Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow Malaysian minister drags Singapore into Southeast Asia's simmering culture war

Malaysian minister drags Singapore into Southeast Asia's simmering culture war PDF Print
Friday, 18 September 2009 21:34

By The Asia File

Just when Malaysia and Indonesia seemed ready to end their ridiculous kulturkampf over traditional dances and batik, Malaysia's tourism minister has dragged Singapore into the fray, implicitly accusing the neighbouring city-state of "hijacking" its food.

"We cannot continue to let other countries hijack our food," tourism minister Ng Yen Yen told reporters at the launch of a gourmet food festival in Kuala Lumpur.

She went on to cite dishes such as chilli crab, laksa, and bak kut teh as examples of Malaysian dishes that had been hijacked by others, with Singapore presumably at the top of that list.

Without a hint of irony, she even singled out "Hainanese chicken rice" as an authentic Malaysian dish that had been stolen by interlopers, according to The Star newspaper.

All these dishes, incidentally, are listed by the Singapore Tourism Board as quintessential Singaporean fare.

Apparently this was more than idle banter as Ng explained that over the next three months, the Malaysian government would "identify certain key dishes to declare as Malaysian".

Read more at: http://theasiafile.blogspot.com/2009/09/malaysian-minister-drags-singapore-into.html

written by onnetline, September 18, 2009 21:51:07
We have a fcukking moronic Tourism minister in the form of Ng Yen Yen making stupid claims of things to embarrassed Malaysia !
written by Namolos, September 18, 2009 21:52:52
By claimimg "Hainanese chicken rice " as an authentic Malaysian dish...this MCA brainless bitch as Malaysian tourism minister Ng Yen Yen is the ultimate low life representing the educational levels of our Malaysian Ministers.

If they are the best our PM can find, then Allah please help Malaysia.
written by arazak, September 18, 2009 22:08:03
Oh yeah! How about copy right register these recipes being constantly fed to Malaysian;

Masak Lomak rebung Recond Isa
Rice Ya Steam with otak udang
Chucor Badak Big Fat C4
Chuchor Kodok lompat Ibrahim Ali
Tempeh Goreng Toyol Bali Garden
Burung Tiong bercili PKFZ
Sup Torpedo Tamby Chick

Chicken Tandori Samy Value (sorry cannot eat, expired!)

Hey they should also include makan “rasuah” in the menu exclusive for Malaysia. Singapore doesn’t have that. . !
written by Old Man, September 18, 2009 22:28:43
Ng Yen Yen, now that you're filthy rich that you can afford to fly to Hainan Island to eat Hainanese Chicken Rice and then fly back to Malaysia to shit on the same day!
smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by tokioRain, September 18, 2009 23:01:02
really no other issue to bring up ar? stupid stupid stupid b!tch of a minister.
written by penangboi, September 18, 2009 23:31:30
Again and again, the childish and immature antics of BN leaders show what sort of calibre our ministers are.

We are doomed for sure if such 'leaders' are left free to reign.

We have the likes of that Yemen idiot earlier, then that imbecilic Sabahan foreign minister spewing verbal diarrhia in US; Hissmooooooodin with his cow-head fiasco and threat of locking everyone in Kamunting under ISA. Not to be left behind the recent star was Rice Yatim making that english-mocking statement, and now this stupid woman opening her mouth without thinking first.

While all these are happening, our top 'capable' leader is pretending that nothing is happening. Come to think of it, Najis should be crowned the biggest Pretender of Malaysia.

This is how he operates. He just ignores and pretends that he sees and hears nothing, buries his head in the sand and all the problems will automatically disappear. A tactic he puts to great use in the Altantuya and Submarine commission scandal cases.
written by songsar, September 19, 2009 01:30:52
The tourism minister is a real cutia, she is a real moron and she came from Ruab, she should go grab some cynaide from the gold mine and swallow it instead of talk cock sing song. You claim chicken rice is yours, BALLS to you, you name me one place in the country where you can get good chicken rice. The laksa, other than the assam laksa at the market in Air Hitam, Penang, there is nothing to shout about. FYI, the chicken rice at the Mandarin Hotel in Singapore is world famous and you can go to any shop, be it at the hawker center or coffee shop, their chicken rice is so much better than in Malaysia .How can she claim that it is a Malaysian dish, on what basis?? when Air Asia last year or year before in an article in their in-flight magazine did say that the dish originates from Hainan island. Stop making stupid claims. Can you say something sensible and constructive, otherwise shut up please. If you are so keen you can start by declaring how you screw in bed the various variations and have it patented so that others cannot do it as you would have done it.
written by Shimshon, September 19, 2009 02:49:21

Ng Yen Yen - just like the Melayus - who're timid before the damn Indons.

Those Indons go on the streets/openly (re: Internet, Media, etc) declared war (ie KILLING) on Malaysians (ie the Melayus, the ones who call the Indons, Bangsa Serumpun, but call the Chinese, Indians, etc as Bangsa Asing, Pendatang) - as if the Konfrantasi of the 1960s has been ongoing till this 21st century, continued by the grandchildren of that era.

Those Indons who forever consider Malaysia(re: the Melayus) their (Rebellious) Little Brother, the Inferior/Low-class Ones - but the Melayus still keep looking up to them, because they(the Melayus, the Master Race Malays) hate us Chinese, Indians, ones who pay more taxes, who're more productive, who help the Malays via Dasar Ekonomi Baru/Ketuanan Melayu/Social Contract - which is an Affirmative Action, but nope! it's the Master-Slave Policy!!

Dare pick a fight with (Chinese) Singapore, dare express outrage/hostility on the streets, and in the media, if Singapore makes a petty comment that offend the Malay-Muslim Malaysia -- but are so cool, casual, indifferent when the Indons provoke, insult, humiliate, etc Malaysia!

Another point: Singapore is part of Malaysia (re: Johor) - and Singapore's 3 major races like Malaysia is Malay, Chinese, Indians.

So just leave Singapore alone you Chinese Ng Yen Yen! Act like the Melayus, who consider/call/refer the Indons as 'Bangsa Serumpun' --
and openly all Malaysian Chinese refer to the Singapore(eans) as 'Bangsa Serumpun)
written by Davy McChester, September 19, 2009 06:06:59
Humanity,I think,needs this to go on so that we all can revert to where we started,having things unique to us. Throw out anything not native to each race,in that process we will have to throw out all foreign religion,foreign food,customs,cultures. Remain uniquely us,which basically means not knowing what that really means. Give me a break ! Leave small minds alone
written by cocomomo, September 19, 2009 07:22:54
How insulting to the people of Malaysia to have the "quality" of ministers we have!!
Foreigners haugh at Malaysia thinking Malaysians must be a really dumb sub-standard lot to have such "leaders"
written by cocomomo, September 19, 2009 07:23:49
haugh = laugh
written by rpremkumar2u, September 19, 2009 22:56:03
I just am amazed at the fluidity of this so called Tourism Minister and a qualified medical doctor at that. How does one reconcile to her utter idiocy when she spews manure about the origins of authentic hawker fare? She has made herself the laughing stock (pun intended) of the entire culinary folks.