Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow Too much is enough

Too much is enough PDF Print
Friday, 09 October 2009 12:01

Barisan, you ask us for the benefit of the doubt, to give you another chance. How many more bloody chances do you need to prove that your party is just too stricken by arrogance and graft to govern?

By John Lee, The Malaysian Insider

Today, Barisan Nasional promises us change and reform — a stark difference from its previous insinuations that Malaysians want and need more of the same. But Barisan has blatantly failed to deliver, even under the leadership of Datuk Seri Najib Razak. All we keep getting is the same old — pardon my French — crap.

Barisan says it will clean house, tossing out the corrupt and criminal. It’s said that before; Tun Dr. Mahathir entered office promising a slew of reforms, as did Tun Abdullah Ahmad Badawi. We know what they gave us; their protégé, Najib, is giving us more of the same. I need not elaborate on Isa Samad’s rehabilitation; that speaks for itself.

Just permit me to add that we have known about the multi-billion ringgit Port Klang Free Zone debacle for years now, and that to date, nobody has been collared and held in the MACC offices overnight for non-stop questioning. We can question a lowly state assemblyman’s aide about the petty sum of RM2,400, but we can’t even bring ourselves to hold ministers and tycoons accountable for wasting billions — this has been the case since the time of Mahathir, and it remains the case today.

Barisan promises to unite the country. Again, we have heard this before. Dr. Mahathir’s Bangsa Malaysia has gone down the drain, with nothing accomplished. Abdullah promised to work for all Malaysians, but try as he did, he delivered nothing except a handful of intensely racist Umno party conferences. Until you walk the walk, you’re just talking cock.

Perhaps the most telling incident under Najib’s regime so far has been that of the cow’s head protest. I dare not imagine what would happen if an Indian group had done the same to a Quran — if they had mutilated it, dragged it along a road and then trampled on it. This is exactly what laws like the Sedition Act are meant to prevent — and yet the incident met with terribly muted response from Umno leaders, who are content to pretend they speak for all Malaysians, while really only speaking for their own kind.

Najib promised instant action on the cow’s head incident — and yet nobody has been jailed, no Umno member has been reprimanded. The standard refrain of “Let the courts and police do their job” rings hollow when it is used to cover a multitude of injustices and sins. Does anyone honestly doubt that if something similar had been done to the Quran, the men behind it would be languishing right now in Kamunting, or worse?

Barisan, you ask us for the benefit of the doubt, to give you another chance. How many more bloody chances do you need to prove that your party is just too stricken by arrogance and graft to govern? We have given you more than enough chances — we have returned you to power in every general election since Independence.

We need to stop pretending that Barisan is worthy of consideration because of all these nitpicks you can find with Pakatan Rakyat. Yes, Pakatan is not perfect. But I would much rather have an imperfect Pakatan government than vote for the perfectly consistent dishonesty of Barisan. The biggest corruption scandal in Pakatan to date involves a few cows and petty cash amounting to a few thousand ringgit here and there; the biggest scandal in Barisan involves a multi-billion ringgit white elephant. Let’s not even talk about racism — not when the ideology of Barisan’s largest component party is Ketuanan Melayu, and the ideology of Pakatan’s largest component party is ketuanan rakyat.

READ MORE HERE:

Comments (7)Add Comment
written by mountainking, October 09, 2009 12:14:52
SCREW THE BARISAN NASIONAL PARTY AND SCREW NAJIB TO THE MAX AND SCREW UMNO IN PARTICULAR FOR DRAGGING OUR COUNTRY TO THE MUD.

UMNO/BN OUGHT NOT BE GIVEN ANY CHANCE. WHEN YOU KILLED KUGAN, DID YOU GIVE A CHANCE? WHEN YOU MURDERED TBH, DID YOU GIVE A CHANCE? WHEN YOU MURDERED ALTANTUYA, DID YOU GIVE A CHANCE?

WHEN YOU DEMO WITH COW'S HEAD, DID YOU REPENT?

WHAT KIND OF CHANCE ARE YOU TALKING ABOUT?
written by asguard, October 09, 2009 12:15:49
Surely they tell lies again and again... matter in fact its becoming their practice to tell lies as often...as possible... even incident in bagan pinang area where umno youth went on rampage ....was not not reported in newspaper nor the media prima tv stations! Only what they loves to report a lot of spinning lies, half truth facts! No one is going to believe those lies...unless you are stupid supporters of barang naik... the more lies is better for them!
written by Jan, October 09, 2009 12:23:15
I think it's time for MCA, MIC, GERAKAN and other component parties to seriously consider leaving BN. BN or rather UMNO is really beyond salvation. To stay on is to support arrogance and their ketuanaan Melayu hegemony. 52 years is too long a time to prove how poorly they have governed the country and it looks like its getting worse with all the corruption, murders, power grab and all the manipulations of the MACC, Judiciary, Police, MSM and even the royals.
Just get out and save the country.
written by Trueandfair, October 09, 2009 12:42:04
BN will have to go the same way and loses its power and mandate to rule/govern for at least 10 years as Koumintang (Taiwan), Indian Congress (India) and LDP (Japan) - to anme a few Asian examples; before it is able to reform/change and becomes clean and electable again. By that time, 10 years, the other party will be corrupted and so, the country will go through a renewal - that's call a HEALTHY DEMOCRACY taking into account the inherent evil and corruption of humankind. A REJUVENATION of every 5-10 years of political leadership is where Malaysia is heading towards.

If BN/UMNO continues to rule then it is a matter of time before Malaysia becomes a DESPOTIC "AFRICAN" STYLE DICTATORSHIP (or is that what UMNO really wants for Malysia, since we are now fond of comparing all our global positions and rankings against African countries and have given up competing and measuring against European and Asian countires??? smilies/grin.gif )

MALAYSIA NEEDS AND DESERVES A CHANGE FOR DEMOCRACY AND PROGRESS - BN/UMNO IS TURNING "DESPOTIC"
written by hellosunshine, October 09, 2009 12:44:34
Unfortunately, the majority of the old folks and rural folks of all the races, still believe that BN can deliver or they are afraid of rocking the boat. It's up to the well informed younger generations to convince their old folks to take their chances with PR rather than continue supporting the lanuns' plundering and abuses. smilies/wink.gif
written by Jan, October 09, 2009 12:50:36
This is one of John Lee's most damning but accurate assessment of the BN govt. A young man like him barely 18 years old and thousands of miles away can accurately analyse the state of the country is truly remarkable. I think most Malaysians agree 100% with your assessment.
written by Susanna, October 09, 2009 16:13:29
John Lee's articles seem to be sounding and getting angrier and so are we with the UMNO continual's contempt to change. Lip service only so far. We see no evidence of their desire to change. I can only conclude "A leopard does not change its spots" Unless there is divine intervention or at least they are desirous to be repentant and change for the better, there is no hope for them to be any different. The very act of willingly putting up and championing a corrupt candidate found guilty by themselves previously is mockery to themselves and all those rakyat who have brains and eyes to see. If they do not fear God, alas there is no hope for them