Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow Between farce and faith (UPDATED WITH CHINESE TRANSLATION)

Between farce and faith (UPDATED WITH CHINESE TRANSLATION) PDF Print
Friday, 02 October 2009 00:00

If ‘religionists’ can understand this then the world would be a much better place. Malaysia would be a much better place. And those hundreds of millions who were slaughtered over the last 3,500 years in the name of the ‘true religion’ need not have died needlessly.

If I were to say that a certain very senior military officer told me that………..many -- in particular those from the legal fraternity -- would say that this is hearsay. If I relate something that someone else told me then that is not admissible as ‘evidence’.

In court, if I relate what I have been told, this is not strong enough. The person who told me that story has to be subpoenaed to appear in court. He or she would have to personally relate whatever it is he or she told me. My ‘second-hand’ version is not acceptable. And he or she has to be a witness to the event. It has to be what he or she saw, and not what he or she was told by yet another party. If not, this would, again, be hearsay.

The same goes for documents. If I adduce a document in court and say this is what was given to me, this too can’t be accepted as evidence. The maker of the document must be subpoenaed to court to testify that he or she is indeed the maker of the document and that it is his or her signature on the document. Even Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad had to go to court to testify in a Bank Negara forgery case back in the early 1980s when he first became Prime Minister. Without Dr Mahathir’s testimony that he did not sign that letter and that the letter is, in fact, a forgery, the prosecution would not be able to prove its case and obtain a conviction.

Such is the law of evidence. What someone told you does not count. Even if you can support your statement with a document, that too does not count. The source of the information must personally appear in court and take the witness stand and testify that he or she did in fact say that, or prepared that document, or signed that letter, or whatever.

That is why in my various criminal cases the government chose to charge me under sections of the law where the burden of proof or evidence is not required. Or they chose to detain me without trial where the issue of evidence need not be argued in court. For example, the government says I lied. Yet they won’t charge me for lying -- like for signing a false declaration. Instead, they charge me for sedition and criminal defamation where the truth of the matter is not material to the charge. Even if I told the truth I am still guilty and can be sent to jail.

The government realises that I may have witnesses who are prepared to come to court to testify that they did indeed say what I wrote and that means I did not lie. So, when my lawyers argue about the falsity or truth of what I wrote, the prosecution jumps to its feet and reminds the judge that the court must ignore this argument and just focus on whether I did or did not write what I am alleged to have written (which means I am guilty of a crime) and not whether what I wrote is true or false (because even if it is true I am still guilty).

In court, we dabble at great length on the laws or evidence and about what constitutes hearsay and what is admissible and what is not. And you can get sent to jail just because you related what you were told but fail to bring the teller of the story to court to testify that he or she did indeed relate this story to you. If you say something that is a repeat of what someone else told you, and you can’t drag that person to court to back up your story, then you are in deep shit. You will get sent to jail.

Now, superimpose that onto religion. You tell me that someone told you what someone else told him or her that yet someone else told him or her about what happened 3,500 years ago -- and this story has been transmitted through 140 generations over 3,500 years before they even had pen and paper to record all this -- and I am expected to believe it.

That is 140 generations over 3,500 years. All of them are of course now long dead and gone. So we have no way of confirming this story from eyewitness accounts. And we call it the gospel. Yet when I relate what someone witnessed three years ago and who is still alive and one week ago he told me what he witnesses, that is a lie and I get arrested and charged for this ‘lie’.

Religion, for all intents and purposes, is based on hearsay. And it is hearsay because none of those people who lived 3,500 years ago is still alive today. And they never wrote down what they are alleged to have witnessed. It has all been related by word of mouth and passed down through word of mouth over 140 generations. Have the events and stories the witnesses related 140 generations ago been kept intact these 3,500 years or has over time the stories been corrupted?

They did an experiment once. They asked ten people to sit in a row and the lecturer whispered a story to the first person. The first person then whispered to the second person, who then whispered to the third person, and so on till the last person. It took only minutes for the story to get transmitted down the line from the first to the tenth person.

The tenth person was then asked to relate the story back to the first person and the story the tenth person related was a far departure from what the first person had related. So there you have it. In a mere few minutes, a story told by one person has changed so much by the time it reaches the tenth person sitting in the same room a few feet away. Imagine a story related by 140 generations over 3,500 years halfway around the world. How much of the story remains uncorrupted?

So religion can never be about facts. Facts would be when the witness himself told you what he saw. After 140 layers of ‘mouths’ over 3,500 years, facts no longer exist. And by saying ‘facts’ I am using the standards of the law of evidence applicable in a court of law. Anything other than eyewitness accounts is no longer fact but hearsay. So religion, having happened 3,500 years ago, is therefore hearsay and not facts.

So we need faith when it comes to religion. We can’t apply facts because facts do not exist. How can facts exist when the storyteller has long since died and his story has been passed down by word of mouth over 140 generations? If you lack faith you will reject all these stories. If you insist on applying the proper laws of evidence you will never believe what they tell you about events that happened 3,500 years ago where no witnesses to the events remain alive today.

But we live in a democratic society and if you wish to believe that the moon is made of cheese and that the world is flat and that the sun revolves around earth then that is your choice. You are free to believe what you want to believe. And if you wish to believe that something that is said to have happened 3,500 years ago is true in spite of there not being any witnesses alive today who can confirm these stories then that is also your choice. That is what democracy is all about.

However, we have certain people who believe in what happened 3,500 years ago, in spite of the fact they can’t prove it, and then they expect us to also believe this. If we refuse to believe this they will get very upset. They will arrest us. They will kill us. They force us to believe what they believe and will punish us if we do not.

And this is why the world is facing a lot of problems today. The 6 billion or so inhabitants of the world hold dear stories about what happened 5,000 years or 3,500 years or 2,000 years or 1,500 years ago. And they label themselves with whatever religion they subscribe to. Many have since been killed off. The majority exterminates the minority so those who follow minority religions have long since become extinct.

The majority rules; the minorities got sent to their graves many generations ago. So the religions we follow today are the religions of the victors in the game of wipe out all those who do not believe what we also believe. And we now believe the religion of the victors, not the religions of the vanquished. And this is accepted as the correct and true religions because only these religions still exist while all others have been wiped off the face of this earth.

What is truth and what is farce? We don’t know and we don’t really care because we base our beliefs on faith and not on evidence. And our faith is mostly based on what our parents and their parents before them believed in.

I have met a Muslim ulama who took me for lunch in McDonalds in Washington. He ordered a beef burger and I had fish. He laughed and said he understands that I am from Malaysia so I am just doing the ‘Malay thing’ by eating fish and not any non-halal meat. But beef, even though not slaughtered by a Muslim, is halal, said this ulama of Arab descent who is very senior in the Islamic Society of North America (ISNA).

I have met a Muslim ulama who drinks wine. Wine is okay, said the ulama, but not beer, whisky or brandy. And he quoted a verse of the Quran to convince me.

I have met Muslims from Morocco who smoke during the fasting month of Ramadhan but will not eat or drink till the sun goes down.

I have met Muslims who only accept the Quran but not the Hadith. And I have met Muslims who only accept 500 of the Hadith but not the 7,000 that other Muslims accept. And I have met Muslims who take the Quran from its allegorical meaning and not from its literal meaning. And I have met Muslims who translate the Quran from Aramaic and not Arabic, which they say is the correct language of the Quran.

So, even amongst Muslims there are many opinions of ‘right’ and ‘wrong’. Some even say that Judaism, Christianity and Islam do not exist because all three are actually the same religion and that Abraham’s teachings and not the teachings of Moses, Jesus or Muhammad is the correct religion to follow.

Who is right and who is wrong? That is for you to decide. And since it is all based on faith with no evidence -- in the context of the law of evidence acceptable in the justice system that we follow -- then you decide the right and the wrong.

But don’t force others to also believe what you believe. Most religions impose their beliefs on others. Since, due to lack of evidence, you can’t prove what is right and what is wrong, you have no business forcing others to also believe what you believe which is all based on faith.

If ‘religionists’ can understand this then the world would be a much better place. Malaysia would be a much better place. And those hundreds of millions who were slaughtered over the last 3,500 years in the name of the ‘true religion’ need not have died needlessly.

This, the religionists, can’t seem to understand. And this is because they have this high and mighty and righteous attitude where only they are right and all others are wrong. It never occurred to them that maybe they are wrong and the other chap could in fact be right. Or that maybe everyone is wrong because at the end of the day religion is all about unproven stories told 140 generations ago and passed down by word of mouth over 3,500 years with no evidence to support the stories or evidence to prove that the stories had not changed or become corrupted over time.

Translated into Chinese at: http://ccliew.blogspot.com/2009/10/blog-post_3081.html

Comments (80)Add Comment
written by storm62, October 02, 2009 00:15:50
ha ha ha...good piece of article, Pete...i will not eat any chicken slaughtered by Kenny Rogers or the Colonel....ha ha ha....i'll go for ayam pecik and down with wine, anytime.
written by bakas, October 02, 2009 00:22:28
"So religion can never be about facts."

Do you actually believe in this, Pete? smilies/smiley.gif
disagree 21
written by cheekhiaw, October 02, 2009 00:26:18
In modern times, physical presence are not required to convince people. A video recording would do.

As example, a video recording of the Brazilain anaconda is enough to convince me that it is for real. No need to put an anaconda in front of me.

Or take cocky Lingam's case as another example.

Likewise, if those so-called gods had important messages for me there is no need to send some illiterate camel or ass riders. A DVD would do.

But alas, those gods were not half as smart or inventive as Messr. Akio Morita. Till today, still no DVD deliery boy (aka messenger) from them.

Which explains why those god-like animals remain so idiotic till today.

written by justice6, October 02, 2009 00:31:27
yup...and when Planet Nibiru pass through our solar system.. there won't be any religion left.. http://www.planetxvideo.com/
Religion was created by our ancestors to control a bunch of jokers...1 big joker created a religion, and made all the small jokers to work for him.. and now with the so call religion, for example our govt, use it to their advantage ...
written by justice6, October 02, 2009 00:33:13
you can never be free when you have religion around....
disagree 19
written by justice6, October 02, 2009 00:39:04
humans are control with Fear and Hope,... control with fear means if you don't listen to them, they will punish you, torture you...
control with hope means using religion.. tell people when you die, you go to heaven, you do this, you get 10 virgins... geesh... and why virgin are always girls in religion?? no guys virgin meh ???
written by Trigem, October 02, 2009 00:39:19
I cannot understand this law on criminal defamation. How can a truth of the matter cannot be considered? If a girl says that she had been raped by Najib, how could the law ignore the truth and in turn charge her for criminal defamation? This is not justice. I hope someone can enlighten me here.
written by minds, October 02, 2009 00:41:35
Every religions in the world are teaching their follower to be good but never mixed with politic.
In our belover bolehland,if umno power of politic being threaten there will always come out with HIDUP ISLAM,HIDUP MELAYU and so on.
How to built a nations with such a thing.
With BN cum UMNO there will no nations built just RACE BUILT,so with BN CUM UMNO around we will go backward maybe fourth world country in the future.
written by Oscar Winner, October 02, 2009 00:42:43

One thing's for sure, you are right and all those who want to put you away are wrong.

Besides all those muslims you have met, I beleive you have also met or heard of muslims who are racists and they demonstrated how racialist they are by wielding the kris, then there are those who may be tied to a C4 case, and those who hunger for power and money, they impoverish the ordinary folks by collecting commissions from, for eg. the purchase of submarines and all govt contracts. Then there is another who was a butt-pincher but gets to be an ambassador. I beleive there are too many to name. The worst kind, I beleive, are those who play god. I just hope one day religions will not be used as a tool for political agenda
written by fearless mike, October 02, 2009 00:43:02
Pete, A very good article.
When I was in form 5, a christian brother once said to my class:
a) There is no such thing as democracy.
b) No such thing as justice.
c) No such thing as morality.
All these r accepted if they r a norm of a society or imposed by the authorities in power.
What is accepted by a certain community / society, need not necessarily be accepted by another. I believe there is truth in it.
Awaiting ur next article. Thanks Pete. God bless u & all ur loved ones. smilies/cool.gif
written by Admiral Tojo, October 02, 2009 01:07:45
just you wait when they discover that this world and the universe is nothing but a hologram. By the way there is about 2 billion over of people who are labeled athiest, agnostics and others in this world. There is about just over a billion of Christians and over a billion of Arab religionists. Now you tell me who outnumber who.

So, as a friendly reminder to those who want to throw stones at others, you mess with us and we will obliterate you and we have the knowledge to do it efficiently, if need be. So the Harunsainy, Pope, Rabbii and Hassan Ali of this world please consider yourselves warned.

Most of mankind have never progressed since the day they started worshiping the sun, they are still PAGAN (Unsophisticated).

written by Trigem, October 02, 2009 01:18:18
RPK,I know where you are going. You are doubting which is good and highly intelligent. Like Bill Maher said, "doubt is humble!" Many religious people hide behind their faith to cover their ignorance and stupidity. "Faith is about making virtue out of not thinking," Bill said.

"Religion is dangerous because it allows people who don't have all the answers to think that they do. They just know what will happen when they die. I promise you, you don't. How could I be so sure? Because I don't know. And you do not possess the mental power that I do not."

"Religion must die for mankind to live," Bill concluded. "The hours are getting late."

http://video.******.com/videop...535&hl=en#

Pardon me for my directness.
written by Trigem, October 02, 2009 01:29:30
Sorry, can't insert the link. It got truncated. Try copy the link and paste to watch this 1.40 hours docu-drama movie called Religulous.

http://video.******.com/videoplay?docid=-3791007322683758535&hl=en#
written by magickriver, October 02, 2009 01:45:10
You're just the man to patiently, painstakingly ejjicate the public about what sort of ring has been quietly inserted through their nostrils and where they are being led and by whom. Thank you for the boundless service you offer your fellow humans, Pete. A true king indeed! smilies/smiley.gif
written by jenny, October 02, 2009 03:25:01
Super good article, I believe nobody is able to tell does god really exist? I always wish there is no religion in this world, there will be no killing, no fighting because of religions! Then, yes, this world would be a much better place to live.
written by educationist, October 02, 2009 06:23:56
Ah! Good to be able to comment again!
Way to go MT, continue to show those 'attackers' the middle finger!!
Intolerance, blind faith and extremism has been the bane of mankind in the name of religion if we look at recorded history from 0 AD.
I believe that is why in the more developed and civilised societies, religion is put on the back burner, as the population become more rational and critical thinkers a lot of the commandments that religion demands blind adherence does not gel.
But here, we are still interested to put on a very pulic show of religous piety, never the contradictions and hypocrisy. The UMNOputras and the PAS extremists are trying to outdo each other in terms of Islamic credentials!
And so the farce continuess, ad infinitum.
written by Braino, October 02, 2009 07:39:53
Yeah, it's about time instead of human beings fighting to defend their gods, why not all the gods in the "heavenly" fight it out and whosoever wins will be the god of the earth. Everybody then can believe in one god. So peace on earth will once again rule!
written by Sphinx, October 02, 2009 08:20:26
Q - What happens if Prophet Muhamad, Prohet Jesus and Prophet Kirshna Meets?????

A - The three will embrace each other, while the camel, the cow and the sheep will kill each other.

The problem is with the followers. Think about it!

-Long Live the Rakyat-
written by quietguy, October 02, 2009 08:47:15
Religion is about truth. Muhammad was either the last prophet of God or he wasn't. Jesus was either the Son of God or he wasn't. The earth either revolves around the sun or it sits on a tower of infinite tortoises.
written by tompipi49, October 02, 2009 09:11:55
Religion for a lot of people is all about going to heaven after their death. To others religion is about making this world a paradise on earth. But to some others it is just something to cover up their sinful intentions actions and deeds(hipocrites). I am a believer of the Religion of peace and love and my intention is to purify my thoughts, actions and deeds. To create happiness and love amongst my fellow anak bangsa Malaysia and to the world in general. It does not matter whether what happened 3500 years is a fact or a hearsay.
written by born2reign, October 02, 2009 09:21:20
The little I know about law:

A law cannot enforce a criminal act.

So if I hire a professional killer to kill my neighbour, then the killer decides at the last minute not to pull the trigger, I cannot go to court and sue the killer for breach of contract (contract law). The purpose of the law is to protect lives.

Hence if the govt servant did something illegal, and try to enforce it using Sedition Act, then it is unenforceable, right? If the govt servant (or prime minister or sultan) can enforce illegal activities, then the court is not achieving the purpose of the laws (protecting lives).

Judges must consider the spirit of the law and cannot just follow the black letter law (without spirit). I pray that our courts will have a jury in the future. This is to give balance of power because there are many religious judges and jury who do not fear God. Most people are religious from Hindu to Muslim

written by hellosunshine, October 02, 2009 09:23:41
RPK, be careful. You might meet one of these out there. Be safe, bro. smilies/smiley.gif
written by hellosunshine, October 02, 2009 09:25:58
And these too.
smilies/wink.gif
written by dinosaur, October 02, 2009 10:26:05
I am just curious. Are cattle, cows, buffalo, ayam, itik, fish etc raised by Muslims but slaughtered by Non-muslims halal or not, though I think the reverse is ok and halal? For me, 2 3 is the same as 3 2 as a very ordinary being.
written by dinosaur, October 02, 2009 10:28:09
Sorry. 2 plus 3 is the same as 3 plus 2.
written by Long Man, October 02, 2009 10:38:33
“Let the different faiths exist, let them flourish, and let the glory of God be sung in all the languages and in a variety of tunes. That should be the Ideal. Respect the differences between the faiths and recognize them as valid as long as they do not extinguish the flame of unity.”

(Sathiya Sai Baba)
written by Davy McChester, October 02, 2009 10:40:08
A fantastic piece of logic that can only come from a person with deep thoughts,insight ,towering strength,compassion and most of all,a gifted human being few can match. Not only Malaysia needs you , the whole world is ripe for a leader of your caliber. With your leadership ,it is worth the sacrifice & struggle ,if not for the present ,for the future generations of Malaysians to come . Great article ! Thank you for the personal sacrifice and deprivation you have to bear to fight the cause for a free and fair Malaysia.
written by ibat, October 02, 2009 10:48:28
Those who believe have faith in what they choose to believe. So the followers of each religion possess the faith that their religion is the true one. To the muslims, having faith in the Quran, they believe that Islam, based on the Quran, the religion (Islam) is perfect because it is of Divine origin. But as RPK has been saying, if I am not mistaken, the problems lie with the human being practioners of the religion, who do not follow the way of life prescribed by the religion they had put faith in in the first place. Clearly it is revealed in the Quran that "Your religion is yours, my religion is mine".. telling muslims in a way not to force their belief on those who chose not to belief. I suppose it goes the same with other religion. But... the misquided amongst the 'religionists' chose to often ignore this very basic tenet of being religious i.e. to respect others..
written by TwilightYears, October 02, 2009 11:02:04
Another masterpiece from you. You have approached the difficult subject of faith by introducing legal jargon of evidence than to that of facts (according to individual perception) and then to faith. For thousands of years, man lives by faith and in faith. The so called abrogines - whether from Malaysia or Australia, have faith in their own beliefs of nature, rocks and stones. Such men would have been thrown into fire just as the idol worshippers did to Abraham. During the Buddha's time, people were so sick of holy men declaring each philosophy as the best (and causing so much trouble ) that the simple kampong folks threw stones at the Buddha when he went out to preach. The famous kalama sutra came out of this situation.

There are things that can be accepted by logic and deductions, but there are things that do not only depend on reasoning. The topics on creation, life after death, heaven and hell are best be left to faith.

When one is young, and being brought up in an environment of science and technology, of lineal and sequential logic, subjects such as God, Heaven and Hell are not appealing as they fall into the category of "blind faith". But for the older folks, for those with artistic latent urges within, there is something there is more subtle and yet more appealing from within (batin) that both logic nor faith cannot be the premises of belief. That arising from this inner urge and yearnings, come a love for the Unseen. This is not faith nor logic. It is just a small spring that is latent in all of us that yearns to become more apparent and flow out as a gush of Love and Beauty. Of this, comes Laughter and Tears and Pain...... These are outside the laymen's definition of faith and logic.
written by ibat, October 02, 2009 11:03:30
Got this ad posted in Steadyaku47 blog:

Wanted:
A tall well-built woman with good
reputation who can cook frogs
legs, who appreciates a good fuc-
schia garden, classical music and tal-
king without getting too serious.

This is what is happening often with 'religionists'. When they read, they often missed a few lines, on purpose or through sheer ignorance. If you give them the above message, most likely they would read lines 1, 3, and 5 only - the message is therefore totally different. Dig?!!
written by razzwill, October 02, 2009 11:15:39
Ever heard of a game called Chinese whispers? Wikipedia explains the game thus: the first player whispers a phrase or sentence to the next player. Each player successively whispers what that player believes he or she heard to the next. The last player announces the statement to the entire group. Errors typically accumulate in the retellings, so the statement announced by the last player differs significantly, and often amusingly, from the one uttered by the first. It is often invoked as a metaphor for cumulative error, especially the inaccuracies as rumours or gossip spread, or, more generally, for the unreliability of human recollection.
written by Oscar Winner, October 02, 2009 11:19:03
Hmmmm... may be soon, and for far more than 3,500 years and 14,000 generations from now, RPK will worshipped by all as the true Messiah
written by Diz, October 02, 2009 11:24:22
Interesting how many Free-tinkers there are out there in Malaysia. Well done - reassuring.

RPK - your Chinese whispers analogy is spot on - a bit like the World War I order sent down the trenches, which began "Send reinforcements, we're going to advance," and arrived at the other end of the line as "Send three and fourpence, we're going to a dance!"

Not too sure about your Maths though - perhaps not a strong point at MCKK. How can 3,500 years (halfway between the historico-mythical Ibrahim dan Musa - 2,000 and 1,200 BCE respectively) add up to 14,000 generations (140 maybe?). 14,000 multiplied by 25 (an average generation) takes us back to at least 350,000 BC, when we were all still hairy monkeys and mercifully unburdened with organised religions - the greatest con trick in human history!
written by zonefinder, October 02, 2009 11:41:07
In the beginning, Man created God because of our inert fear of the unknown in the afterlife and that has prompted us to create this entity which we clothe with all sorts of Powers. For those who have lost their loved ones, their only consolation is that he/she has gone on to a better world. For those who leads dastardly lives like to believe there is yet Hope and that next life will be better. For those about to leave this world like to believe the same. Nothing wrong with this if it helps to lift the human spirit. I would like to believe this too coz being an atheist is tough..and lonely. Thank God for giving me the ability to fantasize.
written by Super Admin, October 02, 2009 12:09:29
Dear Diz, you are right. Got a bit too many zeros there. It should be 4 generations for every 100 years so 3,500 years is 3,500 divided by 100 and times 4. That comes to 140, not 14,000. Supposed to divide 14,000 by 100 but forgot.
written by truthbespoken, October 02, 2009 12:11:26
Let's go Hatyai.
No, we cannot b'cos God said it's a sin place.
Who said God said it's a sin place?
The Holy Book said God said it's a sin place.
Who said the Holy Book said God said it's a sin place?
I cannot question. My faith is only to believe in God.

Go figure. With all our God-given faculties, why are people still so adamant and firmly refuse to think and question beyond what were told to them by others? Why take away the thinking cap suddenly?

Why allow one's mind to be unquestionably controlled by other men through man-made religions, huh? Why must one allow oneself to be continuously indoctrinated with the 'fear of God' by the possibly cleverer but more selfish men from time immemorial?

Anytime, I say, one should be more weary and fear man more than God. God, creates life, is the creator; man, misleads, is the destroyer!
written by temenggong, October 02, 2009 12:37:11
Religion would be fine without the organisation behind it; mufti, ulama, pope, pastor, doctrines, etc. These are the devils who make religion into an imperialism. These are the truly ignorant ones who have never had a god-experience but talk a lot as if they know and fool and frighten the congregation. Liars, all of them!
written by BurnTan, October 02, 2009 12:57:01
Can't agree more with this article. That's why I always say "The danger of religions is everyone will have their own version of interpretion"
written by sueteh, October 02, 2009 13:14:38
RPK, you are quite right. Different individuals will interpret their religious/faith differently. The Christian Bible said that each one will have account with God to settle once they TIAU. So, what do Christians do?? Don't have so many accounts la. Meaning, Christians only choose to befriend or in their inner circles with the peoples that they can get along with and for mutual benefits. Yet, the Christ say we must be more more like Jesus, life transformed. Of course, that is right. Only with the inner circles only. The Bible also stated the God is not discriminative and looks at the heart of men. Yet Christians loves playing God.

Sometimes, i wonder whether the pastors really got their message sermons DIRECTLY from God or they 'recycled' their sermons and there is such a thing call 'ONLINE Sermons'.

Once i heard a pastor said EXCLUSIVITY in Christ. And i thought Christ came to die and offer life to ALL. As you can see, each Christians will interpret differently.
written by Panca Indera, October 02, 2009 13:26:53
Excellent write-up using using present day Malaysian Politics logic.
The same twisted logics of the corrupted and misguided unbelievers, disbelievers and hypocrites.
I'll stick to good old fashion faith based on a set of beliefs on a value system that's proven to be best for myself.
Extracts from Nahjul Balaghah Ali ibni Abi Talib
"I stand witness that there is no god but Allah, He is One and there is no partner with Him. He is the First, and He is the Last, such that there is not limit for Him. Imagination cannot catch any of His qualities. Hearts cannot entertain belief about His nature. Analysis and division cannot be applied to Him. Eyes and hearts cannot compare Him."

Some of the faults of these groups who have introduced alterations in their religious pleas are:
1.They do not believe in the unknown and do not avoid the evil.
2.They act on the doubts and tread in (the way of) their passions. For them good is whatever they consider good and evil is whatever they consider evil.
3. Their reliance for resolving distresses is on themselves.
4. Their confidence in regard to dubious matters is on their own opinions as if every one of them is the Leader. Whatever he has decided himself he considers it to have been taken through reliable sources and strong factors.

Do not limit the Greatness of Allah by the measure of your own intelligence, of else you would be among the destroyed ones.
Note:link http://www.al-islam.org/nahj/ smilies/cool.gif
written by Huador, October 02, 2009 13:35:17

Check this out in Wikipedia here;
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kalama_Sutta

Discerning Religious Teachings

The Buddha instructs the Kalama People on which basis one should decide which religious teaching to accept as true. The Buddha tells the Kalamas to not just believe religious teachings because they are claimed to be true by various sources or through the application of various methods and techniques. He urges that direct knowledge from one's own experience should be called upon. He counsels that the words of the wise should be heeded and taken into account when deciding upon the value of a teaching. This is not a dogmatic acceptance but rather a constantly questioning and testing acceptance of those teachings which can be proven to reduce suffering.

* Do not go upon what has been acquired by repeated hearing,
* nor upon tradition,
* nor upon rumor ,
* nor upon what is in a scripture,
* nor upon surmise,
* nor upon an axiom,
* nor upon specious reasoning,
* nor upon a bias towards a notion that has been pondered over,
* nor upon another's seeming ability,
* nor upon the consideration, "The monk is our teacher."
* Kalamas, when you yourselves know: "These things are good; these things are not blamable; these things are praised by the wise; undertaken and observed, these things lead to benefit and happiness," enter on and abide in them.'

Thus, the Buddha provides ten specific sources which should not be used to accept a specific teaching as true, without further verification:

1. Oral history
2. Traditional
3. News sources
4. Scriptures or other official texts
5. Logical reasoning
6. Philosophical reasoning
7. Common sense
8. One's own opinions
9. Authorities or experts
10. One's own teacher

Instead, he says, only when one personally knows that a certain teaching is skillful, blameless, praiseworthy, and conducive to happiness, and that it is praised by the wise, should one then accept it as true and practice it.
written by bodohland_citizen, October 02, 2009 13:39:31
Dear RPK, one word to describe you...magnificient. I put your name alongside the greatest leaders of the world...I don't worship you, i wonder if there's such a person among the fanatic Muslims...yes there are !
written by Huador, October 02, 2009 13:43:41
I think it is good if anyone willing to challenge the Buddha to got against his advice and try it out. But take responsibility for your own choices. This is the freedom in Buddhism.
written by A MI, October 02, 2009 14:09:42
Esteemed Brother RPK

How many of us are open minded enough to give time of day for this article. We are too bothered if the Muslims beside us will classify us a blasphemous kafir.

Not too long ago a female and male student from a local government funded diploma mill were caught "tangkap basah" literally in the act. You know what the comment was from a top official -- The girl looks like a decent person as she wore a "tudung labuh" it must have the devil-incarnate (a.k.a setan) boy who must have seduced her.

It is so sad that no bigot in Malaysia is going to accept what you have written above. Local holier than though Mullahs would not hear of it.
written by lynn, October 02, 2009 14:28:00

Another brilliant piece from you. Only one RPK in a billion! I just hope some moron don't scream... "you insulted religion". I tried really hard to believe in God who created the world. But one looks around, so much fcuk-up around us, so much unfairness & injustice, it convinces me there is no almighty god. my xtian friends told me to have 'faith' which is a major issue with me. They said when we die, we wl go to heaven. God wl give us many palaces to stay. I mean, why the fcuk can't I have a palace now while I am still alive? Why make promises which I will enjoy only when I am dead, my body rotted away. This is the part I cannot accept. Recently some insurance guy told me, see, you invest 200k over ten yrs, at age 87, your son gets 2 million. Wow. So I asked, at age 87, most of us would either be dead, or sitting in a wheelchair, or lying on the bed, peeing & pooping in our pants ... now what the fcuk is the 2million good for? Yeh, you're right. I hv issues with all these insurance policies which promise something great when one's life is over. Insurance is sort of like religion, making promises which if unfulfilled, you won't be around on earth to screw the bar-girl who conned you.
written by sampalee, October 02, 2009 14:37:40
All religions teaches us on the ONE TRUTH ans has nothing to do with the personalities.Sir Issac Newtons share his finding on the working of gravity[which many accepts as workable models]and it does not matter if he is gay or a child molester.Truth is simply truth.Prophets can come and go,but the truth mankind inherits in the form of Qu'ran,Bible,Vedas,Sutras,Torah,and the many kithabs is what must be understood.Understanding the Truth is the only key that can set mankind free.Free of what?Free of fear,death,decay and all forms of suffering.To blindly follow promote and worship your science teachers without understanding science can never make a scientist out of you.Worse still many science teachers nowaday do not grasp the fundamentals of science themselves.Fortunately,most of us are now litterate and can do self study on the holy kitahbs on oue own.
written by teo siew chin, October 02, 2009 16:42:10
"I Have Learned
So much from God
That I can no longer
Call Myself
A Christian, a Hindu, a Muslim,
A Buddhist, a Jew."
written by teo siew chin, October 02, 2009 16:52:32
btw YM RPK...in certain courts, a particular book on religion is always sworn upon before a witness gives evidence... so by your analogy, the witness swears to tell the truth by placing his right hand on a book that is not based on facts? smilies/grin.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/cheesy.gif

i like your analogy.
written by 98PercentPrimate, October 02, 2009 17:05:39
Philosophically, there is no convincing proofs that god, which religions are based on, exists.

To ensure the preservation of the human specie, nature had programmed a fear of death circuit in the majority of humans. This 'fear of death' is not some play-play thingy, but manifest great terrors, horrors and torment to most humans. Note, the Dodo did not have this and the specie kaput.

Terror management theory (TMT) is a developing area of study within the academic study of psychology. It looks at what researchers claim to be the implicit emotional reactions of people when confronted with the psychological terror of knowing we will eventually die (some believe that awareness of mortality is a trait that is unique to humans).- wiki

3500(?) years ago, some smart alecs introduced the concept of god that promised eternal life in heaven, and it worked very effectively to soothe the angsts and psychological pains from the fear of death. Since then, others had joined the bandwagon to assist and some to exploit the majority of terror-ridden human beings on Earth.

At present, it seem that the god concept is effective for many, but theists must understand that it is faith-based and should not be too arrogant on their beliefs.

Fortunately for humanity, many humans are now realizing the fear factor in religion and finding non-theistic means to modulate this primordial fear of mortality.

Scientists has discovered mirror (related to empathy and compassion) neurons in humans and once we focus to increase the activation of these neuron and depressed the fear circuits, humanity can do away with theistic-based religion and its related violence, arrogance, plus infringing the rights of others (esp. minority).
written by clarity, October 02, 2009 17:24:38
All this is also due to the greediness of mankind. They force you to follow and think their way because more followers of thatreligion means more allocation of funds, more privileges and more power. So instead of using the religion for good, they abuse it in the name of God.
written by temenggong, October 02, 2009 18:47:06
Philosophically, there is no convincing proofs that god, which religions are based on, exists.

The only religion or philosophy that entered the realm of science, or specifically hermeneutical science, is saiva siddhanta. That was established in the 13th century, it deconstructed all other religions and philosophies as faulty, and stands unchallenged todate. God has been proven to exist, and our relationship to Him is spelled out.

The rest of the existing religions are essentially Terror Management Imperialist Systems.
written by lynn, October 02, 2009 23:01:14
Truth is superior to all religions - you don't need a religious man to teach you abt the ten commandments. It's basic, simple common sense. For example, you don't screw someone's wife bcos you don't want someone else screwing yours. Simple, logical. You shouldn't steal unless you are really desperate - I mean this fr my heart: an impoverished woman stole a tin of milk from the store to feed her hungry baby. If I were the judge, I would give her a suspended sentence. But first, why did she have to steal? This country is rich enough to distribute its wealth, no one shld go hungry. But the reality is, govt men are stealing fr the rakyat and a few even got away with murder. Corruption by govt men is the source of all our troubles.
written by lynn, October 02, 2009 23:06:19
minds, this recycled chanting by umno - Hidup Islam, Hidup Melayu... is intended to segregate the people of Malaysia. To divide and rule. To create animosity among the Muslims and non-Muslims. To cause suspicion & racial hatred. The govt is the number one guilty culprit who caused racial disunity via religion, racist policies incl. - so to najib, please, either you are the moron or we are. There is no 1Malaysia. But on 2nd thought, if Malaysians truly unite, umno is finished. finito. habis. game over.
written by umstudent, October 03, 2009 00:01:06
What if, believing in God is not a matter of faith any more? What if there is proof i.e physical evidence that God exist? What if there is proof that God had show that he know the future? If you're interested in whether there really is one such physical evidence, try to go here:
http://www.mathmiracle.com/
http://www.islamrevolution.org/miracleof19.htm

After seeing that, its up to you whether to believe it or not. I'm just want to share my 2cent worth smilies/smiley.gif

"Do not uphold what you have no knowledge of. For the hearing, eyesight, and mind, all these are held responsible for that. "[Quran,17:36]

"They are the ones who examine all words, then follow the best. These are the ones whom GOD has guided; these are the ones who possess intelligence."[Quran,39:18]

"We will show them Our signs in the horizons, and within themselves, until it becomes clear to them that this is truth. Is it not enough that your Lord is witness over all things?" [ 41:53]

p/s: mod, if this is out of topic or not appropriate to be posted here, please edit/delete it.

Peace to all smilies/smiley.gif
written by Steven Ong, October 03, 2009 09:21:38
Whatever your belief, its the fruits that matters. You can claimed how good is your religion but the truth is by your fruits. It should be 'show me your faith and I will show you my works'. Most would allienate a so call devationists and distance themselves or persecute them, and proclaimed that theirs is the true faith. They are deceived to think that theirs is correct without producing good fruits or works. It is you. You alone, your character and your works that are important. Well, some Muslims have boasted and we have seen the fruits. Some Christians have boasted and we too have seen their fruits. And Buddhists and many more. By the fruits one shall know the tree. Would like to add. Some Christians said that they are saved by grace alone and not works. But they have missed - ' Faith without works is dead'. And one buddhist have written here what its scripture says. I am not so sure that the Buddhist scriptures said that. As Pete had explained ,how sure are you that it was as written thousands of years ago?

Umstudent, we are not saying that God does not exist, but if the scriptures are all true and correct. One would be like an advertiser, shows all the goods and hid the bad sides of ones product. Would a seller reveal the bad or side effects of his product or religion? As only by the fruits one shall know the tree, all Muslims, Christians, Buddhists ,Hindus, Sikh, and all should check carefully, - 'Is the fruits good or bad?'. Be careful though, some are good at deceiving - the bad are hiddened by the good. So one need to read and search all verses and books. ITs a journey and only at the end shall we know if we have arrived at the right place. To begin with, check oneself first. Are you loving, kind, and compassionate. That is, do you have the nine good fruits? - Love, Peace, Joy. Patient, Kindness, Goodness, Faithfulness, Gentleness and Self Control?

The Truth shall set the whole world free. The opposite is anti-Truth and it has come to steal, to kill and to destroy. To steal,kill and destroy the good fruits from the world. Many are deceived and followers of the anti-Truth. Even the learned and 'holy men'.
written by nocrid, October 03, 2009 13:07:10
I suppose one's insecurity leads to such imposing believe onto others. I don't really need to impose the belief on Law of Gravity isn't it? And you defintely don't have to jump from tall building to believe that do you?
written by cabearth, October 03, 2009 18:01:40
If your contention is true, then i dare u to present your case to al Azhar university.

As far as I know, all the facts you need about Islam can be found in the various seats of learning of Islam.

Which i doubt you ever took the time to visit and understand?
written by Super Admin, October 03, 2009 19:36:14
Dear cabearth, the last thing I want to do is waste my time replying to you. Bye.
written by KotaDamansara73, October 04, 2009 08:52:10
carbareth,

Religion is created in the past to control the mass. Because during that time, human are primitive and they don't accept what will happen when human die. When human die, they just rot and become fertilizer in the ground. There is nothing to it. Accept it and live your life to the fullest.
written by justice6, October 04, 2009 10:44:39
carbareth
..err... then why are you writing in English here?? aren't you suppose to write in Arabic??
written by EYFF, October 04, 2009 14:02:17
Hmm RPK seems you are not game enough to mention that the Koran was written about 300 years after the death of Muhammad.

Or the 10 blind men after "seeming" an elephant explained what an elephant really is!

Do we all insult God and say he is stupid! Why? Because we say he created so many of us (6 billions)and only a handful is OK (>1 billions) and maybe can go to Paradise! And God needs our help to C4 the unworthy !

God is suppose to be all wise, all knowing, and all powerful. Now is the above actions befitting such a being???

Oh stupid me do I use the same road to get to KL from Penang and JB?

smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif
written by anon, October 04, 2009 22:05:12
Let me give you some FACTS. I had many Malay students in a University. After a while I could not resist anymore and asked them why they came here to study - simple...scholarship. That's good. Some may say, Singapore did not offer them the scholarship. Read on.

Then I asked the all-important question: What will they do when they graduate?
Their answer was, without hesitation - back to Singapore. I asked why - was it because they were bonded? No. They consider Singapore their home and they like it there.

These were the Singaporian Malays who never had any ideas about staying back here. They were intelligent and more outspoken than their conterparts here.

They just did not want to be Malaysians. They were quite happy being Singaporeans.

Again, all this are facts. I taught them. They were close to me and told me in all honesty.
written by letsbefair, October 05, 2009 02:25:14
Who is right and who is wrong. Look around us and see who is dominant economically and technologically and who is doing badly.
Now find out those who come out strong what they did that made them strong. Find out those who did poorly and the reason for that.

Thus it is inmaterial whose faith it is that is right because in the end those who stubbonly stick to their believes and refuses to change will continue to suffer!

I believe politicians use this thing call religion to control the minds of the majority for their own political survival and indeed many suffer because of this!
written by kawaafi, October 05, 2009 11:54:08
Salam,
During the time of prophet Muhammad pbuh, written communications, stories and scriptures was already existed. But prophet Muhammad pbuh himself is illiterate, so obviuosly he can not write the Quran himself. But the Quran verses that he read, were written all over the place, on woods, leathers, glasses, ceramics, cloths etc etc. It was during the third caliph Usman Affan, the Quran was compiled in a form of a book. All other written copies on the woods, leathers, glasses, ceramics etc etc were burned.

Quran was not only got written after 300 years after Prophet Muhammad pbuh, but was compiled after only 20 years . The compilation were from the written copies reconfirmed with the people who memorized the Quran (hafiz).

It was the hadiths, which were compiled after 200-300 years after Prophet Muhammad pbuh. the literature on hadiths is very well documented and studied to be accepted by the Muslim community. It is not simply a hearsay as per what RPK is saying..

But i agree, when we talk about religion, it is all about faith. In Islam the faith is belongs to Allah swt, not the malay or umno or RPK.. The fact that some facts can be proven thru science is only reassuring the faith. It is still up to everyone to think and decide what to believe..
written by 98PercentPrimate, October 05, 2009 13:58:40
See you in Hell where you will be roasted alive and suffer the torment, but you do not die.

This is precisely what "Terror Management Theory" is about.
Your condemnation of others to 'hell' actually reflects your own attempt to manage the internal terror and fright that is inside your mind.
Your easy option is to believe in a god so that to escape the above hell. I accept and respect your decision, but it has no effect to others who can understand the hidden mechanism of the psychology and neuroscience of such primal fear.

If you review seriously, unemotionally and unbiasly (with sound knowledge) every proof of god's existence that had ever been brought up by mankind, you will find out that these proofs do not work.

The terror from the fear of one's own eventual certain death is very real and if you need to rely on god to soothe that fear, it can only be by FAITH, i.e. without facts nor proofs.
There are also other more effective means to modulate the fear of inevitable death which do not need a non-existence God.
written by Century Patriot, October 05, 2009 18:31:57
Dear RPK, thanz for the powerful article. I have always held that the universe is created by GOD, the all mighty. Period.

Planet Earth is in one galaxy among billions of other galaxies in the Milky Way. In other words, planet earth is like a sand on a beach, so insignificant yet religionists of different faith expound that their religion is the ONLY true religion. ARE WE TO BELIEVE THAT EARTHLINGS ARE THE ONLY BEINGS AMONG THE BILLIONS OF PLANETS AND THE ONLY RELIGION IS THE ONE EXPOUNDED BY THEM??? Our understanding of VIRGINS in heaven, is it the same as those of other planets?? Couldn’t it be overused tyres in their interpretation? Hence, one man’s meat is another man’s poison!!

To me, there is GOD, the creator and all mighty. Period. Keep your religion to yourselves and leave it at home.

As one philosopher once said, ‘ The greatest mistake of mankind is to allow theologians to decide what is EVIL and GOOD’.
written by Panca Indera, October 05, 2009 21:28:59
Is it Mr or Ms 98% primate?
I am stirring up sh*t as you may realised by now.
If you are replying to my comment why doesnt you furnish the proof That I requested, instead by sidetracking and accusing me of "Terror Management Theory".
I did not make up the roasting bit,it's in the Quran, IF " Muslims" believe in the BOOK then what God says, God will do. Its not my decision. If it's mind, I will probably kissed your ar*s and wave you along then zapped you to nothingness. I have to respect and believe in HIM just as he said he created the UNIVERSE with proofto boot by the Hubble's LAW.
What have you got as proof to disproof about the expansive Universe?
Show it to me and I might just pronounce you as most briliant PRIMATE on earth.
How's that, 98% Ape-person and 2% humanity. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Panca Indera, October 06, 2009 09:19:42
Dear Primate, know your english!
meaning of faith
faith: - • noun 1 complete trust or confidence. 2 strong belief in a religion. 3 a system of religious belief.
Your statement:-"it can only be by FAITH, i.e. without facts nor proofs. "
Don't be an idiot and make additional statements to the meaning of a word, ie as above.
For your statement to be accurate, you should have said, "BLIND FAITH"
Well I am not blind as you are. I used my intelligence to research and think out logically before I speak. But you don't, that's why you spewed rubbish from your mouth.
These is a big difference between FAITH and BLIND FAITH, did you not know?
Anyway people like you are a dime a dozen, i.e those who think they know their primary purpose in life, when they don't have a clue, except to eat,sleep and play(have fun).
Well, enjoy yourself while it last. then suffer the excruciating pain of torture in the after life without dying.
Don't believe me?
Kill yourself and see what happens after that
If you think there is no afterlife, why to worry?
No pain No gain, right?
signing Off . Fun, Fun! Fun!... smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by 98PercentPrimate, October 06, 2009 12:37:28
Relax lah.. friend, be happy and don't worry so much about some non-existent hell. Since you stated you are intelligent and i believe you are, let's have an intelligent discussion. Condemning me to hell is wasting your energy and it reflect
badly and negatively on yourself.

..........How's that, 98% Ape-person and 2% humanity.......... smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif
It is a well proven fact that the average human is genetically, 98% ape and 2% homo-sapien.
Do you want to deny this truth?
Accepting this truth means i need to be humble not arrogant, still have a lot to learn and improve to being more human.
This is not hearsay, whereas the insistence that god exists as handed down from many generations of 98percentprimates' mouths to books are hearsay based on faith.

Which dictionary are you refering to regarding the meaning of faith?
Note: the 2nd of 8 meanings from,
http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/faith
2. belief that is not based on proof:
written by Panca Indera, October 06, 2009 21:32:58
" 98% ape and 2% homo-sapien. [/u]"
OK-lah, if you want to be like that, but Human DNA is also Similar to that of the Worm, Mosquito and Chicken!.I WANT TO BE CHICKENMAN
1. For example, the genetic analyses published in New Scientist have revealed a 75 % similarity between the DNAs of nematode worms and man.(Hmmm! some man do wriggle like worms don't they?)
2. In a survey carried out by researchers in Cambridge University, some proteins of land-dwelling animals were compared. Amazingly, in nearly all samples, human beings and chickens were paired as the closest relatives. The next closest relative was the crocodile.
3. man would have an even closer relative than the chimpanzee: "the potato"!. Because the number of chromosomes in potatoes is the same as that of man: 46. (But I only get to be called Potato head)

Conclusion: Other than the superficial similarity between them, apes are no closer to human beings than other animals. Moreover, when intelligence is used as a point of comparison, the bee, which produces the geometrical wonder of the honeycomb, or the spider, which produces the engineering wonder of the web, are closer to man than the ape. link http://www.evidencesofcreation.com/dna05.html
As for the word FAITH,you took the word out off my mouth i.e you can pick and choose any one of the eight to justify your opinion. But I use the Oxford english dictionary which i felt was more correct faith does not have to be Blind, even thought it can be, just like LOVE.

Question:HAve you ever had a nightmare?
well! you get wake up from a nightmare.
But try waking up from being in Hell.Fat chance!
Think of this." many people can imagine about being in hell, but has anybody ever dream of ever being in hell?
Never! because it is RESERVED for REALITY only.

OK, You win, there is no HELL or Hellaluyah! smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by KotaDamansara73, October 06, 2009 22:58:00
Panca Indera,

When you die, you won't go to heaven or hell. You will just rot in the ground. You can't stop it. There is no GOD in this world. I am sorry that I have to dissapoint you. Religion is created by human.
written by KotaDamansara73, October 06, 2009 23:00:13
What is GOD? WHO IS GOD? WHERE IS GOD? Is he a animal? Do we even refer to him as he or she? What is he here for? If he is here, why did he created us? Why don't he just do a better job in creating a ever lasting peace in this world.

Human like us are just have a brain that is smarter than animals and we realise that we are going to die. That is the only difference.
written by VibrenOnes, October 06, 2009 23:06:18
A very logical & thought provoking article. It is timely for the world and hopefully let it be Malaysians who shall be able to re-examine their understanding of ALL Scriptures. Yes, indeed it is absolutely true, too, that IF we are able to imbibe the Essence of all the Scriptures AS It Is,it would not be a surprise to arrive at the Conclusion that all the Scriptures are meant for ALL Humans. They are, therefore, Universal In Nature. They are not meant to be religious or to be used to impose on fellow humans.
written by Panca Indera, October 07, 2009 09:12:09
There is no GOD in this world.
Aha a view and concept of the unschooled and uninitiated(my view of course!). To use your own words, quote," I am sorry that I have to disappoint you." there is a GOD but your heart is Blinded and therefore cannot see the logic.
Quote:
"What is GOD? WHO IS GOD? WHERE IS GOD? Is he a animal? Do we even refer to him as he or she? What is he here for? If he is here, why did he created us? Why don't he just do a better job in creating a ever lasting peace in this world."Unquote.
Don't play with questions, you are showing your ignorance(my opinion of course ha, ha).the answers to your Qs are everywhere on the NET!
Give concrete evidence, proofs, findings and facts lah, to justify your your belief that is no GOD. or a least give us the links to the findings. After all you're connected to the WWW.
"Human like us are just have a brain that is smarter than animals and we realise that we are going to die. That is the only difference."

Have you not seen the facial expression of animals about to be slaughtered?
Next time attend a "Korban" rite on the eve of Hari Raya Haji of one of your Muslim acquaintances(if you have one). If not go the a Pig slaughter house and watch the faces of the pigs as it is being slaughtered.
That is not the only difference. There are many more.
So spend less time drinking your beer and wine and having fun and more tine reading and worrying about your unavoidable death, where first your eyesight will go, and then the feeling of helplessness as the lifeforce slowly ebbs away from your body, but you can still hear others talking to you or about you. You scream for help and beg God not to let you die. You promised to God that you will change if only He gives you a second chance.
Guess What?
Its too late, the Gate of Hell is wide open waiting for you!
see you in Hell matie!
smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
I am mean.
Please be meaner but not rude or uncivilise.
written by Logger123, October 07, 2009 10:46:51
Just adding my 2cents worth.
If your legs were to rot off from gangrene or be utterly destroyed from an accident, are you considered to be dead? I mean, its a body part, and if all body parts are cut off or destroyed, are you dead? So who are we? The body where its parts can be destroyed or are we a separate entity residing in the body, like the snail in the seashell?

Until we got an education, we thought the world was flat. Until we went to countries with snow, we did not know how snow felt. We thought we did, but until we experienced it, then only would we learn and know.

So think and learn about God and you soon will experience God in your life. And for those who think that all the bad things that happen in the world means that there is no God, take the perspective as to why should God only allow for good experiences? How to know evil, until we experience evil? Is hate the opposite of love, or is hate the anger of a spurned love? If there were no Hitler, would good men have thought deeply and then stood up and fought and died for justice and right of the individual for future generations? Think, think and think. Think deeply and ask. And we will receive.

God is the supreme mastermind. We can't outfox him. We can try to outfox Mahathir, Najib etc, but not God.

And please differentiate higher beings as different from God. If we think that we are superior to animals, don't you think that there are other superior beings out there in the billions of galaxies and dimensions? We can't see em, and just as to the bacteria in that we are to big to be seen by bacteria.

Religion and politics on the other hand is an invention of mankind. It is meant to enable man to dominate over others. Its about power! Who decides what is morally correct? Who decides what actions can be allowed? Who dominates who? The king, the priest, the husband, the wife, the father, the mother, the howling baby? Who gets whose attention? Who does what the other wants them to do? Do you submit? Do you rebel?

Why do we submit to those in authority? Fear of loss or because we love em? Think about it dudes. And while you pick your nose pondering, go figure what is your role on this planet. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif