Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow BN sending message that it stands for corruption

BN sending message that it stands for corruption PDF Print
Friday, 02 October 2009 11:08

Barisan is compromising its entire platform of reform by nominating Isa, in the hope it can win this one by-election. It is nominating a known money politician to represent itself to the people of Bagan Pinang and the people of Malaysia. It is basically telling us that Barisan stands for corruption.

By John Lee, The Malaysian Insider

The whole time I was in Malaysia this year, I was constantly bombarded with propaganda — 1 Malaysia this, 1 Malaysia that. Rakyat didahulukan, pencapaian diutamakan — people first, performance now. But if this is the key plank of Barisan Nasional’s campaign to regain the hearts and minds of Malaysians, why do they so blatantly give lie to it by nominating Tan Sri Isa Samad to contest for them in Bagan Pinang?

To be fair to Barisan and Umno, Isa is a safe choice of sorts. He is popular with the Umno grassroots (who these days increasingly bear little relation to the Malaysian grassroots). The selection of a candidate unpopular with the local party members was another nail in Barisan’s coffin the last time it contested a by-election. Isa is a known quantity; he was the mentri besar of Negri Sembilan, so he has the political chops necessary to contest and lead a campaign.

But still, is Barisan out of its mind? In this case, they have blatantly put the interests of the party ahead of the people, and put political performance ahead of statesmanship. Is this what 1 Malaysia means?

Barisan touts itself as a wiser party, one willing to change and heed the people. Isa is a vote-buyer and carries a history of corruption — corruption so blatant that even Umno could not ignore it, and suspended him from the party. If there’s one thing Malaysians are tired of, it’s corruption — it’s why we voted so strongly in Pak Lah’s favour in 2004, and why we voted so strongly in Pakatan Rakyat’s favour in 2008.

READ MORE HERE: http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/

written by justice, October 02, 2009 11:23:50
written by NSTPravda, October 02, 2009 11:34:31
BN sending message that it stands for corruption!!??! Say what!? We thought the message has always be very explicit and clear. These are the best candidates that our glorious UMNO can buy with our money. Murderers and torturers are also semua-nya OK!
smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cool.gif
written by verifunny, October 02, 2009 11:38:02
Isn't it obvious? Corruption is an acceptable standard in Umnono/The-End.

That's why Malacca's CM is still enjoying his life even after being accused of money politics and he didn't even put up a fight (so we presumed he is guilty).
written by IbnAbdHalim, October 02, 2009 11:38:18
If Isa Samad is voted in that means the whole lot of Bagan Pinang voters are corrupted as he is. So, if you as Bagan Pinang voters must make your point clear so as to show whether you accept corruption or not. If you despise corruption then Isa must shown the out way and UMNO be taught a lesson as not to take the voters for granted. Only you can teach them a lesson, and a good one. Tell them that corruption is our enemy and we don't want to represented by corrupted politicians.
written by Oscar Winner, October 02, 2009 11:46:18
This is UMNO's message to all:

It's ok if you were corrupt and suspended, we will give you 2nd chance to be corrupt again. It's ok to rape, murder, commit khalwat and incest, cheat, steal...as long as you have grassroot support and can win for UMNO, we will nominate you in spite of whatever crime you have committed. Welcome to UMNO, a party for ex-cons and all con men
written by chrisyong, October 02, 2009 11:49:47
1. Islam does not approve CORRUPTION. I remember Nik Aziz in a program asking his people in Kelantan to work for their living to follow the teaching of the holy book.
2. Looking at the above, and reading that the PM asking the people to give ideas for Budget 2010..........are they running out of idea from existing UMNO warlords how to creat idea for corruption?
3. People of B. Pinang must be quite HOPELESS to condone and vote for such a joker with so much baggage EVEN FROM THEIR VERY OWN PARTY CALLED UMNO!
written by savemalaysia, October 02, 2009 12:10:02
This week Mohd ISA must be busy arranging to transfer at least USD 2 millions from his SWISS account to win this war in Bagan Pinang. Voters in Bagan Pinang pls stay alert to receive goodies from our corrupted UMNO man.
written by asguard, October 02, 2009 12:15:39
What the barang naik is trying to tell the world and audience in malaysia ...corrupted is accepted able in bn!
written by Arubin, October 02, 2009 12:17:28
Isa is popular with the UMNO grassroots because he hands out money to them - exactly why he was suspended and charged with corruption in the first place.

Vicious cycle, but UMNO does not have the will to break it. Sad...
written by devious17, October 02, 2009 13:16:59
umno/bn is synonimous to corruption, vice, scam, shame, racist, murderous.....you get the picture.
written by BennyG, October 02, 2009 13:30:47
In UMNO's book, there is GOOD SIN & BAD SIN.

As long as it is GOOD SIN, UMNO expects the voters to vote for the UMNOputra!
written by Trueandfair, October 02, 2009 13:35:24
I am actually VERY VERY HAPPY that UMNO chosed "tainted money politic" Isa as its candidate - in one stroke, UMNO has just alienated ALL THE FENCE-SITTERS (about 10-15%) of total Malaysian electorate and push them over to Pakatan - BRILLIANT STROKE OF GENIUS - this kind of decision will save Pakatan millions in publicity and branding !!! Now, we have CONCRETE PROOF that UMNO is corrupt to the core and cannot be redeemed. The next stroke will be the election and ascendency of Chua SOiled Lek to MCA Presidency - the final triple whammy - (Smay Vellu wins the honours as the first cock-up) by BN in the last 30 days !!!
written by alpha100, October 02, 2009 14:18:19
I wonder if our member rakyat in Bagan Pinang that low to want to support someone who is tainted with corruption. I believe they are intelligent enough to make the right choice for country future. Even those postal voters should be intelligent enough to make a proper choice. Kill Corruption by showing We Rakyat Malaysia mean business! Vote PAS = Vote PR = Vote Corruption Free Malaysia!
written by lynn, October 02, 2009 14:34:17
Corruption is the maxim of BN - it's business as usual. Let's see, how many voters are they going to pay off to vote BN? I would cut off my dick if BN doesn't give out cash this time round. A few PAS supporters told me, they always voted PAS after they get their 300, 500 or 1000 from umno. Aiyah, take the cash, dude, it belongs to this country.

If Bagan Pinang voters take the bribes & vote umno, that is 100% corruption. Bcos the inducement to you as a voter is that you must vote umno. But if you take the cash but vote PAS, then you are not guilty of accepting bribes. That is rakyat's gift to you for voting PAS.
written by clarity, October 02, 2009 14:37:00
By choosing this fellow, BN has failed to see that it is not only an election for a small town. This town is also part and parcel of the whole country. In this regard, if this candidate is voted in it will reflect badly for the wholecountry. It is utter nonsense to give an excuse such as 'it is the people's choice'. Then what about the people's choice for the whole State of Perak.
written by lynn, October 02, 2009 16:27:21
To Bagan Pinang voters, esp. Indians : this is your chance to take revenge against that racist, corrupt govt that sidelined your race(s) for decades. You now hold power in your hands. Pls, don't do something stupid, like refusing to exercise your power, or spoiling your vote. Cast your votes in full force, urge your aged folks not to vote BN. Ask them, do they love umno or what? Every single vote counts. The whole nation is watching this by-election. Go and have fun - vote for Pakatan Rakyat.
written by Siapabohong, October 02, 2009 21:49:19
Indeed Isa is popular especially in NS and when he was the MB as what the MSM is highlighting. I met him at several functions where on my duty capacity I had to attend. Of course he would not ever know me because I was and still a small ikan bilis more so I do not know how tripod up myself to be noticed by him. Listen to his speeches and his conduct with the people during the functions can make you to want to support him. He just has the charisma which can attract people to him. Of course many say he hands out money to buy the support but how many not doing that and then still cannot get the attraction as much as Isa. Of course I did not receive any single sen from Isa even any favour because as I said I am a small ikan bilis. Prior to 308 if I were put to vote in the constituent where Isa stands, surely I would have voted him. But at present social-political environment and if I were a voter in B.Pinang, I will walk up to Isa and said, dear sir I would very much like vote you but the bigger picture disallow me to do that so I have to ride the jet to propel me to the moon! Sorry for that Tan Sri Dato' Seri Utama...
written by Mirage, October 03, 2009 10:01:01
If it is already a know fact that this Isa guy is corrupted and stand for money politics, voting him will bring us 10 steps back in democracy. On top of that what can we think of the voters who voted for him. ?? Are they corrupted themselves or choose a corrupted candidate becoz his corrupted ways bring them wealth or maybe they simply dont know abt him or do not know how to read or comprehend......Either way if you digest that and break it down, it basically means the majority ppl of Bagan endorse corruption if ISA wins.