Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow is it that easy to insult islam?

is it that easy to insult islam? PDF Print
Monday, 05 October 2009 09:26

By Mental Jog

or should it be “are muslim easily insulted?”

i asked this because from what i see, it looks like lots of people (or organisation) had been accused of insulting islam lately.

the latest is of how some muslim NGOs and that extremist kulim PKR MP, zulkfli, accusing sisters in islam (SIS) and other non muslim NGOs of insulting islam on the issue of kartika’s canning.

not too long ago, we had the issue where jelutong MP, jeff ooi, was accused of insulting islam when he made some remark about the jemaah islah malaysia (JIM).  then of course we have the cases of karpal singh being accused of insulting islam and even the sultan (that is another story – accused of insulting the malay ruler),  the DAP being accused of insulting islam by the bigoted racist paper, utusan malaysia. then of course we have the case of famous blogger, RPK being jailed for insulting islam. there were many many more cases where extremist muslim jumped up and down accusing others of insulting islam.

why? did those people really insult islam?

like in jeff ooi’s case, i read somewhere, a writer said, it can be said jeff insulted JIM but JIM does not represent all of islam, so how can people said jeff insult islam?

how can a group of muslim people accused DAP of insulting islam in a banner where they had the word ‘islam’ together with a vulgar word ‘puk**ak? my oh my, wasn’t that itself an insult to islam?

so RPK was right. it was muslim themselves who insulted islam!  “it is the muslim themselves who gave islam a bad name” so he said (among other things).

Read more at: http://lucialai.org/2009/10/05/is-it-that-easy-to-insult-islam/

written by Ken Liew, October 05, 2009 09:47:04
It is easy to insult Islam, IF the mind of whom view it is narrow.

Such as, Pee eM say "I dont know the C4 victim" in a Mosque, swearing in the name of God...... Once we said he is a lier.... narrow minded will meaning u are saying Islam is a lier... Thats how easy to insult.

Speak carefully... cos Narrow minded ppl are in the top place, it is easy to insult their little heart.
written by sydput, October 05, 2009 09:49:46
Muslim bevaviour makes them sitting ducks when it comes to insults.
They talk about peace but bring carnage and threats.
They talk about tolerance but threaten harm to others.
They are blind to their outrageous behaviour because they do not think.
In the next life, they will be questioned over their deeds. Did they do anything good and worthwhile in this life? were they charitable? Or did they waste their time and money in mosques?
written by rocky, October 05, 2009 10:00:18
some Malay muslims are overly sensitive and some just want to cari pasal and make hill out of a mole. Some Malay muslims are hypocrites cos they insult Islam like how one banner called the Sultan natang. well it is a case of you can't, I can I guess. Some are worse of a muslim than a non muslim and yet portray they are houlier than thou.

Malays some times forget, malay is Islam, islam is not Malay. And where it is works for them they play race game like Anwar's wife not true Malay or Nizar not true Malay. But Mahatir they look the other way. What about the other UMNO leaders who are not full blooded malay. but they fail to see that Islam is more than their small minds and the constitution definition of malay is very clear. Islam is a great religion and will survive the times even if there is no Malay in this world.

BTW i like those leaders who keeps saying malays are weak and need help. Are malays so weak compared to the Chinese or Indians? a weak Malay is needed for their benefit and survival, that is why they play the mind game and rather let the malays be weak in their mind. I'd say this people are the ones who are penderhaka to the Malays.

Bottom line some are overly sensitive hypocrite opportunist racist Malays whose agenda is self enrichment and to divide this nation in order to hold on to power.
written by Saint, October 05, 2009 10:08:57
Islam is great; Most Muslims are not.
written by jaz, October 05, 2009 10:16:12
Those leaders who think that Malay are weak and deserves to be pampered are actually just spoiling them. So that they are weaker still, only kept expecting the government to help them, they have no reasons to fight for anything, cause everything comes easy to them. And yet, they think themselves far more superior than the rest of the Malaysian population. Calling themselves Bumiputera and grab all the benefits, when they are the ones who snatch up the REAL Bumiputera's lands.
written by jaz, October 05, 2009 10:18:18
And I loathed those Muslim, who uses Islam as an excuse:

In the name of Islam! Bomb the non-believers!!! In the name of Islam this, in the name of Islam that.
written by DreamLady, October 05, 2009 10:45:01
The truth is : the 'celup' Muslims themselves are to be blamed for dragging the word 'ISLAM' into the mud and smear it on other people's faces. The true Muslims at heart would be the last persons to inflict basedless accusation, cook up distorted doctrine of the religion,and to instigate the gullibles with lies in order to disrupt peaceful, living environment of a multiracial society enjoyed by all responsible Malaysians....

There are too many such fake Muslims,the politicians,the opportunists,the sombung bodoh, they have one thing in common : GREED FOR POWER, AND POWER GENERATES MONEY!!!
written by Jan, October 05, 2009 10:51:44
I feel that those violent cow head protestors in Shah Alam have made their religion to be intolerant, incompassionate, hateful and violent religion in the eyes of the non believers. I think these people are doing their religion a disservice and no different from insulting it.
Therefore I agree with RPK that in this country the only people who insult their own religion are really the muslims themselves.
written by Liberace, October 05, 2009 11:11:05
Yes, it is that easy to insult Muslims or Islam for that matter, not just here but all over the world.
written by TruthSayer, October 05, 2009 11:33:00
Maybe muslims don;t really believe that their God is great after all.

why? take an example.

try insult Mohammed or Allah.
Most likely the muslim will try to kill you for such an insult.

but the name of Jesus Christ is used as a by word every day all over the world but Christians either ignore those who abuse that name even when they may be very angry, or even say " I'll pray for you.
Is it because Christians are sissies or is it because they know their God is able to take care of Himself?

written by lynn, October 05, 2009 11:42:25
It is the simpleton's mind to scream out, when one condemns these people's bad actions & speech, we are insulting their religion too. In reality, these people are allowing their religion to be used by politicians as a political tool. To sum up, if I am a Muslim, you cannot condemn me because in doing so, you are insulting Islam. What kind of twisted, sick, illogical logic is this?
written by Jan, October 05, 2009 11:50:25
The Hindus didn't even respond when their sacred cow head was violated in such a way as that in Shah Alam. I feel these hindus are much more matured and level headed than these protestors who call themselves muslims. Nobody wants to insult islam or the muslims but these so called muslims are the troublemakers who cause trouble and invite to be insulted.
written by panca, October 05, 2009 12:44:46
More of insulting your own intelligence - that is the inability to rationalise, the think factor seems to elude these 'great minds' conveniently.

Dirty and cheapskate politics all can be said.
written by born2reign, October 05, 2009 13:12:57
Muslims Mudah Insulted.

Mahatahi, another title for your speech.
written by A MI, October 05, 2009 13:36:58
Eleanor Roosevelt's quote - nobody can insult you if you don't allow them.

These barking dawgs just look for an excuse to be offended when no mlaice was intended in the first place and get selfish mileage from that.

I have question. I know that the Buddhists take care to refrain from harming animals and the Jains go even further to be very careful not to harm even ants. How does Islam view harming other living things especially fellow human beings?

So many Malay- muslim males smokers cause harm to so many of us smilies/shocked.gif
Someone told me smoking is haram.
written by hellosunshine, October 05, 2009 13:41:00
[img=http://img17.imageshack.us/img17/97/att00005z.th.jpg]

And they wonder why us non Muslims are sick and tired of their antics. smilies/tongue.gif
written by hellosunshine, October 05, 2009 13:43:46

And they wonder why us non Muslims are sick and tired of their antics. smilies/tongue.gif
written by alarcarte, October 05, 2009 14:31:45
I think it will take about 2000 years for any religion to reach maturity. The Christians/Buddhist/Hindus have reached maturity, that's why if any one insulted these religions, their followers just shrugged it off or just complain and no further action taken.

Islam is relatively young religion (about 1.5K year old), and consider still to be under puberty, view from this light, I am sure many of us non Muslims should be able to understand why they behave the way it is.
written by verifunny, October 05, 2009 15:03:53
It's the lazy Melayu Muslims that insulted Islam. This special group only knows about dreaming and suppressing.
written by Sutha, October 07, 2009 00:27:06
Who say cannot insult?

Read the book and you will know whether can insult or not.

I did not want to flush the thing down because of its thick cover. So I threw it over the fence into Indah Water's pond.

hat worse insult could there be? The action speaks for itself.