Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow Submarines, we finally got our submarine

Submarines, we finally got our submarine PDF Print
Monday, 28 September 2009 09:40

Our shorelines are big and our sea area is huge, extending all the way up to Spratly Island, right? So how can our naval force cover that much area?

I am a bit of a military buff so this one deals a bit with my interest. Not too many Malaysians are thrilled or bothered when our first submarine reached our shore. She will be joined by another so we will have a pair.

From Nacho photos ... not mine, I did not have the means and time to visit the occassion.

The first submarines emerged way back in the 1860’s in the American civil war. Perhaps the most famous one was the Hunley which story was made into a TV movie and was aired over Astro recently. These early apparatus were used to attack military targets such as warship.

http://www.americancivilwar.com/tcwn/civil_war/naval_submarine.html

However, the really wide scale use of submarines came in World War II where Germany used its U-Boats to attack merchant ships bring in war and non-war supplies into the United Kingdom so that the nation can be starved and deprived into submission.

It became a strategic weapon whereby instead of directly attacking British warship in a conventional kill or be killed confrontation.

U Boats were used as "Wolf-Packs"approach where 3 to 20 submarines seek to envelop a group of merchant ships and try to sink as many ships and materials as possible.

http://www.uboat.net/ops/wolfpacks/overview.htm

The number of Allied ships lost was horrendous. More than 3,000 ships were lost in the Battle of Atlantic. Each ships carried tens of sailor so the casualties were very very high. The plight of the brave sailors injured with severe burns and broken limps floating in the icy cold and violent Atlantic Ocean was too horrible for me to imagine.

http://www.uboat.net/allies/merchants/losses_year.html

Later American submarines did the same to Japan in the closing stages of World War II and effectively put the entire Japanese population into a state of desperation and famine as supplies of raw materials and essential goods from sea was prevented successfully from entering into Japanese harbours. Some American commanders believed that the situation was so bad that even without the atomic bomb, Japan might surrender after another 6 months of blockade.

Nowadays, the greatest submarines in the world are nuclear submarines carrying nuclear Inter Continental Ballistic Missiles. These vessels are capable of submerging under the sea for months and able to launch nuclear missiles across thousand of miles. It is now a strategic deterrent weapon where if your nuclear opponent has wiped out your armies and air force, you still have your submarines hidden somewhere undetected to retaliate. A means to holocast.

So what did we Malaysians paid millions to acquire and maintain the 2 submarines for?

Malaysia comprise of a peninsular plus the northern shoreline of the formidable Borneo sub-continent so it has a vast area to cover. The most recent and significant threat comes from pirates with small, swift, powerful speedboats and we all remember the high profile Sipadan Island hostage taking case. It must have been a horrible experience for the victims and we must not allow this kind of thing to happen again.

But submarines are not designed to chase pirates in little boats. It s primary weapon is torpedoes which is meant to hit bigger, slower cargoes or warships. Its vision from periscope or its cone tower is very limited compared to helicopters which afforded greater vision to its personnel so submarines are not designed and built to locate and hunt down pirates.

Let’s see how our democratically elected leader explains it

Read more at: http://wangsamajuformalaysia.blogspot.com/2009/09/submarines-we-finally-got-our-submarine.html

written by Ulan Benson, September 28, 2009 10:00:43
The word 'submarine' always gave me a sad feeling. A young and innocent mother being C4 for 'our 1st submarine'. We cannot ignore this reality, now and the future.
written by eeyaw, September 28, 2009 10:02:42
The Defense Minister bought the submarines because there's money to be made thanks to the largess of Malaysian Taxpayers. There's also money to be made from the constant breakdowns which I foresee in the future, nevermind the ghost of Altantuya who will take her revenge on C4 & Dotty by tormenting the submarines. Interesting times!
written by budakindia, September 28, 2009 10:03:52
I hope they don't sink it down. Wahahaha! smilies/grin.gif
written by mvivek, September 28, 2009 10:07:04
There will be noone C4'd in future. Probably, torpedoed from now on. Careful, while out at sea!!!!
written by Mr Bean, September 28, 2009 10:11:59
What is next?

We need Aircraft Carriers to patrol South China Sea and Spratly too!

We will the First in Asean, yahooooooo. Malaysia Boleh, and we all can Look Good and ada gayaaa

My company, Money No Problem Sdn Bhd can be the middleman at 99% discount on Komisi, what say you Mr PM

written by Democrats, September 28, 2009 10:31:24
The idea or use of the submarine is irrelevant.

In Malaysia, the submarine was purposed first, so someone can make 500million in commission. The use of it, is later created to justify its purchase. In malaysia we have 1001 projects carried out with commission and profit paid first before we even found out what it is for. That is why we ended up with so many white elephants. Building and structures that serves no function, system and technology that is not practical or applicable to us. Because the need did not arise first, so we dont really care what we buy.
written by Jan, September 28, 2009 10:57:59
With our expensive submarines let's see whether the Indons dare to "ganyang Malaysia"
written by gwc, September 28, 2009 13:57:05
najib bought these two submarines, one is to sail into rosmah's pussy and the other one into her ******* to check for any saiful's sperm left behind hahahahaha..........
written by malgal, September 28, 2009 15:30:19
i have that sinking feeling that adding a submarine is not the real reason for our beefing up security.
good money has sunk to the bottom of the sea.
a fabulous commission has also been submerged somewhere.
written by sltemp, September 28, 2009 15:32:51
Submarines are only deadly against foes that have none or little anti-submarine weaponry and knowledge. The submarines that Malaysia bought are tactical and not strategic as they don't have any strategic weapons like ICBMs or medium-/long-range SSMs (Surface-to-Surface Missile).

Malaysia's Scorpene submarines are diesel-electric attack and ASW (anti-submarine warfare) submarines that carry torpedoes as their primary weapon and French-made Exocet short-range SSMs (not sure if Malaysia's submarines will be armed with Exocets).

The navies of ASEAN neighbours hardly posed any threat to Malaysia. Thailand's Navy (RTN) is supposedly the strongest by virtue of having an aging small aircraft carrier. However, any conventional warship using SSMs could easily sink the carrier as anti-missile weaponry and escort warships for its protection are insufficient.

Singapore's Navy (RSN) has the most modern warships. While RSN has modern submarines, their use is more in concert with American naval forces rather than on their own. Most of RSN comprise of small and fast boats including a new type of unmanned boat (designed and built by Singapore and available for sale to foreign navies) to ward off suicide attacks.

Thus, there is absolutely no need for the RMN to defend against any regional navies. So what navies are the RMN defending against?

Other than regional navies, there are only "blue ocean" navies that can reach Malaysian shores such as the American, British, Russian, Chinese and Indian navies. Other European navies and the Australian Navy, while able to travel far, mostly confine themselves closer to their own shores.

The "blue ocean" navies and even Singaporean Navy (having trained with Americans) are proficient in anti-submarine warfare. RMN submariners are beginners in submarine warfare and don't have the training and operational experience to penetrate the usual three anti-submarine protection ring of helicopters, submarines and warships.

The loss of a destroyer by the Royal Navy to an Exocet missile in the Falklands War demonstrated the vulnerability of warships against SSMs. Since then, many anti-missile defenses have been upgraded. The American Navy now has CIWS (Close-In Weapon System or better known as R2D2) that is able to shoot down missiles as they approach the ship. The CIWS and similar weapon systems are commonly found on ships of "blue ocean" navies.

Before CIWS gets into action, the Aegis missile defense system launches multiple SM2 and/or SM3 (Standard Missile 2/3) anti-missile missiles. Guided by a radar platform onboard an Aegis-class escort cruiser, the system is able to shoot down multiple missiles before the CIWS takes over to shoot down the remaining missiles.

Even if one or more missiles hit the targeted ships, the submarine that launched the SSMs would find it almost impossible to escape. The main advantage of a submarine is stealth and this is lost when the submarine launches torpedoes and/or SSMs. RMN will have only two submarines and the loss of even one submarine would cripple its naval defense strategy.

There don't seem to be any real strategic nor tactical purposes for the submarines. Other than the glamour of joining the submarine fraternity, what else are the submarines good for? Money is better spent purchasing small gun/missile attack boats and modern frigates with helicopters to patrol Malaysia's vast coastline.
written by C360, September 28, 2009 17:33:43
I am a military buff and have served my time as well.

Subs are a strategic element and the writer indicates so in his article. It introduces an element of uncertainty ie where is it. Fine. I wont detail logistics and operational dynamics, just in case the crazies scream RAHSIA.

As per media articles, "it is normal for countries to maintain certain levels of armaments" .. this basically means we have enough weapons and bullets for peacetime purposes.

So wat happens when war is waged upon us ? Well .. we order more weapons and bullets, and hope that by the time the "bullets" arrive, the weapon has not been sunk yet, supported by our regional 5-nation defense pact and whichever "big brother" we support as a nation.
written by oranghujan, September 28, 2009 17:35:57
They should had bought more attack helicopters such as the blackhawk or apache longbow rather than buying a fleet of submarine.
written by carlitos, September 29, 2009 01:37:07
All of us know this is just a big scam to get RM 500 million commission.

What is new, this is Malaysia the Land of the corrupted and mongolian woman killer.

Under BN Malaysia is a muslim country by name only. In practice it is everything opposite to the teaching of Islam.
written by NSTPravda, September 29, 2009 08:24:41
Our submarines are not designed and built to locate and hunt down pirates. Correct, correct, correct, but they are designed to fatten the wallets of the then Defence Minister, Nazib Rozak, who will personally C4 any one, mongolians included, who argued otherwise. In that sense our submarines have the stealth technologies of the ISA and ministerial kleptomaniacs. So semua-nya OK!
smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/tongue.gif
written by Jan, September 29, 2009 13:40:42
Next on the radar screen will be aircraft carriers. You cannot imagine how much commission it can attract. However they will tell you one is needed to catch up with Thailand and be on par with S'pore's modern defence capabilities. Moreover there's no telling the Indons might invade us now that they hate our guts so much.
Notice how we usually buy our arms through a 3rd party. Notice also how our purchases are usually more expensive than other nations. You don't need to be a missile expert to know why.
written by Sutha, September 30, 2009 00:13:29
But lost the poor Mongolian mother of two young children to the Money Greedy Fat Short Porky.

As far as I am concerned, the submarine is known as K D Altantuya and nothing else. May be the next submarine can be named K D Rosmansor after God decides to blast he with a C4.