Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Najib finds new Indian allies, bypasses the MIC

Najib finds new Indian allies, bypasses the MIC PDF Print
Thursday, 24 September 2009 16:57

(The Malaysian Insider) KUALA LUMPUR, Sept 24 — The invitation card is glossy, in gold colour and of superior quality, in keeping with the VIP who is guest of honour at the Oct 10 launch of the new kid on the block — the Parti Makkal Sakti Malaysia.

The VIP will be Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak, who appears to be signalling that he is not going to solely depend on Barisan Nasional (BN) stalwart parties like the MIC and MCA to reach out to the non-Malay communities.

He will launch the new Indian-based party formed by former leaders of Hindraf at the Malaysia Agro Exposition Park in Serdang next month in a strategy which bears similarities to his father Tun Razak Hussein's move in the 1970s to welcome more political parties into the establishment fold.

For this reason, it is significant that Najib is launching the party which received recognition from the Registrar of Societies in a “matter of weeks” on May 11.

His presence indicates that in the changed political landscape after March 8, 2008 which saw BN allies like the MIC, MCA, Gerakan and PPP fall like tenpins, Umno is finding and creating new allies.

Leaders of the new party have already pledged to campaign for BN in the upcoming Bagan Pinang by-election.

With MIC's and even the PPP's failure to reform and reinvent under Datuk Seri S. Samy Vellu and Datuk M. Kayveas, Umno may well be searching for new partners. The Makkal Sakti party could well play such a role.

A lot is riding on the party formed by former Hindraf national co-coordinator R.S. Thanenthiran, 47, who is president.

The party has yet to make an impact but Thanenthiran said it has been working quietly to recruit over 50,000 members, getting the divisions established and setting up best practices.

“We made an impact at Kampung Buah Pala trying to save it from demolition. The Indian community knows about it,” he said.

He says Najib’s presence is an honour but claims that the party is independent and only wishes to serve the people.

Read more at: Najib finds new Indian allies, bypasses the MIC

Comments (32)Add Comment
written by hakuna, September 24, 2009 17:08:22
Presume some of us have never learnt anything about BN or have their own selfish agenda!!!

BN is merely using them. All ethnic parties should be kicked out by the Rakyat.
written by my2cents, September 24, 2009 17:31:31
Another one bites the dust. Some groups of People are just gluttons for punishment, or in this case, it may be to escape punishment (read ISA).
written by mansel, September 24, 2009 17:34:10
well i see that someone is trying to make quick bucks by using catch phrase of "makkal sakthi" .. very pathetic indeed. just because you were at KBP doesnt make you an overnight hero or a political party.
as you are now alligned to Najib, your support will be less by the day.. thank you and have a good night!
written by Arubin, September 24, 2009 17:53:42
Yeah, well good luck getting people to vote for you. Just to point out how stupid this new political party is, I would like to highlight Thanenthiran's twisted logic:

“It is true the BN did not do much for us in the past 52 years but the Pakatan Rakyat has done even less for us in the past two years,” he said.

Its only been 2 years, and their state governments are running on shoestring budgets because BN is playing dirty by denying them federal funds. Honestly, do you think it fair to expect them to have done more for the Indians than all of BN's 52 years? Perhaps you expect PR to transform water into wine, make it rain bread, and part the Straits of Melaka for you, eh?
written by Arowana, September 24, 2009 17:56:25
Another off-spring of MIC. All for the purpose of One thing all along in MIC,

RAKYAT'S MONEY. Met this joker R.S. Thanenthiran before, talk also like Samy V.

I will say to a person wearing Makkal Sakthi shirt, don't even come close to me.
written by MSIABOLEH, September 24, 2009 18:00:16
"We made an impact at Kampung Buah Pala trying to save it from demolition. The Indian community knows about it,” he said.

What sort of IMPACT did you guys made??? Did you negotiated for the free houses, or did you negotiated for the RM8,000 moving relieve or did you renegotiated for the extra time to move???

YOU did NONE of the above! The only IMPACT you made is the chaos and the unnecessary waste of time and money, you IDIOTS!
written by biggun129, September 24, 2009 18:22:27
They dont remember the Candle's Vigil, they dont remember how we spend our Sunday night praying for them, they dont remember how we play hide and seek with the PDRM, they forgot we spend a whole night until daylight at the PJ Police Station!This is their Makkal Sakti not the Indian's Makkal Sakti!They betrayed us!
written by Mark C, September 24, 2009 18:34:40
Ptuii! this fcuker "The Nen" has sold out the indians faster than semi value did. In less than a year, they had taken a 180 degree turn and embraced the very people that they fought!
written by nubie, September 24, 2009 18:36:25
Right.....they did make impact at kampung buah pala by making tons of noise but no practical solution in the end(which i think is their objective). Where are the KBP folks now... do these makkal sakhti people care? Going by what i have read, this was expected, all in the name of rakyat but secretly harbouring for position of power and money. Sometimes I think the indians are their own worst enemies.
written by StevenO, September 24, 2009 18:40:11
How do you expect the Indians to be not marginalised?? Those people who claim to represent them and fight for their cause sell them off with the first available opportunity!!
written by hiiijack, September 24, 2009 18:42:32
See how low can he go,cium,jilat dan hidu buntut Umno/Bn banyak banyak.Telor sebigi, heboh satu kampong....let bury them together with their new political master.
written by Richfyf, September 24, 2009 18:44:21
What was the saying about killing the person 1st before the snake???? Wonder if it applies in this scenario???
written by smeagrooo, September 24, 2009 18:56:35
where was thus dumb jerk during sec23 cow's head incident? ohhh, he must hv been hiding behind umno's arse.
written by pokokmangga, September 24, 2009 19:17:06
They never learn and never will. smilies/cheesy.gif
written by storm62, September 24, 2009 19:24:40
makkal sakthi ke, hati mere sakthi ke....Roast mah will have another New Indian dance party with Datuk Shah Rukh Khan....here comes Bollywood !!!

my advise to Shah Rukh Khan is just becareful, you'll be next to be C4ed.

Guru Ji will the president of this new Indian Party.
written by Wisdom above, September 24, 2009 21:19:31
The race-based Parti Makkal Sakti Malaysia like MIC, will surely fade away in a Two Party Political System !
written by hellboykl, September 24, 2009 22:05:01
This party don't even have 10 thousand members...hahaha... this got to be a joke?
written by merchant222, September 24, 2009 22:05:10
As speculated and now the truth has prevailed; that the Hindraf Goons or their 'break-away' or whatever they can call it, HAS PLAYED THE BACK-SIDEs of the Indians like Semi Value!

Well, you guys can very well BURN IN HELL like the rest of the UMNO BN Goons!
written by hellboykl, September 24, 2009 22:07:01
Dato Shah Rukh Khan is coming to KL to open ceremony of this party.. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by joeawk, September 24, 2009 22:25:03
This is the true colour of Hindraf. They were never for the indians but very much unto themselves. Opportunists as usual.

The houses in Kg Buah Pala are gone and they claim credit, how laughable.
written by Lim Lim, September 24, 2009 22:56:06
kavyeat vs murugiah,semi value vs subramaniam, ong talkock vs chua sexlick..1st round.
2nd round.....makkal sakthi(thievry duplicate) vs MIC,party cinta malaysia vs mca????........what else??
written by Saint, September 24, 2009 23:07:30
Mushrooms look beautiful for a day only.
written by Bigdawg, September 24, 2009 23:32:43
Hamidah! Hamida ! Quick, get the bamboo broomstick; Thaveniren is coming into Putra Jaya !! Bash him ! Bash the makkal satay worm.

Ah Shame ! Ah Shame ! Get your krooked keris out ! We make tasty soup now !
written by sydput, September 24, 2009 23:38:45
I have never screwed an indian, but seems the indians have screwed themselves real bad.
Maybe due to recession, there are some deperate indians out there.
But whatever the outcome, most malaysians are not blind and deaf. Whatever the utcome, UMNO must be banished into history, and never repeated.
written by Aramsawafer, September 24, 2009 23:39:58
Now, you know why hindraf has been barking very loudly at the kampong buah pala fiasco. Everybody knows there is a hidden for them to do so. They know that umno under naljis is going to look for alternative indian to fill the gap of semi value. It is not surprising it one day you wake up and hear the announcement that Makkal Sakthi has been invited to join the bn. just wait and see
written by gulaperak, September 25, 2009 00:28:21
Fact- Barisan must be so desperate to have these scums as their partner.
Fact- Anyone who says thinks that there can be peace by fighting for same race is either joking or too idealistic!
Fact- " Nen " must be the biggest disillusioned human being in this country. Last time slam Be End, now soocking their bebola!
Fact- Like in Perak, they could not buy SIva, so they bought Hee. Same here, they could not buy the big fishes, so they "give nen nen" to Mr. Nen. And he also happily soooock the "nen nen" from BeeEn!
written by fireduck, September 25, 2009 00:45:03
The fact remains that while the other component parties have failed to reform, the same applies to UMNO. So, with this new overture to the new and lesser parties, it is Najib's way of telling MCA, MIC and Gerakan to go fly kite. Take a hike, bugger. But the stupid dogs do not hear so well, or pretend not to hear.

But let's hear Najib say that to the Sabah and Sarawakians component parties! Dare you, Najib!
written by Wakeupmsia, September 25, 2009 01:23:37
Launch of Mati Sakit on 10 Oct? So fast? Something to do with C4, I suppose.
written by SamBall, September 25, 2009 07:06:38
the people memang sakit; perhaps makkal will make volu sakit; already it has given him the "shits"

najis is just fckuing the indians; marginalized and divided as they are; i say to the indians take the money and vote the opposition. fcuk najis!
written by Jit Dharma, September 25, 2009 13:30:55
ANY party that Najib 'supports' will die a quick death,
because he is behind the cow-head demo and all Indians know
about this. Thenitheran, you are about to disappear for good.
written by Gerald, September 26, 2009 06:32:13
Another mother f**ker is born today, doesn't look like a pig but more like a dog. Looks like another party claiming to champion the Indian interests, another PPP? UMNO is laughing at the Indians disunity....Comeon Samy Vellu, what have u got to say.....Indians killing Indians...Snakes killing snakes...Samy pse stay on to champion the Indians...PR needs all these disunity to win...