A schism of isms PDF Print
Thursday, 24 September 2009 23:00

By myAsylum

Once again, the tired argument that those who don’t have “sufficient” knowledge on religion, Islam in particular, should not voice any opinion or objections when it comes to matters deemed Islamic, becomes one of the key points raised. Even if these matters have an effect, direct or indirect, on one’s life.

Going against the mainstream can be a challenging thing to do. And not always fun, either. But Walski being Walski, there are some occasions when he has to do exactly that.

Image taken from Southern Methodist U. website, hosting by Photobucket Yesterday, The Star published an article written by Dr. Wan Azhar Wan Ahmad, director of the Center for Syariah, Law and Political Science, an academic sub-group within the Institute of Islamic Understanding Malaysia, better known as IKIM.

Walski won’t duplicate the entire article, entitled “Human rightism” vs religion, but rather will pick out certain areas that he thinks are of interest to this discussion. The gist, however, is that what’s termed as “Human rightism” is not entirely congruous with Islam. Or, as Dr. Wan Azhar argues, any religion.

Once again, the tired argument that those who don’t have “sufficient” knowledge on religion, Islam in particular, should not voice any opinion or objections when it comes to matters deemed Islamic, becomes one of the key points raised. Even if these matters have an effect, direct or indirect, on one’s life.

Well, Walski for one believes that he has a right to critique anything that has an effect on his own life. And frankly, if Dr. Wan Azhar doesn’t like that, well, just too bad.

The first thing that the article does is to paint human rights as an ideological doctrine, and therefore an ism. Understandable, because from many an Islamist’s point of view, any ism may be seen as somewhat derogatory. With the exception, naturally, of Islamism (emphasis by myAsylum).

THE doctrine of human rights seems to have developed into an ism that has rapidly spread, and been embraced, defended and championed by an increasing number of people beyond ethnic and cultural boundaries worldwide.

This universal human rightism is also perceived by many as an ideology that prevails over national laws and even transcending religions.

For some reasons, conflicts are always portrayed to happen when the values of human rightism are brought against the teachings of Islam.

(source: The Star)

So, it would appear that the stage is set – values of human rights can be incongruous to the “teachings of Islam”. Or the conventionally mainstream view, anyway. 

In a larger sense, the article is a commentary on the events and opinions surrounding the Kartika Sari Dewi Shukarno case. But it does also try to reinforce certain mainstream and conventional views.

Such as the one that not everyone can comment on religion. Or, at least, not Islam. And that view is very apparent in the article.

Another argument goes to the effect that every Tom, Dick and Harry must be given a chance to speak about things even if he has no sufficient knowledge about or no knowledge at all.

It is as if we ask a layman having no knowledge and training in medicine to prescribe medication for a dying patient.

In religious matters,
not everybody has the right to claim that he enjoys the freedom to give an opinion as he wishes without first gaining a certain degree of knowledge on the subject matter in dispute.

Religious matters must be left in the hands of qualified ulama to address, in as much as medical matters must be given to qualified doctors.

If one is ill-informed or totally in the dark about any religious precept, then one has to do some research, seek counsel from those who are competent, qualified and authoritative.

(source: The Star)

Very mainstream. Very conventional. So, no surprises whatsoever.

But once upon a time, it was conventional belief that headaches were the work of demons. And if it were not for the freedom for certain “heretical” individuals to question this belief, we’d still be subjected to exorcisms, rather than aspirin or paracetamol, for headache relief.

One bit written in the article, somewhere mid-way through the piece, caught Walski’s attention more than anything else, and is something that he would like to explore a bit more.

Read more at: A schism of isms

Comments (11)Add Comment
written by sydput, September 24, 2009 23:27:51
God is above any religion.
"...O people of the Book, let us come to a common understanding between us and between you; that 1) we serve none except God, and 2) that we do not set up anything with Him, and 3) that none of us takes each other as patrons besides God...." (The Message 3:64)
Why are muslims trying to protect religion, when God has already mentione the above.
Serve not religion. But serve God. How?
By doing good and righteous deeds. And be just.
written by Richfyf, September 24, 2009 23:28:50
The easiest way to argue when some present a logical argument is to say that the person is not qualified and shouldn't talk about the subject matter. This is for those who can't debate with facts. To me its a lame excuse. If we wanna apply that logic then the only person qualified to voice the opinion on the Prime Minister is TDM and Pak Lah.

But if me memory did not fail me when TDM voice his opinion on Pak Lah there were so many unqualified UMNO members who shoot back at TDM. And these are the same people who says that those not qualified should not give their opinion.

Those who uses that argument just do not have the capability to think clearly but think too highly of themselves
written by aeromaverick, September 24, 2009 23:38:31
This is the most elaborate Thought Control Process ever devised in the history of mankind's recorded history.

The Book of Records are missing the big picture!!
smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Sabahfan, September 24, 2009 23:46:48
Awww commmon man.....

Isnt this an old story? How many times have I heard a LOSER MALAY who always says, "you dont know anything about islam" everytime they lost in an argument.

waah waa h waah, they make it sounds as if ISLAM is something we non moslem cannot fanthom at all, as if it is such a mystery even god himself cant understand. And yet they dont realise that if Islam is such a mystery, they themselves would be EQUALLY STUPID.....

And just becos they think they know something about islam, that I a non moslem must bow down to their every wishes and be their servants and slaves...

To all these moslem leaders including those who called themselves Doctors and proffessor and any lofty titles....this is one big message for you.

GO GET FUKKKED WITH YOUR ISLAM, AND BLOW YOURSELVES UP SO YOU CAN GET YOUR 72 VIRGINS IN HEAVEN, AND WITH MY FULL BLESSING.
written by Sabahfan, September 24, 2009 23:48:43
HOW ABOUT THIS ONE FOR YOUR THOUGHTS>
-----------------------------------

Allah or the Lord Jesus ?

Very interesting to read!!!!!!

Allah or the Lord Jesus Christ?

The Muslim religion is the fastest growing religion in Australia .

Last month I attended my annual training session that's required for maintaining my prison security clearance. During the training session there was a presentation by three speakers representing the Roman Catholic, Anglican and Muslim faiths, who explained each of their beliefs.

I was particularly interested in what the Islamic Imam had to say. The Imam gave a great presentation of the basics of Islam, complete with a video.

After the presentations, time was provided for questions and answers.

When it was my turn, I directed my question to the Imam and asked: 'Please, correct me if I'm wrong, but I understand that most Imams and clerics of Islam have declared a holy jihad [Holy War] against the infidels of the world and, that by killing an infidel, (which is a command to all Muslims) they are assured of a place in heaven. If that's the case, can you give me the definition of an infidel?'

There was no disagreement with my statements and, without hesitation, he replied, 'Non-believers! '

I responded, 'So, let me make sure I have this straight. All followers of Allah have been commanded to kill everyone who is not of your faith so they can have a place in heaven. Is that correct?'

The expression on his face changed from one of authority and command to that of 'a little boy who had just been caught with his hand in the cookie jar.'

He sheepishly replied, 'Yes.'

I then stated, 'Well, sir, I have a real problem trying to imagine Pope Benedict commanding all Catholics to kill those of your faith or the Archbishop of Canterbury ordering all Anglicans to do the same in order to guarantee them a place in heaven!'

The Imam was speechless!

I continued, 'I also have a problem with being your 'friend' when you and your brother clerics are telling your followers to kill me! Let me ask you a question. Would you rather have your Allah, who tells you to kill me in order for you to go to heaven, or my Jesus who tells me to love you because I am going to heaven and He wants you to be there with me?'

You could have heard a pin drop as the Imam hung his head in shame.

Needless to say, the organisers and/or promoters of the 'Diversification' training seminar were not happy with this way of dealing with the Islamic Imam and exposing the truth about the Muslims' beliefs.

In twenty years there will be enough Muslim voters in Australia to elect a government of their choice, complete with Sharia Law. I think everyone in Australia should be required to read this, but with the Liberal justice system, liberal media and the political correctness madness, there is no way this will be widely publicised.

Please pass this on to all your e-mail contacts

written by slimbrowser, September 25, 2009 01:35:18
The muslims themselves are never in agreement with each other. Each muslims you meet will give you an interpretation of their hadith and koran. Plenty of examples abound. Some are koran only, some believe in the koran and hadith. Some believe that jihad will give them 72 virgins. Some say that they believe in Jesus but their action speaks like Mohammad. So none of them are credible.
written by Admiral Tojo, September 25, 2009 01:51:14
I am most qualified in Quran for my own guidance. I also know that whatever they call Islam is nothig more than the Pagan Arab Religion of Stone worship. That is why their followers are at best in hell on Earth, they blame others for almost anything including their hard on.

Oh by the way, there is NO provision for earning a living (profession) in believe, as what the Quran says. 'DO NOT FOLLOW THOSE WHO ASK YOU FOR A WAGE....' Quran. Harubsainy of Perak is earning income from believe, and we should not follow his CON.

So throw your stones at each other for all I care but be warned, DO NOT THROW YOUR STONES AT ME, all you disbelievers of Quran.

written by Areyaar, September 25, 2009 04:36:00
What is this Wan Azhar thinking of when he says "It is as if we ask a layman having no knowledge and training in medicine to prescribe medication for a dying patient." What kind of an example is that!

I mean, does this man seriously, seriously think that anyone in their right mind would actually be so stooopid as to ask a layman to prescribe medication to someone who is critically ill???

If he wants to make an argument to defend his point of view, he has the right to do so, but he should not choose to insult the intelligence of the public by opting to make such an outlandish and childish comparison. I have never heard of anything so outrageous. You would imagine that someone with a Dr in front of his name would know such things.

It is common knowledge that the family of a critically ill person would often infact go the extent of seeking A SECOND OPINION FROM A PROFESSIONAL! And Wan Azhar can only think of asking a layman!

Anyhow, given that he chose to give this unthinkable scenario as an example, would it not be logical to infact seek a second, and maybe a third, opinion from "learned" individuals on religious matters? Why should we be expected to blindly accept the interpretation of any one person when it is common knowledge that interpretations can and do vary in some instances. And differences in interpretation do happen.

Wan Azhar and others who think like him should think about what they say, or write, before they do so, as their arguments will come across as pathetic and weak if they chose to use insensible, incomprehensible examples. If they want to gain some credibility that is.
written by minds, September 25, 2009 04:37:02
there is always the mixed up like teh campur kopi in our bolehland,politic always been mixed with religion.How to built the nations if the kopi campur teh always in the topic
written by 98PercentPrimate, September 25, 2009 14:04:21
"If one is ill-informed or totally in the dark about any religious precept, then one has to do some research, seek counsel from those who are competent, qualified and authoritative."

I agree with the need for thorough research on religious or any other matters. With sufficient research, one will understand that there are no convincing proofs to substantiate that god exists.

Since religious (theistic) experts rely on some ultimate principle that is false, there is an critical need to question them whenever there any degrees of discomfort with their opinions.

It is ignorant to compare relatively baseless theism with credible scientific medicine. Most of the general principles of scientific medicine are based on proofs that are well substantiated verifiable, testable, reproduciable and adaptable at any time.

Believing in god is psychologically necessary for most humans in this phase of humanity, but theists must allow criticisms of their beliefs and behaviours from anyone
written by Sinewy, September 25, 2009 15:47:21
One thing I'm always being troubled is that can someone as learned as this Dr tells me how do you expect a rape victim going to find 4 witnesses the rape in order to bring justice to the rape victim?? No wonder there are very few rape reports in those lands of religion..