Home arrow The Blogs arrow The Corridors of Power arrow Me serve the rakyat? Nah! (UPDATED with CHINESE)

Me serve the rakyat? Nah! (UPDATED with CHINESE) PDF Print
Wednesday, 23 September 2009 17:28

It is therefore not difficult to understand why there is so much chaos in Pakatan Rakyat Selangor. Not only are PKR, DAP and PAS trying to outmanoeuvre each other. Internally, within PKR, DAP and PAS, there are many factions and each is trying to kill off the other.

Many ask me why I refuse to go into active politics. I try to tell to these people that I am not a politician but a political activist. Most do not appear to understand the difference. I try to explain it as simply as I can. A politician seeks power. A political activist seeks change. I seek change, not power. So I am a political activist, not a politician.

That may not be the most accurate way to explain it but I think this would probably clear the air as to why I wish to be one and not the other. The analogy I normally use is the comparison between Fidel Castro and Che Guevara. Castro wanted power. Che just wanted change. And when they toppled the Cuban government and formed the new government Castro went on to become its new leader while, after only six years in government, Che went off to start a new revolution in another country -- and died, of course.

Make no bones about it. Most people who are in politics are in it because of their lust for power -- be it the ruling party or the opposition. They are not in politics for the sake of change or to serve the people. Most times, serving the people is the last thing on their minds. It’s all about their lust for power and the pursuit of power. And that is why it is very difficult to comprehend the actions of politicians, even those in the opposition.

Take the Selangor issue as an example. Way back in 1999 there was already a power struggle between the two Alis -- Hassan Ali and Azmin Ali of PAS and PKR respectively. Both thought that their party was going to win the most number of seats in Selangor so both wanted to become Selangor’s new Menteri Besar. In the end, the opposition did not win, of course, so this ‘settled’ the dispute.

That was ten years ago. But when the opposition did eventually win Selangor in March last year, the power struggle resurfaced. PKR won the most number of seats while DAP came in second. PAS was at the bottom of the list of number of seats.

This means the new Menteri Besar has to come from PKR, not PAS. So the question of whether Hassan Ali should become the Menteri Besar is not even open for discussion. There was no way he could become the Menteri Besar. The Menteri Besar has to come from PKR.

But if Anwar appoints Azmin Ali as Menteri Besar this would antagonise Hassan Ali. In fact, Hassan Ali was already engaged in secret negotiations with Umno to explore the possibility of Umno and PAS forming the new state government with Hassan Ali as the new Menteri Besar. It was not about whether Umno, instead of PKR-DAP, is a better partner for PAS Selangor. It is about which equation would benefit Hassan Ali. With PKR-DAP, Hassan Ali would not be able to become Menteri Besar. With Umno, he could.

But a PAS-Umno alliance would not offer them enough seats to form the government. They would need more seats than that and only if there were some crossovers from PKR would they have enough seats. So it can’t be done with just PAS and Umno. It has to be PAS and Umno plus some from PKR as well. However, since they could not get any PKR state assemblypersons to crossover, the plan was a non-starter.

DAP thought it could get the most number of seats in Selangor. A problem would then arise that since DAP did not have any Malay assemblypersons then how are they going to take the Menteri Besar’s post? This, in fact, happened in Perak. Although DAP won the most number of seats in Perak they had to offer the post of Menteri Besar to the party that won the least number of seats, PAS -- which was actually not a bad choice on reflection considering that Nizar Jamaluddin is an ideal candidate.

DAP could accept the fact that PKR won the most number of seats in Selangor so the Menteri Besar has to come from that party. But DAP won the second highest number of seats so at least they could hold the post of Deputy Menteri Besar. After all, the opposition won Selangor because of the non-Malay votes and not because of the Malay votes. The Malays were split 50-50. It was the non-Malay votes that saw the opposition victorious.

But this posed two problems. First was the fact that Selangor was won with the support of the non-Malays and not the Malays who were split 50:50. This, no one can deny. But this also means that the Malay support is very dicey. Umno is already saying that the Chinese now control Penang, Perak and Selangor. If a Chinese Deputy Menteri Besar were to be appointed in Selangor then the opposition would play right into Umno’s hands. The opposition would actually be helping Umno ‘prove’ that Selangor is now under the control of the Chinese and that Umno’s rhetoric is an undeniable fact and no lie.

It is not about the opposition not wanting a Chinese as the Deputy CEO in Selangor. It is about being very careful and not giving Umno the ammunition it needs to exploit the sentiments of the Malays in the race game that Umno is playing. Umno is screaming that the 8th March 2008 General Election is a repeat of the 11th May 1969 General Election. Therefore, said Umno, they need a 13th May 1969 ‘solution’ to the problem. Remember Hitler’s ‘final solution’?

It was very crucial that the opposition does not allow Umno to use the argument that Selangor has been ‘lost’ to the Chinese. They are already saying that about Penang and Perak -- being lost to the Chinese. And Selangor is the jewel in the crown of the three states that control more than half the economy of Malaysia.

The second problem is within DAP itself. DAP Selangor is split into various factions, each at odds with the other. So, who from DAP should become the Deputy Menteri Besar if the opposition dared throw caution to the wind and appoints a Chinese from DAP to become the Deputy Menteri Besar? Some aspirants from DAP were even organising protests and demonstrations to pre-empt the ‘other side’ from getting appointed as the Deputy Menteri Besar. DAP Selangor would break up and some might even leave the party and declare themselves ‘independent’ candidates just like our DAP lady from Perak.

If nobody from DAP gets the post of Deputy Menteri Besar then everyone would be happy. Never mind if I don’t get it as long as no one else gets it. But if you appoint someone from one faction, the other faction would revolt.

And that is the same reason why Anwar decided that Khalid Ibrahim should become the Menteri Besar. Khalid is not the best choice of candidate. Some even go so far as to say he is the worst choice. Azmin Ali, they argue, would be a better choice. I think so too. But if Azmin Ali were to be appointed as the Menteri Besar then Hassan Ali will merajuk (sulk) and would seriously consider the Umno proposal to form a PAS-Umno government in Selangor.

Hassan Ali is not realistic enough. No doubt Umno is courting him. However, they are courting him not because he is a fantastic guy but because they know he lusts for the post of Menteri Besar. So they dangle this sweet carrot in front of his face and watch his mouth drool. Once Umno grabs Selangor they will then move into phase 2 of the plan. And phase 2 is how to get rid of Hassan Ali.

Actually, it is not that difficult to kill off Hassan Ali once he goes to bed with Umno. Umno knows that the Sultan of Selangor does not like Hassan Ali. And I got this confirmed by my palace sources. So, all they need to do is to announce that PAS and Umno are now going to form the new Selangor government and then request an audience with the Sultan. Since Umno and PAS -- with some ‘independents’ from PKR/DAP they hope -- now control the most number of seats in Selangor, the Sultan will have no choice but to swear in the new government.

However, while the Sultan has no choice but to agree to a new PAS-Umno government, he does not have to agree that Hassan Ali becomes the new Menteri Besar. And, in fact, he will not agree. So Umno can then just shrug their shoulders and say that we agree you become the Menteri Besar but the Sultan does not. So, sorry mate, you can’t become the Menteri Besar after all. It has to be someone from Umno.

Hassan Ali can be shot down even while he is still taxing on the runaway and before he can take off. Remember Pearl Harbour and what the Japanese did to the Americans? Hassan Ali will meet his Pearl Harbour at the hands of Umno and with the help of the Sultan.

It is therefore not difficult to understand why there is so much chaos in Pakatan Rakyat Selangor. Not only are PKR, DAP and PAS trying to outmanoeuvre each other. Internally, within PKR, DAP and PAS, there are many factions and each is trying to kill off the other.

We have inter-party and we have intra-party wars going on. And it is all because no one is interested in bringing changes or to serve the rakyat. They are only interested in seeking power because politicians naturally lust for power.

So we, the people, need to keep them in check. If power goes to their heads they will very quickly forget that it was the people who put them there. They will forget that they are supposed to work for the rakyat. They will become just like Barisan Nasional in thinking that the rakyat are the slaves while they are the masters.

Never trust politicians. They will use us when it best suits them. Then they will turn on us and betray the trust we gave them. And that is why the need for some of us to remain as political activists and not become politicians. This is so that we can whack the politicians when they forget themselves, which will be as soon as they win the election and form the new government.

Translated into Chinese at: http://ccliew.blogspot.com/2009/09/blog-post_1200.html

Comments (41)Add Comment
written by Arowana, September 23, 2009 18:06:27
This Hassan Ali will be "A Dead Man Standing" comes GE13.

Whole country knows this pimp anyway..........!!!
agree 372
written by mountainking, September 23, 2009 18:08:40
if the PR really wants to make decisions according to Selangorians/voters, we shall have a campaign amongst voters to request the PR council to remove Hassan Ali.

let's give the power back to voters to remove Hassan Ali. we will help the sultan selangor to get rid of Hassan Ali.
agree 260
written by harrbm, September 23, 2009 18:11:45
Dear YM RPK,

I welcome changes for the better of us, the ordinary rakyat. Better and equal opportunities and facilities. Only united rakyat can dictate changes. Otherwise let the politician and political activist be as they are.The rakyat of Selangor need a clear leader that can unite the rakyat as one. So far... there's none.
written by Zapper, September 23, 2009 18:12:38
RPK, you hit the nail right on the head. Is this Hassan so dumb??
agree 137
written by confuseus, September 23, 2009 18:19:05
My sentiments exactly, YM.
I love it when you write it like this!!

This is also the reason why, the Rakyat need to set up an OMBUDSMAN OFFICE, asap or more billions will go down the drain.

I propose RPK to be the first ONBUDSMAN Chairman, vote up if you agree. TQ
agree 388
written by jayenjr, September 23, 2009 18:28:26
"Never trust politicians - RPK"
--------------------------------------------

Agreed.
written by inoi, September 23, 2009 18:33:49
I believe what RPK said PAS will never rule this country without support of non-muslim vote.
written by ONGJJJ, September 23, 2009 18:38:01
Me trust politicians..NAH. BTW, there are some who rank even below the worst of UMNO's, e.g. Hassan Ali is one of them, the other would be Ibrahim something (the turncoat from Kelantan) and the MP for Kulim. Actually not worth remembering their names for the are a shame to their parents, race, religion and Malaysia.
written by miwaki, September 23, 2009 18:42:46
Pete is being soft today,he just claimed that politicians are after "power".In fact most politicians are after "power","money" and "women".What is power and money without women ? Agree ?
written by MSA, September 23, 2009 18:50:37
Beautiful writeup YM RPK.

This retard hassan has to go the sooner the better for the S'gor state govt, PR and the people of selangor as a whole.
written by Sphinx, September 23, 2009 18:54:29
I totally agree with you Sir RPK.

Well for the opposition...it's been almost 1.5 years since you took over some states....show your performance...with you keeping to your manifesto for a start...form a shadow gov and set a KPI...prove to the people that you can do work....

_long Live The Rakyat_
written by eeyaw, September 23, 2009 18:55:04
Politics is dirty word not only in Malaysia but also elsewhere, the only difference is that the ruling party after 52 years of ruling feels it is the only one entitle to rule Malaysia & that's where the problem lies, it will stay onto power by hook or crook. Pakatan is a minnow with problems of infighting & back stabbers but I am prepared to support it & will not hesitate to critisize it if it erred just like our political activist, RPK.
written by Khan, September 23, 2009 19:12:13
YM RPK, ur article just reaffirms my worst fear. I have seen how politics in India works. In that country, irrespective of which party comes to power, they take their win as a licence to loot the country. My worst fear is that Malaysia may enter into that vicious cycle. We need more political activists like YM RPK to ensure that do not happen in our country!
written by Sterilizer, September 23, 2009 19:27:03
There are 2 reasons RPK wrote this article.
1. To speak his mind out (as usual) regarding untrustworthy politicians, which he is definitely not interested in becoming one, and
2. To tell the readers to vote someone out of Pakatan Rakyat, i.e. ask Hassan Ali to join UMNO.
written by confuseus, September 23, 2009 19:30:23
People,people... please dont get personal. This write up is not about certain individuals but about the system dismantled by TDM. Even if Anwar becomes PM, most likely he will continue looting our beautiful and damn rich country.
We need to rebuild the system and RPK can be our CHAMPION.

What say you, YM.

disagree 20
written by Fuminari, September 23, 2009 19:35:08
hassan ali = smeagol or gollum!!
don't u think so??
Gollum or Sméagol, a creature of "Hobbit-kind" who formerly possessed the One Ring, which caused him to turn almost wholly evil.
he looks like one,thinks like one n behaves like one.
written by anon, September 23, 2009 20:29:50
So when Raja Petra writes, everyone agrees. But when I write about the DAP, a lot in here are furious - and my article is 'lowly rated' - like I care. Even this article will face the same fate - again, like I care.

Let me put it this way. As far as I am concerned, UMNO, MCA, MIC, DAP, PAS, PR etc should cease to exist. Just have ONE opposition party - keADILan vs BN

The only party I would put my money on, if I have no choice, is keADILan. This party comes closed to representing ALL Malaysians.

To conclude, I say what Pete said:

Never trust politicians. They will use us when it best suits them. Then they will turn on us and betray the trust we gave them. And that is why the need for some of us to remain as political activists and not become politicians.
disagree 27
written by fireduck, September 23, 2009 20:39:54
First of all, politics being what it is, the 'other side' will always be trying to create problems and trouble for the ruling party. Selangor is no different, with the likes of Toyo and his devilish schemes getting explicit support from the top man in Putrajaya itself. And to make it worse for the Selangor state govt, it has got worms and viruses within its alliance.

The only way for sincere politicians in the Pakatan state govt to effect changes is for us rakyat to come out and nail that Toyo. There are questionable issues hanging over him, but it has to be concerned rakyat who has evidence of such, to come forward to nail him.

I believe that Toyo's existence as an ADUN this term, is solely to sabotage the Pakatan govt. Nothing else. He is definitely not in there to 'serve the rakyat'. So, it's our call. If he cannot be rid of now, then we must unequivocally tell him so at the ballot box the next General Election. We, the rakyat must get rid of Toyo.
written by Ghifarix, September 23, 2009 20:49:25
Well RPK we are on the same bench, we ain't envy not one of them, as you've said; they play the fool we whack their ungrateful selfish ass.
I think we can safely Whack this moron Ass & Ahli this UMNO prodigal, right now.
written by hakuna, September 23, 2009 20:53:14
Well said RPK, I only wish one day Malaysians of all ethnic background think themselves as human, then Malaysians and last their ethnic.
written by hellosunshine, September 23, 2009 21:02:32
RPK, since there are so many political parties here, why not form an Ombudsman party with no political association and neutral? I am sure most of us are willing to join this party to keep both the Federal and state gomens on their toes. I propose RPK to be the Chairman or President for Life. We can be the watchdog on all the nonsense and corruption that is so rampantly practiced now. Is this viable and can this party be formed? smilies/wink.gif
written by GoMalaysian.********.Com, September 23, 2009 21:21:10
This is a internal problem happen in Pakatan Rakyat!
just like what happen in Sarawak between DAP and PKR.

if Pakatan Rakyat still want to take over Kerajaan Pusat in PRU 13, this is a serious problems their should look into it!
written by antiilluminati, September 23, 2009 21:24:23
sir RPK,
am sad to hear about this, again and again... it's about race, race, race or racist issue again. God created many races so that so they could compliment each other, learn frm each other's goodness n greatness. Just like flowers, God made them different colours so they look beautiful when planted together.
http://time2berich.********.com
written by Steven Tan, September 24, 2009 00:27:12
I think the ONLY person who can solve the problem arised in Selangor Government is TGNA. As a most respected person among Muslim and Non Muslim TGNA is the most suitable person to advice YB Hassan Ali.
written by anon, September 24, 2009 00:34:57
Actually, there is only ONE party I will put my money on - without hesitation - and that part is ... RPK.
written by Hakim Joe, September 24, 2009 00:38:47
Hasan Ali is not dumb, just greedy. Why the post of MB? Money and power to be precise. He wants to be the one who calls the shots while living in a multi-million dollar mansion. He demands respect but he conveniently forgot that respect is earned. He knows that he cannot be MB with Pakatan and that his best opportunity lies with a coalition with Umno and he is willing to deal with the devil for a chance to have his name nominated [not that the Sultan of Selangor will agree] but it is better than not being nominated at all. He will of course get onto his knees and beg for the chance if he has to cos he also know that HRH can select but cannot sack a MB. Once he's in, then he's in and there's nothing the Sultan can do then.

However, RPK is wrong when he thinks that Hasan can get all the PAS assembly person to follow him. What he'll do is to gang up with a many as possible [from PAS and PKR] and then jump. There are 20 now with Umno and 36 with Pakatan. He needs 10 [including himself] to jump with him. There are 8 altogether in PAS. If they all jump, he'll just need another 2 from PKR [and there are 10 Muslim MPs in PKR including Azmin]. I don't think it is possible. I think what he'll do is to try to gang up the 9 from both PAS & PKR [from a base of 16 Muslim MPs - excluding Azmin & Khalid]. Not impossible but improbable.

That is why I think Hasan is now only posturing himself, hoping that his actions will get him more Malay votes in the next elections. He can't be the MB now but he is planning for the future. What he forgot is that he might get in the next time.

written by onnyap, September 24, 2009 03:44:09
Is Hassan Ali the same guy who hosted his 'Dear Thelma' live show in the 90s with TV3? I think it was the grave yard shift.
written by temenggong, September 24, 2009 08:50:16
Never trust politicians. They will use us when it best suits them. Then they will turn on us and betray the trust we gave them.

This has already happened. We can remind them in Bagan Pinang.
written by Lyon, September 24, 2009 09:37:38

I am totally with you on this. I too have told friends around that I will never join a political party and have also said that I don't trust politicians. If at all politicians fight for someone else's cause, it will be because they tend to reap benefits- this is my humble opinion.

Anyway, if you sir, were to enter into politics, you'll have to toe the line and will not be in a position to fight for the rakyat. So, sir, please be independent and continue to pursue your fight in your own inimitable way.

Cheers mate
written by Running Sardines, September 24, 2009 11:56:28
As long as politicians are self-centred, be it from BeEnd or Pakatan Rakyat, we the rakyat will suffer. Although there seems to be chaos inside Pakatan Rakyat, I still believe it is better than allowing BeEnd to steamroll over the Rakyat without any check and balance. My prayer is that our politicians will 'wake up' and stop doing all these destructive works. Otherwise, the common Rakyat, will be swamped by the economy difficulties caused by these politicians.
written by ABU SAYAB, September 24, 2009 12:53:58
AMENO has opened an account for him in CIMB or Mayban for doing all these stunts.
If BN overthrow PR in S'gor, he can happily abandon his God cos he will be filthy rich by then!!
Perhaps he and Toyo can have a jug of Carlsberge accompanied by China-dolls in Shah Alam too.
Only one word fits him.... HYPOCRITE
written by ROBERTNGTG, September 24, 2009 14:02:31
No doubt Umno is courting him. However, they are courting him not because he is a fantastic guy but because they know he lusts for the post of Menteri Besar. So they dangle this sweet carrot in front of his face and watch his mouth drool. Once Umno grabs Selangor they will then move into phase 2 of the plan. And phase 2 is how to get rid of Hassan Ali.

Actually, it is not that difficult to kill off Hassan Ali once he goes to bed with Umno.

BEER TAK BOLEH BUT KHALWAT WITH AMENO AND THEIR RM MILLIONS BOLEH. TOK, GET RID OF THIS MFKR WHO IS TRAMPLING ON YOUR MOON.
written by mob1900, September 24, 2009 14:16:14
written by rpremkumar2u, September 24, 2009 15:20:44
I am on the same page with RPK. Hassan Ali certainly has garnered his credentials with a view to a kill at the helm of the Selangor Govt. UMNO may say all they want about him but in the end he is just a pawn for their use and subsequent discard. Hassan Ali reminds me of a guy who thinks that by slapping bandages on our eyes, he can heal us of faulty and immoral vision.
written by Conan Chung, September 24, 2009 17:02:56

Why did you liken yourself to Che Guevara? Actually Che got involved directly with the revolution; sporting guns and commanding a battalion all by himself. He was the one who saved Fidel's ass when they were cornered by the government forces by intercepting a whole battalion while Fidel can slip away in the jungles. This battle was what subsequently lead to the successful revolution of the country.

But Che made a mistake: his apparent lack of follow-through and interest in leading a country means Fidel can have the country all to himself. And everyone in the world knows Fidel has become the embodiment of what he fights against! He killed the devil only to replace him. Why can't he take part in molding Cuba into the country he wished it would? It could be much better than what it is now. But like a romantis, he goes off looking for a new romance in Bolivia. And there he became like Christ.

So my advise to you is go look for your own Fidel. Once you find him, ally yourself with him for a revolution. But once its done, pass the power back to the people while you grab him by the balls. Act as our representative and don't just slip into oblivion. But don't stay too long until you become the evil you replace. We don't need history to repeat in Malaysia.
written by Super Admin, September 24, 2009 18:35:04
Dear Conan Chung, Che fought a guerrilla war. In those days it was fought in the jungles with guns. Today's guerrilla war is fought in the cyber-jungle. And, just like in any guerrilla war, we hit, run and hide. And we keep doing this until the government eventually falls. But our objective is not to get into power. Our objective is to put the right people in power.

Raja Petra
written by teo siew chin, September 25, 2009 10:08:44
"Me serve the rakyat? Nah!"
--------------------

I beg to differ !!

YM RPK is most certainly serving each and every rakyat - fighting against injustice, corruption, evil, inequality !!
His service to the rakyat is at the expense of his own freedom, without any promise of reward or power.
YM RPK will fight dirty politicians in power whether they be ruling or opposition, so obviously it is an ongoing battle, one frought with personal pain and sacrifices.
How many of us can honestly say we possess equal gut and gumption?

The indignance and anger at unnecessary loss of lives in a political struggle for and to remain in power is NOT reflected in the smiles of these very politicians as they celebrate at hari raya open houses! SICKENING !!
written by pillars, September 25, 2009 14:35:03
As long the party is race based (and religious based) .. RPK cant be retired , never runs out of topics. Which is a waste, he could contribute much much more of his time to the benefit of this nation or other humanity works.

God bless you RPK.
written by Conan Chung, September 25, 2009 14:41:49
written by Super Admin, September 24, 2009 18:35:04
Dear Conan Chung, Che fought a guerrilla war. In those days it was fought in the jungles with guns. Today's guerrilla war is fought in the cyber-jungle. And, just like in any guerrilla war, we hit, run and hide. And we keep doing this until the government eventually falls. But our objective is not to get into power. Our objective is to put the right people in power.

Raja Petra

_______________________________________________________ ________________________

Ok point taken, but make sure this "right people" does not turn out to be another Fidel Castro. And make sure you're still around to finish what you started.

Cheers!
written by tmf, September 25, 2009 17:34:15
RPK is a very effective ombudsman. If PR takes over the Federal Government,which we hope it will, the most appropriate position for RPK is the Head of Independent Commission For Good Governance.
written by yellowwoman, September 27, 2009 12:16:35
Why not let political activists run the country then?
Is it not possible?