Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow 'Makkal Sakti will win Indian support'

'Makkal Sakti will win Indian support' PDF Print
Wednesday, 07 October 2009 21:15

R Ravichandran, Malaysian Mirror

The Malaysian Makkal Sakti Party which will be launched on Saturday, is not only confident of winning Indian support but also securing a future for itself in the Barisan Nasional (BN) coalition government, but not the Opposition.

Party founder and national president RS Thanenthirran said the three-month-old party had attracted 50,000 members and predicted that it would reach 100,000 by year-end, going by ground sentiment.

"We believe that by working closely with the present government, it would bring greater benefits to the community," he told Bernama in an interview at the party headquarters.

Thanenthirran rejected the possibility of a partnership with the Opposition Pakatan Rakyat (PR), a loose pact of Parti Keadilan, DAP and PAS, saying that PR had failed miserably in solving problems of Indians in states ruled by PKR like Penang and Selangor, and cited the Kampung Buah Pala issue as a case in point.

r s thanenthiran 1.jpgPrime Minister Najib Abdul Razak is scheduled to launch the party at the Malaysia Agro Exposition Park in Serdang, The event will be attended by 5,000 members.

PM's responses to Indian problems

Thanenthirran (left) denied that the government was behind the setting up of the party and that was why the prime minister was invited for the launch.

"We invited him in his capacity as the prime minister. He is the prime minister for all the people and not just for BN members, we're humbled and honoured with his acceptance," he said.

Makkal Sakti, he said, had noted Najib's responses to the problems of the Indian community since taking office, and if the government was sincere in helping Indians, the party would cooperate with the government.

"I can see the change (brought by Najib) in the system...a real and meaningful change for the betterment of the Indian community and the people," he said.

Najib had addressed issues besetting the community, raised by Makkal Sakthi such as the allocation of land for a Tamil school in Lukut, processing of long overdue citizenship applications and funding for Tamil schools.

The prime minister had also moved to increase Indian equity in unit trusts and participation in the civil service, education and social development.

"He is serious, sincere and sensitive to solving issues of the Indian community...he doesn't sit or sleep on issues but confronts to solve and get the results," noted Thanenthirran.mmsp.jpg

But for now, the party is not mulling to seek a place with the BN, although it would consider if invited, as the party focuses on building itself.

"It is not in our mind presently, the important task ahead is gaining and winning the support of the Indian community. We leave it to the political parties to judge our strength and service to the people," said Thanenthirran.

He may be new to politics but said he had the pulse of the grassroots from his days as the national coordinator with the now banned Hindraf activist group that took him through the length and breadth of the country for 514 days.

Besides, he also has 20 years of community service as national treasurer for the Malaysian Youth Council and Hindu Youth Council.

The estate-born Thanenthirran, who hails from Kedah, said he initiated the formation of Makkal Sakthi from a need to have a strong platform to serve the Indian community.

"We identify ourselves not as leaders but as the people's servant. This is not a one-man party or a one-man show. All decisions are collectively made. There is enough room for democracy," he said when asked how he would diffentiate Makkal Sakti from other Indian-based parties in the country.

Transparency, accountability and integrity

The new party has nothing to do with MIC or other Indian-based parties, he stressed.

"Let them do their job and we do ours. Let the people judge for themselves," said the 47-year-old businessman.

Without disclosing any names, he claimed that several leaders from Indian-based parties had indicated they wanted to join Makkal Sakti.

They were welcome, he said, as long as they supported the party's struggle for the people and wanted to create more political awareness of their legitimate rights and bring them into the mainstream of the country's development.

The party stood for transparency, accountability, integrity, truth and and 'dharma' (justice), said Thanenthirran.

He said half of the party's 33 central committee members were from professional groups such as IT experts, businessmen, lawyers and corporate people.

written by Kathy, October 07, 2009 21:33:36
Another opportunist/teacher's pet in the making. This is precisely what UMNO wants - divide and rule. This has been cleverly done in Sarawak by Taib - divide the Dayaks into splinter parties going for each others' throats whilst he sits back and consolidates his power base. Why are these Dayaks and Indians so stupid?
written by penangboi, October 07, 2009 21:40:26
Er.. Mr Thanenthirran, can I join your party please? By the way, I am not an Indian but an Anak Bangsa Malaysia.

What? Your party is only for Indians?!! You mean your party is like MIC, only for Indians? And your party is like UMNO, only for Malays? And your party is like MCA, only for Chinese?

ANOTHER BLOODY RACIST PARTY!!!!!!!!!!!!!

We have had enough racism in Malaysia. Let's kick them all out!!!! Let's do it for ANAK BANGSA MALAYSIA !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
written by raven1958, October 07, 2009 21:42:34
There goes one more little Indian selling his mother and father....satu sen tak boleh percaya...will never forget Ijok...how they rationalised and rationalised ...and rationalised that the poor had to accept Samy's money because they were so poor ....zero long term vision.

It tells sometimes...maybe that's why even India doesnt want to support the lot of Malaysian Indians.
written by Ulan Benson, October 07, 2009 22:02:03
Party founder and national president RS Thanenthirran thought he is the The Pipe Piper of Hamelin and that the Malaysian Indian are like his rats and will follow him to the river of Doom (Um-No) with his music.

Go and lick Nashit ass but stay away from the Malaysian Indian. You talk like MIC, sound MIC and act like MIC...and the poor Indian suffers!
written by storm62, October 07, 2009 22:30:40
another dog been tricked to join BN...aneh, if your party is not bn friendly, i bet they will NOT approved your Indian party so damn fast!!!
written by Sutha, October 07, 2009 22:31:48
This donkey will soon be saying that the Malaysian Indians should not hold Najis Rosak accountable for the past 52 years of discriminations by Armno. He would further go on to say only malays should be rightfully bumiputras and all others, including Orang Aslis, are pendatangs.

And that the Najis Government is doing the Indians the greatest favours of issuing birth certificates and identity cards (permanent residents) to all those who had not been registered earlier on. And therefore, Indians have to pay their respects and gratitude to Barisan Nazional for the next 52 years. Next to Slavery, probably worse off.

He would potray that he is a Mahatma Gandhi incarnate, until MIC gets eliminated into thin air with Umno's assistance. Then, he would show his true color like Sami Parapundeh. One look on his canine face and you can tell this is the only unfaithful dog in the world, by every standard.
written by bodohland_citizen, October 07, 2009 22:35:37
Makkal Sakti, he said, had noted Najib's responses to the problems of the Indian community since taking office, and if the government was sincere in helping Indians, the party would cooperate with the government.
======================================================= ========
Well said Si Janggut Thanenthirran. Take a closer look at Najib's responses to Indians' problems :

1) More & more Indians die in police lock-up. Only god knows how many died in prisons.
2) More & more Indians are shot dead by police in the name of suspection. Read the latest news (6th Oct)
3)Indians are treated like dirt in government agencies & public services
4) Indians are denied citizenship while foreigners with am mere 3 months stay in Malaysia granted one.

Any many more to lend his support. May Makkal Sakti rot together with UMNO and its partners in crime
written by Hakim Joe, October 07, 2009 22:38:30
What did I tell you fellas? Makkal Sakti equals Hindraf equals Indian Opportunity Seekers. Didn’t believe me, right? Well, read the above article where it says that they are hoping to join BN asap. For those who chose to criticize me and who told me that this new Indian party is going to be different, go eat your words now. Let me make you guys another prediction – very soon the party leaders will start accepting the Hindraf ringleaders into their fold.

written by harryo, October 07, 2009 22:42:31
YOU ARE NOT MAKKAL SAKTI BUT a stoog, puppet, a runaway, a camoflauge, Indian actors. Please don't try to bluff Indians and Indians are not that stupid either.
written by MSIABOLEH, October 07, 2009 22:47:03
Those indians or anyone who would vote for Makkal Sakti will be like suckers and fools fallen into the same trap and lies again and again. In the end these suckers will still remain in their wretched state while these bastards sucked them dry and fatten themselves again and again. Makkal Sakti? My ASS!
written by sataysticks, October 07, 2009 23:28:46
Can I bring along my Dog to join your party? His name is TRICKY BASTARD ...
written by cheekhiaw, October 07, 2009 23:28:55
A new set of thieves in the making...

written by SamBall, October 07, 2009 23:52:16
Makkal Sakhti akan Sakit Mati

Any race based party is doomed in Msia; humNOOOOO RU listening??
written by advocatusdiaboli, October 08, 2009 00:38:49
Makkal SAKIT Party lah dey! Thanenthiran, I view this as treachery which goes against everything that the HINDRAF rally stood for in November 2007. You now cite Kampung Buah Pala as a case to point, but what about all the shit that the BN bastards did for all these years? How many Indians were chased out of estates without anything after serving their masters for a few generations? Did this fcuk BN or UMNO or Najib for that matter do anything? The answer is nothing. They did NOTHING. What did these BN pricks do when Khir Toyol went on a temple demolishing spree in Selangor? Again nothing. Absolutely NOTHING! WTF did BN do to uplift the plight of desolute Indians? NOTHING! What did BN do for Indians who wanted a mere business license to earn a honest living? NOTHING! As a Prime Minister what did he do? NOTHING as far as the Indians are concerned. Were the sacrifices of Indians recognised towards our nation buliding? The glaring answer is again NO! Successive UMNO and BN Prime Ministers did NOTHING! All they say is we gave MIC the money. Hey, are these fcuks the Prime Ministers of Malaysia or merely for Malays? Thanenthiran I can go on and on about the shit BN did for Indians (other races included too). How many Indians died in the lockups? Remember Francis Udayappan? Remember Kugan? Remember Teoh Beng Hock? Remember the scores of others who dies at the hands of the BN police? REMEMBER??? And now you are humbled by this SOBs agreement to attend your upcoming ceremony. I remember the Makkal Shakti cry and what it stood for when it transgressed all races and religion but you have tarnished this noble cry for freedom of the people. You have hijacked it for your own agenda. Damn you and curse those members who are in this Makkal SAKIT Party of yours. Have you no shame or dignity? Indians say "maanam", "rosham", remember its meaning? May God forgive you.
written by flexus, October 08, 2009 01:19:13
Let me tell you SOB...when I see you I will spit right at you
and cuss at you dey the thanenthirran
written by Jajarbink, October 08, 2009 07:01:06
A party who dig its own grave. Can go and jahanam dengan UMNO.
written by khongja, October 08, 2009 09:18:53
Another bloody indIAN MOTHER@$#%# singing a different tune after toddy ? Can indians believe this mother of all snakes ? We feel like puking for this pariah !
written by JUST, October 08, 2009 09:38:41
You assist an evil system by obeying its orders and decrees.
An evil system never deserves such allegiance.
Allegiance to it means collaboration with the evil.
A man of principles will resist an evil system with his whole soul.

< Mahatma Gandhi >
written by asguard, October 08, 2009 09:50:36
Never mind...this party soon will just like any other servant party if it joins ..Barang Naik...What umno wants is the indians support after that you can go to hell... or pergi jahaman!
written by uncleleow, October 08, 2009 10:36:13
Makkal Sakti oh!Makkal Sakti ! really mata sakit dan hati sakit. Should put you in the zoo to let the whole world see what is a two headed snake look like.
written by jayenjr, October 08, 2009 10:56:55
Hello Thanenthirran, ini orang ada ingat ka? Dia pun ada form Indian party you know? Skg mana dia pegi? Sudah hilang la.....

Saya ingat you pun akan join dia la.....

---------------------------------------------

written by BukitBeruntung, October 08, 2009 10:57:33
Another Samy Vellu and Kayveas wannabe. To all of our Malaysian Indian compatriots, pls do the right thing, REJECT BN for the sake and the future of all Malaysians.
written by jayenjr, October 08, 2009 11:02:07
Dei Thanenthirran Thamby, lagi satu orang macam Nalla.....ini orang pun awak ada ingat ka? Dia ingat dia boleh jadi hero.....skg saya ingat jual nasi lemak mau cari makan la....

Saya ingat lepas B Pinang awak pulak akan jual thosei dkt Brickfields sana.....cari makan jugak

written by Joe, October 08, 2009 11:41:07
Yay! They are replacing Samy Vellu, with a Samy Vellu wannabe!
written by fearless mike, October 08, 2009 12:24:31
Thenenthirran, haven't u & ur follows learned any lesson after d chemical water spray & tear gas incidents by d BN gomen during d peaceful rallies.
After being treated thus, u must have a bigger heart than d great Mahathma Ghandi to forgive them. Even mothers & children were not spared then. A short memory?
A friend tells me that d Tamil song "Nenji porukavillayeh... sung by the late famous singer C.S.Jayaraman for d film 'Paraskthi' (a '50s film) was actually written 4 incorrigible specimens & clowns like u. U r nothing but a traitor to good peolple in Hindraf.
U r an opportunist alright, but remember in any constituency (parliament or state) u cannot win only with d Indian votes. U still need d non Indian votes. Some of d Indians may join u now, but many more can see 4 themselves what material u r made of. D larger section of d Indian community shall decide 4 themselves whom to support & vote 4 & shall not be influenced by u.
Have a nice day.
written by cllim123, October 08, 2009 18:39:15
This new party's name sound very familiar. Bloody immitation pirate. Thenindran, you are better off selling pirate DVD and fake LV bags. Your party is a pirated political party, a fake. Trying to immitate Hindraf but actually an Umno lap dog.