Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow Our country a disgrace?

Our country a disgrace? PDF Print
Monday, 28 September 2009 09:48

By As Zewt As It Gets

Have you ever asked yourself one question, i.e. do you really expect things in Malaysia to be done properly? I mean, you seriously expect the Malaysian-way-of-doing-things to be of good standard?

Upon my return from HK last week, something screwed up during baggage-claim. I will not go into details but it created a lot of frustration. Amidst the ruckus, an elderly man blurted --- “This so silly, such a disgrace!”. With so many gwai-los (“Caucasians”) around, he was probably feeling a bit embarrassed.

Indeed, the usual ramblings by Malaysians...

“Our toilets are horrible. What a disgrace!”
“People send astronaut to do research in space, our astronaut went all the way up there to make roti canai. What a disgrace!”
“Actually right, NASA only considers him as
a space-tourist. What a disgrace!”
“Look at our highway resting place - dirty and run-down. What a disgrace!”
“Malaysia has been blacklisted by OECD together with Costa Rica, Uruguay and Philippines. What a disgrace!”
“Oh, Malaysia has been removed.
But only to the grey list, what a disgrace!”
“Our country, always in international news for the wrong reason(s). What a disgrace!”
“After 20 years, Proton still can’t get things right. What a disgrace!”
“Worse,
Proton Waja heavily criticised in Top Gear. What a disgrace!”
“Simple thing like post-flight-baggage-claim can’t be done properly. What a disgrace!”

Care to contribute some?

But wait a minute. Before you think of any other real life examples, have you ever asked yourself one question, i.e. do you really expect things in Malaysia to be done properly? I mean, you seriously expect the Malaysian-way-of-doing-things to be of good standard?

Let’s say your answer is a big YES. Then, may I ask… On what basis are you having such expectations? Who and what are you benchmarking those standards against? Singapore? Australia? Europe? Hong Kong?

Let’s do some self reflection… we are a country who moved backward from RON97 to RON95… we are a nation who uses the lowest grade of diesel… we are a nation whose national pride is food, and our country tourism’s job is to
lay claim on some food... we are a country whose income-per-capita is nowhere near a developed nation… and we are a population who majority does not know what income-per-capita is.

We are a country whose reason in appointing a foreign minister was because he-speaks-English. And, we once had a chief minister whose reason (given in court) for bringing huge amount of cash into Australia was I-no-spegging-enlish, thus unable to read the law… and we are a population where a majority does not know who or what I am referring to because we are a population who prefer to read where is the best place to eat rather than proper news.

Add all that to many other boleh-ness of this country, do you seriously think we should expect things to be better than they way they are now? Let’s not kid ourselves. We should not benchmark our country with a developed nation. In fact, judging by recent events, being considered as a developing nation is questionable.

Read more at: http://zewt.blogspot.com/2009/09/our-country-disgrace.html

written by budakindia, September 28, 2009 09:56:09
To be born in Malaysia is like being cursed for life! Damn! smilies/grin.gif
written by SBennit, September 28, 2009 09:56:37
Why did Rosmah get the army guys to do the killings, and not the police?? strange, isnt it. Wouldnt it be easier to get Musa Hassan to organise the murder, he could easily have gotten Tengku to carry out the works and not get the government involved.
written by onnetline, September 28, 2009 09:59:11
The fcukking Barisan Najis racist and corrupted leaders are the true disgrace to our society and country.

.......... let's be clear about this ! ! !
written by Jan, September 28, 2009 10:31:35
Talking about that space tourist I still feel embarassed thinking about it. There's nothing to be proud about because anyone with money can hitch a ride on the Russian space program. Worse thing is I heard our govt is going to send a second tourist up there. I hope it's not to make thosei.
written by Bigjoe99, September 28, 2009 10:40:30
No one expect 'the Malaysian way' to result in best in the world. But messing up is NOT inherently Malaysian. We do not have to have a empty port-industrial zone after spending RM12 billion. We do not have to have a failed steel company after spending billions. We did not have to have even a national car company that cost us billions just because we want jobs in the auto sector. Even if we wanted a space tourist and space-related industry, it did not have to cost us many more hundreds of millions in commission for buying jets or submarines. These are not inherently the Malaysia way or Malay way - its a corruption of the Malaysian way...

Why we criticise and do something about it is because its our duty, our conscience to fight back to return to the Malaysian way which can be noble although its defense is not a strengh. We must find within ourselves that we do not give up or we are not only colonised in our minds and hearts but slaved to it and slavery is not a worthy existence. We might as well give up and be conquered.. Cynical and not participate is easy. The hard thing is to do is to participate and invest personally knowing you can easily lose and still do it because you believe its worth it...
written by liayeo, September 28, 2009 10:40:58
To as zewt as it gets, I am not supporting BN or their antics but as a person if you want to look at everything in such a negative manner, then it will be negative no matter what. So be cheerful and try to look at things positively.

Well let's not let ourselves down. We can make a difference. Vote PR.
written by Msian Idol3, September 28, 2009 10:59:34
Guys, while working in western nations(english speaking ones)it is so bad & common for foreigners to even know Malaysia exist. They seem to know more about Malaya than Malaysia. To add salt, to tell foreigners where Malaysia is you have to mention SINGAPORE. Biggest joke is our high class astronaut coffee boy -- trying to make a mamak out of him serving teh tarik & roti in space. Whose fcuk up idea?? When he came back, grant him datukship!!!! Singapore made a name that is associated with quality,no nonsense & great place to do business. Malaysia is like a no name product in the supermarket. This we have to make the ruling party accountable. Perhaps the best way to make Msia well known is to make it known we are a great nation where we excel in Saiful cases frame-ups.
written by onnetline, September 28, 2009 11:01:49
written by Jan, September 28, 2009 10:31:35
Talking about that space tourist I still feel embarassed thinking about it. There's nothing to be proud about because anyone with money can hitch a ride on the Russian space program. Worse thing is I heard our govt is going to send a second tourist up there. I hope it's not to make thosei.

Jan,
This is simply a case of our not so intelligent leaders of this country feels that we have enough tax payers monies and reserves to ' tayang ' UMNOs ' ketuanan ' superiority to those big boys ........ United States, Russia or China.

Next, we will be buying the 2nd hand spaceships for our ' space tourism ' program.

Hanya 1Malaysia ' morons ' boleh !
written by Democrats, September 28, 2009 11:03:10
The biggest disgrace is our ruiling politicians from top to bottom for their illogical and stupid statements.

The second biggest disgrace is our MALAYSIAN BOOK OF RECORDs, which is filled by laugable achievement and ideas to create records who nobody really cares.... Longest Lemang line, tallest teh tarik, biggest mooncake, biggest "Yee Sang" line, etc....
written by CSum, September 28, 2009 11:44:25
Malaysia is the champion of Wannabes. WHAT A DISGRACE !
written by Jan, September 28, 2009 14:07:27
Malaysia is the champion of Wannabes...
---------
Actually there's nothing wrong being a wannabe. Every successful man started off as a wannabe. But don't go claim somebody's success as your own success is the rule. For eg don't go hitch a ride on somebody's rocket and claim it as your own space program.
written by Tok Din, September 28, 2009 14:26:16
We suffer from low self image.

As a nation, we need psychiatric help, BIG time. I sugges that the first step to take is for everyone to embark on a rigorous toilet training. How to squat, to wipe and to flush, where to throw tissue paper, how to clean toilet bowl.

next, a couse in basic hygiene will enhance our upbringing and achieve a level of an acceptable public social behavior.

All these take time, but worth the investment in order to achieve the 2020 vision.
written by oneofthesedays, September 28, 2009 14:29:49
Don't worry gang.

When PR takes over the ferociousness that they will go after the traitors to our country will make them all pee in their pants and hastily emigrate (as if that will save them from justice).

We will redeem our maruah negara. Believe in PKR.
written by panca, September 28, 2009 17:32:32
UMNO/BN rules Malaysia!....Many of you guys put them there...so is not the act of putting them there VERY disgraceFOOL ones??? So disgustingly shouted "Malaysia Boleh" Boleh Apa? Putar belik and selong - Twisted and warped logic!

Malaysia Boleh only when these crooks are sent marching out of the government!
written by miwaki, September 28, 2009 18:14:48
Is that packet of "nasi lemak" being served in MAS ? I used to get "buah hulu" for breakfast during my flight to S'pore in the year 2000 !
written by SamSan, September 29, 2009 03:44:32
We should not blame the true and original malays for the shit hole and malaise that this bountiful country has got into. We should put the blame squarely on the Malabar Kakak Mamak Sikandar Kutty for the despicable and deplorable state we are in. Unless more right thinking and true malays in the mold and like of Ku Li start speaking up and do something concrete to right the wrongs, Malaysia is doomed. We cannot allow Malabar Kakak mamaks and sikandar kutty cucu cicits, indonesian riff raff immigrants children claiming to be anak malaysia in the like of Khir Toyol and perhaps all the Albarians out there to run riot any more. We should weed out these leeches and scumbags. Only noble PAS under our illustrious Tok Guru who follows the path of our holy nabi Muhammad (p.b.u.h) can lead us in this restoration movement.
written by antares, September 29, 2009 14:50:52
Malaysian-way-of-doing-things to be of good standard? The quantum of the umeno BeNd standard are:
aka "one for the rakyat three for me"!
aka "menghabiskan harta rakyat"!
aka " udang di sebalik batu"!
aka "slut, slut, slut - kepala ketam nak ajar semua ketam jalan betul"!
aka "umenoed brain - serba boleh at the expense of the rakyat"
aka " lagi-lagi tak habis-habis fire-fighting its all coverup corrupt governance"!
aka " CAKAP TAK SERUPA BIKIN"!
CARE TO ADD???? smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif