Home arrow From Around The Blogs arrow Justice for Kugan petition to DYMM YDP Agong 26/09/09 - what I observed

Justice for Kugan petition to DYMM YDP Agong 26/09/09 - what I observed PDF Print
Sunday, 27 September 2009 17:11

By Malaysian Heart

What "untoward incident" was the Brickfields police chief expecting? Was he afraid that Kugan's mother was going to assault him with a deadly petition?

This is what I observed at the peaceful assembly in front of the Istana Negara on 26 September 2009, which was called by Hindraf and the Human Rights Party Malaysia to deliver a petition to the the DYMM Yang Di-Pertuan Agong. The petition, which you can download and read here, pleads to the YDP Agong for justice for Kugan and his family. Eight months after his death in police custody, the killer/s of A. Kugan, have yet to be arrested and brought to justice.

I tried to get to the Istana Negara at about 10.30 a.m., but there was a police roadblock where Jalan Dewan Bahasa joins Jalan Istana, and the police were not allowing any cars to get past. I made some calls and found out that the petitioners were meeting at Naga's Restaurant in Brickfields, which is where I headed to.

Members of Kugan's family were already there, including Madam Indra (his mother), sister, brothers and uncle. With them were a small group of Hindraf and MHRP folks; MP for Kapar YB S Manikavasagam, MP for Puchong YB Gobind Singh Deo, and ADUN for Kota Shah Alam YB M. Manoharan were also there. Soon, Human Rights Party Malaysia pro-tem secretary-general P. Uthayakumar and Hindraf coordinator Mr. Jayathas arrived, and the group organised themselves for the trip to the istana.

Some of Kugan's family members waiting for transport to the Istana

I hitched a ride in one of the cars carrying some of Kugan's relatives. We set of towards the Istana, but somehow got separated from the lead cars. We parked before the roadblock at Jln Dewan Bahasa, and began walking towards the Istana proper.

Members of the police manning the roadblock blocked our way and told us that we could not pass.

The police stop us from proceeding

We told them that we were going to deliver a petition to the Istana, and that Kugan's relatives were with us. The policeman asked us to wait while he radioed his superiors for permission. He took an inordinate amount of time doing this.

Asking for instructions, or delaying tactics?

After about ten minutes of waiting with no indication of any permission forthcoming, our group decided not to wait there any longer, but to get back into our cars and try another route. By 11.30 we were walking towards the group of petitioners in front of the Istana.

The petitioners outside the Istana, outnumbered by the police, reporters and cameramen. By what stretch of the imagination could they have been considered a threat to public security?

As I approached this group at 11.33 a.m., a policeman was already ordering the crowd to disperse. This is what I managed to record:
video

Thus the people's attempt to express their plea for justice to their King was foiled by the police. The people there made their way back, and as you can see in the video above, their frustration and disappointment was evident.

The petitioners leaving the Istana area

The leaders of the petitioners had a quick discussion, and decided to hold a press conference back at Naga's Restaurant.

These are the people who prevented the rakyat from presenting their petition to DYMM YDP Agong. They are supposed to protect and serve the rakyat, but whose interests are they protecting now? Whose orders were they following?

Kugan's mother and other family members waiting by the roadside of Jalan Istana, having been chased away from the Istana area itself. Don't they have a right to plead for justice from their King, when the Malaysian AG and police have denied them justice for eight months? Why must they be treated so?

We got back into our cars and headed back to Naga's, where the impromptu press conference was held. Here are some video clips from it (apologies for the poor audio quality):

Read more at: Justice for Kugan petition to DYMM YDP Agong 26/09/09 - what I observed

Comments (21)Add Comment
written by SCM, September 27, 2009 17:30:06
Najib,

Your PDRM is filled with thugs that protect your interests. This aborigine looking Brickfields police chief ACP Wan Abdul Bari Wan Abdul Khalid has openly threatened the rakyat on several occassions with his intimidating tone of voice. He should be sacked for treating the people who "pay his salary" so badly.

So much for your 1Malaysia rubbish.
written by Kathy, September 27, 2009 17:34:49
I think it is time the Malaysian people realise that our royalty and government don't do petitions. Look at what happened to a small group of Dayaks who wanted to hand in a petition to Taib recently - they were arrested by the Police! So, let us come to the conclusion that since we can't get our leaders to listen to us via petitions we have another way of doing it - use our votes to boot them out! That's one sure way of making them sit up and listen but by then it'll be too late for them, and we can say good riddance to bad rubbish!
written by sydput, September 27, 2009 17:39:58
The Agung is not interested in the plight of the rakyat.He is only interested on where next to go overseas for the holiday. Plus the yearly royal meetings to discuss their increase in allowances.
think about it people! They royalties were the ones who objected to the idea that children of muslim coverts should be left alone and decide on their religion at the age on 18.
When it comes to religion, they make their voices heard, even if it is unjust.
When it comes to citizens rights, they prefer to shut up.
written by Richfyf, September 27, 2009 17:47:46
Its not surprising and already expected. No point in having petition. Its better to use the time and effort to recruit as many new voters to be registered for PR.

That is the only way we can change the system and the government.

Do not try to do what the Thai, Phillipine or Indonesian did. They go to the street and managed to change their government because they got the support of the Military and Police of their country.

If malaysian were to try to change the government via the street; many innocent life will be lost and it giver the Current Govt to declare a state on emergency and delay the next GE forever!!!
written by peter, September 27, 2009 18:06:18
Thus the people's attempt to express their plea for justice to their King was foiled by the police.

No, the real King is one Musang heading the Polis Raja di Malaysia (PRDM)
written by mykantree, September 27, 2009 18:13:23
And we have MIC who is supposed to take care of the local Indian brother's and sister's interest.Where is MIC in this? We just hope our Indian brothers and sisters realise that BN will never have their interest in their mind, not to mention in their heart.I wonder when the majority of Malaysians will awake to the fact that their future is getting bleaker by the day, and every day that BN remain in power.In another country BN would have been ejected by more effective means.
written by flexus, September 27, 2009 18:40:30
forget MIC,and Ah-Gone now we have makkal sakthi ' people's power'..HAHAHAHAHAHA..
put out your grief to them and they will solve it....
written by Urangsabah, September 27, 2009 18:44:46
No proof to proceed with the Penan Rape Case....Kugan Mother petition an Untoward incidence.

Kugan death..non issue, Teoh Death aso non issue, $12.5 billion rakyat money disappear , non issue.

aso non issue

Anything UMNO...non issue to Musang UMNOed Polis
written by Bandit, September 27, 2009 19:28:38
Petition the King???You must be joking. That fellow doesnt care or have no bals to care. Who the fcuk was Kugan? Look at his terrorust family the bastard men in Blue were trying to protect the "fat" rakyat 's money eating Agung.Did he even bother to enquire? His Fcking seat is at the pleasure of UMNO. He is not letting it go.
written by Sudahlah tu, September 27, 2009 19:41:26
kini ..jelaslah ..
nasib rakyat hanya merupakan annka mainan golongan elit ..
kalau nasib sebegini ... hampir serupa dengan PATI
written by Fuminari, September 27, 2009 19:50:32
do u still believe that najis can dictate PDRm what to do n don't????PDRm is grabbing his balls with the altantuya c4 file LAH!!!!
written by penangboi, September 27, 2009 20:00:09
Hey, get this straight. No delusions.

The whole law enforcement and judiciary system in Boleh land is fcuked, to put it mildly.

Of course the pigs in PDRM will protect and look after their own kindreds. Of course BN/UMNO will protect PDRM as they need them as a potent weapon to suppress and oppress the rakyat, especially for the top goon Najis who has to rely heavily on PDRM to shield him from the Altantuya murder.

And even if the petition gets to the King, does anyone of you seriously think that he will give a damn about Kugan? What makes you think that our royalty is the pristine white sheet of justice and uphold the rights of the rakyat? Haven't anyone of you heard about how our gang of royalty behave and act?

They rely heavily on handouts and mega projects from UMNO/BN. Would anyone bite the hand that feeds him?

To those who suffer from short memory, remember Perak. Remember how the Pahang sultan used to stop drivers who dared to overtake him on the road and slap them.
Remember that Johore sultan who clubbed a caddie to death on the golf course? Remember the Kelantan prince who abducted that indonesian girl against her wish?

And for something almost everyone can relate to: have you ever been caught in massive traffice jams just because some royalty has to go to lunch in some posh 6-star hotel; while we have to move our cars aside to let him and his outriders pass?

And do you know how much of our tax money go to supporting the lavish lifestyles of our royalties?

And do you know how much money the royalty get in the form of government projects (Gamuda - Perak Royalty is one) and revenue generated in conferrment of 'datuks' and 'tan sris'?

Not only do we have to kick BN/UMNO out come GE13 but our ultimate objective to to have a Republic of Malaysia. No more sycophants in the form of royalties!!!

I remain forever a confirmed republican.
written by storm62, September 27, 2009 20:00:34
People first ??? performance now ???

who the phuck create this slogan ???
written by lynn, September 27, 2009 20:49:50
Hello, all thambys, tangkachi, chinnamah, anih,
Still want to support MIC ????
You will never see justice.
Drag a cow head around, step on it, you people still want to support MIC?
Hey, can you people please educate all Indians... a vote for MIC is a vote for umno?
Are you crazy? Are you stupid? Are you out of your minds?
Just vote Pakatan Rakyat!!! Make sure you people help PR win in Bagan Pinang.
Your votes for PR will be a vengeance against Kugan's death!!!
written by Sutha, September 27, 2009 22:18:42
Would any Pakatan Rakyat politician please take Madam Indra (mother of the Late Kugan) to Bagan Pinang for a session with the Indian Voters there and tell them her story how Kugan was killed, and the suffering her family undergoes till today.

She does not any longer have to present her petition to the King or any other executive authorities. Let the Bagan Pinang voters send the message to the government and the whole world must see this.

Not only the police had killed a young man (working for his uncle) who had gone to repossess a policeman's car for not servicing the hire purchase, they had beaten him up till he died, created false medical reports and no action taken against the murderers but are now preventing a simple petition to the King.

Isn't the King not going to order Madam Indra and family to have an audience with him over this police cover-up of the murder?

Doesn't the King want to potray that he is the fountain of justice?

Is the beloved King going to close one eye on matters affecting his sincere subjects?
written by joeawk, September 27, 2009 22:32:02
The Police killed Kugam and the MACC killed Beng Hock. These are the truth and don't hope to get justice from the government.

Malaysians must find justice at the every election. Next is in NS.
written by hellboykl, September 27, 2009 22:40:51
The Police are actually UMNo's peety dogs. They only act when the opposition wants to handover something. This does not happen with the Silat gang when the wanted to submit memorandum. This is 2 faced Police Force.
written by hellboykl, September 27, 2009 22:41:57
PDRM always screw up the people. Not the executives.
written by budakindia, September 28, 2009 00:36:00
I wonder why we stil pay taxes so that thugs from PDRM could beat up and kill us? Does that comes with the citizenship "privileges"? smilies/angry.gif
written by SamSan, September 28, 2009 00:48:00
If the Indian voters in Bagan Pinang don't show their solidarity in getting to the bottom of the truth behind one of Malaysia son's Kugan brutal death and torure (under some evil despotic police gangsters) by voting their utter discontent in perversion of justice against the Syaitan / Evil BN regime, then the Indians cannot blame anybody else for the pititul state. I hope Pakatan Rakyat and perhaps members of Kugan's family as well as Teoh Beng Hock's family will participate in Pakatan Rakyat's campaign to plea to the Bagan Pinang god loving and Islamic Law abiding citizens to come out in support of such heinous acts of cruelty on decent Malaysian citizens. Harapkan Pagar, Pagar makan padi. Che Det a/l Sikandar Kutty Boleh! Cucu Cicit Sikandar Kutty Boleh! Tamby Kecik,perogol wanita bawah umur boleh! Perompak / Pelanun Khir Toyol, Zakaria Mat Derus, Semi Value and anak ketagihnya Vel Paari dan lain lain little Napolean AMENO / BN Boleh! Semua Boleh! One Malaysia!
written by SamBall, September 28, 2009 02:42:08
Why is the sooltan hiding in his own palace? Ini sooltan apa ini? Petition pun tak mau terima; suruh orang gaji halau orang macam kambing

The sooltans are humNOOO's bitches; they have sold out the rakyat