Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow OTK - What a crafty bugger!

OTK - What a crafty bugger! PDF Print
Sunday, 20 September 2009 16:54

By Eyes Wide Open

Those of you who remember my "behind the scenes" peek at the MCA, will remember I said Chua Soi Lek is Najib's proxy in the attempt to make MCA even more of the eunuch it already is.

OTK, for whatever reasons - elevate himself to hero status, real sense of integrity and professionalism, or fighting for MCA's survival - decided to make a real attempt at getting to the bottom of the PKFZ mega-scandal.

He has been resisted at every point - accussations, lawsuits, smear campaigns, etc. Then OTK reveals a million-ringgit attempt to remove him from MCA (no guessing who's gonna replace him then la).

OTK checked that attempt by sacking CSL from the MCA. With CSL out of the way, there would be no other viable UMNO proxy in the MCA.

But after that, there was the struggle for who gets to have the EGM. OTK seemed to have the upper hand as he had control of the entire Presidential machinery. But CSL had strong grassroots support, so it was still a toss up who would win the EGM game.

But, surprises of surprises, OTK CONCEDED the entire EGM agenda to CSL!! It wasn't even a merged agenda but it was entirely the CSL camps agenda.

Now this is extremely unusual as we have seen so far that OTK is a no-holds-barred, take-no-prisoners politician. It is not like him to concede anything. Was he pressured?

Could be.

Did anyone notice that all the media attacks on OTK ceased around the time he announced he conceded the EGM agenda to CSL? Was that part of the bargain - OTK's personal survival in exchange for his political surrender? Hmmm...

Read more at: OTK - What a crafty bugger!

Comments (8)Add Comment
written by uxzee, September 20, 2009 17:38:47
Let us hope that this fight drags on as it is taking the full concentration of the OTK and CSL's team and also the UMNO and PDRM. After the EGM whatever the outcome, there is bound to be 2 MCA factions which is good for PR. The MCA publicity now will kill interest in BN.
written by Richfyf, September 20, 2009 17:53:42
I hope CSL overthrow OTK. Not that I support any of them. Just love to see the turmoil goes deeper and prolong longer. Any turmoil in BN is an opportunity for PR. I dont really care who becomes the President of MCA.
written by Victory or Death, September 20, 2009 22:31:15
As I posted earlier,
Chua wins, MCA accelerates towards self-destruction.
Ong wins death is delayed slightly albeit certain.

There won't be any fundamental difference whoever wins.
But if Chua wins ,it will be a better blessing for the rakyat and PR because MCA will be seen as a stooge party and will crumble quickly.
There might even be an exodus of MCA MPs crosssing to PR led by OTK.

Then PR must vet all applicants carefully.
written by jangantipu, September 20, 2009 23:27:18
We must never accept a tainted man and a stooge as a President whoever he may be.
written by Ron, September 21, 2009 00:04:40
We have accepted a tainted man as the pm,so president also boleh.
written by Kathy, September 21, 2009 03:06:13
These two factions within MCA are fighting to gain control of the party. If they purport to represent the Chinese community then they should think of the greater good and patch their differences. It is obvious the struggle for power is personal - winner takes all, i.e. he can carry on to make more money for himself and his cronies. Typical Malaysian politics.
written by educationist, September 21, 2009 06:18:04
I am no fan nor supporter of the MCA but at least under OTK the PKFZ scandal has seen the light of day!!
I hope the writer is correct!!
With the UMNOputras keen to get rid of OTK, i do wonder, how long he'll last!!