Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow How does corruption affect us? Let me count the ways (UPDATED WITH CHINESE TRANSLATION)

How does corruption affect us? Let me count the ways (UPDATED WITH CHINESE TRANSLATION) PDF Print
Tuesday, 29 September 2009 18:10

But PAS does not declare war on corruption. PAS declares war on beer and sexy women. PAS does not understand that corruption and poverty is the real enemy. Poverty enslaves us. Corruption makes us even poorer.

Most Malaysians don’t think twice about the level of corruption in this country. Some even welcome it. How many times have you illegally parked your car or dashed through a red light and paid the policeman a bribe of RM50 or RM100 to save paying a RM300 fine if you are issued a summons?

And that is cheap, mind you. In the police lockup, we have to pay the policemen RM100 for a three-minute local phone call and RM10 for a stick of cigarette. So that comes to RM200 per packet. I paid RM200 for one night’s ‘protection’. For RM200 I was placed in a ‘special’ lockup where a detainee awaiting trial for murder took me under his wing so that the others could not get at me. He even threw in a cigarette as part of the ‘package’.

And it costs RM250,000 for a drug dealer to escape the gallows.

My wife, who in 2001 was detained overnight in the women’s section of the police lockup, the same night I was arrested, spoke to one Indonesian woman who was on her second drug dealing arrest. The first time she and her husband were arrested they had to pay RM500,000 for both of them to get released. They were trying to arrange another RM500,000 to get out of this second arrest. So that came to RM1 million for two arrests. Imagine how much they must be making dealing in drugs. More importantly, imagine how much the police are making each time they get arrested.

I spoke to many of my Chinese businessmen friends and they admitted that it is easier to do business when corruption is involved. This saves time since you can bypass the normal requirements and get your applications approved much faster by just bribing the government officers. Sometimes, when you are not ‘eligible’, you can become eligible by paying bribes. So bribes actually help when faced with certain obstacles -- and there are definitely many 'obstacles' when dealing with governments in third world countries like Malaysia.

When corruption does not affect you directly you are not too concerned about it. It is like crime. As long as the robbers do not break into your home to rob you and rape your wife or daughter then who bothers too much about the high level of crime? It is when it is you that is hit that you become outraged about the high crime rate and the low level of police enforcement and lack of effort to combat crime.

Is it not those who suffer or suffered from cancer, or have lost a loved one to cancer, who gets involved in anti-cancer movements or associations? How many of us who never had to face cancer would want to donate generously to the anti-cancer effort? We never bother about something that does not affect us. And the same goes for other things as well, such as corruption and whatnot.

But corruption does affect us, contrary to what many may be thinking. Sometimes it affects us directly. Most times, indirectly.

An average of ten people die each day on Malaysian roads. Many more are seriously injured or maimed, sometimes resulting in them no longer being able to work and earn a living. The main reason for this is that Malaysians do not know how to drive.

Now, let there not be any confusion over this statement. Malaysians may have a valid driving licence. But Malaysians do not know how to drive. Do you know that in some European countries you can exchange your Singapore driving licence for a driving licence of your host country? But they will not accept a Malaysian driving licence. Malaysian driving licences tak laku (have no value).

I know someone, now deceased, who had a driving licence but could not even reverse her car out of the driveway. How in heaven’s name did she pass her driving test and get a licence if she can’t even reverse her car? And for sure she can’t drive.

Well, she told me. The driving school has two schemes. One is the ‘guaranteed to pass your driving test’ scheme -- which means you will pass your driving test and get a driving licence even if you can’t drive. The other scheme involves you taking the driving test and passing it all on your own.

The trouble with this legitimate scheme, though, is that even if you know how to drive they will still fail you as ‘punishment’ for refusing to participate in the ‘guaranteed to pass’ scheme. So it is better to pay, even if you can drive, and especially if you can’t, to be assured off a driving licence.

So, about ten people a day die on Malaysian roads because most of them have a driving licence but do not know how to drive. And those who die could be you, a family member, an office colleague, or a close friend. In short, that person who died in the traffic accident could be someone you know or someone close to you.

Therefore, corruption does affect you when you lose someone because of corruption -- or if it is you who dies. If this person were forced to learn how to drive properly before being given a licence then maybe he or she would still be alive today. I have personally lost scores of friends and relatives due to traffic accidents over the last 50 years or so. Sometimes it is their fault. The sad part is when the accident is someone else’s fault and you are a victim of reckless or inconsiderate drivers who have absolutely no road sense whatsoever.

I have also lost people dear to me due to poor medical facilities. There are not enough hospital beds in the intensive care unit or not enough dialysis machines or whatever, which results in poor medical facilities. And these people had to die because of this.

It is not that Malaysia does not have enough money to improve its medical facilities. It is that Malaysia spends the money for the wrong reasons -- and spends too much on top of that because there are kickbacks and commissions involved in every project and procurement. So medical facilities take a back seat and many of us have lost friends, colleagues and relatives because they were denied prompt or proper medical treatment.

If the money had not been wasted and had instead been spent for the right purposes -- medical and education being the two most important -- then Malaysia would be a much better place. As it is, our medical and educational facilities are below the so-called first world infrastructure that we are so proud of.

We have the best weapons. We have fantastic bridges, buildings and roads. Heck, we even have submarines now. But we are extremely lacking when it comes to medical and educational facilities. And health and education are far more important than all those white elephants and monuments that swallow billions but bring no income to the country, as would most white elephants and monuments.

Cars cost a lot in Malaysia. That, again, is due to corruption. If the government allowed a free-for-all in the car industry then cars would cost much cheaper than they do now. But they can’t allow a free-for-all. They can’t because cronies of those who walk in the corridors of power are making a lot of money from the car import permits and whatnot. So Malaysians have to pay double what they should actually be paying for their cars. But their salaries are not double what they should be.

So you end up a slave of your car instead of the car being your slave. You work for your car when your car should instead be working for you. And because of the sorry state of public transport you have no choice but to own a car. You just can’t get around without a car like you can in so many other countries.

After paying for your car what do you have left at the end of the day? Most times, because of your car, you can’t afford a decent home. Malaysians are actually very poor. The cost of living is so high while the salaries are very low. And corruption keeps Malaysians poor.

So perish the thought if you thought corruption does not affect you. It does, in more ways than you realise. And only naïve people would believe that corruption does not personally affect them or is actually beneficial to business. Malaysians are paying a heavy price for corruption. And the worse thing is we do not even realise we are paying.

Malaysians pay billions in all forms of taxes. But a lot of this money does not come back to us. It gets flushed down the toilet. Billions are lost -- RM30 billion by some estimates. And this is our money. Imagine if we had to pay only RM0.30 for a litre of petrol or RM1.80 for a packet of cigarette or RM50,000 for a Honda Civic. Would you not have more money left in your pocket? Nowadays, your money is finished by the tenth day of the month and you have to wait another 20 days for your next paycheque.

Don’t even start talking about saving money for a rainy day. This is just not possible. Corruption has taken away all your money whereas considering how rich this country is we should not even be asked to pay taxes or, even if we are, it could be a very minimum level that hardly hurts us.

For decades, the opposition has been fighting for the government to set a fair minimum wage appropriate to the cost of living. But the government does not agree to the RM900 per month minimum wage proposal.

In fact, even RM900 is still too low. Countries like the UK have announced that the minimum wage will now be adjusted to about RM35 per hour. That is what some Malaysians earn in a day. Yet the price of cigarettes in the UK is almost the same as in Malaysia. And so goes for many other things as well -- while cars are half the price or less compared to Malaysia.

No, Malaysians are poor. You earn so much less and have to pay so much more. Then corruption takes away what little you have left. And Malaysians still believe that corruption does not affect them directly.

And that is why I am of the opinion that PAS is not focused. They should be addressing the core issues. And the core issue here is corruption and how it affects us. Banning beer or sexy singers from appearing on stage does not offer Malaysians a better life. Even if beer and sexy singers are banned Malaysians will still remain poor. And we will remain poor because our money is being plundered and our low salaries and high taxes do not allow us a decent life.

Prophet Muhammad declared war on riba’ (usury). Riba’ basically means making money from no effort of your own. And, according to Sheikh Imran Hossein, there are 80 levels of riba’, corruption being one of them (since corruption involves making money in a dishonest manner and from no effort of your own).

But PAS does not declare war on corruption. PAS declares war on beer and sexy women. PAS does not understand that corruption and poverty is the real enemy. Poverty enslaves us. Corruption makes us even poorer.

PAS should take up the Prophet’s real fight, the fight against corruption and poverty. And poverty is the breeding ground of corruption. When you are broke one week after receiving your salary you need to resort to corruption to survive.

Translated into Chinese at: http://ccliew.blogspot.com/2009/09/blog-post_29.html

Comments (52)Add Comment
written by temenggong, September 29, 2009 18:50:58
All the corruption money paid, is eventually passed back to the people. It is charged to them. Malays must know that they are indirectly paying for it, including the govt wastages, hence they remain poor. Approximately 30% of our spending goes to indirect taxes. Bribes paid are factored into that!
agree 244
written by malgal, September 29, 2009 18:56:06
punishing the corrupt brings down the house of cards.
agree 132
written by wongnoball, September 29, 2009 19:08:14
Very true...Corruption so deep so ingrained...right up to the Rulers, down to floor sweeper. How does one battle these crooks when every turn you make is like a check mate. The Laws are useless and has been for 52 years. The sooner the Revolution and Boycott starts the better it will be for Malaysia. If Barisan Rakyat take power we need an IGP from Overseas like England to clean the Corruption and cover up Mess.

We have not even started about STUPID Projects with no contribution to a better Malaysia like Tumpangnaut, PKFZ, 3 types of light rail track, proton.......When will Malaysian learn.....on death bed??
agree 262
written by Rainbowseahorse, September 29, 2009 19:21:25
Yah, I too have heard once too many times uttered by businessmen, "It's good that he is corruptible. What I'm afraid is if he is not corrupted!"

The vast majority of Malaysians are so used to corrupt practices that it is part and parcel of their culture...just another part of traditional practices!
written by Old Man Jasin, September 29, 2009 19:22:16

Happy 59th birthday.I too celebrated my 59th yrs birthday recently . We could not access MT until today. Do take good care and stay safe.

If the chinese can pass messages thro' moon cakes thousands of yrs ago, I am certain MT's technical team will always persevere . Keep it up.

On corruption , I am afraid if one don't engage the service of agents or runners, you can forget to expedite your business service with almost all gomen departments.

But what else can we do to survive !
written by Just Gan, September 29, 2009 19:25:17

I am ashamed to say that the Chinese, in particular the businessmen and gangsters, are at the root of Malaysia's corruption. They have the money and want to make more money as quickly possible. Just look at the list of Mahathir's very successful cronies - most of them are Chinese such as Vincent Tan, Loh Kim Yew, Ling Liong Sik, Francis Yeoh, etc., etc. It is this greed on the part of the Chinese that prevented the fall of BN in the 1999 GE - the Chinese bailed out Mahathir when the Malays had overwhelmingly deserted UMNO for PAS and Keadilan. Why? Because they were prepared to overlook the evil deeds of Mahathir directed at Anwar for the sake of Mahathir's and UMNO's patrongage to continue to make money. So PAS alone is not at fault in overlooking corruption. The Chinese and Indians must also say "NO" to corruption. Only then can we have a progressive nation.
disagree 48
agree 221
written by AhSeng, September 29, 2009 19:30:44
What PAS did after March 8 is akin to kacang lupakan kulit but I don't think it is too big a deal, nobody can stop PAS if they want to commit political suicide.
written by Sterilizer, September 29, 2009 19:49:21
This is the type of postings that most M'sians need to be told. It is not that they can't see the effect. It is because they CANNOT IMAGINE how much they and their relatives & their friends could be so much better off WITHOUT such SYSTEMIC CORRUPTION ingrained.

If you have the chance, bring your children overseas to have a look at a first world country (other than Singapore) & take them to have a look at Myanmar coz we are going to be just like Myanmar if this corruption continues. The cost is a Police State to safeguard themselves & their political masters because the former Taiwanese President Chen Shui Bian's story behind bars is too taxing for them to contemplate.

And giving someone some title after they have retired from being a PM or whatnot that will guarantee them FREE FROM PROSECUTION will NOT help. I dare the Parliamentarians to change this law. If not, then they are NOT sincere in combating corruption. If you are clean, what is there to fear when someone else takes over the reign & starts a witch hunt?

I know what u r going to say - fear of fabricated "evidence". But that's another posting we would like to hear what abang Pete has to say.
written by Democrats, September 29, 2009 19:56:48
And the worst part about corruption is these corrupted buggers take their illegally earned money elsewhere to spend fearing detection, so the leakage is heavy from the economy rather than pumping it back to create the multiplier effect...
written by sydput, September 29, 2009 20:02:49
Must invite PAS people for beer tasting in a strip tease joint. If consume in moderation, nobody got hurt, the strip tease lady got decent income without cheating anyone. The money earned could be used to support her siblings which her husband probably abandoned, and giving them good education.
The reason why our crime rate is so high is because criminals have paid for their release from custody. If the policeman does not accept the bribe, the prosecutor may do so and if the prosecutor doesnot accept the bribe, the judge may be tempted.
So better or the policeman to makan first.
Same with immigration, customs etc etc.
The Govenrment's affirmative action plan itself cost the nation approximately 30% more in terms of extra costs.
Our debt and cost of living level is no longer sustainable due to huge govenrment debt and one sided privatised agreements that burdened the rakyats.
written by junjun40, September 29, 2009 20:12:34
Many moons back when I was still in the Bank, there is this subordinate officer, a fairly new graduate, says he is quitting the bank job to join the Kastam.

Why I ask him, he says there got more "jalan" than working in the Bank where promotion and salary increase is slow.

I have not heard of him since then, that must have been 15 years ago.

RPK, all these are already ingrained in the minds of our young, albeit educated being, to earn in other ways than what was taught in schools or varsities or from the home.

OMG
written by slimbrowser, September 29, 2009 20:12:59
Well, probably PAS thinks that they are better off talking about beer and sexy woman, leaving DAP and PKR to fight corruption. PAS is PAS... what else is there?
written by theAlphamale, September 29, 2009 20:21:06
Great article there...

It's rather frustrating to understand how some people can't see the Big White Crocodile in front of them and yet still struggle to remove those ants climbing one's foot. Hmmmmm point to note, yes by fighting beer and sexy woman, they are doing a great deal for the majority. But by doing this means depriving certain freedom for those who are not obligated religiously?

Corruption is not an option to eliminate. It is the fundamental for any developing country. How unfortunate that some elected reps can't see the true meaning of this.

PR as a whole must fight for the rakyat while preserving the certain freedom of the minorities.
written by Debbie, September 29, 2009 20:24:02
HEY PETE, old news n gd news,,,,,,,,,,each to his own..........who will benefit in the enD?

yOU , ME , THE RAKYAT?.WOW..LETS GO AND MAKE A DIFF........THE RAKYAT ,RAKYAT N FOOOOOK ALL THE BLADY RACISTS. MAHATHIR N NAZIS N OXFART N NAZRI N BBC FELLOW(KINABATANGANG)JUST LET MY F0XY GIVE THEM A NIP IN THEIR BUTTS N SAIFUL DIDNT EVEN YELP.

HEY AUSSIES STAY AWAY FROM DOING BUSINESS WITH MALAYSIA........IF YOU DO..MAKE SURE YOU CAN PAY THEM WELL BEFORE SECURING A DEAL.
written by smeagrooo, September 29, 2009 20:32:22
This is what PAS actually wanted all along. To let corruption grow and every rakyat be left penniless and thus go back to Taliban lifestyle and live in the woods. No money to buy beer, no money to visit massage parlours.

disagree 17
written by SeriousLy, September 29, 2009 20:35:38

I am ashamed to say that the Chinese, in particular the businessmen and gangsters, are at the root of Malaysia's corruption.

"Gau thou em yum shui kham em thou gau thou thai" a Cantonese saying "If a cow don't want to drink water, you can't force a cow to drink"

So please "Just Gan" All businessmen bribe including Malays or for that matter even foreign companies. i.e. french submarine company...ring a bell?
written by aplus, September 29, 2009 20:40:56
Yeah, we rotan Kartika while the one possibly responsible in a way for creating many many more Kartikas later on is left with his butts satin smooth.

He's in there strictly on beer-money business because he's done no wrong (it's politically/religiously incorrect for him to be rotaned anyway) according to the current Syariah. After all he won't even see let alone touch or consume the stuff.

So if we couldn't even see another (corrupt) side of this beer drinking episode then I leave it to you to make your own conclusions about the current state of our Syariah.
written by lynn, September 29, 2009 20:51:34
Dear YM RPK

A very good article. Thank you so much. Malaysia is heavily indebted to you. You have taught us and educated us so much over the years.

I used to wonder, why the fcuk do we have to pay so much sales tax & excise duty on our cars? I hv paid over 200k alone over the years just for that. Most ppl don't realised they overpaid for their cars compared to other countries. So the govt made it easy for everyone to own cars with bank negara allowing banks to give car loans up to 9 yrs, maybe more. On top of paying so much, we hv to pay so much toll. Everywhere one drives,it's one fcuking toll after another! We need to change federal govt come GE13. No if or but. Must!
written by flexus, September 29, 2009 20:57:21
Good day sir,
every particle of your article is diabolical to the country's cash flow model.
I know i paid 'one sampoerna ciggarette' to the pig for not wearing seat belt...the authorities have to come clean and to come clean we need a new team ...
written by SeriousLy, September 29, 2009 21:00:45
RICE: Why is the price high? Corruption too.

I like to bring your focus here! Huh...rice..right! Ok. There is a subsidy for fertilizers to rice farmers! Then a rice tax? To protect Malaysian rice farmers? Well, lets start with fertilizers! How much is the fertilizers? Are the rice farmers using the fertilizers? Why protect the rice farmers? How many rice farmers? Why foreign rice is cheaper? I heard that the fertilizers really did not end up in the correct rice field! These rice farmers sold the fertilizers! Some rice field are more prosperous than others! There are lazy rice farmers! You want to be a rice farmer but You will be given a chance! Please change this fcuking BN government!
written by lynn, September 29, 2009 21:05:43
One of the most urgent matters PR govt must do the minute it comes into power is to build high security prisons, which can house at least 10,000 inmates. PR must do the dirty job of cleaning up this country; and that including putting all those corrupt politicians & those cronies, chinese businessmen included, on trial for corruption. But first, we need to clean up the police force, close down MACC & set up our own ICAC, replace the AG, get rid of the EC's head, clean-up the Judiciary, gosh, it's a damn long list. Just don't complain if PR govt cannot clean up fast enough. This country is in deep shit, above the "eyebrows". It will be a decade or more to really clean-up. Of course, am just talking shit. None of the above is going to happen. In this world, reality is, there is no justice. Not in Bodohland. Most of the voters are too stupid to know that they have been screwed, I guarantee you at least 50% of them will continue to vote bn for stability or for some fcuk-up reasons drilled into their shitbrains.
written by cruzeiro, September 29, 2009 21:16:46
I am ashamed to say that the Chinese, in particular the businessmen and gangsters, are at the root of Malaysia's corruption.
=======================================

Gan,
You're sadly mistaken - the roots of anything in Bolehsia are right at the top, and not at the bottom. More so when you single out "chinese businessmen". I wonder who the businessmen not belonging to this category, who indulge in squeaky clean businesses are....

The politicians created a system that was ripe for exploitation, in order to enrich themselves. This was the aftershocks of the 513, wherein the complex system of apartheid was prescribed as a solution to poverty.

When a man has to make a living, he will do anything to work through the system with as little "damage" as possible - more so if the odds are stacked against him through various legalized means of robbery as in the NEP. (a businessman I know uses the code word "Malaysia Boleh" for these kinda business transactions)

Although all of us are guilty (to varying degrees) of the crime of corruption, more often than not, the man on the street, despite the fact that he despises it, he is left with little choice other than to "comply" with the system. Sooner or later, it becomes second nature to many, and soon enough, it is no longer seen as a crime.

Some PAS leaders do not see the SELCAT as a fight against corruption, but an attack against Malays who're making a fast buck - which to them, (Islam or no Islam)is very much acceptable.
This is what (I suppose) RPK is talking about.
written by talk2stop, September 29, 2009 21:40:19
You can't wipe out corruption in Malaysia. It is part of life. Most people are living on corruption with 6 to 7 kids. Now you tell me how are they going to live without these so call side income?
In Malaysia you pay your fine to the policeman. In the West we pay our fine to the court.
It Malaysia you buy your driving licence a bit more but less effort. In the West you buy your licence a bit less but more effort. For certificates too for that matter.
In Malaysia it is called corruption. In the West we call it red tape.
I don't see the different.
written by Equal, September 29, 2009 22:00:47
Dear Raja Petra Kamarudin;
Happy belated birthday. Wishing you and your family members, healthy, lucky,
happy and safe always.
Please tell this to all the government servants who are not holding very high
position in the government. Tell them loud and clear. All of them can get much
better and higher pay every month. Better and higher increment yearly. Full month pension. Interest free house and car loans. Scholarships for their children to
study overseas. No income tax. 13 months pay and 2 months bonuses every year. Higher graduaty when they retire. First class facilities at all government and
private hospitals. Free touch n go cards. No need to ask from the government every
year. All these are given FREE, period.
Then they will realize how much they have lost to all these UMNO blood suckers.
Do you think all of them believe in GOD ? They think they are God. God can not
see what they do. Do they pray everyday ? What do they tell their God ?
written by Sabahfan, September 29, 2009 22:51:41
If PAS does not declare war on corruption, then PAS must be CORRUPT, HIGHLY CORRUPTED TOO.

and since PAS is considered the most strick moslem in Malaysia, then it would symbolised that Islam is corrupted too.

SO ALL PAS MEMBERS ESPECIALLY PAS YOUTHS... BETTER THINK HARD OTHERWISE PAS WILL BE THE PROVE THAT ISLAM IS CORRUPTL.

AS RPK said, it is the moslem who gave ISLAM a bad Name..

and i single out PAS youth becos they are the ones making so much noise, BAN THIS BAN that..

YET this PAS youth dont want to BAN the INDUN dance called pendet, or I prefer to call PUNDET becos it sounds like puki.

WHY, because the Pundet dance is sexy... move the hips, move the arrrse...all women in tight dresses...

SO PAS, ban the pundek dance from Malaysia...IN FACT PAS should demand every culture of INDUNs as Haram, because if we start dancing pundek dance or the stupid POCO POCO.... then the INDUN will start another war with Malaysia, waylaying our students with bomboo spears and endangering the lives of our students.

so does not this justify declaring HARAM every culture from Indon? NO .. PAS would like to protect their indon brothers and cousins even though they are a bunch of RECALCITRANTS....

and BTW, the indons are one of the most corrrupted people on earth, at least 10 times worse than the most corrupted malaysians... SO WHY ARE THEY NOT HARAM???

and as i write this, we are suffering from another bouts of jerebu or forest smokes from Indon.. More haram things..

PAS supporters in MT , pplease respond...!!!
written by ibnuwalid, September 29, 2009 22:58:10
Siapa kata PAS tak berjuang menentang korupsi? Bukankah Hj Hadi dan Mat Sabu yang mengetuai Demo BERSIH tempoh hari?. Bukankah BERSIH yg perjuangkan supaya SPR yg merupakan bapak kepada segala korupsi itu dibersihkan?. Bukankah Nik Aziz dan Hj Hadi menunjukkan kepimpinan yg bersih dari korupsi??? Bukankah ini perjuangan namanya?? Sila semak dulu sebelum buat tuduhan...
written by onnyap, September 29, 2009 23:06:51
corruption is haram if taken from fellow muslim, any others are semuanya ok
written by Ramesh, September 29, 2009 23:35:22
Thanks Raja. Money is one form of corruption. The others forms of corruptions are equally evil. Case in points are VK Lingam's judge fixing, BN's taking over Perak, Altantuya's murder, death under custody etc etc etc. We have so many of them in noleh land. The mother of all corrution is NEP!!!
written by SocioMalaysia, September 29, 2009 23:39:47
i totally agree here funny how we Malaysian accept the MALAYSIA BOLIH ATTITUDE TO THE MAX.....we vote for a government that
1) makes our students borrow / loan for higher education!
2) makes us pay for failed projects PKFZ, MAS by Tajudin Ramli, i mean lets not go there
3) makes us pay for sales tax, road tax, and highway tolls when we drive
4) makes us accept the poor health standards in our Medical System
5) makes us pay to call the 1-300 numbers to complain for the poor services provided by our utility companies
6) makes us pay for lower quality petrol...from RON97 to RON95 for RM1.80
7) makes us pay for higher and out of control food prices by asking us to learn to change our life style and spending habit when they forget their social responsibilities...
smilies/cool.gif we accept the poor poor standards of our Police Department!!!!

Wow we are really the best citizens in the World....we vote for officials that we live to accept their spirit of MALAYSIA BOLIH!!!!

and many many more
written by BennyG, September 29, 2009 23:46:54
Er...how is PAS going to speak out now when Selangor MAIS deemed them unfit as well?

Only the ones who doesn't need to practise what they preach gets to talk and there is no way/avenue for true muslims to speak out against those so called muslims and these so called muslims could continue to do what they please and every time a true muslim speaks out, he/she will be thrown into the dungeon (ok, so I exaggerated on the dungeon).

Then the respect on the religion will need to be forced not earned in this country!
written by SamBall, September 30, 2009 00:11:30
cruzeiro,

I agree with you 100%; most times, we hear of some small cases here and there. The source of corruption is corrupt leaders. If most leaders are easily corrupted, then who do you choose? The least corrupted?

Anyway one of the most corrupted man in Msia must be kakatoon, the billionaire from kerala
written by Oscar Winner, September 30, 2009 01:09:34

In case you don't know, even headmasters of chinese primary schools are corrupted. But I was told they must do it because they have to pay off the people in Edu ministry. I wonder if you knew that if an HM wants to be transferred/promoted to a highly populated SRJK(C), he will have to bid for it. I have heard the bid can go up to the tune of a few hundred thousand. The corrupted officers in the ministry are creating a burden for the poor because the HMs will have to get kickbacks from the sale of just about everything in the school for eg. reference books, story books and whatnot, in order to pay the buayas in the ministry. All HMs encourage the students to buy more books at inflated prices. It's been going on for decades. The rot starts at the top. Well, they know their minister is corrupted, so what the heck, everybody follows suit. We must change the govt to clean up every damn system in this country
written by arazak, September 30, 2009 04:36:22
MT Readers,

Najib said Malaysia will be a developed country!

I said bullshit to that. . .! Look at the statistics below. To be a developed country like Denmark, New Zealand, Sweden and our neighbor Singapore, you must first get rid of corruption.

The UMNO-BN regime is not going to get rid of corruption. So the rakyaat have to do this. How can the rakyaat get rid of corruption? Well, the Chinese says “the fish rots from the head”. Therefore, the only way the rakyaat can get rid of corruption is getting rid of the “big fish's” head, i.e., the “kepala jerung”, meaning the UMNO-BN regime leaders in the next election.

Can you people get rid of this country’s “kepala jerung”? You have to. . ., and you must!

Worldwide Corruption Perceptions ranking of countries
published by Transparency International

RankCountry Index
2008 2008[15] 2007[16] 2006[17] 2005[18] 2004[19] 2003 2002
1Denmark 9.39.49.59.59.59.59.5
1New Zealand 9.39.49.69.69.59.59.4
1Sweden 9.39.39.29.29.39.39.0
4Singapore 9.29.39.29.39.49.49.4
5Finland 9.09.49.69.69.79.79.9
5Switzerland 9.09.09.19.18.88.58.4
7Iceland 8.99.29.69.79.69.49.2
7Netherlands 8.99.08.78.68.99.08.8
9Australia 8.78.68.78.88.88.68.5

--------------------------------------------------------------------------
45Bhutan 5.4 5.0
45Czech Rep 5.25.24.84.34.23.93.7
47Cape Verde 5.14.9
47Costa Rica 5.15.04.14.24.94.34.5
47Hungary 5.15.35.25.04.84.84.9
47Jordan 5.14.75.35.75.34.64.5
47Malaysia 5.15.15.05.15.05.24.9
written by pwcheng, September 30, 2009 08:03:09
There is not an inch of untruth as described by RPK on corruption in Malaysia and how it affected us. The problem is many people cannot see anything beyond what is only in front of them. Like what he said, if you are not affected directly you do not care and what you are affected indirectly you do not know or refuse to know. This evil has been so entrenched in our system, that it becomes normal and part and parcel of our Malaysian culture and way of life and to some it has become a novelty to participate in it by declaring that "I know so and so" as an image enhancer. To any non participant, they are being looked upon with disdain and scorn like as if they are "kedukut" or stingy. Often we hear insinuating remark like " just pay them something lah".
For this I think the BN government, particularly UMNO must be nominated for an award as the BEST MARKETING AGENT FOR CORRUPTION IN THE WORLD and to complement this we must come up with another article on “CORRUPTION AND BN and THE ART OF DOING IT”. Many of us will be able to contribute on cases on how BN encouraged and abetted corruption and modes and methods of doing it. I will definitely make my contributions.
A BIG Thank to you RPK for your small contribution as the giant step to change the mindset of people with your "block building" explanation but no way you can change the hardcore , esp those who had benefited tremendously from it.
written by freerpk, September 30, 2009 08:33:27
Yes Malaysians are very poor people, well the majority anyway. The rich on the other hand are extremely rich beyond belief, like people who own personal jets that even the head of MCA had to "borrow" to go for his meetings. Sigh but i think there is nothing we can do about it or is there????
written by jaz, September 30, 2009 08:49:14
Wow, I wanted to be a police, too. Or a corrupted officer.
written by FFT, September 30, 2009 09:16:13

Both UMNO and PAS are merely two sides of the same coin. They both want to keep the general population, Malays especially, poor and uneducated. That way, half the Malays run under UMNO's sarong to have their "rights" protected and be made "Tuans", while the other half runs under PAS' jubah for a ticket to heaven in exchange for a hard life here.

The giant pink elephant in the room is this: The Malays have failed miserably in governing a sovereign nation after more than 50 years of independence. They are in fact driving the nation into the ground. Its so bad that even educated Malays themselves are fleeing the country. The solution is to have the Malays removed from administrative and governing responsibilities and have the nation governed by a foreign entity.

And the irony of it all, it won't be too difficult for any foreign entity to organize this...all they'd have to do is to pay a bunch of corrupt government officials, or blackmail them for heir moral waywardness (cue CCTV videos of Altantuya's birthday party) smilies/grin.gif
written by pwcheng, September 30, 2009 09:25:33
"For RM200 I was placed in a ‘special’ lockup where a detainee awaiting trial for murder took me under his wing so that the others could not get at me. He even threw in a cigarette as part of the ‘package’".
So you are also part and parcel of their system. Well I think under such circumstances, many would have fall victim to their best selling novel of " THE ART OF CORRUPTION". That is why we must nominate them for being The best marketing agent for Corruption. They really know how to do it!!!
written by peter, September 30, 2009 10:20:22
Yes, the Rakyat is very poor. Most have barely enough and I pity some who have to count the ringgit and sen every month after paying so much for their loans.

Banks belonging to umNO's cronies are making money out of thin air.

Is there hope? I'm a pessimist.
written by ROBERTNGTG, September 30, 2009 10:23:39

PAS, TAKE HEED THESE WISE WORDS FROM RPK. THIS IS THE BIGGER PICTURE TO LOOK
AND TAKE ACTION. GET RID OF THOSE IDIOTS WITH MYOPIC VISION AND SELFISH, NARROW-MINDED INTERESTS. ONLY THEN, CAN U WIN WITH PR.
written by nincumpoop, September 30, 2009 10:49:42
Very true...Pete...Corruption is ramphant...It's like a culture here..
Like to share with you this from a friend. The Management Company in UMNO HQ...eg. a driver can afford a Toyota Wish and an Accord....?? A Sr Manager, got a big house, a new merc, a BMW and Alphard!!!
Say what you like...They just follow their bosses....UMNO....u UM i NO...
written by temenggong, September 30, 2009 12:15:50
The giant pink elephant in the room is this: The Malays have failed miserably in governing a sovereign nation after more than 50 years of independence. They are in fact driving the nation into the ground.

Yes, that's the elephant in the room that no one wants to talk about. The (umno)malays have lost the moral right to rule as is evident from 50 years of their disasterous megaflop. They may have been poor before, but today they are poorly AND corrupt, which is a nice way of saying they are thieves and pirates. They simply don't have what it takes to administrate and adjudicate without race and religion impinging on it. It is as if we have handed over the country to a bunch of crazed and voracious monkeys in 1957, and nobody wants to admit it is so! See, even I have to place a prefix before the word malay, as above. That's the elephant. There is a ingrained problem in the community.
written by cruzeiro, September 30, 2009 12:33:47
written by ibnuwalid, September 29, 2009 22:58:10
Siapa kata PAS tak berjuang menentang korupsi? Bukankah Hj Hadi dan Mat Sabu yang mengetuai Demo BERSIH tempoh hari?.
========================================

Betul tu brader .... tapi alang2 menyeluk pekasam, biar sampai ke pangkal lengan.
Jangan lah tiba2 bila ada isu rasuah, ia diptar-belitkan jadi isu "membela Melayu yg berasuah" pulak. Lepas tu, takde pulak tindakan diambil keatas org yg cuba sabotaj proses membenteras rasuah - malah, ia diberi sokong pulak tu ....
Kalau tka silap saya, itu "munafiq" namanya ....
Itu aje
written by Areyaar, September 30, 2009 15:44:54
"PAS does not understand that corruption and poverty is the real enemy."

Uh uh. It is impossible that they do not know this, but in my honest opinion, they chose to be selective over what issues they will rant and rave over and which issues they will thunderously ignore.

One thing they have been consistent over is this selective nature they constantly exhibit. Women have always been their favourite target, and ranting and raving over what they so narrow-mindedly believe women should wear, what women should do, what women should not do, what women must do, appeals to their chauvinistic natures far more than raising their self-righteous natures against corruption and poverty.

They do this also because they know that women, atleast Malaysian women that is, can only fight back through the protests made by womens organisations, and then they can go after them the way they went after Sisters in Islam.

It is easier for them to scream about what female singers wear. Somehow they think they actually come out looking as big heroes for fighting to "save the Malaysian culture and the religion" much like that idiotic man who has ants up his pants on this subject and who loves to make all kinds of stooopid statements.

And they think they have scored a huge victory for the people when they successfully stop some silly dangdut singer from gyrating for Malaysians. Just imagine how they go around patting each other on the back for this "massive" victory!

Applauding and "defending" the whipping sentence on one Kartika is far more important to them than fighting to eradicate corruption and hence poverty. Setting up spy squads to catch couples for khalwat is perhaps more rewarding than going after corrupt officials.

Oh the list can go on. But you get the gist. The stink just gets bigger and stinkier.
written by eeyaw, September 30, 2009 15:48:27
Pete you are spot on about PAS sense of priority where corruption is way ahead of other sins which ills the nation. Having said that Umno's business plan is to milk the Rakyat whatever means & opportunity. The sooner we get rid of this source of corruption the better is Malaysia. The way they are trying to block your website means that the truth hurts. Keep at it till the bastards cry mama.
written by lynn, September 30, 2009 16:06:49
"""But PAS does not declare war on corruption. PAS declares war on beer and sexy women. PAS does not understand that corruption and poverty is the real enemy. Poverty enslaves us. Corruption makes us even poorer."""

Beer with 11% alcohol may tiltilate the senses (i think drinking excessively causes impotency, take note guys); sex is heavenly arousal in the groin; covering up makes the undressing exciting. These are issues of excitement. Is that why some PAS ppl don't come out openly and condemn corruption? With corruption money, you can fly out to London & get pissed drunk, have all the sex with women your body can deliver ... it's all about control and power. Women are easy targets for bullying. This is what is wrong with this country, religion dictates. Not integrity, good principles, good ethics, that prick in the conscience. No conscience at all. At the rate Malaysia is going with corruption, those men who took all our billions, they felt no shame, no remorse, no compassion for the poor, no humility, and they had the fcuking cheek to put RPK in kamunting.

RPK, we will never see the end of corruption here - it's too deep-set & there are no consequences to face for the culprits. If the govt wants to raise our living standards, it must un-do all the bad governance we have endured over decades. If you think deeply, I find all govt's policies are suspect.

You would think that getting subsidised cooking oil, rice, flour, sugar, etc. is "very kind of the govt.". The intention is to keep the masses well-fed cheaply while they loot the big numbers. And besides most people are inherently simple-minded, easily satisfied, easily deceived - throw in religion and they get all worked up and forget the big picture. Stir up some religious issues & people's attention are diverted. Tested and proven, works beautifully, because most people are genuinely too stupid to understand how corruption works.
written by Panca Indera, September 30, 2009 17:49:14
Thanks for the reminder and eye-opener.
We need a intellectual dictator like Fidel Castro to get rid of all the corrupter of this land. The best way is to line-up against the wall and shoot them-up.
But if we do that, less than 20% of Malaysians will remain and if we get rid of the idiots on MT only RTK will be left standing! smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by lynn, September 30, 2009 19:23:39
Sure, panca indera, i guess you will definitely be in the 80%.

So how do you want your bullet delivered to you? Have you blindfolded or let you see your entire lifetime fleeting passed in micro seconds?
written by lynn, September 30, 2009 19:34:08
Dear Admin,
In the office, we get the English & Chinese prostituted media so we glance thru them. I flipped thru' to see what shit the whores are dishing out to the zombies in Bodohland. A few of us read the shit not because it has credibility but some of the bullshit you get to read is astounding. Sometimes you hv to be creative & read betw the lines.

2day, reported on pg 2 of star, ""Govt to cut back on spending. This won't affect performance, says PM". ho ho ho ho. what dismal performance is he talking abt? Well, from what I know, my PAS buddies kept telling me, "govt got no money-lah".

"Sharing 1Malaysia at UN" - anifah describes how a multiracial country draws strength."
I suspect their writers are ingenious & probably hv Jewish ancestry, somewhere. Brilliant.

"Mahathir: switch strategy to achieve vision 2020." Pls, someone, pray tell, what the fcuk is this Vision 2020? An insight into the future how a pariah country looks like 11 years from now? Come on, we are a pariah, third-world country - a lot of hollow words. I admire that mamak's thick hide. I wish a panel of us can invite Dr M to talk abt vision 2020 so we can have a free-for-all.
written by DezMalaysia, September 30, 2009 23:52:05
You can say, hypocrites walk everywhere...

Not all in PAS will want to eradicate corruptions completely and I dare to say there's also many in PKR who want it to continue this way too. Plus, there's also side effects they've got from UMNO's propaganda of "hak istimewa orang-orang melayu" and most Malay brains got twisted. The disease had spread to all of civil servants. Kickbacks & bribe penalties are 10 - 20 times higher than their monthly salaries expect which scums or "sampah masyarakat" to quit their rakyat-serving jobs ?

Most govt. hospitals in Malaysia are getting worse, and worst till we've got no fire-burn special intensive care unit. If you're rich, you might have the % to survive if you transfer to Singapore Private Hospitals. Ordinary people can get the coffin ready. Death doesn't care if you're Malay, Chinese or Indian. We all will get it someday if we're unlucky.

As for the police, I'd said it before, it's all their dirty welfare businesses that are important. If you've got robbed, raped or even killed, they'll open a file, do a simple investigation and then leave it aside. If your family & kins publicize your case to the whole Malaysia or earth, they get very serious like they are very 'rajin', dedicated to serve ! IF you're powerful & rich, the whole entire army of police will get it done in 7 days & a speedy charge !

Three years ago, I even witnessed my friend bribed the whole Balai in Larkin Johor, RM 1000 to get 1 pack of mee goreng, 1 pack of teh ais & a pack of cigarettes to a friend who was detained for illegal 4D collection.
What a great business.

The most famous & biggest F u c k -mart, pirated DVD stores & phone shops selling stolen goods. in Jalan Wong Ah Fook, Johor Bahru is just 100m around the corner. They know it... but they allow it because those gangsters paid tonnes of bribes every month to the Central & IPK Johor.

They are too fat to be real police. F*** em all... society scums.

Now, where's PAS ? Johor PAS balless to fight those corruptions & illegal activities in JB ?
written by cantab, October 01, 2009 08:40:48

Thanks for the article. Yes, corruption is so rampant in Malaysia. Yesterday, I asked my students the most duit raya that they got in any one time. One boy said that his uncle gave him RM200. When asked about his uncle's occupation, he proudly said "police". He furthered elaborated that his uncle "seems to be very rich" by working as a policeman. I am hoping against hope that the money is not from the "wang kopi".

Take care!
written by Oxy, October 02, 2009 00:58:46
Honestly, RPK, your expectations from PAS are too high.
Asking them to run before they can walk.
With examples like Hasan, you can be sure there are some powerful
PAS bigwigs to back him up. But we are not asking them to shut up.
If they care enough, their voice is needed still to champion the
cause of freedom and justice and commit jihad not only on themselves
but against these forces that lead to the complete destruction of youth;
namely suger, nicotine, abortion and dadah. Alcohol to Muslims is a non-isssue,
and they should approach MIC to tackle its menace.