Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow We need a benevolent dictatorship (UPDATED with Chinese Translation)

We need a benevolent dictatorship (UPDATED with Chinese Translation) PDF Print
Friday, 09 October 2009 18:55

We need Pakatan Rakyat to be more dictatorial. But it should be a benevolent dictatorship, not a malevolent dictatorship like Barisan Nasional. While freedom and fundamental rights should be respected, anything that harms the coalition should not be tolerated. You breach the agreed terms of the coalition in any way and you die.

There are things I like about Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad…well…some things, at least. And there are things I like about Umno…again…some things. No doubt, the things I don’t like certainly outweigh the things I like by far. But that does not mean we should close our eyes to the positive things just because there are more things we don’t like compared to the things that we like.

I always said there are times when we need a dictator to lead us. But then, what kind of dictator are we talking about? There are malevolent dictators and there are benevolent dictators. Malevolent is bad. Benevolent is good. So, while dictators are normally seen in a negative light, we can’t just discount all dictators as bad. We have good dictators and we have bad dictators.

I would take a benevolent dictator any time over someone who stands by and does nothing. More damage and injustice is done when someone takes no action. When there is racism and racial skirmishes resulting in the deaths of many innocent women and children, doing nothing is worse than clamping down with a heavy hand.

For example, when there is a natural disaster or catastrophe and looters start roaming the streets to loot abandoned homes and to rape women or kill men who resist, then a curfew needs to be imposed with a warning that looters who break the curfew will be shot on sight, especially if they are carrying weapons or property that they looted from homes and shops.

May 13, 1969, is a classic example. Because the authorities were too late in responding, many lives were lost before law and order was restored. It took days before the ‘shoot on sight all curfew breakers’ order was issued. By then, many Malaysians had lost their lives. If the government had acted immediately, the death toll would have been much less.

Democracy is fine. But there are times when democracy needs to be suspended and martial law needs to be imposed. And under martial law there is no such thing as arrest and trial. It is shoot first and ask questions later. If you are in the wrong place at the wrong time you die.

Dr Mahathir and Umno do not tolerate dissent. Anyone who speaks out against the party is brought down. Even if they stand up in Parliament to make a statement contrary to the party stand they are suspended or even sacked from the party. And Parliament is where they should be allowed to speak freely. But, with Barisan Nasional, free speech is not allowed. You speak freely and you die.

Pakatan Rakyat, however, is the reverse. It allows too much free speech. This is good at times because then Pakatan Rakyat is demonstrating that it is committed to democracy and freedom of speech. But there should be limits. The rakyat should be allowed free speech with no limits unless it borders on racism and religious intolerance. Even in democratic societies like the US and the UK they do not tolerate racism and religious intolerance although they allow naked women on page three of The Sun. But party leaders must speak on a common platform and uphold the party stand. They just can’t go against what has been agreed.

For example, it is the right of every Malaysian to contest any by-election or general election if he or she qualifies to do so. Anyone can contest an election unless you are disqualified from doing so for whatever reason -- like you are and un-discharged bankrupt or you can’t afford the deposit or you do not have a proposer and seconder who are registered voters in the constituency you wish to contest.

But, if you are a party member, in particular one of its leaders, then you can’t contest the election as an independent candidate if your party is already contesting that seat. Doing so would mean you are contesting against your own party. If you still wish to contest the seat as an independent candidate then you must first resign from the party. And if you refuse to resign then you must get thrown out immediately. No need for a show cause letter or commission of inquiry or whatnot. Bang! You are history.

And this is where Pakatan Rakyat should be more like Barisan Nasional. In previous general elections there were quite a number of three- or four-corner fights. Invariably, Barisan Nasional won the seat because of the split votes and some ‘independent’ candidates not only lost but some even lost their deposits as well. And of course the opposition suffered because of this.

But no action was taken against the renegade candidates. They were not sacked from their party. There were even occasions when the party defended these ‘independent’ candidates by saying that there was some ‘confusion’. There was no confusion. The party closed its eyes and acted as if no crime had been committed.

You may say that this is what democracy is all about so anyone is free to contest the election. This is not about democracy and fundamental rights. This is about going against your own party. More important, it is about going against the spirit of the coalition. And the culprit should have been hanged good and proper.

Then we have leaders who make statements contrary to the agreed policy of the coalition. The problem is there is no real coalition as such. So, while the statement may be opposed to what the coalition has agreed, what coalition are we talking about? The coalition does not exist. It is merely an understanding or an electoral pact. And that is not legally binding. And if the statement does not run contra to the individual party policy, although it may go against the so-called coalition policy, the party is unable to take action against the errant leader.

So we need a registered coalition that is legally binding. And all the party members of the coalition need to agree on a common policy. And the coalition’s policy must override the individual party’s policy. And any party member who breaches the agreed coalition policy should be kicked out.

PKR, DAP and PAS have already agreed that all policies must be based on unanimous agreement. This is, in fact, already in writing. So the agreement has been signed and it was signed just before the Kuala Terengganu by-election. Now that the ROS and EC have announced that you do not need seven political parties to register as a coalition, Pakatan Rakyat should immediately take steps to get the coalition registered as a legal entity.

Come the next by-election or general election, PKR, DAP and PAS should no longer contest as individual parties. We no longer want to see any PKR, DAP or PAS flags and banners during the election. We only want to see a common Pakatan Rakyat flag and banner. Never mind who the candidate is and from which party the candidate comes. He or she is a Pakatan Rakyat candidate, period.

We have been asking for this for ten years now since way back in 1999. But we were told this is not possible because you need seven parties to register a coalition and Pakatan Rakyat, and Barisan Alternatif before that, does not have seven parties. Now you do not need seven parties, according to the ROS and EC. So let’s get cracking without further delay.

And we need Pakatan Rakyat to be more dictatorial. But it should be a benevolent dictatorship, not a malevolent dictatorship like Barisan Nasional. While freedom and fundamental rights should be respected, anything that harms the coalition should not be tolerated. You breach the agreed terms of the coalition in any way and you die.

And the registered Pakatan Rakyat must come out with its own Election Manifesto. We want to see one Manifesto and not three separate Manifestos, and for sure not four Manifestos -- one for Pakatan Rakyat and one each for PKR, DAP and PAS. We don’t care what PKR, DAP and PAS want. Only what Pakatan Rakyat wants counts. And this will be how the coalition should conduct itself. And any party leader that goes against this dies.

Sure, you have certain rights and liberties. And you are free to do what you like. But if you wish to be independent then leave the party and become an independent. You can’t be both -- an independent and yet a party leader at the same time.

This does not mean you are not free to talk or to express your opinions. But there are platforms for that. You do all this at branch meetings, division meetings and general assemblies. You can disagree by all means at these various platforms, which are there for you to express yourself. Then a vote is taken. And once the majority has decided you have to follow the majority decision. And if you don’t like what the majority has decided then you leave. You can’t stay on and bitch and grumble. If you are not with the majority then get out.

And at the coalition level you do the same thing. There are various platforms for you to argue and debate. You state your case within the right platform. If what you say makes sense then the majority will agree with you. But if what you are saying is crap and the majority rejects your idea in favour of the opposite, then go with the majority or leave if you just can’t agree to what has been decided.

Yes, it is time Pakatan Rakyat not only registers as a legal entity but also crack the whip. We need discipline in the opposition. Sit down and agree on the policies. Bang tables if need be. But once a consensus has been reached and the three opposition parties have agreed on an unanimous decision, let no party leader try to torpedo all this by going off tangent. Rule ruthlessly, with a dictator’s hand, but a benevolent dictator at that.

Translated into Chinese at: http://ccliew.blogspot.com/2009/10/blog-post_10.html

Comments (44)Add Comment
written by justice, October 09, 2009 19:17:01

agree 324
written by GobloGadhero, October 09, 2009 19:18:25
To start somewhere, the content of this article can be used as a first draft of the constitution of the official formation of the alliance between the 3 entities.

Add to it, an effective website, and an education program to campaign for new voters to be registered.
agree 159
written by lynn, October 09, 2009 20:08:36

Fully agree with you. This country still needs you around (heaven can wait) so do stay healthy and be safe, look forward someday to your safe return, we will lay you the red carpet when you come home.
agree 125
written by tom73my, October 09, 2009 20:10:12
Agree that PR must be registered as quickly as possible. To build on this momentum, PR should produce a manifesto based on the following three core values: National Unity, Leadership Integrity, World-class Performance. This is just my proposal, but let's get our readers to think and feedback creatively.

In terms of form, PR's new flag/logo should be based on white colour (as we know the combination of red (DAP), green (PAS) and blue (PKR) lights gives a white light). White also means pure/honesty. How about starting a design contest for the new PR flag/logo? I am sure there are many creative readers who can't wait to spring into action now.

written by KotaDamansara73, October 09, 2009 20:11:24
I agree with sacking any party members that run against it’s party in the election. But I don’t agree with dictatorship. At the beginning, Mahathir acted as a benevolent dictator. Then later, when people starts to worship him like GOD, there is where the abuse of power starts. Power corrupts and absolute power corrupts absolutely.
written by KotaDamansara73, October 09, 2009 20:14:17
If RPK says that, then the first party that should get out of this coalition is PAS. What the fcuk are they doing, talking with UMNO in the first place?
disagree 25
written by hellosunshine, October 09, 2009 20:17:54
Do the 3 parties have the will and the spirit of trust amongst the brotherhood to forge ahead with your suggestion of benevolent dictatorship? Unlike UMNO, no one party among the PR is dominant. DAP and PAS are always at loggerheads and PKR does have a reputation of having suspect leaders. All 3 parties should do a spring clean to boot out dead weights like Hasan Ali, Zukifli Nordin etc. It's a tough and long road ahead and the rakyat is expecting the PR leaders to do the right thing.
written by Watchdog, October 09, 2009 21:13:26
Get an East Malaysian bumi - even if non Muslim as the 1st step.

Can we accept this???

Sokong atau tidak?
written by ONGJJJ, October 09, 2009 21:18:55
I am ad idem with you on all counts especially cracking the whip on some *******s YB/MP except taking the bait of ROS/EC that tripartite coalition is allowed (instead of 7). The danger is that come next election or even worse after winning the GE, the sore loser (no prize for guessing) can easily go to our "kangaroo" court to declare "illegality" or some cooked up judgement and remains in power. It's an open secret that there is no finality in law here. So we need a more airtight plan of action, e.g. set up the 3-party coalition and self-litigate (if there is such an action) to get a judgement in the federal court with 9 or 11 law lords on this coalition.
written by sydput, October 09, 2009 21:40:59
Just shows you that anwar is unfit to lead the opposition.
Zulkifli nordin is even more dangerous than hassan ali. And yet, despite him breaking the LAW, by barging into a legal seminar/discussion and disrupting it, Parti keadilan/PR did not even punish him.
In a multi racial country like malaysia, all major races should be barred from participating in politics. Only those races that consist of less than 5% should be eligible to participate and be ministers and MP's. That way, nobody can question the politcians of being biased towards a particular major race. And the majority race cannot bully anyone into conforming.
written by educationist, October 09, 2009 21:47:17
There is a contadiction of terms , benevolent does not not go with dictator.
But i believe I understand what RPK is trying to put across.
So, can the PR coalition transform itself.
I certainly hope so.
written by ROBERTNGTG, October 09, 2009 22:02:59
We need Pakatan Rakyat to be more dictatorial. But it should be a benevolent dictatorship, not a malevolent dictatorship like Barisan Nasional. While freedom and fundamental rights should be respected, anything that harms the coalition should not be tolerated. You breach the agreed terms of the coalition in any way and you die.

FULLY ENDORSE YOUR SENTIMENTS. START DUMPING ALL THESE TRIGGER HAPPY, EGOCENTRIC LOOSE CANONS AMONGST YOURSELVES. WE DONT NEED ANY EXTREME, HARDCORE NUTS IN ORDER FOR THE COALITION TO WORK AND ALSO NOT LET THE ENEMY MAKE A FOOL AMONGST YOURSELVES.
written by Just Gan, October 09, 2009 22:40:33

You said: "There are things I like about Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad…well…some things, at least." Can you please write a piece on the things you like about this corrupt evil dictator who has destroyed this once wonderful racially and religiously harmonious nation. It will help people like me who can only see the destruction this evil greedy despot has inflicted on this nation.
written by Just Gan, October 09, 2009 22:48:24
There are 2 clear exaamples of the 2 types of dictators you have mentioned:
* Malevolent Dictator - Mahathir
* Benevolent Dictator - Lee Kwan Yew

My justification --> Just compare the state of everything that matters to the citizens in these two countries and where these countries (which started off at the same time)stand today.
written by SocratesI, October 09, 2009 22:49:46

Pete, a benevolent dictator when exposed to so much power and temptation can turn into a SOB dictator any time, and that would be dangerous for Malaysia !

What I would like would be a vibrant Democracy, with all safeguards in place, Bill of Rights, affirmation of Human Rights, Justice, Freedom, an Independent Judiciary with Integrity, an Ombudsman that reports directly to Parliament, a revamped PDRM, MACC, ACA, civil service, leaders imbued with Integrity, and a slavedriver PM working tirelessly for Malaysia !! Vote for Pakatan Rakyat, Vote for PAS !!
written by Daryl, October 09, 2009 22:57:53
Dear RPK

Maybe the word dictatorship is too negative a word to use. I understand the concept that you need to pick up the best practice even if that comes from your enemy. Also, you will need to learn from your enemies mistake. So, I agree that PR need to come out and kick out or pressure those that crossed the corruption, non-performing, race and religion lines too many times. As long as the MSM is not neutral it will always be an issue and maybe a panel or committee need to be setup and investigate PR's politicians that is out of line so that get a fair treatment.
written by amjoem, October 09, 2009 23:01:10
Thats it RPK. Your absolutely correct!
Get out if anyone does not agree with the PR Supreme Council decisions.

Never should PR become a dictator like that of BN's malevolent dictatorship. People have not realised that UMNO cum Barisan Nasional will soon become like that of UK's Liberal Party. It will happen soon or sooner than within the next two General Elections. In other words, Umno will loose the next GE, and in the subsequent GE in 2018 or earlier, UMNO will fade away into the ashes, and all its members will win a free passage into the depths of satan's fiery HELL. Included in this group will also be all those PR members like Nasharuddin, Hadi Awang atc. who are PAS's & PR's Pretenders. They are waiting to stab PR from the back.

written by OVERLORD, October 09, 2009 23:01:43
Dsai should start cracking the whip...enough of playing the part of a reluctant leader.....show some fiber jeevees!stop statements like "agreeing to disagree"....start asking your troops to toe the line!....where is your fundamental backbone of the party in the context of a shadow government? we haven't even seen the light of day on that.Designate portfolios to mirror the existing government ( that would be challenge by itself knowing that 3 parties would be scrambling for post based on how many set was won during the last election).Hold discussions behind closed doors for god's sake and settle your differences before you make an official statements.Doesn't take a genius to note that any hint of a disunity in any political party would lead to a quick demise ....if DSAi thinks he can't move forward, then step down and let some one else take the mantle...do take initiatives...do not solely depend on the perception that malaysians are ready for change when the party is at odds with one another....

written by Malaysian Heart, October 09, 2009 23:18:03
Power corrupts, and absolute power corrupts absolutely.

Once Pakatan Rakyat begins to behave dictatorially (and their supporters allow them to do so), there is nothing to stop them from becoming another BN.
written by Trigem, October 09, 2009 23:56:57
I was ambivalent over this matter. I certainly don't know what implication would come out of it in the end. But under the circumstance that there could be many BN agents in PR at this time, it is perhaps the right thing to do. If we are to go to a vote, I will vote for it even though it still violates my principle of keeping the democracy alive. I may have to take my words back later. For now, I support it!
written by Davy McChester, October 10, 2009 00:10:40
The thought is an utopian one not without any hurdles,but it is not impossible. Hope your wisdom & spirit form the pillars of the coalition. Behind the scene there must be consensus before issues are in the public domain and once in the public domain all coalition leaders must speak with one voice.Not stab each other in the back ! To achieve this ,the coalition must have progressive leadership. But must consider minority basic fundamental rights are not trampled upon by a simple majority vote.There should be a plebiscite held for major issues affecting minority rights. Once the basics are sorted out ,the coalition agreement should override any dissent within the party. Malaysia needs a 2nd coalition to take over from a corrupted and decaying BN
written by malaysian7, October 10, 2009 01:52:07
Thanks RPK.

I have wanted to say this out for sometimes but I have no idea how to express them out. You have got all of them correct.

Democracy is democracy but do not always take democracy as an excuse to gain your political mileage.
written by Zorro, October 10, 2009 02:40:04
YM RPK, i respect and admire Dr. Mahathir for his ingenuity, his fatherlike patronage, his vision to develop unite Malaysia. Few among Malaysians mind like him exist.

BUT i dislike his vision on Sabah, to promote Ketuanan BN aka Ketuanan Federal,
to dilute the sons of the soil population (basically eradicating pribumi races slowly but surely) and to subordinate Sabah.

Anyway,i still respect him, because he is anytime better than any of Sabahan leader in his leadership.

But I still hate him.

written by mypugaloo, October 10, 2009 02:52:28
Well said everyone...

Whatever the issue is/are, pls ensure the RAKYAT is put at highest priority and at the same time, do not forget your responsibility as a person.

Also, ***** me for another special reason.

Tq
written by ibabonma, October 10, 2009 07:46:49
Even in democratic societies like the US and the UK they do not tolerate racism and religious intolerance although they allow naked women on page three of The Sun.

The Sun? UK? Malaysia? Hey! where are you? The bodo police is looking for you! They want to question you: 1 Malaysia and 1 wife (semua orang sapu, Melayu Cina, India, Bangali etc) Even when she was at MU ramai orang ada taste dia punya 'puke'!

written by freerpk, October 10, 2009 07:57:36
Unfortunately there is no such thing as a benevolent dictator other than God himself, anybody else may start off being benevolent but end up somewhere else.
written by Bigjoe99, October 10, 2009 09:04:26
Everywhere I go in Asia, people talk about benevolent dictatorship. Lee Kuan Yew was the first leader described as a benevelont dictator and everyone points to Singapore success as proof that its a a good idea.

Let me make it clear from the start of stance on it: ITS PATHETIC!!!

The problesm of PR is NOTHING.. It SHOULD not a big matter for PR NOR should it be a big matter for MALAYSIAN in general. Its not liberal bullshit to preserve fundamental liberties at the expense of efficiency..There is a balance that each society can afford and Singapore, despite no resources, GAVE UP TOO MUCH for efficiency... We in Malaysia can afford it. We are better than that. Its why we have not ended up in the dumps like many countries.. Do you believe Mahathir dictarorialism was necessary? Bullshit.. Everything that was achieved under Mahathir could have been achieved without the dictatorialism.. It was NOT that difficult...The problem is poor leadership in the oligarchy group from the start that makes it feel like dictatorialism is needed.The key is to grow a strong elite whose interest is the same as proletariat class. A true elite class who is NOT only self-intereted.. Giving up on that is so PATHETIC. Are we a nation can do no better than be 80s yuppies...?
written by ToeJam, October 10, 2009 09:57:07

Malevolent is bad. Benevolent is good. So, while dictators are normally seen in a negative light, we can’t just discount all dictators as bad. We have good dictators and we have bad dictators.

A dictator is a dictator (just as corruption is corruption... not money politics!) Malevolent or Benevolent is a matter of opinion. If a dictator's decision does not suit our thinking, values and needs, we call him the former. If his decision is also what we want or his decisions brought bebefits to me, then it's the latter.

written by Bigjoe99, October 10, 2009 09:04:26

Everywhere I go in Asia, people talk about benevolent dictatorship. Lee Kuan Yew was the first leader described as a benevelont dictator and everyone points to Singapore success as proof that its a a good idea.

I have many singapore friends and do you think all singaporeans think Lee as Belevolent Dictator? Because he made the right decision that brought prosperity to the country.

If he had made the wrong decision then he would have been cursed as Malevolent Dictator by all
written by James Loh, October 10, 2009 11:03:22
WE DO NOT NEED DICTATOR
This is a democratic country. When you say we need a dictator that means majority of Malaysians are ignorant. Why would we need to have democratic system if we need a dictator. Regardless the dictator is benevolent or not, a dictator is not a total solution to this country. What we need is a well informed and education Malaysians? Does America ever need a dictator? No. Why? Because they have a huge middle income citizens that are educated and well-informed. Once again, this is a democratic country and I abhor the suggestion of benevolent dictator. To have a dictator means Malaysian and Malaysia Today readers damn stupid!
written by James Loh, October 10, 2009 11:09:43
Pete what you suggest is a better organizational management. I think the real problem Pakatan is facing is lack of experience and guts to discipline their party members. I'm not either political party member; thus, I can't say much about. We can only hope maybe they'll improve with time.
written by James Loh, October 10, 2009 11:11:22
Hopefully - Zaid will whip them and make sure the three component parties work together as a unit.
written by sydput, October 10, 2009 11:29:31
Why not allow LKy to take over the country to see if he is really smart?
I can see his first moves.
a) Lock up all trouble makers like karpal singh, lim kit siang, mahathir, najib and anwar.
b) put all his relatives and christian chinese guys in positons of power.
c) Pump up the GDP figures by inviting all the rich and famous to be PR or citizens of the country.
d) Ensure low wages are suppresed and incapable of moving upwards by letting in low wage foreign workers.
e) Make sure the private banking system encourage illegal gotten wealth from neighbouring countries to park here, with a complete secrecy package guaranteed by the government, like what it used to be in switzerland.
f) government to acquire cheaply of all native land for HDB flats. In singapore, the poor must sacrifice their land for the country. not the rich.
g) (this one i support) No azan prayers to be made using loud speakers as there were no loud speakers when the first azam call was made 1500 years ago.
written by SotPlug, October 10, 2009 12:24:56
... and understand that if you can't even properly rule your party, don't expect the rakyat to continue giving you the few states. Needless to say, ruling the whole country is still a long way to go.
written by Jit Dharma, October 10, 2009 13:01:07
Lee Kuan Yew a benevolent dictator?.. only people who are ignorant of the
number of people who are his victims would say something as idiotic as this.
There are NO benevolent dictators, it is an oxymoron usually used by apologists
for tyranny. Death to ALL dictators.
written by bodohland_citizen, October 10, 2009 13:18:50
Forget about benevolent or malevolent dictatorship and get real about survival. So many things are happening in the world today. There are hidden hands who are so powerful and they are the ones who decide the direction the world should go. On there other hand, there are also many groups who steadfastly fight against One Wold Government. If conspiracy theory is ruled out with your own arguments, you are dead insane. I remembered Najib's proud moment in Paris, urging for 1World. Pls read some materials on one world governance and you'll know that we are heading for doomdays. I was told told that Najib is a freemason member, but i'm cock sure that Mahathir is a member of Illuminati. All the world leaders in the world are working towards new world order. As for PR, its easy to fight for peoples rights as for now, but when they govern, they are directly under Illuminati. Do your own research. God bless the world for the hope for survival is slim.
written by Saint, October 10, 2009 14:58:20
Yes RPK, agreed for the moment.
But the right of the individual must be always protected.
That is one of the conditions PR must adhere to.
written by antiilluminati, October 10, 2009 15:54:52
YM RPK,
Sorry to say that i totally diagree with you. LKY & Maha**** are dictators. And dictators are leaders.
What we need is a born Natural Leader bestowed with high WISDOM in the likes of Mahatma Gandhi or TGNA.
written by redfella, October 11, 2009 13:18:43
i feel the same dear RPK, Malaysians condemn too much, too much free thinking blurs them.

a dictator can blur us with development and prosperity as well.

TDM
KLIA, Sepang, kl tower, twin towers
cyber, putra jaya
RM3.8 peg

AB
corruption still,
monsoon cup....

NJ
...scandals after scandals...
1M
written by batsman, October 11, 2009 13:28:10
Malevolent or benevolent? Obviously the choice of dictator is crucial. I wonder who qualifies?

The next crucial issue apart from who the dictator is going to be is the question of respect for the rule of law and fair play - on the part of the leaders, civil service and the citizens. This must be the ultimate objective of a benevolent dictator.
written by Steven Ong, October 11, 2009 22:27:15
Yes, we need a benevolent and not a malevolent dictatorship. But then how many dictators knows and understand what benevolent means? They becomes dictators because they are malevolent, corrupt and greedy. That is why they became dictators in the first place. So we need to educate all about the truth of benevolent before we put a dictator to serve us. Or else it may turn out that we serve him and his empire instead.
written by alan cheong, October 12, 2009 10:57:48
crappiest OXYMORON if there ever was one.

Peter, don't you go off on that kick again.

However, if you're trading your self respect for the good of this nation, dua tangan ngan kaki sekali gua tabik sama lu.

written by panca, October 12, 2009 13:55:28
YM RPK spoke about benevolent dictatorship! I think what Pakatan Rakyat needs to do is to ensure all policies and manifesto about the Rakyat and not let individual party policy hamper and derail the the main cause of Pakatan Rakyat, and focus on Rakyat First. Top Leaders must ensure coalition policies for the Rakyat FIRST and no weak knees with so-called those who choose to derail PR policies.

Bro. Pete, what serve the coalition would be with its 'thrashed- it-out' policies for PR, a "we-all-see-them-fit-for-all" manifestos and policies and to go by them. The word is "GUNG-HO" and Top Leaders of the Coalition(PR) go by that enthusiasm, dedication and in the same direction.

gung ho or gung-ho (gŭng'hō')
adj. Slang
Extremely enthusiastic and dedicated.

Origin:
introduced as a training slogan in 1942 by U.S. Marine officer Evans F. Carlson (1896–1947) < Chin gōng hé, the abbreviated name of the Chinese Industrial Cooperative Society, taken by a literal trans. as “work together”

[Earlier Gung Ho, motto of certain U.S. Marine forces in Asia during World War II, from Chinese (Mandarin) gōnghé, to work together (short for gōngyèhézuòshè, Chinese Industrial Cooperative Society) : gōng, work hé, together.]

Our Living Language : Most of us are not aware of it today, but the word gung ho has been in English only since 1942 and is one of the many words that entered the language as a result of World War II. It comes from Mandarin Chinese gōnghé, "to work together," which was used as a motto by the Chinese Industrial Cooperative Society. Lieutenant Colonel Evans F. Carlson (1896-1947) borrowed the motto as a moniker for meetings in which problems were discussed and worked out; the motto caught on among his Marines (the famous "Carlson's Raiders"), who began calling themselves the "Gung Ho Battalion." From there eager individuals began to be referred to as gung ho. Other words and expressions that entered English during World War II include flak, gizmo, task force, black market, and hit the sack.
written by Mik, October 13, 2009 14:15:10
RPK, from wat i observe, the PKR, DAP and PAS are just being selfish. Their interest are just about their party. They do not have any interest in the well being of the people and nation. So i dun see any reason they will join hand together. EVen if they joined and form pakatan rakyat, there will be dissents hence a short lived party. There wont be harmony unless they let go all their past principles and uphold the new set of principles stated by Pakatan rakyat. I think i read once saying Tok Guru Nik Aziz agrees to disband pas and follows pakatan rakyat. But how about the followers? How about DAP whose member even refused to wear songkok in palace? It will be a miracle for them to join hand. It will take a miraculous leader. No, i dun see it happening. These 3 parties will only blunder and make UMNO/BN stronger. Why? coz ppl will lose faith and feddup of the opposition. Trust/Faith once lost, its lost. Hard to win it back.. damn near impossible. Ppl will think, well why trade the known monster for some unknown one? At least with the current monster, we would know wat to expect.