Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Navaratnam says TI-M chief acted honourably

Navaratnam says TI-M chief acted honourably PDF Print
Wednesday, 07 October 2009 03:33

By Debra Chong, The Malaysian Insider

Former president of Transparency International Malaysia (TI-M) Tan Sri Ramon Navaratnam said his successor acted honorably in choosing to step down after raising a brouhaha over a corruption index report but warned that the decision will have a far-reaching effect on Malaysian society.

Datuk Paul Low was elected chief to the local chapter of the worldwide anti-corruption watchdog in March.

He quit in mid-stream yesterday following a lawsuit threat for his role in launching the Global Corruption Report 2009 (GCR 2009) said to highlight the multi-billion ringgit Port Klang Free Zone (PKFZ) scandal.

“I think he did the right thing because you cannot be the president of any organisation when a large number on the boat has lost confidence in you,” Navaratnam told The Malaysian Insider today.

The prominent economist noted that his long-time friend had been on the receiving end of scathing attacks from many sides, including the executive committee (exco) of TI-M.

He described Low as an honest, God-fearing person with integrity and a good values system and sympathised with him.

But Navaratnam could not excuse Low for failing to consult his colleagues on the draft report of the corruption index before giving the green light to the main watchdog group based in Berlin to publish it.

“The fact remains that he did not table the draft with the Transparency International Malaysia committee and took it upon himself to approve it,” he said.

He added that it was not fair for the president to hold a press conference and openly comment on the report, especially as he was in a position of conflict.

Comments (5)Add Comment
written by Trueandfair, October 07, 2009 09:00:58
Ramon Navaratnam - you are well known to be a BN-ass kisser/pacifer pretending to be fair and transparent - why don't you say SOMETHING ABOUT THE CORRUPTION during your term or did you cower after "consulting" with your "committee members" (read: BN Appointed asskissers) smilies/angry.gif Paul Low, whose values and probably loathing at the level of corruption of PKFZ (money and power) decided to follow his integrity and principles to blow the whistle knowing that if he went through the "process" as you suggested, it will never see the light of day and be buried from the eyes of the world to save "BN-Malaysia" face - BULLSH*T !! It is people like you who are NOT TRULY INDEPENDENT like your counterparts in SUHAKAM, that is giving Malaysia a BAD NAME with all your "false pretenses" of being transparent, integrity and human rights, while we, the RAKYAT, knows that you are NOTHING MORE THAN BN STOOGES !!! FU*K OFF !! smilies/angry.gif
written by gas, October 07, 2009 09:12:56
Ramon, do you really mean that if the committee were to disapprove the draft, then the matter would be swept under the carpet like the rest of the other matters? You are not qualified to talk on this matter if you yourself do not want to practise integrity. If I were you, I would rather shut up.
written by Badrol, October 07, 2009 09:14:18
For as long as this country is governed by the corrupt umno/bn regime, Transparency International Malaysia means nothing. Put anybody as its president and corruption will still run wild. Get rid of the government ... the root of the problem.
written by fireduck, October 07, 2009 10:09:07
I read Nava's statement as saying that Paul should have negotiated with the govt first so that the report will be less damaging to the govt and the country. The thing is negotiate for what? Which portions to hide, which portion to gloss? What transparency will that be? Why are the committee so against the report? Is it just because they were not consulted by the president? That's it, that's all? Or are there more to it?

And do you think that the rakyat do not know the real situation here? Malaysians are all over the globe and are very connected, thanks to the Internet. So, instead of blaming Paul for the unflattering report, you & those bloody fools in the govt should pay heed and work on righting those weaknesses & wrongs.

You make statements like this, Nava, you have to come clean with it too. Give us the full disclosure if you know. If not, why bother with TRANSPARENCY ....?
written by rpremkumar2u, October 07, 2009 16:38:18
Tan Sri,
If Sunway didn't have you, it would amount to nothing much. Hence in matters of TI, the ayes have it. Its incredulous of you to suggest that Paul Low 'overlooked' what was required of him.