Home arrow The Blogs arrow The Corridors of Power arrow Land of the Hornbills

Land of the Hornbills PDF Print
Monday, 05 October 2009 17:26

Sarawak currently has 31 parliamentary and 71 state seats. Its population is made up from 30% Iban, 26% Chinese, 22% Malays, 8% Bidayuhs, 5.5% Melanaus and 5.5% Orang Ulu consisting of Kayans, Lun Bawangs, Kelabits, Kenyahs, Penans, Sebobs plus a few more smaller tribes. (Non Malaysians make up the remainder 3%.) 

CORRIDORS OF POWER

Hakim Joe

Sarawak is considered one of the poorest and least developed states in Malaysia despite its abundance of natural resources including timber (world's largest exporters of tropical hardwood timber), LNG (world’s second largest exporters of LNG together with Sabah) and petroleum. 

The Alliance/BN has politically controlled the state since its inception in 1963. The first Chief Minister is of course the famous Datuk Amar Stephen Kalong Ningkan (from SNAP) until he was ousted in 1966 to be replaced by Datuk Penghulu Tawi Sli (former SNAP secretary) of Pesaka. Tun Abdul Rahman Ya'kub became the third CM in 1970 and governed Sarawak until he stepped down and was subsequently appointed as the Governor in 1981. The vacant CM seat then fell to the new president of Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu (PBB), Pehin Sri Haji Abdul Taib Mahmud (nephew of Tun Abdul Rahman Ya'kub). The rest is history. 

The demographics of Sarawakians are something we should take note of. The majority of Ibans (Sea Dayaks) are Christians, so are the Bidayuhs (Land Dayaks), Kayans, Kelabits and Penans. The Melanaus are Muslims. So, in terms of segregating the religious faiths, it can be said that the majority of Sarawakians are non-Muslims and owing to its diversified mixture of different races and indigenous people, religious and racial tones are never employed during the political campaigning here. 

Currently the four Sarawak political parties aligned to BN are Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu (PBB), Sarawak United People's Party (SUPP), Sarawak Progressive Democratic Party (SPDP) and Sarawak People's Party (PRS). The Sarawak National Party (SNAP) was expelled from BN in 2004. 

The last time Sarawak held a state election was in 2006 where BN won 62 of the 71 contested seats. In 2001, BN won 60 of the 62 contested seats. The next state elections will be held before the 24th of April 2011. Let us analyse the results: 

For BN, PBB won 35 seats, SUPP won 11 seats, SPDP won 8 seats and PRS also won 8 seats. For the opposition, PKR won 1 seat, SNAP won 1 seat, DAP won 6 seats and 1 seat went to an independent.  

Of the 69 contested seats (2 were won uncontested by BN), 18 seats saw a winning majority increase for BN while 51 seats saw a swing to non-BN contestants. Meradong (N40) had the largest swing of 43.8% where DAP beat 4 other contestants while Satok (N8) recorded the lowest swing of a mere 0.5%. On the average, all the contested seats saw an average swing of 8.2% towards non-BN contestants. 

Analysis shows that this event was precipitated by a swing of the Chinese votes from SUPP to other non-BN parties. Of the 9 seats that BN lost, 6 were SUPP incumbents. This election also witnessed BN fielding 15 Chinese contestants of which 6 lost. Of the remaining 9 seats which BN won, the declining majority exhibit a swing of 16.9% away from them. Overall, seats where BN nominated Chinese candidates showed a swing of 18.8% to the opposition. 

What does this all mean? It means that even with an overall average swing of 8.2% to the opposition, BN still won 62 seats or 87.3% of the 71 seats. To have won the 9th state election on a simple majority, the opposition must have an average minimum swing of 12.9% (where 28 of the least majority BN won seats are instead won by the opposition by 1 or two votes) and the Chinese swing from 18.8% to 20.3%. Is this a lot? The required (minimum) 4.7% increase amounts to only 29,491 votes, or 12,746 BN voters changing allegiance. 

Sarawak can be won over by the opposition and that is a fact as exhibited by the figures above. The 30% Iban voters holds the key to this goal. 10 seats which BN won were decided on a majority less than 1,000 votes (19 BN seats if less than 2,000 votes). 2011 is not that far a time in the future that Pakatan can dally until a later date before taking action to counter the BN monopoly. 

At the very least, Pakatan can attempt to win enough seats (24 seats) to stop BN commanding a two-thirds majority in the Sarawak state assembly.

written by Kathy, October 05, 2009 17:39:43
Thank you for highlighting Sarawak in MT. I suspect there is a breeze of change gently wafting across the urban areas of Sarawak, but it is in the rural areas that the problems lies. The Opposition must have field workers who can communicate with these people, and preferably these field workers should come from the same villages to which they are assigned. I will definitely volunteer to work for the Opposition to prepare for the next state elections.
agree 152
written by hellosunshine, October 05, 2009 18:24:25
The rural and hinterland areas where the Penans and other Christian Bumis are kept in touch by the Christian missionaries like the recent call to save the Penans from hunger. The Christian missionaries should help these poor rakyat identify which political parties are ripping them off all these years and which parties can save them and their children. God save Malaysia.
written by romerz, October 06, 2009 04:10:30
Hakim Joe is right on many points especially the statistics part. But Sarawakians are not mere statistics, they are fellow Malaysians which we from the peninsular do not yet understand. Until and unless we make efforts to understand our brethren from across the South China Sea, we can't even possibly contemplate asking them to help us in our quest for change and provide us the 8.2% swing.

I'm sure Hakim Joe is a patriot wishing for change (like me) but if I may humbly say, we must first look into our own selves from the peninsular if we deserve the change we seek when we make no efforts to understand fellow Malaysians divided by a sea!

http://romerz.********.com/2008/09/how-well-do-we-know-our-hornbills.html
written by Aria, October 06, 2009 06:41:16
It is very simple to me. If Sabah and Sarawak stay in BN hands, they will be milked for everything they have got, exactly like what is happening now. BN, their cronies and Peninsular Malaysia will take all this money for themselves.
The only hope that Sabah and Sarawak have is to vote for change. Everyone from Peninsular Malaysia must help because their victory is also our salvation. We from Peninsular Malaysia should try to fly down to Sabah and Sarawak do something about it if possible.
written by gas, October 06, 2009 07:44:37
Hakim Joe, I am a Bidayuh residing in KL. All my life to this day, I have not voted BN a single time. I am also wishing to see change takes place in Sarawak like your goodself. But the problem is that I have not even able to convince my own relatives in Sarawak to see and understand that politics should take a different shape in Sarawak. I really cannot blame them they have been heavily influenced that it is hard to break the barrier that had been built in their hearts. For your info, there are also many christianed Melanaus in Sarawak. My late teacher in Kapit was born in a christian family. I am totally blind physically but I see things differently compare to all my relatives that are educated or not. I believe it is difficult for a blind to convince the seeing people. This is merely a personal thought.
written by tino_chan1988, October 06, 2009 09:22:45
It must be hightlighted that in most urban areas, majority of the rakyat are aware of rampant corruption and profitering by the respective authorities within the state for personal gains and political mileage.

While many are discontent and unhappy and/or have voiced their dissapproval, the final straw is still held by the state government - they control the rural areas, by means of politic and monetary manipulation and misinformation to the less-educated.

The opposition needs to work together with the Sarawakian counterparts (Sarawak-based oppositions) in order to infiltrate into these rural areas and educate them on the big picture and highlight their plights due to mismanagement of the state government. People in these areas need to be enlighten to see that the future can be better with change of a better governance.

written by Zorro, October 06, 2009 12:59:42
To fellow Malaysians, get this; Sarawak & Sabah will never be developed on same par with Peninsular. BN or whomever will lead the country will never allow this to happen ( I hope Pakatan will prove me wrong) because they do not want Sarawak and Sabah to stand on the same level as peninsular. Ever wonder why you peninsular malaysians look down on Sabah & Sarawak?

"History is written by those who helm power to be remembered by the masses",

And the true history was Sarawak and Sabah teamed up with Malaya to form Malaysia on 16th September 1963. That was the glorious day NOT 31st August 1957 when only malaya and NOT Malaysia achieve independence.
written by sueteh, October 06, 2009 13:27:09
Do not lose hope on Sarawak & Sabah. Just maybe Pakatan has not much influence over there. Even now, Pakatan is struggling in Semenanjung, am I right?? Those folks there maybe want prove/bukti that Pakatan can do the job so Semenanjung (under Pakatan) has to PERFORM, and WALK THE TALK. Maybe the east malaysians are taking Pakatan states as the barometer for gauge before they can change their voting minds.
written by Wisdom above, October 06, 2009 15:22:54
I have only this to say! Let's Fast and Pray for Wisdom, Revelation, Peace and Tranquility to prevail in Sarawak and Sabah.
written by Beni, October 06, 2009 17:36:50
I believe the Sidang Injil Borneo(SIB) Church organisation in Sarawak can play a significant role in the political arena of Sarawak. Since this church organisation was formed by the missionaries from Australia many years ago, she has been richly blessed by God. May God bless this Land of Hornbill through SIB.
written by LJN, October 06, 2009 20:30:47
Pakatan take heed off this: You are viewed as a Malaya-based party by the majority of Sarawakians, in the same vein as UMNO, and remember most ordinary Sarawakians have a lot of grievances against Malaya (that's what we still call Semananjung), for good reasons. Also, remember, to date, Sarawak is the only state that has consistently repelled UMNO (again for the reason mentioned above). All BN alliance parties in Sarawak such as PBB, SUPP and others are Sarawak-based parties. Therefore, for Pakatan to succeed in Sarawak (and hopefully to become the government of the day in Malaysia), you must have a Sarawak party allied in your coalition. It could be SNAP or it could be a new Keadilan Sarawak or whatever. West Malaysia based parties will not succeed in Sarawak.
written by orangmsia, October 06, 2009 22:35:29
Dear Hakim joe, you have done a great job for highlighting the problem in sarawak. I've been working in Sarawak before. A few points I would like to share with you.

1. The churches in sarawak do not actively involve in political propaganda like in peninsular eg. PJ, Penang.

2. Only Chinese voters are willing to vote for oppositions and most of them are in major town like Kuching, Sibu, Sarikei, Miri. However due to the uneven distributions of the voters in major town vs rural constituencies, BN still hold a major advantage.

3. You mentioned about most of the voters who are 35 year and above - sorry to say that they are the strong supporters of BN (mainly due to the money politics)

4. Local sarawakians do not really like influences from peninsular - the presences of people like Anwar, Lim Kit Siang etc during the pre-election campaign may not be working too well

5. Internet in Sarawak rural areas - is like non existence!!!

6. Money - is still a big problem for opposition, lack of resources limit opposition candidates to take part in election. BN won 6 parliament seats in sarawak uncontested during 2004 GE nomination day. I've seen DAP candidate Voon Lee Shan (who contested in Stampin, kuching in 2004 GE) distributing the flyer to every houses in stampin constituency by his own effort to save cost! (but later he won the Batu Lintang seat in 2006 state election).

7. Lack of new and young candidates for DAP, PKR etc. Some are those old politicians jumped from BN to PKR or DAP to PKR.
written by Alamak, October 06, 2009 23:20:30
Pakatan has a huge obstacle to overcome to take down Sarawak's local 'White Rajah' and cronies. $$$ is the key, without $$$, Pakatan can't hardly penetrate the interiors and open up their eyes to BN's empty promises and rampant corruptions & victimisation of the Rakyat.
written by Steven Ong, October 07, 2009 12:52:38
To say Sarawak is poor is incorrect. Least developed is more appropriate and correct. And how do one plunder its riches?
One way is to misinform the people there. telling how much they have gained under BN.
Second way is to keep them from the facts and truth. Let only the BN controlled news available to them.
Third is to develope as little as possible mass communication, telephones and the internet for example. This way they cant received other informations except from BN's.
Forth but not the last, is to threaten or instill fear in them that if they vote others , there will be no development.

After having said that , PR or any good samaritan should invest in the state by providing more sources of informations, facts and alternative news to the people. If others dont do this the people will be forever in the dark and believed that BN is doing a 'hell' lot of 'good' for them. Mean while BN 's continues to plunder its wealth for themselves. Its time to act now. But a word of warning here. If PR were to spin and lie to win over the people, it will not last. It will be evil against evil.
written by sueteh, October 08, 2009 11:16:32
LJN, i agree with you. it seem that Sarawakians are not fond of orang Semenanjung and vice versa. But, lets focus on the PRESENT and FUTURE. Ok..we do not like each other. What should we do? We can together come to a so called mutual agreement and meet somewhere in the middle or we can always part ways.

As i note, you East Malaysians, you do not like us, you have complain about us on this and that. But, my question to you is that :-

WHAT HAVE YOU YOURSELVES DONE IN THE PAST 52 YEARS?? Remember, your Sang Rambut Putih Rolls Royce Taib is a Melanau ..so a Sarawakian..your own people screw you all. Is Taib a Melayu from Semenanjung? Yes, the diseases UMNO infected Sarawak and Sabah but have you fellas done anything to get rid of the diseases?? GE 12, we orang Semenanjung that despise BN and UMNO fought them..but you Sabahan and Sarawakian gave your votes to BN UMNO??

Fikir fikir kan la
written by Zorro, October 08, 2009 14:16:39
Sueteh,

i think u were born after 1994 because you dont know that in Sabah we kicked BN in the state election 1994, then a few of PBS assemblymen jumped over to BN to form the state government. Yes we have fought them and rejected them but they bought over the assemblymens(and Anwar was one of the mastermind).

We have fought but subsequently lost through unscrupulous means of BN, and we stand on losing ground through dubious means of UMNO letting newly made bumiputera in Sabah eversince.

Whilst for you Sueteh, i think you have only found your balls of steel after March 8 2008.

written by ROBERTNGTG, October 08, 2009 16:38:27
Sarawak currently has 31 parliamentary and 71 state seats. Its population is made up from 30% Iban, 26% Chinese, 22% Malays, 8% Bidayuhs, 5.5% Melanaus and 5.5% Orang Ulu consisting of Kayans, Lun Bawangs, Kelabits, Kenyahs, Penans, Sebobs plus a few more smaller tribes

GET RID OF THE WHITE DEVIL FIRST.
written by freerpk, October 10, 2009 08:22:58
I think it will take a long time before the Sarawak people realises what has been done to them. Education is what sets people free. If a person is not educated anything that is told to him by an authoritative figure is considered "gospel" truth. It is education that allows the mind to question & consider alternative. As long as the Sarawakians are not given education they will always remain in BN grip looking for their daily livelihood without realising that their daily lifehood is dependant upon the very person they voted in.