Home arrow The Blogs arrow The Corridors of Power arrow A Compendium of Little-known Facts About the MCA EGM

A Compendium of Little-known Facts About the MCA EGM PDF Print
Tuesday, 13 October 2009 11:26

Dato Sri Najib Tun Razak is the most powerful man in Malaysia. But back in the 1999 general election, he barely survived an onslaught in his home turf, Pekan. The scion of the country's second PM, who inherited the seat which houses the Pahang royal household, scrapped through with a bare 241 votes out of almost 36,000 votes cast.

I Love Malaysia

Fact 1 - The majority for OTK's no-confidence vote in perspective

During his time, he was more powerful than Najib would ever be, but Tun Dr Mahathir has had his share of scares too. In the 1987 Umno fallout, the Father of Modern Malaysia was almost toppled by Kelantan prince Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah. Dr M won the cliffhanger Umno election by 43 votes, out of about 1,500 votes cast - a majority just enough to fill an express bus.

Ong Tee Keat lost the 10/10 MCA EGM by 14 votes, out of 2,300-odd delegates who voted. In percentage terms, that's much lower than Najib's majority in Pekan in 1999. Sure, OTK lost unlike Najib and TDM. So what? All three faced a bloody revolt. It's just a matter of whether the cup was slightly over half-empty or slightly over half-full.

Fact 2 - Delegates to the political parties' general assemblies DO NOT represent the voice of the people

Want proof? OTK won only 49 per cent support. But in a recent survey by Merdeka Centre (http://www.merdeka.org/v2/download/Survey%20Report%202.pdf ), OTK is way ahead in popularity among the public and is the only MCA leader who garnered a double-digit score. Let's face it, delegates are easily influenced by monetary and other percuniary considerations. And Chua Soi Lek was throwing them like Father Christmas. RM300,000 was given to a Kedah divisional chairman on the eve of EGM. It's a myth that delegates' voice is supreme.

If it were, Samy Vellu would have been kicked out a zillion years ago. And Ali Rustam would have won the Umno deputy president's post in March had the party's disciplinary board not nailed him on (trumped-up?) corruption charges. Of course PM Najib understood that delegates can be swayed. Why else did he officiate at the Makkal Sakthi party on October 10, one week shy of the Festival of Lights? It was a slap in the face on MIC delegates who chose to return Uncle Samy as the MIC president.

Fact 3 - The MCA EGM deviated from its original objective

The EGM was to settle the dipute between OTK and CSL. Just as George W. Bush called on fellow Americans to choose between him or the evil terrorists during the 2002 state-of-the-union address following the September 11 attacks, the MCA EGM was to be a battlefront to choose between OTK OR CSL - no one else is in the equation.

But a group of opportunists saw a window of opportunity to unseat both so that they could use the backdoor for fast-track promotions - the presidency, the deputy presidency and the post of Minister of Transport. The so-called Third Force hijacked the EGM for their selfish interests.

Fact 4 - OTK's so-called supporters played him out

Headcount by OTK's inner-circle prior to the EGM was assuring. The Transport Minister would have gotten around 1,398 votes - a slight dip from the 1,429 votes he garnered during the 2008 MCA election. But still a comfortable lead, given the extenuating circumstances like the money-throwing spree CSL had embarked upon.

But some 200-300 votes slipped. No surprises there, if one understands the number of people who want to sabotage him. MCA Ministers Liow Tiong Lai and Kong Cho Har want to be the president, or at worse, deputy. Wee Ka Siong wants to be Transport Minister. So does Chor Chee Heung, but he knows he doesn't stand a ghost of a chance. Yoo Wei How, whom OTK appointed the MCA National Organising Secretary, wants to become the MCA Youth chief when Wee Ka Siong is elevated.

Fact 5 - Post-EGM, MCA equals Malaysian Chaos Association

Can one imagine children of a dying rich man fighting over his inheritance while he himself is on the deathbed? That's what's happening to MCA now. OTK has yet to officially quit but the horse-trading has begun in earnest. One day after the EGM, as OTK nurses his battle scars overseas, vegetarian Liow Tiong Lai called for a clandestine dinner in the JW Marriot Hotel in Jln Bukit Bintang, KL.

Kong Cho Har gladly went, thinking that LTL was going to pay homage to him as the incoming president. But when LTL proposed himself as numero uno, KCH, the taiko whom everyone in Lumut is fearful of, turned into a beast. Harsh words were exchanged and the table thumped, much to the shock of those present, including Chew Mei Fun, Loke Yuen Yeow and Liew Yuen Keong. Poor Liew Yuen Keong, who became jobless after losing the Seri Kembangan State seat in 2008, had to foot the bill as both Ministers left in a huff.

Ng Yen Yen, who spends more time overseas than Foreign Minister Anifah Aman, suddenly also found herself loving the Malaysian weather - she too was horse-trading. She has offered to be the first female MCA president, but no way in hell are LTL and KCH who has backed OTK all the way going to let that pro-CSL woman get her way. MCA is headed for troubling and chaotic times.

Fact 6 - PKFZ - NFA (No Further Action)

PKFZ is the main reason why the Third Force was willing to inflict more damage to MCA than to solve the OTK-CSL impasse and move the party forward. Let's join the dots .... Everyone knows Tiong King Sing hates OTK for what the latter has done to uncover the RM12 billion mess in PKFZ. If OTK is gone, one big hurdle is gone for TKS. Why else would a SPDP politican be among the first to call for OTK's resignation after the EGM?

Now that OTK is gone, Wee Ka Siong is almost assured of becoming the Transport Minister. And everyone in MCA knows that WKS and TKS are business partners and together they have raked in millions. WKS also has a long-term use of a room in the Berjaya Times Square Hotel, courtesy of TKS. Why else did the MCA Youth chief keep his silence when his boss OTK was at the forefront fighting Tiong? Shouldn't the Youth wing be on the frontline in an issue that resonates with Malaysians of all races?

So, with WKS in the Ministry of Transport, PKFZ is kautim insofar as Tiong is concerned. WKS would toe the line and, to be doubly sure, his predecessor in the MCA Youth section, Liow Tiong Lai would keep an eye as (hopefully) MCA president. Liow after all, is the protege of Chan Kong Choy, and share the same sifu Lim Ah Lek, the only good man, if ever there was one, in MCA. Liow is Bentong MP and listens to Bentong Boy CKC like Catholics listen to the Pope.

And CKC? Oh yeah, the man who quit it all in 2008 because of PKFZ can sleep tight now ....

Comments (25)Add Comment
written by justice, October 13, 2009 11:46:30

agree 260
written by by2020, October 13, 2009 11:56:16
Oh yeah, we see the last two only good men standing, the writer and OTK!

Can this be true?
written by krising1, October 13, 2009 12:39:00
Fact 7 - Who gives a shit what happens to MCA and all the UMMOO boot likcers?
written by patlu, October 13, 2009 12:47:04
"Bloody" distractions and such a waste of time! When will they ever learn, race- and religion-based political parties MUST GO for Malaysia to move forward. Glad they are all imploding one by one.
written by Mr Bean, October 13, 2009 12:52:50

Good leaders are rare, Most are Rotten Fish Heads to the core.
written by onnetline, October 13, 2009 13:10:21
MCA needs to bring the corrupted culprits of the PKTZ scam to justice if they are to be serious about their political survival !

Imagine a scam of this magnitude and conveniently getting the public to pay for it ........... what the fcuk is that ? ?
written by Vayu, October 13, 2009 13:14:37
The outcome is not so much about the ousted two but more about MCA itself. It is a vote of no-confidence against MCA and by implication the Chinese rejection of Barisan Nasional. Now UMNO has for the first time, feels chill in its spines despite the winning by Isa because UMNO knows Isa's win is just Isa's win and not that of UMNO. If PR can put its act together, by dissolving all component parties into one truly Malaysian party, its victory in the next GE is guaranteed.
written by hellosunshine, October 13, 2009 13:20:40
All my life I am no MCA lover or supporter but the word on the streets is that OTK is an alright and clean guy and CSL is dirty like hell. Where did CSL get all that money to throw if not for the umnoputra puppet masters swimming in illegal billions that they had plundered? They couldn't control OTK and they made sure he was ousted and be replaced by their stringed puppets. If CSL were to become MCA taiko, he will forever have the umnoputra axe hanging over his head for his sodomy oral sex escapade. One step out of line, wham!!! All the other MCA leaders are just plain running dogs. smilies/tongue.gif
written by krising1, October 13, 2009 13:35:51
I keep hearing that OTK is an honest guy. Even Terence Fernandez said that in his column today. This Port Klang scandal surfaced in 1994. King Tiong's company was the suspect behind the scandal. Yet as transport minister, OTK flew in a plane (more than once) belonging to the suspect's company. When asked why he had not paid for it, OTK gave an unconvincing reply: I am waiting to be invoiced. That you had not been invoiced showed that you were not going to be invoiced. I am wondering how they are going to invoice you if they are not a commercial plane - a fact which should be known to OTK being the transport minister. Simply stated - he did not maintain the arm's length policy with someone there were already indications of conflict of interest.
disagree 17
written by miwaki, October 13, 2009 13:47:20
Tee Kiat is down and out,he may not be the most competent and honest MCA president MCA has ever had but Tee Kiat can stand tall as compare to the rest of the MCA's past and future presidents.Tee Kiat is not dirty enough to be in politics,he has to be as dirty as the rest in order to survive in the arena.

If you do not plan to go to hell after this life,avoid joining politics especially joining UMNO/BN ! he he he .
written by pwcheng, October 13, 2009 14:15:59
As I had mentioned many a time in many of the blogs, good leaders cannot remain long in the Barisan. Apart from Zaid Ibrahim as a shining example, Ong Tee Keat is just the other.. Scrape the bottom of the Barisan barrel , I assure you can hardly find another one like the both of them.
The political demography of this country is peculiar. It is by no coincident that what is good for the Rakyat is bad for the party or Barisan.National. The writing is already on the wall, Zaid stood firm on his anti ISA and was out. OTK stood firm on his accountability and transparency, ( in order to expose the corrupt) and he is on his way out, and even the PM had commented to imply that OTK should quit. . On the contrary, what the majority of the rakyat do not want , the party wants. Leaders who are proven to be corrupted or misbehaved are selected as candidates for election or even made into senator and later as minister.
This is clear testament of what Barisan is standing for. Self interest rather than interest for the country and the people.
There is no hope for Barisan to change but change must come, and we the rakyat can make the change.

TO the rakyat , I sensed that many of us are thinking alike that I think they will think like what I think. OTK is a good leader . Very focus and does a good job, and most importantly not proven to be corrupted or misbehave and yet he is rejected by his own party. It is really sad that such hard to find good leader is forced to go. I had so much hope that this small step that he took in the PKFZ issue will go a long way to fight corruption but instead he is made to fight for his political life and chances are the PKFZ issue will be buried deep underground, probably together with all those who stood with OTK. Even the PM has send a message for him to quit. That is the reality of Malaysian politics, branded by Barisan . “Play dirty and you will be loved dearly. Play good and you will get the boot”.

All That we can do now is for all good Malaysians to stand up and urge OTK to stay on and finish the job you are supposed to finish. You might not have sufficient support from the MCA delegates but you can be assured you have most Malaysian’s support. You can change the political landscape and make Malaysia into a first world country. We Malaysians will be proud of you for shedding the image that Malaysia is a corrupted nation.
written by Bigjoe99, October 13, 2009 14:32:36
The analogy of MCA to children fighting over the inheritance of a dying father is ABSOLUTELY CORRECT..What have you seen regarding these kinds of scenariou? Inevitably the inheritance get spend and nothing is left...

We, the rakyat particularly the Chinese ones, are the dying father. In such a circumstance, the Chinese are known to just GIVE IT AWAY to charity. Its why our vote is going to go to PR even in the next election. Why leave anything behind for these prodigal children. Give your vote to PR and tell your children to leave the country...
written by malgal, October 13, 2009 14:34:13
Position vacant:
batman, superman, people's champion who can unshovel the dirt on PKFZ.
written by krising1, October 13, 2009 15:00:40
If he is as honest as Zaid, then do what Zaid did. Walk away and join PKR or even DAP and bring the other honest men, if you can find, to join you. Why all the fight for a position in party of dishonest men and women only to end up as boot lickers?
written by educationist, October 13, 2009 15:58:01
These little known facts do not alter the crux of the matter.
OTK lost the motion of no confidence, and he is on record that he shall step down if that happens.
Please do not misunderstand my comment, I feel OTK will make a better leader than any of the current hounds for his head.
But the delegates have indicated they want a more obedient UMNOputra wagging dog to helm the party.
written by lakian, October 13, 2009 17:26:16
infact the mca egm is only meant to king tks.nobody id the winner except king tks.one king tks can stir a 60 long yrs mca into half dead sinking ship.this is chinese low rated behaviour,culture and charateristic kind.if you are too good,clean you are a burden for one to get,cheat,rob and becoming wealthy thug.you must die or fuk off!
written by TwilightYears, October 13, 2009 17:27:12
A very entertaining article that depicts the exact picture of this Ma Cai Assn - running dogs. The way these Ma Cai and "pawns" rushing around like mad dogs barking at any tree to find the right spot to "wee wee" is very degrading. Being dogs that they are, they would stoop to the lowest level even animals would not dare to go to gain political mileage and thus enrich themselves and their families for generations and generations and generations to come.

The delegates do not represent the Chinese in malaysia, thus they can vote out the most honourable President MCA ever had. Lim Ah Lek, the honourable man from Pahang was played out by the most corrupted MCA President but his honesty and integrity would remain a legend amongst the Chinese. Being rich and wealthy on his family and his own wealth, he is a rare specimen who did not enrich himself greedily like the Ling Family did. And he played no hand in any politicking behind the scenes.

MCA is not for people like Lim Ah Lek and OTK. The Chinese despise the MCA so much that it has become so irrelevant. And shall remains so, what ever may happen the next few weeks or months. As a bystander, I would enjoy the free show with trailers in between the show on the adulterous act of the man who soiled Chinese integrity, and respect for womanhood.

Thanks for the circus show, MCA.
written by Oscar Winner, October 13, 2009 21:01:50
I heard TKS doled out 20mil for CSL to buy votes in order to oust OTK. It's no wonder that OTK's supporters betrayed him for a few thousands more. Personal aggrandisement is the main reason why they are in MCA, to say otherwise is a blatant lie

written by ekayjay, October 13, 2009 21:28:48
the author has made one thing very clear - none of the big dogs of MCA can be trusted.
written by Bloodhound, October 13, 2009 22:37:24
OTK must not resign because the EGM was rigged and biased by opportunists.

His offer to resign based on the outcome of the voting was based on a proper and unbiased outcome of the EGM but since the EGM was hijacked by interested opportunists, his promise to resign would be rendered void.

As such, OTK must stand his ground and offers himself for re-election to enable the grassroot members to voice their interest or their support for the ambushed president!
written by raven1958, October 14, 2009 02:52:22
Exactly..why are we wasting so much time on a racist party....????

As the world (that includes Laos, Thailand, Vietnam and Indonesia)...leaps forward in bounds....Malaysia is locked down on which race owns what and how much. All Malaysian parents are now completely focused on saving enough to get their children out of this sinking boat.
written by HenryTan67, October 14, 2009 06:27:03
There is so much being mentioned about this Ong guy being clean and honest, in my opinion I just can't find any reason to believe that anyone in BN can be clean and/or honest in anyway. BN, lead by UMNO have repeatedly shown the world that they embrace corruption, murder, abuse of human rights, political gangsterism, etc... So tell me how can anyone in BN be considered as honest and clean.

Ong if you are really that clean and honest, as some have claimed to be and have some balls, then quit MCA and BN and join PR and bring along as many supporters as you can over. By doing this it is going to be the best punch you can throw on the face of Najib and UMNO for playing you from behind. If not than you can rot in hell for all I care PERIOD.
written by AsamLaksa, October 15, 2009 14:55:16
OTK clean? Pleaselah. The question is really who is cleaner, not who is clean.

After a few weeks of OTK bringing out the PKFZ scandal, something in me became very vary of him. Why? Because he was going solo and acting the hero. I read many writers praising him and his popularity among the public soared. I asked aloud (at my parents' home where my internet activities were very limited) what was OTK up to acting the hero? Then about 2 weeks later the disciplinary board sacked CSL from the party.

Thus I suspect that OTK lacked sincerity in taking on the PKFZ issue and maybe it was a means to remove the opposition in his own party for better or worse. Ong Ka Ting laid the foundation with the DVD exposure while OTK taking advantage of it to finish the job. Ong Ka Ting did not have the balls to sack CSL because he was no hero.

I also wonder whether the PKFZ scandal would have come out like it did under OTK if CSL had been successfully removed during OKT's time?

Everyone knows all monies lead to UMNO. Why would Najib give the go ahead to OTK? Either OTK is knowingly committing political suicide or OTK is insincere by planning only limited exposure or Nsjib wants CSL out as well. Notice the lack of Najib really wanting OTK to stay on and true enough Najib said OTK should abide by the EGM result.

So, OTK, hero or zero? OTK's gamble is not over yet. Before OTK let out the PKFZ scandal, I could not care less about him as I viewed every MCA member a running dog of UMNO. After OTK brought out the PKFZ scandal, I suspected his motives.
written by onnetline, October 17, 2009 22:18:37
Wednesday, 14 October 2009 07:14

Dear Health Minister YB Dato Liow,

You have the wrong priorities since taking over the ministry.

Instead of taking care of H1N1 you are taking care of your BiNi ( Lee Su Loo )!

Half million Ringgit worth of birthday presents you bought for your wife in January 09!

A Toyota Alphard costing 574,884.10 Ringgit. (Car number plate WSB 15)

Alas!!! Who paid for it? Axis Construction Sdn.Bhd, the company that always appear in your Ministry's winning tender list. God sent or dirty hand?

Mr. Health Minister, take care of the public's health not your bank account. You are no different from the rest of the corrupt officials that dip their fingers in the piggy bank.

Please tell us why your ministry's contractor paid for your wife's car down payment?

There was a cheque on January 2009, HLB 373727 ($ 324,884.10) from Axis Construction to the car dealer for the car WSB 15. Another cheque HLB 373727 paid to the seller. ($ 9,299.90).

Where is your clean heart? Gone to the Cigarette companies?

You also squeezed your contractor to pay for the Monthly instalments for that expensive gift to your BiNi!!

On the 19th of each month, Benny Ho of Axis construction will deposit $4,730 to your BiNi's bank account (Public Bank Saving Account Number 4487469902). Some of the check numbers are HLB 359666 and HLB 383393!

Our country is the worst hit country of H1N1 in the world, you have no idea what to do and all you care for is taking a cruise in your BiNi's ill gotten luxurious car!

........ God help us.