Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow Sultan of the people?

Sultan of the people? PDF Print
Friday, 25 September 2009 16:27

By Dr. Rafick

1. I received a call last night from a retired Army General of the Royal Malay Regiment raising his concern after watching some shocking news coming from the Sultan of Pahang which was shown on TV. 

His phone call led me to browse through the online Mainstream Media (MSM) and the online alternative media. It was buzzed with the news of the Sultan of Pahang had called upon the people to continue to support the BN government while officiating the opening of a bridge in Pahang.

2. I was equally shocked to hear what was uttered by HRH Sultan. In my mind, HRH has overstepped his professional, Royal and legal boundaries. His act of crossing of these boundaries worries me as it might lead to bigger things in this country especially after the action of the Sultan of Perak and the King (Sultan of Terengganu) in handling the Perak and Terengganu constitutional crisis respectively.

3. The law is very clear on the role of a Sultan. His role includes the appointment of MB’s as well as the religious head in a state. He is to remain neutral for the sake of the Rakyat. They use to be completely immune from prosecution until Tun Mahathir changes the laws. He has to be non partisan and must take an effort to ensure that he remains neutral in all aspects of governance. When the HRH make such statement of supporting a particular political party, it creates ill feeling among the Rakyat.

4. It really worries me when the HRH makes such a remarks especially in the current moment, the support for the need of having a Royal Family is waning significantly among the urban/semi-urban, young and middle age Malays in this country. The statement by the Sultan of Pahang may create further dissension among the people. It bothers me that the Malays that have been tolerating the many royal family and their antics in this country may just lose their tolerance. By being biased, HRH has opened a canned of worms wider.

5. Personally, I felt HRH should not have made such a statement. He has brought himself down to the level of a commoner and their politics. If by the will of the Almighty, PR is able to capture Pahang in the next GE, how would the Sultan reacts? Does it mean that he will not appoint the leader chosen by the Rakyat to govern them? Will he make life so difficult for the government of the day to function which will lead to problems of magnanimous proportion?

Read more at: http://rights2write.wordpress.com/2009/09/25/sultan-of-the-people/

Comments (33)Add Comment
written by ibabonma, September 25, 2009 16:31:25
Was that the reason why Dr M kicked their backsides?
agree 117
written by Admiral Tojo, September 25, 2009 16:36:20
Living on welfare and on the wrong side of the Federal Constitution is so yesterday.
agree 129
written by harmanamri, September 25, 2009 16:58:17
Supposing I like to gamble, and previously somebody has been quietly paying off my gambling debts to various casinos; now shouldn't I be grateful? What if my friend gets kicked out by somebody who doesn't like gambling. Maybe he will send Price Waterhouse Cooper to do an audit and ask me to pay back everything I owe..So frightening la...I'm shivering and pissing in my pants oredi....
written by mykantree, September 25, 2009 17:07:05
The matter and relevance of the issue has been raised many times before and I agree with DR that their relevance to the country in this modern time are diminishing, by the day and by their controversies. Would it surprise anyone that it probably cost more to maintain all our royalties and Governors than the president of the US.When you consider the difference in the population and economy of Malaysia and the US, it's what!!!? This country need to progress, and in real terms.
written by goldeneye, September 25, 2009 17:07:47
Since this sultan wants to play politics he should stand for elections every 5 years to see if the people wants him around. If he loses, then off you go. Why should people pay to maintain a super-politician who doesn't stand for election?
written by Taikohtai, September 25, 2009 17:16:04
About time all Malaysians daulat the rakyat and consider 1REPUBLICMalaysia!!
agree 115
written by MSIABOLEH, September 25, 2009 17:27:57
PARASITES
written by SamBall, September 25, 2009 17:32:53
Throw-backs, out-of-touch, out-of-tune, out-of-place, has-beens, parasites; take your pick
written by shissun, September 25, 2009 17:40:49
Why I am not surprised by this Sultan's comment? Our own Casino is giving him millions of gambling taxes (directly and indirectly) every year when time is up for license renewal. If PAS taking the Pahang Gov, it will be very very hard for that casino operates in Pahang soil. The source of income (haram income) will diminished and this Sultan has to beg....
written by tompipi49, September 25, 2009 17:56:59
Its not supprising that the Sultan kow tow to BN. He knows which of his bread is buttered. Do not let this incident make us loose our sleep. Its normal and that he wants to be a commoner just like you and me. BN made them a commoner-no more a king.
written by coolandy, September 25, 2009 18:01:08
The Sultan of Perak opened the floodgates and tried to do camouflage it. The rakyat knows better though.

Since the genie is already out of the bottle, the Sultan of Pahang is just lending support. Soon the others are very likely to follow suit.

Soon, we will be asking who dragged the Sultans into politics?

TO me, UMNO is so desperate that they need the royal family to win BUY elections.
written by raven1958, September 25, 2009 18:06:07
This Sultan like the previous Negeri fellow is bankrupt...too much high life...melanun but not working..(Work..apa itu syndrome).

Genting will be gone by end of next year. LKY will have he last laugh. The Pahang Sultan has already ransacked the Pahang Treasury to the tune of millions and towns in Pahang like Kuantan, Cameron Highlands, Frasers Hill, all stand desolate devoid of any economy. Even selling Datoships like kacang puteh has not helped. The people are suffering. . Malaysia will be left with no resources, no buisnesses and a million parasites like the Perak, Pahang fellow...scrambling for the bits ....only another equally corrupt institution can protect them ....UMNO

The people will probably opt for a Republic. The days of the monarchy are coming to an end. Goodbye.
written by bexe, September 25, 2009 18:26:52
This is a very serious breach and a dangerous precedence. We must stop this!
written by banzai, September 25, 2009 18:39:05
OK You...
written by BennyG, September 25, 2009 19:10:25
Hmmm....does that mean even if PR won Pahang, the MB will be from UMNO?

The power that people entrusted to seem to be abused all the way. Will our desire to see Malaysia for all Malaysians go down the drain?
written by mountainking, September 25, 2009 19:15:56
i won't be surprise one day, these sultans will be thrown out if they continue to behave the way they are now.
written by Bloodhound, September 25, 2009 19:26:15

A ruler of a state facing bankruptcy and a political party (BN) facing defeat in the coming General Elections........just like two peas in a pod!

When you are the ruler of a state facing bankruptcy, you need to kiss the hands of those who can afford to throw a few crumbs your way. By taking his stance, he has forfeited his subjects' loyalty because as a ruler he needs to be impartial in order to be able to attend to all his subjects without prejudices.

Once he step outside his impartiality, he then becomes unable to service the needs of a section of his subjects and the rakyat will lose respect for the position and he becomes nothing more than another opportunist in the world of politics.

A dangerous precedence has now been set and the future of monarchy will be at the mercy of the rakyat as they now divides into different camps thus reducing the effectiveness of the ruler and over a period of time, they will question the validity and acceptability of a partisan ruler.

written by onnetline, September 25, 2009 19:41:05
Very disappointing and no different from the corrupted UMNOs racists.

A lot to learn from the Monarchy of England ........ lots indeed ! ! !
written by Siapabohong, September 25, 2009 19:44:27
I wonder if any of the above who have given comment above would feel great when suddendly you a postman come to your doorstep and pass you a royal letter stated that you will be awarded a PJK from the sultan! Whoa!...... feel like in cloud nine!!!!
Isn't that the mentality of many of us who adore and feel damn great when awarded with the medal until some spent million of ringgit to buy a latuk or a tanseli.
Some who have received it, non-stop and feel very proud to show of the medal and photos and tell tales of their experiences in the palace. Of course some who received the award with the title cannot tolerate those who do not address them with the title. So it's not unusual to hear now and then... latuk, latuk, latuk....
So directly or indirectly many of us tend to criticise these royalties but one way or another feel very proud to receive those award from these people..... why? Because can show off to your friends and enermies ma... kiashu ma...
written by SiHangChai, September 25, 2009 21:37:43
I am a Pahangist, and I am totally disappointed with HRM Sultan Pahang for making such statement. Royalist should stay away from politics. Certainly, I do not want something happened to what in the disgusted affiar in the state of Perak and Terengganu. Rakyat should decide. If Rakyat felt BN should be eating cow dugs and shove its ass then it will be it. The same if Rakyat are to kick the DAP or PKR ass. Please be real, Sultan.

BN is not the wealth cow to Sultans. They only know how to screw Rakyat monies and put into their own pockets. Look at the Pahang MB? Thug and gangster behaviour. If I am BN President, I would have throw him into Kuantan River!
written by Msian Idol3, September 25, 2009 21:43:22
Just get rid of all the royalties. Their present duties can be done by any true Msians - cheaper & better. They are the perfect welfare loafers even when they can afford it. This is too much. Don't they take all profitable opportunities within their state?
written by Caretaker_y, September 25, 2009 22:21:23
Is the HRH of Pahang gone senile or bengkok? Does he not understand what it means to be above politics and non partisan?

Or does he trying to remind PM Najib that his HRH needs more pocket money and that PM Najib & Rosmah must take some out from the 'kickbacks' under their golden pillows. From the submarines purchases, etc etc.

Don't forget that the Rakyats of today is different from that of yesteryears, your HRH.
written by Enforcer, September 25, 2009 22:55:08
What the heck is happening in this country!
Tuankus. The RAKYAT (majority) has the respect for Your Highnesses, even though much wrongdoings has been exposed. The RAKYAT takes it all in, but, please leave politics out of Tuankus lifes! Don't Tuankus wish the RAKYAT to be happy and harmonious and able to earn decent living irrespective of race or religion!
Don't bath this beautiful country with blood but wish this country well with your blessings!
The RAKYAT is willing to forget history and accept the positions of Your Highnesses but please respect the constituition. Respect and be respected!
written by Ben, September 25, 2009 22:57:57
So sad for Malaysia. May our good Allah guide them to the right path and give them wisdom to lead the people "demi negara yang tercinta, dicurahkan bakti penuh setia...."
written by Semut Jantan, September 25, 2009 23:04:25
High Class Welfare Recipients!
written by razzwill, September 25, 2009 23:14:34
Will he make life so difficult for the government of the day to function which will lead to problems of magnanimous proportion?

Magnanimous? Are you sure???
written by RumahPanjai, September 25, 2009 23:25:54
In Perak we were told " the royalties are above politics".........more like the royalties are just jokers and the citizens are just blind peasants!
written by storm62, September 25, 2009 23:32:25
perlis, kedah, perak, selangor, negeri 9, johor, pahang, terenganu and kelantan...9 Sultans...and how many millions per month to feed them, to maintain them, to pay for their, cars, wifes, children, relatives, maids, caretakers, guards, the daily live seafoods, drinks, entertainments, etc. etc. etc. and this is what we get....telling us to vote for a highly corrupted and a failed government?.....you must be joking Tuankoooooooooooooooooo.
written by goman2k3, September 26, 2009 00:04:16
If the royal family want to play politics then let us play politics with them and let them pay the price of politics. One great thing the mamak did was to kick their asses. No one is above the law and the rakyat must protect that.
written by fairnessforall, September 26, 2009 00:23:05
Well most malaysians have lost respect for the royalty as they are nothing more than rich beggars. The royalty has proven that they do not care about the people. All they care about is themselves and how much they can gain. Maybe its time the Rukunegara should be changed. There is no more Kesetiaan kepada raja dan negara.
written by Sudahlah tu, September 26, 2009 06:56:47
melayu mudah lupa ...
sikap tamak diri telah menjauhi mereka daripada Ajaran Allah ...
golongan elit sememangnya telah lama tidak mengikut apa yang disuruh oleh Allah untuk menghargai segala kurniaanNya dan menjalankan ibarat yang halal sepertimana yang tertulis .
bertaubatlah sebelum segalanya diambil kembali oleh Allah.
written by Urangsabah, September 26, 2009 12:35:58
No wonder UMNO is alow to call DYMM, Natang - [url=http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/80405]http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/80405
written by Urangsabah, September 26, 2009 12:38:18
ooops..messed up

s/b No wonder UMNO is alow to call DYMM, Natang