Home arrow Guest Columnists arrow Tee Keat says will quit if Chua reinstated

Tee Keat says will quit if Chua reinstated PDF Print
Saturday, 19 September 2009 14:44

(Malaysian Mirror) - Embattled MCA president Ong Tee Keat has threatened to step down if his sacked deputy Chua Soi Lek is reinstated at an upcoming extraordinary general meeting.

The straight-talking no-nonsense chief confirmed red-hot speculation by the grassroots that the Oct 10 EGM will be an all-out, winner-takes-all battle.    

“They will have to make a choice. Once a simple majority is obtained, I will be left with no choice but to step down,” Tee Keat was quoted as saying in the Star on Saturday.

“Anyone who argues that I do not need to do so, or that only a two-thirds majority is needed to boot me out is a great lie.’’

But despite the non-reconciliatory stance taken by both Tee Keat and Chua, political watchers say it is still early and new developments could take place within the next three weeks that could persuade either or both men to soften their aggression towards each other.

“For example, Prime Minister Najib Abdul Razak may try to defuse the situation by getting the two to negotiate further even though publicly he has said he will interfere. But privately, I am sure as head of Barisan Nasional, he must be worried,” said a veteran party observer.

Ulterior motives 

Tee Keat also lambasted Chua for not appealing his sacking, saying that the lack of respect for the Sept 16 deadline only showed Chua’s camp – which is believed to include past MCA presidents Ling Liong Sik and Ong Ka Ting – had ulterior motives.chua-soi-lek-ong-tee-keat.png

Both Ling and Ka Ting – both Ministers during their time in power – have been implicated in the RM12.5 billion Port Klang Free Zone financial debacle along with several top Umno leaders.

Speculation has swirled that this powerful group is trying to stop Tee Keat – the current Transport Minister – from further exposing the scandal.

“Once you do not appeal to the central committee for any disciplinary matter, the case is considered closed,” said Tee Keat. “By now, it is clear that the game plan is not to reinstate him but to remove me.”

Entire presidential team may quit

Tee Keat faces five resolutions submitted by supporters of Chua, who requisitioned the meeting after a Tee Keat-backed disciplinary board sacked him for his involvement in a 2007 sex scandal that tarnished the party’s image.

The resolutions to be tabled are (1) a motion of no-confidence against Tee Keat (2) to annul the decision by the presidential council to expel Chua (3) to reinstate Chua as MCA deputy president (4) to  revoke any appointments including the deputy president made before the EGM and (5) that no disciplinary action be taken against the EGM requisitionists.

Tee Keat warned that if the presidential council’s decision to reinstate Chua is annulled to pave way for his reinstatement is passed, all 22 members in the top decision-making body  including Housing and Local Government Minister Kong Cho Ha, Health Minister Liow Tiong Lai and Deputy Education Wee Ka Siong would have to quit as well.

“If this happens, the entire presidential council, which I head, will have to go because this was a collective decision and not one man’s decision,” said Tee Keat.

“I am not forcing anyone to do so but going by the ground rules of the game, in the name of democracy, this is an unavoidable outcome.”

written by aisyalam, September 19, 2009 15:01:47
BOTH OF U...GO HOLANGKAN
written by TwilightYears, September 19, 2009 15:09:23
Going by this article, it looks as if the whole corrupted gang of criminals in Ling Liong Sik, Ong Kah Ting and Chua Soi Lek are going for OTK's blood. They may have forgotten that Ling has been trying to "kill" OTK when OTK was the youth's leader. OTK has always been a thorn in the flesh of Ling Liong Sik. What golden opportunity Chua Soi Lek has created for Ling to make his move. Chua Soi Lek, having soiled his family name, is only a pawn in the game. Ling knew that Chua will never be a minister even if he is the president of MCA, not in a govt claiming to be "islamic" in approach.

I have always respected OTK, the only contemporary MCA leader that I give this respect. He has won the battle with the invincible Ling Liong Sik during Ling's iron control over MCA. He will not likely to give up fighting, and fight he must and he will. If MCA will to change, OTK is the right man. China would not be able to change to what it is today without MaoTseTung. MCA will not change without "bloodshed" from Ling, Chua and OngKahTing. The superior man will win the battle and the war. The group of corrupt men and adulterer will not win if MCA members and delegates are men of substance. But then, the Chinese looks down on MCA because MCA has members who as as corrupted as Ling and possesses no integrity.

Being not a MCA member, I would hope that Chua Soi Lek win the battle and all the supreme council members resign. This would cause a much greater problem for BN as the vice presidents are also deputy ministers and ministers. If the Ling/Chua group comes in, many of them have to beg for senatorship to hold the post. Chinese leaders will have to beg UMNO leaders for this. Chinese Leaders then will lose all dignity befitting leaders of a big coalition. Chinese leaders will walk behind Najib with their tails wagging, and head drooped low. Especially Chua, he would crave for a Minister's post and being a Minister, he would not dare to look straight into people's eyes when he visits VVIP locally or from overseas. He would be despised by all who cross his path. He would be the most thick skinned, evil, amoral character in the history of MCA. MCA is already facing crisis in integrity and honour. With CHUA, MCA is an epitome of evil and corruption.

PKR will celebrate. Unless of course MCA leaders run to Tok Guru to ask for his blessings..... but then Tok Guru will tell them to repent before anyone can ask for Grace from the Almighty .

Best of luck to OTK.
written by KingSolomon, September 19, 2009 16:02:26
As a matter of principle, all the EGM requisitionists must stick to their promise to vote for Chua since they have pocketed the money reported to be as high as RM35,000 each. Then we will see whether Ong will kept to his word that he and the whole presidential council will resign. Killing two birds with one stone.
written by Fuminari, September 19, 2009 16:02:30
wow,for ongtalkock ,it is really 'showhand' or 'sailang' now!!!!!but for chuasexlick,it is definitely not obviously n that's why he has 5 resolutions to shoot at.so it is either 'mau cari angpow' or 'mau cari amoi' to choose now.
written by Ghifarix, September 19, 2009 16:12:17
Quit la, it might be better for you to do so now.
What make you feel SOIL (dirty) LEK, wouldn't face the music when PR assumes their role as Gomen. Gangsters fighting each other and expect the RAKYAT to take sides.
written by Fuminari, September 19, 2009 16:13:55
Both Ling and Ka Ting – both Ministers during their time in power – have been implicated in the RM12.5 billion Port Klang Free Zone financial debacle along with several top Umno leaders.
Speculation has swirled that this powerful group is trying to stop Tee Keat – the current Transport Minister – from further exposing the scandal.
“Once you do not appeal to the central committee for any disciplinary matter, the case is considered closed,” said Tee Keat. “By now, it is clear that the game plan is not to reinstate him but to remove me.”

i'm definitely not a mca supporter n not even that as far as ongtalkock is concerned;but there is a certain element of truth on the matter judging upon what has been developing lately on PKFZ,the super task force n with respective to RPK heroic disclosure on the same subject!!
written by SiHangChai, September 19, 2009 18:00:20
You are welcomed to QUIT!!!

Anti-OTK Coalitions of Ampang smilies/angry.gif
written by Jan, September 19, 2009 18:34:53
OTK, if you lose go form MCA Baru. Old MCA habis with a porn star at the helm. Nobody will want to support a party with its head with such loose morals. Meanwhile if you win go all out and nail those PKFZ culprits the people will naturally come back to support you if you did.
written by yy88, September 19, 2009 19:04:40
Does it matters to the Chinese community which of this pariah disgraceful 'dog' wags its tail better in between their legs when the UMNO big 'dogs' hound at them?
No offend intended to the true loyal dogs of the animal kingdom.
written by allmenarebrothers, September 19, 2009 19:23:10
Dear Tee Keat
You don't have to worry much about the Long Sick Man and the Soiled Leg Man.
The Long Sick Man is very much enfeebled by a long-standing sickness due to divine punishment for his many sins connected with PKFZ & Transmile Bhd scandals. The Soiled Leg Man's only weapon left in his armoury is his water pistol which was put to much use in a hotel in Batu Pahat. This weapon has been over-used.
So Don't Worry Be Happy! This is the first lesson from Sun Tzu's The "Art of War": Know the weakness of your enemy.
written by biggun129, September 19, 2009 20:51:52
Tee Keat said, 'All the President's men must leave if he is voted out!', do you think so? It was because of these kind of comments that Tee Keat is losing his ground! He forget to remember 'No one is indispensible!' Poor Tee Keat, he is really not the right choice to be MCA's President!
written by Jan, September 19, 2009 21:48:34
OTK no need to leave. CSL suspended for 4 years instead. Does that mean no more EGM?