Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Government mulls Benz, BMWs as Proton delays new Perdana

Government mulls Benz, BMWs as Proton delays new Perdana PDF Print
Monday, 28 September 2009 10:23

(The Malaysian Insider) KUALA LUMPUR, Sept 28 — Despite the moribund economy, the government is mulling the use of imported luxury cars for the Najib administration and top civil servants to replace its leased fleet of ageing Proton Perdana V6 Executive vehicles which are no longer in production.

The cars — Mercedes Benz S class, BMW 5 series, Toyota Camry and Honda Accord — are likely to be leased for four years from Spanco Sdn Bhd, which has a 25-year concession with the government ending 2018 that is now worth RM80 million a year.

The Mercedes Benz S class.

The Malaysian Insider has learnt that the judiciary has decided on using the Mercedes Benz and that perk could extend to ministers.

"The Mercedes Benz cars are already being assembled now in Pekan in anticipation of the lease," a government source told The Malaysian Insider, referring to the assembly plant in the prime minister's constituency.

The new cars could raise heckles as Barisan Nasional (BN) lawmakers had objected to Pakatan Rakyat (PR) administrations in both Perak and Selangor for opting to use Toyota Camrys over the Perdanas, accusing them of being unpatriotic and disloyal to the national carmaker.

The BN government that ousted PR in Perak later put the Camrys on the auction block early this year.

Read more at: Government mulls Benz, BMWs as Proton delays new Perdana

written by wongnoball, September 28, 2009 11:11:16
Really??...Murderers and Robbers of UMNO-BN then need to send the Used Perdana to Zambry of Berak & all those Exco Hell bent on getting rid of the Toyota! If I 2/3 majority power I will pass a legislation and make sure all UMNO members and ex-members & their children can only buy and use Proton and Kancil....if you attempt to use other cars I CHOP your Hands!!

It proves the Munafik muslim of UMNO racist knows what is Really good and what is really bad and how to play Natinalist/1 Malaysia Crap and when to use the media to sing their Crap. Why wait Malaysian, Just go and Burn down the Main Stream Media both Print and especially RTM...

Justice delayed is justice Denied...Do it ...Do Something to DISRUPT Regim Ganas Bunuh UMNO!! I hate to sopund like a broken record but we need to set the mind set right. No change will be handed ove to you on a golden platter!! UMNO will NEVER, I repeat NEVER concede Power PEACEFULLY!! That is an Illusion!!..and if Perak Fiasco, teoh, kugan....blah..blah....nothing will wake you up!!
written by Richfyf, September 28, 2009 11:15:25
WHY BUY FROM SPANCO???? WHO OWES SPANCO? ITS JUST PLAIN NONSENSE! EVERYTHING SINGLE RINGGIT THAT THE GOVERNMENTS SPEND HAVE TO GO THROUGH UMNO CRONIES.

UMNO IS ROBBING THE RAKYAT IN BROAD DAYLIGHT.

written by Democrats, September 28, 2009 14:28:13
Another "foot in mouth" disease spreading..........
written by Come clean, September 28, 2009 14:32:05
It just shows how apathetic these BN politicians are, always practising double standard. It looks like Zambry and his gang will have to get a new fleet of cars again.
written by tehewe, September 28, 2009 15:37:38
This goes to show how much faith the Government has in Proton!!!
written by Ghifarix, September 28, 2009 16:02:25
These thieves not even pretending to be patriotic any more - it just about heaven on earth at RAKYAT expense. They want everything in a hurry as though they are leaving -that I do hope insha Allah!
Other nations like Iran Turkey South Africa Venezuela India China are holding on to their national indigenous projects while the UMNO/BN Gomen show little faith.
I hope they get buried in their vain pompous luxury, vulgar bastards.
written by sydput, September 28, 2009 16:16:47
Spanco is the only govenrment contractor who voluntarily reduce their rates. No other IPP's, highway cncessionaires did this.
Their staffs used to earn 8 months bonus yearly before rates reduction and their bumi director had a one month vacation in sydney for the olympics.

If the car import duties/tariffs are reduced, an S-Class only costs from about RM200k and a C-class from RM100k. So it does not cost the govenrment that much to buy these cars, but it cost the rakyat much more as we are treated like piggy banks by the blood suckers
written by Kathy, September 28, 2009 20:01:37
Why go for Benz or BMW, go for the creme de la creme - Rolls Royce. After all the CM of Sarawak has a Rolls although when he rides in it you can't see him because he is such a dwarf. smilies/grin.gif
written by budakindia, September 28, 2009 21:41:40
Who was saying that buying anything besides Proton for offical government use is unpatriotic please stand up! Now licking back what you vomitted out! Yucks! smilies/grin.gif
written by Mirage, September 28, 2009 22:18:25
BN is a hypocrite Goverment. Before this everyone knows it but no one could do anything. If we allow them to go back to their merry ways of squandering, and dictating, the non Malays esp the Chinese will be punish becoz of the by-elections that did not go their way.
written by kc kua, September 28, 2009 22:46:29
Satu Lagi Project Barisan National smilies/cheesy.gif
written by carlitos, September 29, 2009 01:25:10
Comparison - Proton Persona (overseas) vs Local version

They are cheating local malaysian by selling it a lot cheaper overseas.

To be fair with comparison let us choose Proton persona with the same price after conversion. See how much better the one they sold overseas compared to locally.

Basically Proton is forcing the crap version to Malaysian at a price that is much more than it is worth.

Feel proud of your "National car" yet? It's nothing national about it... it is a scam by the owners (BN politicians) to take your money away.

Price - AUD 16,000 vs RM44,000 (comparable)

specification that is missing in Malaysian model
- bucket seats with height adjustment
- ABS - ( Local version - option with more $$)
- EBD - (Local version - option with more $$)
- Electronic Door mirror (Local version - option with more $$)
- 15" Allow wheel (Local version - 15" steel wheel)
- CD player with MP3 support (Local version - no mp3 support)
- passenger and driver air bag (Local version - option with more $$)
- Four disk brake ( Local version - 2 disk, 2 drum)
- Halogen bulb headlights ( Local version - candles?)
- Audio switches on steering (Local version - option with more $$)
- remote trunk opening (Local version - option with more $$)
- immobilizer (Local version - alarm)
- Four speakers front and rear (Local version - back only)
- Front fog lamp ( local version - option with more $$)

So many missing features in the local version, we all must sacrifice so that the drivers in Australia, UK can enjoy better cars yes?

I bet you if you strip the paint in the local version, you probably can see the milo logo
written by goman2k3, September 29, 2009 03:05:49
Melayu mudah lupa, said Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad
written by alpha1, September 29, 2009 10:51:25
When SELECTED murderer/s can roam freely and rule, corrupted buggers can still show off their ill gotten $$$$, tell me what else those UNMO goons can't do?? We, MALAYSIANS, know whom to vote in the next elections!! Time to wake up people! smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif
written by Steven Tan, September 29, 2009 15:18:41
Friends,

Want to know our national car price in Saudi Arabia?

1)Proton Gen2 in Saudi = RM 30,612

2)Persona in Saudi = RM 32,786

3)Waja in Saudi = RM 34,576

It's included the shipping cost from Malaysia to Saudi smilies/tongue.gif