Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow Over to you Zaid (UPDATED with Chinese Translation)

Over to you Zaid (UPDATED with Chinese Translation) PDF Print
Monday, 12 October 2009 18:42

PKR, DAP and PAS must be buried, and buried deep. But from the ashes of PKR, DAP and PAS must arise Pakatan Rakyat, the legendary phoenix rising from the ashes. The next election, whether it be another by-election or the next general election, must no longer be about PKR, DAP or PAS. It has to be about Pakatan Rakyat.

Four days before Nomination Day, Datuk Zaid Ibrahim ‘disappeared’. And he was not due to ‘resurface’ until 11 October 2009, Polling Day in Bagan Pinang. I am not, however, at liberty to reveal what his mission was. This would of course be revealed in due time.

“Should you not be in Bagan Pinang?” asked my wife, Marina. “You should be giving ceramahs and campaigning in the by-election.”

“Ceramahs are not going to help us win this by-election,” replied Zaid. “It will take more than that.”

“The Chinese betting syndicate has predicted a 1,500 majority for Umno,” I told Zaid. “But the Indians tell me it is going to be the other way around.”

“Both are wrong,” he replied.

“You mean the majority is going to be narrower?”

“No, higher.”

“Oh. And who will win?”

“Umno, of course.”

“Can’t Pakatan Rakyat reduce the majority from the last election?”

“The majority is going to be double the last election. Expect a surprise. Pakatan Rakyat is going to get massacred in Bagan Pinang.”

My wife and I remained silent. It was certainly something that needs time to absorb.

“Double? You mean more than 4,000 votes?”

“Maybe even worse than that. Umno will field Isa. They have no choice. And Isa can win even if he stands as an independent candidate. So it will be more an Isa win rather than an Umno win. But Umno can still win even without Isa, unless there is an internal sabotage by Umno people. So with Isa the win is going to be even greater.”

“Why?”

That was all I could ask at that point.

“Why do you think Umno is going to win big?”

And Zaid went through the reasons as to why he feels Pakatan Rakyat is going to be taught a lesson this time around. What he had to say was actually not a far departure from what I too have been saying in the many articles I have written since the March 2008 general election. So I would merely be repeating what has already been said and we would be covering the same old ground. Suffice to say the problem with Pakatan Rakyat is a leadership problem, plus much more.

Pakatan Rakyat has a serious structural flaw. It still thinks and acts as if it is the opposition. No doubt it is the opposition in parliament and some of the states. But even in the states that it is already the government it still thinks and acts like the opposition.

Pakatan Rakyat has not yet come to grips with the fact that it is the government in some states, and key states at that. It can no longer speak as if it is still the opposition. It has to demonstrate that it is a government, and a better government to boot.

Pakatan Rakyat has not come to realisation that it is a government-in-waiting. And as a government-in-waiting it has to convince the people what it can do if and when it forms the federal government. When it was campaigning as the opposition it is well and fine to harp on the failings and shortcomings of the government. But now that it is already the government it is no longer enough to continue harping about all the mistakes and errors of the previous Barisan Nasional government.

Barisan Nasional is no longer the government. You are. People do not want to hear about what the previous government did. After all, the people have already kicked out the previous government because of what it did. People do not even want to hear about what you can do. Talk is cheap. People want to see what you are doing. And they have not seen it yet.

The proof of the pudding is in the eating, they would say in the US. What you say in ceramahs during by-elections is not what gives the voters confidence. The fact that the majority of the people who attend ceramahs are outsiders who are not even registered to vote in that constituency makes it worse. I said this way back in 1999 in my article in Harakah. Crowds do not translate to votes, in particular if the crowd that you attract at your ceramahs will not be voting there come Polling Day.

Unfortunately, it was not Pakatan Rakyat but PAS that contested yesterday’s by-election in Bagan Pinang. The voters are not prepared to accept PAS. Even if the candidate had been from PKR the voters would have rejected him or her, contrary to what many are saying that PKR would have stood a better chance than PAS.

Yes, the people are not interested in voting for PAS, PKR or DAP. They want to vote for Pakatan Rakyat. But Pakatan Rakyat was 'absent' in Bagan Pinang. So the people decided to vote for Barisan Nasional instead.

It is not about Barisan Nasional manipulating the postal votes. After all, how many postal votes were there? Even if 30% of the postal votes had gone to PAS like in the previous elections Barisan Nasional would still have won with a handsome majority.

It is also not about race. We can’t lament that the Malays are stupid for voting for a corrupted candidate. We also can’t blame the Indians and Chinese for swinging back to Barisan Nasional. It was across the board. PAS lost everywhere. It did not win a single UPU (unit peti undi or polling station). It lost all 18 UPUs. And its share of postal votes, which had traditionally been at least 30%, dropped drastically, which compounded the problem.

The opposition says that the young people did not come out to vote. Umno says it managed to win the votes of the young people. But there was a more than 80% voter turnout, a very high turnout indeed. So certainly many did come out to vote.

But never mind. The by-election is over and the people have spoken. It may actually be good that Pakatan Rakyat lost this by-election, and quite badly too. If they had won then they would remain complacent. They would never listen to reason. Better they lose now, in a by-election, when there is still time to do something about it, rather than they lose later, in the next general election, when it will be too late to do anything.

PKR, DAP and PAS must be buried, and buried deep. But from the ashes of PKR, DAP and PAS must arise Pakatan Rakyat, the legendary phoenix rising from the ashes. The next election, whether it be another by-election or the next general election, must no longer be about PKR, DAP or PAS. It has to be about Pakatan Rakyat.

And stop talking. As Zaid said, ceramahs will get us nowhere. It is not going to help us win elections. What will would be the confidence that the voters place in Pakatan Rakyat as a credible alternative to Barisan Nasional.

This, Pakatan Rakyat is unable to do. Hell, there is not even a Pakatan Rakyat to speak about in the true sense of the word.

Sad as it may be, Zaid was right. And he said all this even before Nomination Day on 3 October 2009 -- days before we even knew whom the candidates were going to be. The fact that what Zaid said was no different from what I myself had been saying for some time now appears to have escaped me. Maybe it was wishful thinking on my part. Maybe I was hoping that Zaid would be wrong and that the opposition would continue with its winning streak. Reality certainly eluded me over those ten days. Today, I have to grudgingly admit that Zaid was right and that I was delusional about the opposition being able to win the Bagan Pinang by-election.

Zaid, I concede defeat. It is over to you now. May you succeed in convincing the Pakatan Rakyat leaders that this is the beginning of the end unless they agree to address the core issues about what is fundamentally wrong with the so-called opposition coalition.

Most importantly, can you please convince PKR, DAP and PAS that the opposition coalition does not really exist other than in name only. And it will never exist until PKR, DAP and PAS are prepared to set aside their party interests in the interest of the coalition. Thus far, Pakatan Rakyat has failed to convince the voters that it is able to work as a coalition.

Remember, the voters did not vote FOR Pakatan Rakyat in the last general election. It voted AGAINST Barisan Nasional. And there is a big difference here. The voters have no love for Pakatan Rakyat. They just harbour hate for Barisan Nasional. Building your foundation on common hate rather than love is very dicey. It is not that the people want you. It is just that they do not want the other.

How, then, do your explain the opposition wins in the many by-elections since March last year? Well, most of those seats were already opposition seats. Pakatan Rakyat was merely defending its own seat. Even Kuala Terengganu, which was an Umno seat, had changed hands many times -- from Umno to Semangat 46 to Umno to PAS to Umno, and, now, back to PAS, again. So, Kuala Terengganu can’t really be regarded as an Umno stronghold. But when the opposition tries to grab a seat in an Umno stronghold that is another story altogether. You can no longer apply your defence strategy. You have to now go into attack mode. And this is what Pakatan Rakyat does not know how to do.

I can go on and on. But what I would say would merely be repeating what I had already said so many times. So let me stop here by repeating: let’s bury PKR, DAP and PAS. And let us see emerging in its place a true Pakatan Rakyat.

But for a true Pakatan Rakyat to be born there must be sacrifices made, many sacrifices. What PKR, DAP and PAS want no longer matters. PKR, DAP and PAS have to forgo some of its wants. Needs must override wants. It is what Pakatan Rakyat has to do to convince the people that it is a true marriage born out of love that needs to prevail -- not a unity of hate, against Barisan Nasional.

Can PKR, DAP and PAS agree to this? If PKR, DAP and PAS are more important than Pakatan Rakyat then forget about the coalition and let each go their own way. Don’t lie to the voters that there is such a thing called a Pakatan Rakyat opposition coalition. Be honest with the people. Tell the people that you are offering them three separate and individual parties called PKR, DAP and PAS. And let the people decide if this is what they want. And if they do not then they will choose Barisan Nasional. Then, at least, as the Malays would say: puas hati.

Translated into Chinese at: http://ccliew.blogspot.com/2009/10/blog-post_3262.html

Comments (72)Add Comment
written by murali, October 12, 2009 19:03:16
Yes PKR leaders, go scratch your balls, (those who have them), scratch your head, sit down and think and discuss among you like adults and come back strong. This is a setback, agreed but not the end. Mahathir said it clearly, Umno won this by election because it should since it is Umno's stronghold. But PR, you lost a best chance to prove that the people want changes, beating Umno at their stronghold! Most of us expected this lost (alas with some doubts, BIG majority!!!) but it is not over yet.
agree 216
written by GobloGadhero, October 12, 2009 19:09:31
Yes sir, agree.

From this defeat, a new force must emerge. A united force.

It will take a lot of courage to form this new force and bring it to life. But for the love of our country, this is going to be a worthwhile investment of our thoughts, time, money, energy, and our being.

Tell us what do we do from here?
written by Watchdog, October 12, 2009 19:14:31
On both sides of the divide,they is a shortage of good, competent and clean people though not entirely absent.

Start with weeeding out or shooting the likes of Hassan and the like on all sides
agree 139
written by lynn, October 12, 2009 19:19:24
I think the name 'Pakatan Rakyat' needs to be changed. It doesn't even roll off our tongues smoothly. The two words are awkward and tiring to the jaw when spoken. Just my 1 sen worth.
written by AhSeng, October 12, 2009 19:36:09
Unfortunately, it was not Pakatan Rakyat but PAS that contested yesterday’s by-election in Bagan Pinang. - RPK

You got that right! All we hope is Hadi and Nas learned their lesson from this one, and forget about the Islamic State agenda.
disagree 18
agree 183
written by Remo, October 12, 2009 19:40:39
Yes, we believe in the 2 party system.
But for PAS this is something where they cannot accept.
They think that they are a fuking mighty people just like UMNO.
They feel that they are one class above others in Malaysia.

Fuk, if there is no other race in this country, they will be like Cambodia or Vietnam.

So I hope this is a lesson for the PAS fellows.
They must form a one party with DAP and keadilan.

The Idealogy must be one and cannot vary from time to time.
Learn how to respect one another.

They will be respected by all race and for sure the next election people will give you all an opportunity.
agree 133
written by Remo, October 12, 2009 19:42:09
Forget about forming an Islamic country.
Sure you will have the support from the non malay.
disagree 24
agree 194
written by lamakawan, October 12, 2009 19:44:03
You are absolutely right Pete. Pakatan Rakyat exists only in name. It raises its ugly head only when election times are around!!!! When all is over, this PR settles down into PKR DAP & PAS .
In order to fight, let alone beat BN, Pakatan must meet BN as BN head on.
It must face up to BN whether at election times or not. The PR controlled states must change their attitude in governance. THey must be more responsible as a government and not continue to blame the previous government for what wrong they have inherited . It is their responsibility to correct and make things right again even though the inherited issues were wrong in the first place. After all they were voted in to govern and govern well they must.
A case in point recently was the Penang state government honouring its agreement to allow the development of Kg. Buah Pala by the previous gomen.
Some of the residents are so arrogant and put the blame on the present gomen that it signed off the village demolition only when it came to power.An agreement is an agreement and must be honoured no matter who is managing the state!!!
I hope the PR coalition will wake up from the failure of Bagan Pinang by-elections and plan for an orderly transformation into an entity called Pakatan Rakyat. Only by uniting into one, will there be any meaning in voting the opposition. People like Hasan of Selangor fame who has his own greedy agenda must give way to unity in a wholesome PR.
written by righttruthspeaks, October 12, 2009 19:51:22
The 4000 postal voters won for barisan najis.
In a 10000 field, 4000 postal votes postal will win even for the devil.
All is NOT lost.
The nonsense from PAS in umno clothing hassan ali did do damage. Get rid of him PAS before he destroys some more. And shahauddin too. And hadi too.

Pakatan Rakyat will win the final war for sure because it is right and bn is EVIL.
written by malaysian7, October 12, 2009 20:10:40
It is a good idea.. but we got some challengers here to tackle

RPK, here is what you mention.. Politician vs Political Activist..

I hope these politician can prove you are wrong.

- Who going to be the president of PR. >>> Anwar vs Hadi Awang vs LKS/LGE

Perhaps 3 leaders would not mind of the position then we have the party members

- Unhappy over allocation of posts.... Supporters of each leaders want to quit or boycott or even join the BN

Yeah and many more

It is a big big challenge and may even lead to the collapse of PR.

But if you can overcome this, it will be extremely wonderful.

Here I ask everyone to get united. Sacrifice for just a position and to work for us. If you all can do this well, soon we will give you more positions in the cabinet and government (Federal) positions.

You will then realize it is not wasted.

We fought for so many years to be at this level we are now. I am sure we are not too far away provided all of you can just think more open and set all differences aside.
written by Kathy, October 12, 2009 20:12:51
All I can say is "Hear, hear", but unfortunately it is not going to happen. It's all about ego and each party has its own.
written by BennyG, October 12, 2009 20:19:07
I would like to hear that PR will be the only opposition party in GE13 but so far no proof of that had since emerged. Asking PAS, PKR & DAP to punish the wrong doers (especially peanuts people) is impossible. Now you are asking the "leaders" to give up their positions is like asking to commit politician harikiri.

Well, I do sincerely hope that the opposition realise that it's time to walk the talk and no longer harp on what happened in the past in the next 3 years but if BN is as smart as they are, they will call an early election.

So, does the opposition still have time on their side?
written by Mag M, October 12, 2009 20:28:52
Yep, the people are angry and fed up with PR and want to teach them a lesson like they taught BN in the last elections. Always fighting among themselves, always blaming last government, PAS with all its ini tak boleh, itu tak boleh attitude and also not doing anything constructive for us to see. Yes, you are right, we are in love with PR, we just hate BN. That's why we voted the opposition. I wrote to YB Lim Kit Siang and told him about this problem months ago and he too realised it but am sad to say that the others don't, including his son. Hope this will be an eye opener for PR to buck up.
written by Super Admin, October 12, 2009 21:05:59
Dear billykbk, when bribes have to be paid to get things done in Selangor and it is 'business as usual' whether it is BN or PR running the state then I think this goes beyond just my ego. We did not kick out one monster just to replace it with another monster. What do you mean Rome was not built in a day? I am talking about fiddling while Rome is burning.

RPK
written by Ramesh, October 12, 2009 21:11:31
Raja, Yes I agree with you. But, this is a by-election in a BN strong hold!!! BN promised many things during their ceramahs, and do you think the people are going to forego all of them by voting for the opposition? Even if PAS wins, they cant do anything as the state is held by BN. So why shoot their own foot. I am glad the people voted for BN. Now they can have the infra promised. Come GE, than you will see. BTW, I do agree a need for mind shift in the PR component parties. Take care
written by billykbk, October 12, 2009 21:14:46
Dear RPK, the problem with our deluded mind is that we, relying on popular support, always think we are correct. Don't believe, u take a deep breath - in and out for 3 minutes. Imagine if more than half of the postings in your blogs goes against you or your views. Will u sleep easy, wherever u are? Since u are so accustomed to flattery and praises, a little dissent will surely cause discomfort, right? I am in fact just like u. That's why I restrain myself all this while when most ball carriers do their part.

No offence, bro RPK. Just my point of view - no more, no less. Good Night!
written by Super Admin, October 12, 2009 21:22:18
Dear billykbk, you will be surprised what they say about me in the Umno blogs. Real nasty things. But what has all this got to do with the issue of Pakatan Rakyat still not getting its act together after all this while? Do you know if they dissolve the Perak State Assembly and call for fresh state elections Pakatan Rakyat might not win the state like it did in 2008? Is this about me or about Pakatan Rakyat going backwards?

On the issue of Selangor. Pakatan Rakyat inherited an IT centre from the previous government. All they need to do is to get the state-wide wireless internet system to start working. But they can't do that after so long even though the company behind it is prepared to set it up for free, no charge involved.

You tell me, what is going on? Why can't they do simple things? Is it still about my ego?

RPK
written by johnT, October 12, 2009 21:25:16
PKR can be bury, DAP also will not mind to be bury. But I don't think PAS is willing to be bury to form Parti Pakatan Rakyat unless the sun rise from the west.
written by bodohland_citizen, October 12, 2009 21:30:17
Let me add flavor to Datuk Zaid Ibrahim's theory. PR is at loss, they lack sense of direction, lack sensitivity and above all, lack leadership. Everyone wants to be the next PM from PR...Awang Hadi wants the post, Anwar's goal is nothing lesser than that, DAP is hopeful for something significant. Just look at the proven governing formula in West Europe where the leaders are truly leader for the people. Seems like everyone out there, be it BN or PR, are out there for more than serving the people. If you want to make money the easy way, stop bullying the rakyat, have pity on us you morons, find other ways !
written by Super Admin, October 12, 2009 21:33:52
Dear billykbk, you still have not replied to my question. What has corruption and bad governance in the Pakatan Rakyat states, or the fact you would rather I not mention it, got to do with my ego or about me courting praises?

RPK
written by johnT, October 12, 2009 21:35:34
Dear RPK, If you are available at Bagan Pinang Ceramah I don't think Pakatan will lose. Because your speech is not only better that Anwar, But you are a good salesman. You can sell anything including politic. But too bad BN force you to hide. They don't want to see you at any ceramah.
written by Super Admin, October 12, 2009 21:41:56
Dear johnT, you talk like that and billykbk will say I am seeking praise. No, it would not have made any difference. And I have explained why above. You will be surprised to know that more than half the people I know and who supported us in the 2008 GE have now expressed disappointment with PR. What I wrote was in fact not my personal views as such. It was the views of more than half the people who were with us last year and now have turned. And most of these people are non-Malays whom I know personally and keep in touch with almost every day.

RPK
written by harryo, October 12, 2009 21:50:34
Zaid, in all honesty and after a long observation, among the 3 parties PAS would be the most difficult party to handle. Of course you have one or two in DAP who are obstinate nevertheless PAS is as complicated as anybody's guess. I observe that PAS has right wing ( little flexible) and the left wing the hardcore. In between the two wings you have a middle one who are ready to jump frog with an ulterior motive, God knows what?
I pray that you take over from Anwar ASAP and gather the leaders for a common purpose. Secondly, ensure PR whether legalised or not, walk the talk. Talking too much and finding faults of the former such as corruption would become a long lost story which people are not interested. They need to know what PR is doing to resolve their problems. Thirdly, be open yet have closed door meeting to resolve differences. Now tell me whether all these can be done in 1 or 2 years begore GE13. Be fast before BN start calling for an early GE13.
written by Proarte, October 12, 2009 21:54:03
The fundamental problem with Pakatan is that it is a marriage of convenience of partners with disparate aims and ideologies. What holds them together is a quest for naked power and not ultimately the wellbeing of the Rakyat. The sad fact is, by staying together in this sham marriage, the principles of their individual parties are quite naturally called into question.

How can a die hard secular party do business with a party which wants to set up an Islamic state where the Shariah is supreme? Over the Kartika 'whipping' case, PAS agreed with the diabolical sentence but DAP kept shockingly silent over this issue. The crude and insulting manner in which Lim Guan Eng handled the Kampung Buah Pala case made it clear to Indians that ultimaely DAP is a Chinaman party which will look after Chinese interests only because they are their main support base. Indians are dispensible and DAP can afford to 'wash their hands off' issues concerning their community.

Over the 150 year old Mahamariaman temple in Shah Alam, Pakatan continues to humiliate Indians by trying to find alternative sites in unsalubrious areas for the relocation of this temple which is slated for demolition. The burning question is why should this temple be demolished in the 1st place? It was there well before Muslims moved into the area, in fact 150 years before. The State government has the power to legalise its presence at the stroke of a pen but like DAP in Penang, profits for fat cats (like Thomas Chan the developer of the Oasis condominium project who promised the state government 'goodwill money' for approval of the project) override the interests of a marginalised community, the interests of culture, history and dignity of a community. This sums up the respect which Pakatan as a whole has for Indians.

The pig abbatoir issue in Kedah was handled in a deliberately crude manner by PAS as if to show they would not compromise on 'Islamic issues' and that they were not in the 'pockets' of the DAP. This unfortunatley has given Chinese and non-Muslims the impression that their religious and cultural rights are also 'dispensible'.

Similarly Hassan Ali's antics in Shah Alam and Hadi Awang's highly revealing comment that PAS would pull out of Pakatan if there was a non-Muslim majority in Pakatan shows that equality and democracy are far from the minds of PAS. Their ideology is no different from UMNO's 'Ketuanan Melayu' because PAS's 'Ketuanan Islam' is the same as 'Ketuanan Melayu' in the Malaysian context.

The reason DAP bends over backwards to accommodate PAS is because it needs PAS for Malay support in they areas which it is contesting. DAP leaders have sold out their core principles purely because they have gotten used to power and enjoy its benefits.

PKR and DAP are political rivals and the leaders have an undisguised contempt for each other. DAP by compromising the cultural and religious rights of Indians has shown it really has no moral authority anymore over PKR. How does DAP differ from PKR in political philosophy? PKR has more claim to be representative of all Malaysians as it is not a Chinese based party as DAP is.

With all this division and betrayal within Pakatan, is it no wonder that the Rakyat have lost faith in the idealism which gave such hope and energy during the March 08 election?

Well, Bagan Pinang should be the writing on the wall for Pakatan. Either come up with a united and immutable political philosophy or end up in the rubbish heap of history.
disagree 17
written by Eskay Lim, October 12, 2009 21:57:23
The Bagan Pinang by-election has been settled. ISA won the seat.
BUT the real winners are the 10-thousand voters who voted for Umno and thereby buried Pas in deep shit due to their leaders' arrogance and constant mouthings of trivialties and nothingness over beer and entertainment.
Pas should now withdraw into some highland resort and do some real house cleaning and place their priorities in order to prepare for the next battle, if their war had not been lost already.
written by cheekhiaw, October 12, 2009 22:00:26
Phoenixes may rise from ashes but idiots from the Dark Ages cannot be buried.

Humanity may be lifted but never ever when those idiots are calling the shots.

written by malsia1206, October 12, 2009 22:06:29
Just like the coalition parties in Barisan, when would PAS, PKR and DAP ever learn? Where have all their flowers gone?
written by merchant222, October 12, 2009 22:11:13
All that we can really come to is to rid "people" in the Pakatan Rakyat of their warped mentality that they were voted in Mar 2008 because of the rakyat's hatred for BN and not for themselves in their personal capacity.

People like the Dr. Takbeer, Noordin and their likes of it should be sacked and be shown that Pakatan Rakyat does not tolerate such "indecent" acts against the people's expectations. Civil "serpents" from the former corrupt administration should be put in cold storage if they do not work in tandem with the policies of the Pakatan Rakyat government.

These ass-holes are the stumbling block of PR and they should be dealt with without reprieve! UNDERSTAND??? 'KILL' these parasites once and for all and PR will see a better tomorrow! Even a 3-year old can tell you that, why wait???
written by minds, October 12, 2009 22:18:13
This is what pas get to boycoot everything on their way.
they think they are popular now.padan muka pas.
if they dont change we will change them in next ge.pas you go to hell with your boycoot thing.
written by Arowana, October 12, 2009 22:23:16
If PKR, DAP and PAS can make humongous sacrifice of their own to form Pakatan Rakyat, I do not see why the Rakyat will not vote them come GE13.

It should not only be heard, it must be SEEN as ONE entity.

Great sacrifices reaps Huge Rewards. I hope all PR leaders do take heed.
written by hellosunshine, October 12, 2009 22:26:23
All politicians are dirty and self serving and that's a fact. I truly do not think any one of the leaders in PKR, DAP and PAS would give up their power base in their respective parties to set up a 1 party Pakatan Rakyat. It ain't gonna happen, bro. What's Plan B? smilies/wink.gif
written by Bosan, October 12, 2009 22:37:36
Pas wants to ban black eye peas, MLTR, Beyonce, ban beer selling, ban this, ban that. Not only non muslims are angry with Pas, even the muslims are angry with Pas. What? You think muslims don't know how to rock ah? No wonder Pas gets 'ban' by voters in Bagan Pinang.Lagi Pas cakap ban atau haram, lagi dia kena.
written by Aramsawafer, October 12, 2009 22:45:05
Billykbk, in this article RPK is giving us a view that it should be PR that may provide a better platform in future. The current loose coalition between the 3 parties with 2 that can never see eyes to eyes are a problem, which will not make it easy for people to choose. It is true that the last GE, people just throw votes to the opposition out of the hatred of BN. It is undeniably right for the 2 party system to work or for people to vote PR if there is truly a real and united PR. RPK is telling the politician of PAS, PKR and DAP to tell the people whether they can be truly bedfellow or just "unholy alliance" just to hood wink the people. I always respect RPK as a political activist as he professes to be one and I believe him. Readers in his blog do not have to suck up to him just to be able to read his marvellous entertaining articles. You may have your view and he has his view. There is no ego necessarily to be expressed in here. If RPK has his ego, which I believe all men including you would have, it is just a prerogative. If you hurt another person's ego, it is natural that you will get a rebuttal especially in the blogging environment where everyone who reads or contributes is learned in some way or another. Just enjoy your reading. Give constructive feedback if you may or if you like but must have substance (which I believe yours have anyway). But RPK has always been able to intrigue us with the much information which we otherwise may not be able to get anywhere else. Thank you for your attention
written by Daryl, October 12, 2009 22:53:59
People pay millions dollars to see potential. So far we PR promised to be corruption free or less corruption and that is much better than BN. Also, it promised multi-racial platform which it showed promise and leave up to it so far. That is the two biggest minus for BN and if rakyat decide to go other wise that shows that we are not mature in terms of politic and taking our direction into our own hands. IF you go back to BN make sure you have 48 hours a day to make money and willing to send your kids overseas for education system because we know they don't care. They send their kids overseas and to private schools.
written by OVERLORD, October 12, 2009 22:57:30
If they were serious in governance, a shadow government would have already been up and running.......instead, we were given a public display on internal bickering and positioning of a couple of loose cannons within the party.....PKR is in danger of becoming a juvenile version of BN....The crux of the problem lies with each component parties jostling for front row seats within PKR....if they can't come to terms concerning minor issues, just imagine what the future would look like under their governance?Hassan Ali and Co are only part of the problem.....don't forget there are spot fires with the other component parties as well....if you look at the bigger picture, there are only so many thumbs to plug a sinking ship before it starts sinking...

Maybe the key to all of these is to start on a clean slate. Yes, this would mean starting from scratch....and yes, a new party would cause more split votes and a reduction in the opposition majority....But the aspiration here is to call upon those many brave people in the existing PKR party and the public at large who see beyond the realms of race/religion politics to step up and take charge.....I am talking about the likes of Nizar,Zaid,Teresa Kwok,Elizabeth Wong,Nurul Izzah etc.The question here is....are we bold enough to move forward or just stick to the existing formula that seems eerily similar to what BN has been perpetrating?
written by defendermalaysia, October 12, 2009 23:40:56
PAS cannot even agree among themselves in the PR govt in Selangor so how to rule the country ? I bet you that PAS cannot even maintain thier area in Selangor in the next election. I can bet you that suppose the PR rule the country, then every week PAS, DAP, PKR will have to argue among themselves. That shows that the PR coliation has no displin among themselves
written by johnT, October 12, 2009 23:52:21
Dear RPK, I have a suggestion for you. On the future election. Why don't you make a ceramah on youtube. And if the Pakatan Rakyat is smart enough they can download your youtube ceramah and play it in each of thier ceramah. I sure DAP will go for it. Cause this is 1 of the way you can be with the rakyat.
written by Fart Fart Wah, October 13, 2009 00:14:06
The Problem with Pakatan is that there are too many captains.
And currently the ship is going nowhereland to ghostland. Internal bickering in Selangor by PAS and their stand on Islamic issues has frightend the chinese and the indians. Better worship the devil that gives me freedom than the devil that ties me down with its horns on black eyed peas, the idiot Hassan and a few other extremists that have reared their ugly horns basking in the 2008 win.
Over at DAP there are too many greedy pigs too..and we can now see that a corrupted leader reelected is better than another bigger devil coming in awaiting...this devil might leave us even without our underwear.
Anwar has to take the bull horns and push the devil's horns down in PAS and Pakatan where we have one or two of his own people sodomising him. The current marriage of PR?PAS?DAP is still rocky...and I do not like it..
written by Super Admin, October 13, 2009 01:12:57
Dear La Cha Mau, ah yes, but I was also speaking to the Barisan Rakyat Bloggers personally every day in Bagan Pinang. In fact, I was feeding them the results as they came in. So figure out how it is done. By the way, did you see Mat Sabu's ceramah on Youtube?
written by minds, October 13, 2009 05:55:24
If pas leader all like DS nizar and tok guru nik aziz how wonderful pakatanwill be.
what a shame,gagak tak akan berubah menjadi merak.you are finish pas
written by minds, October 13, 2009 06:07:44
go to hell to all politician
written by macho, October 13, 2009 07:35:53
Everybody makes mistake. Apply pressure by all means but cut them some slack too. You should know that getting consensus from such diverse parties leaders is going to be hard. I am neither saying you are wrong or PR is wrong, I am saying be positive and work with the relevant parties to make it work. It is not as if we have a better alternative for change. I believe this is as good a opportunity as it gets for now so lets capitalised on it.
written by cantab, October 13, 2009 08:00:55
Go the hell Hadi and Hasan Ali and all the other PAS leaders (except Tok Guru)! Pui Pui Pui. You all are very arrogant and 'stupid'. No sense of racial harmony and religious tolerance. Serve you right for losing in Bagan Pinang. Many of my friends are now supporting BN.
written by Agahdemo, October 13, 2009 08:12:19
Learn to accept defeats with grace. With defeat comes strength only if we examine the cause of defeat and make amend....

If PKR, DAP and PAS can not come to term to form Pakatan Rakyat in its true sense, then we are sure doom....

Guess who is laughing now, none others but our public enemy No. 1: UMNO/BN

So please, wake up. There are whole lot of Malaysians are depending on you. "Pakatan Rakyat"
written by ROBERTNGTG, October 13, 2009 08:22:11
Most importantly, can you please convince PKR, DAP and PAS that the opposition coalition does not really exist other than in name only. And it will never exist until PKR, DAP and PAS are prepared to set aside their party interests in the interest of the coalition. Thus far, Pakatan Rakyat has failed to convince the voters that it is able to work as a coalition.

WELL, OUR VOTES ARE EVER WAITING FOR PR. WOULD U GUYS DARE TO GIVE UP YOUR COMFORT ZONE, THROW AWAY ALL THE LOOSE CANONS, DROP ALL EXTREMIST VIEWS, ADOPT
A MIDDLE WAY APPROACH AND GO FOR IT?? WE ARE WAITING, WE HV BEEN WAITING FOR THIS
ALTERNATIVE FOR SO LONG. TRUST RPK'S VIEWS ON THIS. IT IS THE ONLY WAY FORWARD
written by PeacefulMalaysia, October 13, 2009 09:54:18
PKR is still immatured
They have a lot of learning to do
To me they are still kids fighting a battle with the LORDS

I am a man from the ground and please listen _ dont shoot your heads

We dont need a DAP or PKR or PAS

We need level headed politicians who are broad minded, equal, fair, , honest and NOT gulliable

PKR have you got all of the above ? if you have, then I rest my case but if you DONT
then you BETTER BLOODY WELL go work on it. DONT FARK AROUND

DAP has a good agenda
PKR trying to capitalise on HINDRAF
PAS thinking of medivial times - then go back to the mountains. We dont need religious monkeys to tell us what is right and wrong. We dont need preachers who screw their own daughters, we dont neeed hyprocrites. Keep ISLAM within your four walls.Dont tell me how to pray and be good to ALLAH. I will tell them FARK OUT

BE OPEN, BE BRIGHT and BE RIGHT
written by mikewang, October 13, 2009 10:01:13
Dear YM,

I agree with you.
PR state governments need to perform so that the party may present a real choice to the people of an alternative government come 2012.

Take the case of Penang.
All the hype about free Wi-Fi, I doubt if you come to Penang you can find locations where you can get free Wifi from the state government save for those eateries like Starbucks, Coffee Beans and glorified Kopitiams which charge a bomb.
Moreover, roads have deteriorated with potholes aplenty while we are in the middle of a wet season that even Jeff Ooi complained about that in his blog. Sadly, I still see those potholes on my way to work daily. I am not talking about pot holes in housing estates, but huge potholes along an expressway.

CAT is good but I think it is being oversold.
The PR government cannot be talking about CAT only if potholes are not repaired nor traffic jams reduced.
Money saved from open tenders are pittance compare to grants from the federal government. If funds are not coming in from PutraJaya, voters expect the state government to come out with innovative ideas on how to get them.

So, less politicking and more planning, doing, checking and action please.
written by C360, October 13, 2009 11:55:23
I remember commenting before last GE, PR is no different from BN as an array of parties with narrow interests. Can PR emerge without it's component parties ?

Dont waste time .. let a 3rd TRUE MALAYSIAN party arise .. even as independents initially .. that will serve the rakyat at heart.

DAP and PAS are narrow focused parties. PKR is no better than UMNO/BN in approaches to administering state affairs, with Business-as-usual in already sensitive aspects of state affairs.

Individuals who feel they can do better, ARISE. Stand for Malaysia where you are and let the people have an option/evolution to the future more worthwhile than the crap BN has brought upon us and the slightly less crap of PR who grew up under BN.
written by patlu, October 13, 2009 13:32:58
billykbk, all the likes of billykbk, politicians and wannabes who are suffering from tunnel vision, living in old mindset...

Hello, can all of you please look beyond RPK and face the beast in the eye that is killing us all? I've seen it for the longest time, COALITIONS DON'T WORK! Face it. Political parties only get together during general elections and by-elections. Other times for the rest of the term, ego-driven, they are busy in-fighting within each party for positions and so-called power, hence the state of our country is in today. NO ONE is truly looking into the well-being of our nation at large. No action talk only.

So, people, instead of talking so much on RPK's blog or wherever, I'd strongly recommend you forward this article to your MPs and ADUNS, call and text them too to state your stand till they get it that political parties on either side have to merge as ONE party, BN or PR. Currently, they are ALL too busy attending functions, opening ceremonies and cutting ribbons.

Seriously,

Pat Lu
Pahlawan Volunteer
written by myke, October 13, 2009 13:42:49
Blurdy disappointed with PR especially PAS, with people like Hassan Ali and co around..the ship is bound to sink!!! I expect to see changes in PR..
written by born2reign, October 13, 2009 14:11:44
I'm very please that PR lost in Bagan Pinang. 80% turnout is a fantastic turnout, can't even get 70% is USA.

I was once asked who do I support, BN or PR? I support a strong and independent separation between executive and judicial. We may as well accept that our monarchy is a "sleeping partner" even though the army supposedly reports to the Agong, all bluffology.

Even if PR gets to be govt, I will support the opposition, to check and check some more, the absolute powers of out PM and ministers.

The Islamic PAS assumes they are born perfect and holier-than-thou, better than all the others, at the same time accusing the Chinese DAP of thinking they are smarter than the non-Chinese.

To get rid of Hadi and Hasan Ali is to get rid of the CORE IDENTITY of PAS. Who will PAS be without Hadi and Hasan? Another DAP, a non-extremist party? Not easy.

Let's hope the voters continue to vote out arrogant and swell-headed members.

After this, there can only be 2 outcomes. Either PR members tear each other to pieces, or they repent and correct their mistakes and their hearts. Let's see...talk is cheap.
written by 1st2stay, October 13, 2009 14:26:23
I am very much afraid, but PAS will need to be split. I can fathom DAP and PKR (after minor clean-ups) to melt to one party, but PAS, I am afraid, won't. There are parts in PAS who would want to, but there are as well parts who would never.
And, worse, there are, as of now, not one but two splits across PAS:
1. The intention to set up an Islamic State by hook or crook - or not
2. The conviction that de facto Ketuanan Melayu must supersede all else - or not

This is not very promising, I agree. But our only chance hinges on the melting down of racial streams into a wide river of Malaysians who perceive justice, fairness, freedom, as a given objective that this country of ours and its people need to strive for.
A country taht has a complete disregard of ethnicity, with Islam as religion of the Federation like Malay as its language; whereby everyone - each and every Malaysian - is allowed to adhere to a religion of his or her personal preference just as much as he is entitled to use the language of his or her preference in his private life.

written by takbolehtahan, October 13, 2009 15:11:25
I love this article, not because it was written by RPK, but because it has hit the nail right on the head (please don't take this as complimenting RPK).

All the little in-roads PR has made in the by-elections have made them a little (or a lot) more arrogant, a characteristic I seem to see alot among Malaysians, particularly politicians and sportsmen. Win a few and they think they are the best in the world. When people become arrogant, that's when the downfall begins. And I believe that's what's happening with PR.

I think PR is not politically matured enough to be the government and I don't think the leaders are capable to lead. Many of them are not able to see the big picture yet and many are not able to act. They are good at talking, maybe planning too, but not really good at implementing. Perhaps because most of PKR are ex-UMNO and DAP & PAS have always been opposition. Hence, as per the article, they do not behave like the government even in the states they have won. Maybe the learning curve has flattened out. And yes, the loss in BP is timely. If they are capable of learning anything from this, there is hope yet. If not, we are all doomed.
written by Century Patriot, October 13, 2009 16:02:11
RPK, you have nailed the head!

PR politicians are just the same as those in BN, they are self-interested tics who take the Rakyat as fools. Yes, we voted PR mainly bcos we dislike BN especially UMNO for its arrogance and egocentric attitude apart from being very corrupted. Now PR’s component parties are rearing their heads thro’ individuals with similar attitudes!! Worst still, such individuals were never reprimanded or censured by their respective party whereas BN did! This gives the impression that PR has no command and leadership and it is a headless fly.

The general perception of PR in states where it governed is that it is dysfunctional bcos apart from stupid utterances and self- agenda announcement, many ADUN and MP are not trained or prepared for the tasks they are faced with.

If this coalition of PR continue the way it has been doing, I would not be surprised BN will kick the shit out of them in the next GE.

It is worthwhile to take note that BN especially UMNO has changed their attitudes since the wake up call in 2008 and PM Najib is doing pretty well, so PR if you still wants our vote you better wake up.
written by RenaissanceMan, October 13, 2009 16:47:33
There are idiots in every party withing the Pakatan. But the weakest link right now is PAS. Not surprising how the non-Malay vote swung the way it did at Bagan Pinang, with their idiotic behaviour re: Selcat, rock concerts and beer in convenience stores.

And LGE's ham-handed handling of the Kg Buah Pala issue certainly gave the self-important splinter elements from Hindraf much room to rail against the PR too.

PR better pull its socks up, or they're not only going to fail to secure Putrajaya in PRU13. It's going to lose its 1/3 in Parliment. Especially PAS. Provided they don't hop over to form their "unity government" with Umno before then.
written by Catharsis, October 13, 2009 20:09:57
If you follow the Australian Politics carefully you will soon find out that the politicians from all sides DO NOT DWELL on RACE, RELIGION, PERSONAL LIVES.... BUT ON VALUES, PRINCIPLES, GOOD POLICIES, EFFICIENT AND EFFECTIVE MANAGEMENT OF THE COUNTRY............where do our DAP, PAS and PR stand up in this persepctive!!!!!!!!!! the sad thing they cannot even manage their BIG EGOs and their BIG MOUTHs let alone manage the country- Food for thoughts
written by DontPlayGod, October 13, 2009 20:51:53
I have often written that PAS will always be a stumbling block for Pakatan Rakyat. Yet PKR treats PAS as something like a big brother. And victory has gotten into the heads of PAS leaders. These PAS leaders think that, now, the Malays want an Islamic state. PAS forgot that they won in many of the constituencies because of the support of non-Muslim Malays, and these non-Malay voters voted for them because they hate UMNO/BN's dictatorial ways, and high and mighty ways, thinking that only they(UMNO/BN) has the right to rule.

PAS, please get down from your high horse, and forget the Islamic state. Your support for the banning of the sale of beer, and Kartika's whipping has turned the non-Muslims and also the Muslim Malays against you.
written by vox populi, October 13, 2009 20:55:28
The message cannot be more brilliantly spelt out. It is loud and clear.

Bagan Pinang is probably the most important lesson that PR would ever learn. If it does not learn from it now, victory in GE13 would slip from its hands.

If the top leaders from PKR, DAP and PAS does not act on te message with urgency, they might as well go back to being opposition where, I suppose, they would be more comfortable. They cannot just go through the same motions and expect a different and better result in GE13 or, for that matter, the next bye election.
written by malaysian7, October 13, 2009 22:05:41
Few months ago I would still try to defend PR given it is new but to this day. No mercy anymore.

Something need to be correctly done starting from now.
written by redfella, October 14, 2009 13:36:45
isn't this obvious a new moderate party is needed. and PR (public relations is also needed)

stop complaining and make some actions. i tell you najib have done more to improve, and i think i've not seen anything from PR or anything from DAP in PJ.
LDP toll is still RM1.60 ...

all i've heard are bad talking of other people and digging the past shits. We are more concern about the future. any improvement in selangor? still the same , business as usual...so to speak the corruption as usual?

Fully support zaid.

My dream team,
zaid
karpal
koh tsu khoon
nizar
written by Sagaladoola, October 14, 2009 15:39:09
Pakatan Rakyat has not come to realisation that it is a government-in-waiting. And as a government-in-waiting it has to convince the people what it can do if and when it forms the federal government. When it was campaigning as the opposition it is well and fine to harp on the failings and shortcomings of the government. But now that it is already the government it is no longer enough to continue harping about all the mistakes and errors of the previous Barisan Nasional government.

I said it too many times. Even after 08/03/2008 , I was asking for a BLUEPRINT for governing the nation.

We need a BLUEPRINT. Where is it?
written by IdealWorld, October 14, 2009 15:41:05
I hope Zaid Ibrahim will step forward and lead the PKR since Anwar Ibrahim had been very quiet lately (reason?). There are too many fights on-going in PR. If PKR, DAP and PAS are sincere in developing a better country and working for the rakyat, they must be able to agree on most issues, especially on stamping out corruption. If each party is selfish and only wants to promote its own agenda, then this will be difficult. Of course, there are bound to be differences in opinion, but they should work together to iron out these conflicts. They should accept (not tolerate) each others' differences and respect the differences in culture. Even siblings fight although they are brought up by the same parents.

We need mature leaders of high integrity who can be respected not only by the rakyat, but even by the opposition (even if they are not willing to admit so publicly). These individuals are hard to come by and do not last very long in politics, sadly due to the more powerful corrupt politicians that outnumber them. smilies/angry.gif
written by chin, October 15, 2009 13:35:41
Zaid would make a good leader, one that has proven acceptable to all races.

And that is the problem with PR, there ain't enough recognizable, proven candidates and leaders.

If PR even hopes of retaining their seats next election, they have to develop leaders and fast, by give them public exposure. By coming out swinging, and I don't mean making criticism in the press. How about getting some government servants fired or servants walking out in a government agency, like the land office and district offices, these are the icons of BN abuse of power.

Tan Sri Khalid is a good man, diplomatic and intelligent, but it is a political war and diplomacy is seen as a weakness. He needs to be a General of an army not a diplomat. When the war is won then it is time for diplomacy.

And LGE needs to get out of his school teacher mentality or step down. The little f**k is a disgrace.

Shake things out, it is not enough to talk of CAT but there must be visible sights of the CAT.

And since PR does not have a common ideology then drop the whole damn thing, promote competence and honesty. And when I say that, it means that it has to be reflected in the selection of candidates. And the disciplining of candidates.

How can PR states appear to be any better if it is still the same f***king group of government servants staring you in the face and giving you UMNO style services everyday.

I have said this a hundred times in past comments. Either the new PR governments are a bunch of morons or they are just play acting as the state government.