Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Isa Samad: Phoenix rising from the ashes?

Isa Samad: Phoenix rising from the ashes? PDF Print
Sunday, 04 October 2009 14:06

Only Umno can lose Bagan Pinang, they say. In other words, the party can only be beaten by itself - by intrigue, infighting, internal sabotage. But not by the opposition. 

Malaysian Mirror

Old politicians never die, they just fade away. Nope, this won’t apply for Isa Abdul Samad, the man chosen by Umno to represent it in a crucial by-election despite a glaring corruption and vote-buying record.

A phoenix rising from the ashes.Yup, this is could be more appropriate. Not only is the 60-year former Negeri Sembilan mentri besar poised to snap his party’s losing streak, many believe he is en-route to his old post – the chief ministership of the state of nine.

bagan-pinang-umno.pngNo wonder, there has been so much bickering over his selection.

Not only does it pave the way for him to rebuild his power-base at the party, as part of zero-sum game, it would require someone else to be displaced.

And that would have to be his successor Mohamad Hasan, the current mentri besar.

But the wily Isa has been careful not to get dragged into the speculation, neatly sidestepping the issue of the No. 1 post in the state.

“I only want to serve my kampung people. I have been in politic for more than 20 years and this is the first time that I will be contesting in my own place. I believe they choose me as their leader,” Isa told the press on Saturday.

Ambitious still

Yet his words and his confidence in himself belie his ambition.

“I believe that I can win because I have the experience. I know Negeri Sembilan and I believe that I can help in solve the problems being faced by the people,” he said.

For someone who was mentri besar for 22 years from April 1982 to March 2004, it won’t be easy to stay content minding a constituency of just 13,664 voters.

Indeed, his caliber as a politician well-versed with national issues has started to show as campaigning for the state seat kicks off in earnest.

“I will use both defensive and offensive strategies,” said Isa.

“Although the opposition is always saying there is no problem at their side of the fence, everyone knows it is not that rosy there. Just look at all the states that are under their governance, and you will understand why I say this.

“They have many unsettled issues among themselves. They are also unable to deliver their promises that they made during the general election. I hope the people will not be lulled by those who do not practice what they preach.”

isa1.jpgOnly Umno lose Bagan Pinang

Balloting won’t take place until next Sunday Oct 11 and his rival from PAS Zulkefly Omar could well spring a giant-beating feat.

But it is not expected by pundits.

Only Umno can lose Bagan Pinang, they say. In other words, the party can only be beaten by itself - by intrigue, infighting, internal sabotage. But not by the opposition.

Meanwhile, Mohamad Hasan has rubbished the talk, pledging his full support for the diminutive Isa. But already the rumour mills are running on over-time.

The latest scandal is a letter bearing the official letterhead of Umno secretary-general Tengku Adnan. Circulated widely and in cyberspace as well, the bombshell it contained was that Prime Minister Najib Abdul Razak, the head of Umno, had wanted Isa to be picked.

As such, the nominees recommended by Mohamad Hasan’s committee were binned - an omen of what's to come. Tengku Adnan has rushed to deny ever issuing such a letter but that is unlikely to stop the rumblings on the ground.

“This is a lie. It is a forgery by the opposition to try and cause disunity in Umno specifically in Bagan Pinang,” said Tengku Adnan.

Not really a local boy

The bespectacled Isa was actually born in neighbouring Malacca state. But he studied at the Sekolah Kebangsaan Bagan Pinang in Port Dickson during his early years.

After obtaining his Bachelor of Arts degree from the University of Malaya, he worked as a teacher in Seremban from 1973 to 1978.

isa3.jpgLife changed when he decided to go into active politics. He won the Linggi state seat in 1978 and never looked back, becoming the Negeri Sembilan mentri besar in 1982.

He held this powerful post until 2004, when he contested and won the Jempol parliamentary seat. For this, he was promoted to the federal cabinet as Minister of Federal Territories.

And if his cup was not filled yet, he also won one of Umno’s coveted vice-presidencies during the September 2004 party election, scoring the highest votes.

Recycled

Then suddenly almost everything went wrong for him. The sky darkened and heavy thunder clouds followed him everywhere.

He was accused of money politics and vote-buying at the Umno election. Nine charges including offering food and monetary bribes to delegates were preferred against him.

In 2005, he was found guilty of five of these charges and sacked as vice-president. His party membership was also suspended for six years although it was later reduced to three years.

That same year, his wife Hazizah Tumin died after a long battle with cancer. They had four children Mohammed Najib, Megawati, Lelawati and Juhaida.

“Even though the opposition is saying that I am a recycled product, that doesn’t matter. It is up to the voters, the Bagan Pinang people to decide whether I am a recycled product or not,” said Isa.

written by NSTPravda, October 04, 2009 14:20:23
“Even though the opposition is saying that I am a recycled product, that doesn’t matter because these days out of the millions of UMNO member, I best stand for the true values of UMNO. Greed, Corruption and Arrogance. So semua-nya OK!

smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by concernedinmalaysia, October 04, 2009 14:27:54
Corruption in any form is the abuse of public trust, the worst possible thing a politician could ever do. Any politician that is guilty of this crime should not only stand before a jury to pay for his crimes but also be band for life from holding any public office.

How BN can say this guy is good is beyond me.
written by Richfyf, October 04, 2009 14:29:10
Phoenix rising from the ashes???? More like maggots crawling out of a rotting carcass
written by latihanQ, October 04, 2009 14:36:04
Isa does not need to da anything! Hassan Ali did all that is necessary for Isa to win.
Here is another lowly-rated piece! Lowly rated, perhaps because it had inadvertently struck a raw nerve of a PAS leaning moderator in MT who in turn believes that by convincing readers my piece is lowly rated, he is doing PAS a favor.
Unfortunately, it is with much regret to say “this” moderator has unwittingly denied the PAS leadership an opportunity of getting some real feedback from the ground.
All the good and positive deeds of PAS during the past 18months have been negated and demolished by the actions of Hassan Ali and the subsequent inaction of the PAS leadership in correcting the misperception of Pas stance towards corruption and the attitude of Hassan Ali, the PAS Commissioner in Selangor.
As a voter who voted for PAS in the belief that PAS cares, I wish now to categorically say I am convinced PAS misled me.
Until I am persuaded to believe they are indeed against corruption without exception, they have lost my circle of disillusioned PAS supporters and MY votes.
They can give not a damn, neither would I!
Lowly rate? Delete it for all I care.
written by malgal, October 04, 2009 14:36:20
i thought the phoenix was a celestial creature lauded for its majesty and noble virtues. perhaps the price of virtue has become debatable. but its the people of bagan pinang who must decide for the good of their state.
written by Lim Lim, October 04, 2009 14:57:49
"hidup isa samad" = "hidup rasuah"!!n this can only be umno be end!!
written by ceong2000, October 04, 2009 15:17:43
Sometimes people just talk cock and does not understad who the Federal government is holding all the corrupt money and does not want to give the PR rule state so do you think that they can do anything without the money? Ask yourself this question.If the Federal government is PR then what do you think the BN state will get ? It will be the same treatment and cannot develop also.Let's hope that in the coming GE13 and given the chance for the PR to rule so that we can judge for the 5 years.If not then reversed back.Fair enough ?
written by ibabonma, October 04, 2009 15:27:55
Mahyuddin is happy over Isa's selection. If Isa cannot make it, he will take over from Najib.

written by Oscar Winner, October 04, 2009 15:31:33
UMNO sends out a very clear message to all it's members: It's alright to be corrupt, to commit crimes and to sin. If found guilty or if anything you do is against the teachings of Islam, it's ok, you will get a second chance. Just to give some eg., suspected of C4 murder or get huge commissions? No problem, you may rise to be Pee Am or you go Oxford to complete your PhD. Caught groping butts? No problem, you will be given a chance to be ambassador. Cheat rakyat of billions as in PKFZ? No problem, there is OSA to cover up. So, let's continue to sin, commit crimes and plunder
written by san amin, October 04, 2009 17:37:44
latihanQ, I THOUGHT I WAS THE ONLY ONE, THANKS!!!
written by alpha100, October 04, 2009 17:39:30
I hope that those postal voters think right and vote right. I pray that they are right thinking Malaysians who care for future of our country and vote out tainted leaders. I pray that they will vote against corruption. Look at long term gain for country and not short term gain for self.
written by budakindia, October 04, 2009 18:26:12
The previous guy was from BN and you mentioned there are still a lot of issues. Don't you think now the voters got fed up and will go for a change? smilies/grin.gif
written by miwaki, October 04, 2009 18:31:17
I daubt shortie can win,its almost impossible unless majority of the voters are shorties themselves.
written by Sudahlah tu, October 04, 2009 19:44:08
kenalah tahu tu ...
siapa lagi yang boleh menanggung segala kos pembelian kertas undi di waktu kegawatan ekonomi umno melainkan dia seekor ....
umno terpaksa menyokong dia kerana kekayaan dan komisyen yang bakal dikeluarkan untuk membeli kemenangan bernilai jutaan ringgit ....
yang mati pun hendak pergi undi untu mendapatkan duit raya tu ...
written by Msian Idol3, October 04, 2009 20:20:31
UMNO needs to hog the limelight with proven credentials & that is YOU GOT TO BE CORRUPTED. This is a prerequisite of prerequisites. Note the arrogance here - we give you agoon & you have to take it mentality.
written by educationist, October 04, 2009 20:43:39
No, I believe more appropriate will be the analogy of dracula rising from the dead to suck more blood[money] from the rakyat!! smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif
written by ROSSONERI, October 05, 2009 04:50:56
enough is enough lah, for more than 50 years, we had directly or indirectly failed to choose our true leaders who will uphold justice for the sake of malaysian. i'm a malay but i've never think that malay own this land, malaysia belongs to anak bangsa malaysia comprise of multi racial ethnic...we've shown to the world that we can live together harmonously, those who walk in the corridor is just to greedy in maintaining their order so that the corruption will rule!

It time for a change for people of bagan pinang, vote for change & for the betterment of malaysia. Pls remember, we do not own this country but we're borrowing it from our children/future generation...
written by Steven Ong, October 05, 2009 07:44:42
Is this a coincedent? This time if the majority of Bagan Pinang were to reject Isa then can it means also that the people are saying that they rejected the ISA? Isa and ISA - coincedent? The majority of good Malysian called for the abolition of ISA, now is the chance to abolish I s a. Take note.Show it by your vote.
written by Saint, October 05, 2009 10:51:42
Sunday Oct 11 is still so far away.
Oct 1, lost Malay votes of Mohamad Hasan and his supporters well wishers
Oct 3, lost Indian votes by Mr. Samy's MIED and AIMST take over.
We still have a few more days left and that is a long time for ISA to loose and PR to win.
written by CL Lee, October 05, 2009 16:01:04
Huh, it's more like Vampire (Pontianak) being resurrected.
Objective : to suck more blood from the poor rakyats.
Now, who's got the DILVER BULLET?, It's PR, Pakatan Rakyat
written by CL Lee, October 05, 2009 16:01:48
shud be
Now, who's got the SILVER BULLET?, It's PR, Pakatan Rakyat
written by SamBall, October 06, 2009 03:58:38
Recycled corruption = Mohd Isa = humNOOO