Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow Looking beyond race

Looking beyond race PDF Print
Sunday, 20 September 2009 15:29

Tricia Yeoh

ANY right-thinking Malaysian should be increasingly disturbed by recent incidents that are rocking the multiethnic boat. These events coalesce in our minds into one thing: the nation is riddled with racialist individuals.

While Malaysia battles with numerous other problems, ethnic relations is considered the primary wild animal to tame, and rightly so, since without equality of opportunity what pride can one take in one’s birth country?

The feeling of helplessness and disquiet is of course not new. Yes, recently a cow head was stomped on to protest against the building of a temple in a Muslim-majority area (cows are sacred to the Hindus). Yes, certain newspapers allow opinion pieces that read, “nothing can stand in the way of ensuring only Malay and Muslim rights are defended”. While one does not want to dilute the severity and gravity of these, Malaysians should not be particularly shocked.

Official policy in Malaysia already sets the fertile ground upon which ethnocentrism can grow and flourish. This has been debated at length, and many view the country’s socio-economic policies as being unable to contribute constructively towards building a united nation.

The unfettered overzealousness in ensuring the advancement of a particular ethnic group turned sour over the years, never mind that the constitution actually emphasises the well-being of all ethnic groups equally. Our race-based political structure does not help either, and has in fact proven instrumental in promoting division.

The nation stands confused and bewildered in the wake of irrational attitudes towards race, a tragedy indeed as we celebrate 46 years of Malaysia’s formation today. Our frail attempts at national unity seem to have all but shattered.

What has become of mutual respect, understanding and compassion towards the other, all of which form fundamental elements of every religion? What should we make of sloganeering 1Malaysia when with one hand we cradle the platitudes of various motherhood statements, and with the other we fan the flames of racist sentiment?

Comments (6)Add Comment
written by PeacefulMalaysia, September 20, 2009 15:53:00
I am very disturbed as you are.

One issue I really feel sorry for is my lovely brother an Indian guy who is qualified, very experienced and honest and he has been denied 3 very senior banking positions , reasons "THIS POSITION IS FOR A BUMI" .

So what is this 1 MALAYSIA all about.
The banking industry need good very senior,qualified, very experience, honest (the MALAYS DONT HAVE THIS) and capable people and here there is no (read the edge on this gentlemen Oct 2007) where he was called to restructure a BUMI company which was raped by the BUMI's and he did a splendid job. After which he was given a pat on the back and said his services will be taken over by a BUMI.
So this gentlemen is out hunting for a decent position to turn around and redeem.
Please help him.
If you need his contact email me at - This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it
and I will furnish you his details.
HE IS A STRONG BELIEVER OF BEING A MALAYSIAN and AGREES WITH BEING 1 MALAYSIA.
Some one pls help him
written by red1, September 20, 2009 16:51:40
we should not be pessimistic. Malaysia does not belong to any group of people who has narrow myopic views based on racial lines. We can overcome with a real idea of Malaysia that is progressive and dynamic.
written by Siebel, September 20, 2009 17:11:24
PeacefulMalaysia,
Tell your brother to write to headhunters in Malaysia, Singapore, HK and Australia. He will be well-placed since he has all the credentials.

If he has a family, the hirer will pay for his family's re-location as well.
This may be a blessing in disguise.....an opportunity to start a life outside Malaysia which doesn't know how to retain its talent pool.

Michael Page is one head-hunting company which specialises for the banking industry. You can search for its website easily via ****** or yahoo.
The banking industry is picking up now........

Tell your brother not to be disheartened....just get going with head-hunters.

All the best to him!
written by harryo, September 20, 2009 17:21:11
I am so confused with Malaysian leaders and 1Malaysia. Cakap tak serupa bikin.
written by KingSolomon, September 20, 2009 21:40:07
Racialists :
1. The rulers
2. Mahashithead
3. All AMNO leaders and their staunch supporters
4. Hindraf leaders
5. The police
written by Ghifarix, September 21, 2009 09:14:24
Yes; Say it loud an clear! But lets also admit we wouldn't have MIC MCA if UMNO alone was racist, demagogic. In fact these are the Politburo of our racist manifestations, but our racism goes deeper than the above.

The polemic can be seen through our daily interaction in the streets, our behavior at the Traffic lights, shopping Malls, Super Markets, job Markets i.e. mannerism.

I've seen it in the classroom, and the proverbial line to the door or the cashier and the counter.

There are no justification for racism until we consider the basic underlying in our behavior and this goes for every one of us.

Don't bother to vote on this contribution if you aren't prepared to have a good look at your own community more or less you choice of acquaintance.