Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Cold response to calls for Hasan’s removal

Cold response to calls for Hasan’s removal PDF Print
Thursday, 24 September 2009 01:03

Written by Chua Sue-Ann, The Edge 

Klang member of parliament (MP) Charles Santiago’s recent call for the removal of Selangor state executive council (exco) member Datuk Dr Hasan Mohamed Ali appears to have received little support from Selangor Pakatan Rakyat (PR) assemblymen as the coalition seeks to quell a perceived internal rift.

When contacted on Sept 23, Hasan’s exco colleagues Ean Yong Hian Wah and Ronnie Liu declined to comment on the suggestion that Hasan be removed as Selangor PAS commissioner and exco member for criticising the assembly’s Select Committee on Competency, Accountability and Transparency (Selcat).

Liu, who is DAP’s Pandamaran assemblyman, said the Selangor exco would discuss the matter internally “for better understanding” and to avoid “creating unnecessary impact”.

Kota Alam Shah assemblyman M Manoharan said “such drastic action” should not be taken against Hasan as differences of opinion did not warrant the removal of an exco member.

“Removing an exco should only be done if there was a great blunder with disastrous consequences,” Manoharan said.

Hasan, who chairs the Selangor Islamic affairs, Malay culture, infrastructure and public amenities committee, had criticised Selcat for “grilling” district officers during its public inquiry into state allocations spending by assemblymen.

Santiago told The Edge Financial Daily on Sept 23 that Hasan should not have questioned Selcat’s procedure or protect the district officers who claimed they were publicly humiliated by its inquiry.

“So my recommendation was that there was a need to discipline Hasan  and anybody else who plays the race game. Anybody who wants to be the champion of race issues or beer issues has to be disciplined,” Santiago said.

The Klang MP also accused Hasan of portraying himself as the “protector or hero of Malays” in Selangor.

“Hasan Ali either doesn’t understand or is willfully undermining the separation of powers between the executive and legislature.

“So my recommendation was that there was a need to discipline Hasan Ali and anybody else who plays the race game. Anybody who wants to be the champion of race issues or beer issues has to be disciplined,” Santiago said.

Earlier, Hasan had locked horns with Liu over the open sale of alcoholic beverages in Selangor, with the former demanding a blanket ban on alcohol sales in retail stores in Muslim-majority areas.

Meanwhile, PAS assemblyman Saari Sungib and DAP’s Teratai assemblyman Jenice Lee both said Hasan should be first referred to the assembly’s privileges committee for the latter’s public statements.

DAP’s Bukit Gasing assemblyman Edward Lee, who is part of Selcat’s committee, said it was more proper for PAS to discipline Hasan if necessary. “We have not heard his (Hasan’s) side of the story and it’s not fair to comment,” Lee said. Hasan could not be reached for comment as at press time.

written by Arowana, September 24, 2009 02:18:01
Hassan Ali talks with PR reps and even with MB Khalid with a dagger hidden between his hands. If I were the MB, put him in charge of exco for community and social matters. MB Khalid, take note.

Readers, do you all agree ???
written by Wisdom above, September 24, 2009 04:52:33
Why is PAS Central Leadership keeping very quite on Hasan Ali's inconsistency t behaviors within PR framework ? Hasan Ali's personal intentions have clouded his official judgement as an Exco member ! Without being appointed as a new MB, he will continue to embarrass Selangor PR State Government till 2013 ? His negative attributes will only destroy himself despite holding a Phd in Town PlANNING ?
written by educationist, September 24, 2009 06:43:59
This UMNO Trojan's Horse is there to sow seeds of discord, hopefully to bring down the Selangor PR government!!
I can only hope the other PR leaders know what he's up to!!
Let they not claim ignorance if the Perak immoral and unscrupulous power grab is revisited on them!!
written by mikewang, September 24, 2009 07:01:32
If democracy were to flourish, Hassan should be disciplined for executive interference in the work of the legislature even if that was only a suggestion.

He should understand the true meaning and practice of separation of powers.
written by zza11, September 24, 2009 07:47:10
Forget Hassan Ali; I am quite dissapointed with Selcat going after ex BN rep misusing 500k each. If they go for 40 ex BN rep in Selangor they would uncover misuse of fund of at most RM 20 mil (probably less than 1% of PKFZ unaccounted figure). Selcat is not coming out with something new as we all knew that BN rep are corrupt and catching them misusing the 500k allocation is peanut outcome for a huge effort by PR. Furthermore the Selcat is made up of people's rep and their time will be wasted for something obvious. Along the way they grill the DOs who are ikan bilis cari makan. Appoint some professional audit team to do the job I am sure they would uncover more fact.
written by yuenthiam, September 24, 2009 08:01:36
Manoharan, don't be foolish! Should there be "the great blunder with disastrous consequences" like you put it, it would be far, far too late for the PR Selangor government to take proper damage control. PR should nip the problem in the bud, as this Hasan Ali fellow seems bent on making a mockery of the state government. Why are you guys hesitating and letting him do so? Be reminded that the rakyat who voted for PR expect and want good governance and exemplary leadership, so please be firm and make the necessary sacrifices whenever or wherever needed, especially when dealing with enemies from within!
written by technoboy, September 24, 2009 08:10:57
Objectively Hassan Ali got a point though on Selcat, whilst PR needs to investigate and uncover malpractices & corruption of previous Toyo regime, it is also highly appropriate to be mindful of the feelings of civil servants hauled up for questioning. Humiliating approach whether real or imaginary is definitely going to incur the wrath of civil servants in general and actually backfire on PR government in wanting to implement change. Whatever CHANGE to be implemented can only come with the cooperation of these civil servants. After more than 50 years of rotten system put in place by UMNO/BN morons, change can only come gradually and not overnight thru a balanced process that causes minimal pain to all parties involved. In fact it was very obvious what would be the consequences like if the civil servants opted not to extend their cooperation, the PERAK fiasco is a good example. UMNO/BN crooks are always on the sideline waiting for opportunity to exploit the slightest potential ill feelings towards PR government, whether real or imaginative. So let's be somewhat mindful and most importantly discuss such sensitive disputes amongst PR elected representatives behind closed doors.
written by Mik, September 24, 2009 09:09:42
Mr santiago, are u a politician? May be u need to attend some kursus on how to become politicians. Or may be im reading it all wrong. U alwez like to make noise, may be u wanna show the ppl dat u are working? Pls, work but work smart. Dun give problems to the leadership juz because u want to fullfil ur ego needs. U should not be the one who call for Hassan's removal or punishment. That must come from Pas or PKR members, a malay member. Santiago, if u call for his removal, UMNo will take it up and make a big issue bout it. Others will also be will reading it wrong. Be smart la. Stop making noise. Just do ur job and be quiet about it.
written by Bigjoe99, September 24, 2009 10:01:55
Selangor is not like other states. It has a big middle class Malay population. So long as there is a big middle class Malay group and 80% of non-bumi vote PR, you can't lose. Hassan Ali kinds of tactic is good only if Malays are at least 70% of the population like in Shah Alam area but for the rest of the state, he actually put votes in PR hands...

In that event, PR is doing smart things particularly DAP. Just keep it cool and embrace the freaking idiot...
written by shamadz72, September 24, 2009 10:02:30
While I also don't like Hassan Ali, I would rather let PAS internal body handle him. I have faith in PAS committee handling it.

As for the call from this Mr Santiago, I believed he should keep his mouth shut rather than giving more ammo to the BN to hit PR state government. Remember, this Klang MP was also known for throwing tantrum against other PR members and even against his DAP colleague in the Klang Bus Station case last year. If we want to see a better cooperation within PR, we will need to have people like him to know how to control his loud mouth when talking in public.
written by mawi, September 24, 2009 10:10:02
Looks like BN is doing a great job in getting back Selangor in the next GE. They are advancing slowly and steadily day by day and if DAP does not know how to comfort the Malays, BN's advancement may turn to leaps and bounds. Considering the fact that Malays makes the majority of voters in Selangor, the Malays, in general , is perceiving is that, the PR government looks more like a DAP government with the Indians leaders now marginalizing the Malays . A lot of my relatives and friends are now bent on UMNO in the next GE with all these show offs by DAP and its Indian reps. In other words, they are on the verge of getting fed up with these people who , in the course of upholding justice, is aklso telling the Malays that the Malays can now go to hell.
written by yuenthiam, September 24, 2009 11:48:04
Mawi,

We need to counter any misconception. We hope you and other Malays like you will help to do that. We’re all in this together, so please don’t let your relatives and friends deviate from our common objective, that is, to fight against injustice, lawlessness and corruption that have plagued our country the past half a century. Please, cajole them if you have to do so to make sure they remain steadfast in their effort to bring about change for a fair and good government, a better livelihood and a better and brighter future for all, especially for our future generations.

Haven’t we witnessed the arrogance and highhandedness of UMNO and her BN partners and their blatant plundering of the nation’s wealth to enrich the privileged few, e.g. PKFZ, while most of us struggle to earn a decent living? We must learn to overcome and rise above tenuous race issues if we want to reach our goal. This is probably the only one opportunity and we cannot afford to lose!