Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Hindraf’s interpretation of the Current Malaysian Political reality

Hindraf’s interpretation of the Current Malaysian Political reality PDF Print
Wednesday, 23 September 2009 13:24

By Naragan N.

I refer to Ken Gan’s article in the Malaysin Mirror reproduced in Malaysia Today on 22nd of Sept 2009 entitled ‘The Indian dilemma and Hindraf’. He adds nothing new to our understanding of Malaysian politics. He just repeats what is already a common refrain from the DAP/PR viewpoint.

"Hindraf did not cause the tsunami of the 12th GE, Indians cannot get anywhere by engaging in monoethnic politics, the young PR state governments cannot do much, so it is unfair for Hindraf to bark up that tree, there are more Indian reps in the legislatures now than before, KBP fiasco was not a result of a Chinese government being unjust to the Indians, the key to solving the Indian problem is by need based affirmative action, not race based actions."

An episode like the destruction of Kampung Buah Pala reveals the reality of Malaysian politics. It is so blatantly clear that the forces arraigned against the poor villagers are big money, the DAP/PR state government and the federal UMNO/BN government. So effectively, we have a nexus of Big Money and the State against the marginalized people – the weakest section of Malaysian society, the Indian poor. Numerically, they are small; politically and economically, they are weakest. The way the State and Big Money has come down on them in the last few days speaks for itself.

Ken Gan and the likes of him do not quite understand the true basis of the conflict in KBP. It is not about Chinese and Indians, it is not about which tree we should bark up. It is not that simple. It is really about the structure of power and the concentration of power in the power elite of this country and they way they operate – often with impunity. The power elite of our country are:

1. The UMNO Putras
  2. The Chinese, Malay and Indian Big Money
  3. Big Business Executives
  4. Senior Civil Servants
  5. The Royalty
  6. The Foreign Corporations in the country

In order to better understand the way they operate, let me illustrate with the following example. Enough has been written on Kampung Buah Pala, so let me take another developing situation in Penang.

The way land issues are being dealt with in Penang is very telling. Decisions are being made craftily by the DAP/PR government in Penang that clearly favours the big moneyed developers. The latest issue is the corridor zoning issue in Tanjung Bungah in Penang. The residents of Tanjung Bungah say the State Draft Development Plan as it is written establishes the boundary of the primary corridor, which is the high density area, at a certain point before Tanjung Bungah. But the DAP/PR government now refers to the zoning map (another document, conveniently) which has extended the corridor boundary into Tanjung Bungah, which is contrary to the written document. They (DAP/PR Govt) say the Zoning map is the authoritative document, not the State Draft Development Plan.

You can actually see who the DAP/PR represents in this ambiguous situation. The way they have interpreted and decided, the Developers gain and the people of Tanjung Bungah stand to lose. This decision favours Big Money. In the case of Tanjung Bungah, the Penang State government cannot create the illusion of the Chinese government being wrongly accused on the basis of race. The DAP/PR government will continue to make decisions like this on land matters because this is where they have unfettered powers and where you can see them clearest.

I give this case which is about to explode in Penang, shortly, to clarify this reality of our Malaysian Politics. The conflicts around the country today has much to do with the way the Power elites operate. The instruments by which they operate are

1. Corrupting Money
  2. Know-who Networks
  3. Control Instruments such as:

i.     Parliamentary/Legislature Majority

ii.     The appointment of judges

iii.     The ISA

iv.     The Seditions Act

v.     The Official Secrets Act

1. Synergistic use the different instruments of control      
  2. Media created Illusions

It is becoming clear that it does not matter whether it is BN or PR who hold the reins of power, ultimately it is the power elite in the background that wields true power. BN/PR are illusions of a difference. There is very little difference, especially for the poor and the marginalized. Ultimately, politics is about how the resources of the country are divided up. So, more to the poor and marginalized will mean less to the rich and powerful. And when the rich and the powerful control the resource decision making levers of the country, what you can expect is a continuation of the poverty creating and marginalization processes. That is what Hindraf is realizing now after 18 months of PR governments in the 4 states. This is the politico-economic basis of this change in Hindraf’s view.

Hindraf said, recognize the heritage value of the KBP village as a basis for retaining the village for the poor – this is a reasonable position to take given the history. But Big Money does not care for all this, they just brush it aside with impunity, create an illusion of greedy villagers and a racist Hindraf in the media. This is not the work of UMNO or BN but the work of DAP and PR. So what is the difference between them in fronting for the Power Elite? Not much. When the villagers argue on the basis of their equity in the land, the entire Power Elite operate to marginalize them as powerless squatters – the courts, the police, the federal and state government and the media. So when Hindraf stands up for the Indian villagers, they are standing up against this powerful nexus in the country.

In effect Hindraf is now fast evolving to represent the interest of the Indian working class. Though it originated as a Hindu Rights Group, today it is evolving into an organization that represents the Indian working class interest. Since both UMNO and the PR are trampling upon working class interests with impunity, Hindraf finds itself diametrically opposed to both coalitions. And it is not afraid to speak up, so speak up it does regardless of who is involved.

Some (like Ken Gan in their supreme wisdom) may and do say this is foolish. When both sides continue to hurt you, it will only be foolish to not speak up for what is happening now. What use is the illusion of a carrot sometime out in a dubious future? One can only be spoilers if there is going to be substantive change. When there is not going to be change, where is the issue of being a spoiler?

I feel Ken Gan’s superficial articulation of the situation is a purposeful attempt to damage the Hindraf point of view which is too close to the truth for the comfort of the Power Elite. He tries to marginalize Hindraf – create an illusion of disarray, promote arguments such as why is Hindraf being racist - marginalization and poverty exists in all races, mono-ethnic politics is a thing of the past and so on. People like Ken Gan just become spokespersons for the continuing source of injustice in our country against all - Malays, Chinese and Indians.

But we must all work to demolish the illusion that he and the likes of him try to create, so we can all get the change we so sorely desire. True change, not what political parties promise.

Vive La Makkal

written by born2reign, September 23, 2009 14:18:21
Tell me Hindraf,
If your father sold your house and land to a kwai loh (foreigner):

A) after your father passed away, can you as an Indian son claim back the properties AT NO EXTRA COST?
B) after that kwai loh foreigner passed away, can you as an Indian son claim back the properties AT NO EXTRA COST?

I believe even you bash up that kwai loh foreigner, you will be labelled a violent crazy son.
Or even if you force him to sign the land over, it will still be criminal.

You have an issue with your father who sold his land.
In this instance, your father is Gerakan.
BTW your father forgot to buy or have the land transferred to his name, so is it his land in the first place?

Sorry here Hindraf, you can blame the Chinese, the developers, the Malays, if the Kg Buah Pala folks accepted the terrace houses, at least each one can sell it for RM500,000 in Penang, upon completion. Or have a roof over his head. Without any capital dumped in.

When you want to gamble, always know when to stop.
written by hellosunshine, September 23, 2009 14:30:57
After 30 years of racial and religious discrimination and segregation policies by Mahathir, you expect PR to change the mindset of everyone in 18 months??? Rome wasn't built in a day and especially the rakyat's psyche needs time to be healed and altered. You keep harping on Penang gomen being Chinese blah blah blah. Now take, for example, a company owned or managed by an Indian. In all honesty, do you dare to disagree with me when I say that this Indian guy would employ mainly or preferably, Indians as employees and suppliers? This is the problem we are all facing after Mahathir and we really need to take off our racial and religious blinkers if Malaysia is to succeed as a peaceful and progressive nation for all. smilies/wink.gif
written by C360, September 23, 2009 14:59:54
Sounds so like umno.

First compromise their own, then scream others are attacking them. Then claim to be defenders and upholders of justice.

Blah !
written by Wisdom above, September 23, 2009 15:31:10
Wake up! Fight for the rights of the poor and oppressed multi-racial Anak Bangsa Malaysia. Let's be colour blind to survive in a Two Party Political System.Syabas.
written by mountainking, September 23, 2009 15:34:47
suddenly influx of MIC and race based writers cum commentators who are trying to put each other down (by race).

now, finally turning HINDRAF into another UMNO or MIC.
written by Spear Bing, September 23, 2009 15:48:16
Hindraf wants to be a pee wee giant that can hardly win any constituency without the help of Chinese and Malays.

Somehow they lost their bearing, perhaps pride and arrogance have overtaken them.

When will they ever learn?
written by temenggong, September 23, 2009 16:04:41
What is happening is more and more people are slowly recognising the KBP fiasco for what it is; LGE capitulated to capitalist developers and DAP's socialism and social justice is in disarray. DAP leaders themselves ashamedly admit to this. And to compound it it just so happens the villagers are Indians and the CM is a Chinese. Let's wait and see how they manage the Tanjong Tokong issue. Already we see Anwar taking an unusually large interest when he was very silent on KBP.
disagree 17
written by Stormquest, September 23, 2009 16:43:57
Many Malaysians gave up communal based politics in the March 8 general elections, on the grounds that there would be a better future for everyone. This is particularly so amongst the Indians who literally gave up communal politics, by abandoning MIC almost completely. Many Indians believed in the “Malaysian Malaysia” concept, being espoused by DAP. In fact, it was DAP who came out and told Indians that they were king makers, not Hindraf.

DAP’s mishandling of KBP and the ensuing comments from non-Indians proved that while Indians were truly ready for non-communal politics, the parties concerned were not. It comes as a major disappointment to many Indians who put a lot of trust and faith in the “Malaysian Malaysia” concept. Word on the street is that the Indians will either abstain from voting for either PR or BN, or will spoil their votes in the upcoming Bagan Pinang by elections.

It’s a sad state of affairs, but the reality today is that we have Malaysian Malaysians, One Malaysians and Other Malaysians.
written by jason, September 23, 2009 17:49:40
Don't we get tired of this Hindraf claim of Maikkal Sakhti that won 2008GE. I voted PR not because of Hindraf's action but because of UMNO/BN abusing the RAKYAT. Threatening the RAKYAT with May 13, calling us Pendatang, corruption etc. It was never about race whether Malay, Indian, Chinese. If it is about race, I would not have vote for a PAS candidate. I did not even know the candidates but as long as it is not UMNO/BN it is fine with me. PR presents us, THE RAKYAT, an alternative. A government for the RAKYAT. The RAKYAT power is what matters. In this sense, the indian's term Maikkal Sakhti is appropriate. It means people's power, THE RAKYAT's power not Indian power. As for the Kampong Buah Pala folks, I am sorry to say they have been manipulated by their own leaders, otherwise they are just plain greedy and stupid not to accept a house worth half a million ringgit.
written by Rainbowseahorse, September 23, 2009 17:58:24
Indians voters are either refraining from voting or spoil their vote?
Well, good for you! Then roll on the next GE and we all quietly wait another 50 odd years for the BN to come up with another 1Malaysia concept and promises for equality for all "anytime soon"!

Yup, I think we all should do exactly that! Just have plenty of grease ready while the BN continue to sodomise us all; yah!
written by carribeanking7, September 23, 2009 18:01:43
Quote :
"Hindraf did not cause the tsunami of the 12th GE, Indians cannot get anywhere by engaging in monoethnic politics, the young PR state governments cannot do much, so it is unfair for Hindraf to bark up that tree, there are more Indian reps in the legislatures now than before, KBP fiasco was not a result of a Chinese government being unjust to the Indians, the key to solving the Indian problem is by need based affirmative action, not race based actions."

Naragan quoted above as tired rethoric that we already know and that its nothing new,maybe so , but it has to be repeated so many times precisely because it does not get into the thick skulls of "the likes of Naragan".

Naragan quotes,
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The UMNO Putras
The Chinese, Malay and Indian Big Money
Big Business Executives
Senior Civil Servants
The Royalty
The Foreign Corporations in the country
Corrupting Money
Know-who Networks
Control Instruments such as:
i. Parliamentary/Legislature Majority

ii. The appointment of judges

iii. The ISA

iv. The Seditions Act

v. The Official Secrets Act

Synergistic use the different instruments of control
Media created Illusions
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Can you count how much of those things mentioned is under direct or indirect control of the Federal government ?

Class struggle ? Really now ? You think there is no class struggle between the Malay poor and the Malay elite ? You think class struggles are unique to Malaysia ?
On Aug 06th 2009, 80% of the villagers agreed to the compensation, why was it spurned and turned over by a minority ? Why did Hindraf activists not join the other activists there and hold exclusive meetings with the villagers to excluse others ? What experience does Hindraf have compared to seasoned activists like PSM in negotiating for relocation compensation ?

If you say that Kenny Gan has missed the point on several counts you my well intentioned friend Naragan have missed the planet and landed on the moon.

Sorry to sound the way I do, but Kenny has suggested that "the key to solving the Indian problem is by need based affirmative action, not race based actions."

So rather than go into a convoluted argument on class struggle and zoning laws, go and check with those in the property industry if you do not know, the Zoning map is the default document of reference, in cases of discrepancy that you mentioned it needs to be adjudicated in court.Focus what you want to talk about rather than flit from KBP, Tanjung Tokong, I sa, Sedition , class struggle and jump all over the place.

Speak up by all means Naragan, it would be sad if there was no check and balance against any government including PR, but please do your homework/research so others dont point out flaws on the basis of your argument, otherwise it does a disservice to those you are trying to speak up for.An article just 2 pages long can take up to 60 to 100 pages of research, its not about just speaking your mind but prsenting a compelling argument, otherwise the valid points that you try to make will be ignored and the contencious ones shot.

Regards

written by goldeneye, September 23, 2009 21:16:53
Naragan,

I've read Kenny Gan's article and I've read what you wrote here and I have this to say. Kenny Gan articulates much clearer than you. I can't for the life of me catch what you're trying to say. So big money is working with politicians to marginalize the poor? A very general and nebulous idea. So this means all working class people irrespective of race are affected. So why is Hindraf creating a big racial fuss out of KBP? What is your solution? More Hindraf racism? Hindraf playing the spoiler doesn't matter because PR is as bad as BN? So is Malay based affirmation action with scraps for other races better? What are you trying to say Naragan? If needs based affirmative action for all races doesn't work (you haven't told us why) how is Hindraf in it's present form going to uplift Indians? By screaming for more Tamil schools and Hindu temples?

You whole article is just one big beating round the bush and then saying nothing. If you don't agree with the point in Ken's article then tell us why!

written by Wakeupmsia, September 25, 2009 00:59:32
Naragan, please abstain from voting PR if you so desire. Vote BN - nay. So, where will you be - neither here nor there.