, October 20, 2009 21:43:58
Dear sueteh, WE are doing something. But not like what you West Malaysians called "actions" by going out on the streets to protest like mad cows as if there is no tomorrow. There are other peaceful avenues to do things. Your way of doing things is not the ONLY way. We will change whatever is wrong with the present government... but our own way.

Baru satu kali jadi opposition kamurang sudah sombong bongkak as if kamu lah yang paling pandai dalam dunia. Mau ajar orang lain apa mau buat konon. While you people there were busy kissing BN's ass.... we were the ones who kicked their butt way back in '85 despite of all their might and power. Where were you guys then??? You were still busy shoe shinning BN i guess... If only you people were with us at that time.... we could have change this damn BN government way back then. We could have seen a major political tsunami in '85.

Sabahans did stood up and won against the mighty BN but no thanks to people like then... we were left alone to fight a losing battle and now... you want to teach us what to do??? We already did what you are doing now... we were in the opposition! It's people like you who's making East Malaysian look with contempt and suspicion the good intentions of West Malaysians. You do have a serious problem of superiority complex.
written by sueteh, October 21, 2009 12:08:57
Dear Pangkis, that is good then. Make your choices. You have kicked BN butts in 1985 how about 2008 Elections?? What are your suggestions of PEACEFUL AVENUES of doing things. My actions meaning DO SOMETHING and I do not mean go to the streets. Your major 1985 tsunami did it last until today?

Alright, peaceful ways and means of getting what rightly is yours. Have you effect already on your peaceful ways? Like how? Meetings? Abritrations? With BN_UMNO? I am in Semenanjung, either i support BN (which i am not) or Oppossition (which i have no choice) definitely cannot support independents! I do not have much choice, you see. Did i said, DO NOT DEPEND ON BN AND PKR?

Dear Pangkis, can you effect a peaceful ways and means on the Point 20 Agreement? Let say before the next GE?

T tak pandai. I did not teach you. I merely asking you questions..has it been done or in progress your peaceful ways of doing things?
written by sueteh, October 21, 2009 12:11:48
Dear Pangkis, what is the point you are hopping mad now? I AM NOT TEACHING YOU. I only ask you that's all.
written by sueteh, October 21, 2009 12:52:27
Dear Pangkis, btw..those peoples go to the streets are majority the Malays. I am cina pek..i sokong DAP..my choice is pretty limited, you know.

Would it be possible to get your true Sabahan born (Kadazan/KadazanDusun/Lun Dayeh/Rungus/Bajau etc leaders kicked out BN-UMNO and shoot down PKR?? Non partisan ones?

Would it be possible to get your true Sarawakian born (Iban/Bidayuh/Bisaya/Lun Bawang/Kayan/Kenyah/Kelabit/Melanau etc leaders kicked out BN-UMNO and shoot down PKR??

No, no..i am not teaching you. I only tanya sahaja.