Home arrow The Blogs arrow A Republic of Virtue arrow Instead of plagiarising, teach critical thinking

Instead of plagiarising, teach critical thinking PDF Print
Friday, 18 September 2009 00:49

Critical thinking is also not about running in the streets screaming for this or that change; it is a process of intellectual embodiment and the democratisation of one's personal understanding of the intellectual basis of change.

Azly Rahman http://azlyrahman-illuminations.blogspot.com

Knowledge which is acquired under compulsion obtains no hold on the mind. - Plato

I once taught Thinking Skills, Foreign Policy, and Ethics. My approach towards Teaching Thinking was about increasing the capacity of the mind to explore newer perspectives, make critical judgment, and envision a scenario of a society of peace and justice, based on the principles of multiculturalism.

I value such an experience and have grown with it. We need to create and nurture a culture of thinking in a world that is increasing hostile to radical and ethical ideas.

In my teaching, the approach combines universal ethical values, creativity, critical thinking and problem solving, and futuristics. I think there is value in such an approach.

If we can radicalise student thinking, teach them to stand for their rights, give them choices in thinking, have them articulate great ideas in their own words, we can make them better graduates.

We can train them to become good ethical revolutioners that will remove oppressive and corrupt leaders and redesign a society that will continue to rejuvenate itself.

We can teach them to punish polluters – especially corporations that dump poison into our rivers or puff deadly smoke into our environment. We can teach them to demand the resignation of corrupt leaders – or even have an entire cabinet resign. We can create socially-conscious futurists out of our children.

Futurists conjure scenarios of societies they want to have – build from the ruins of one that has crumbled out of the need for greed and economic speed. Radical futurists conjure newer social order reconstructed out of the ruins of the ones ruled by leaders addicted to raw power; power employed to rape the environment and humanity these leaders are entrusted to "govern".

But first we must have the teachers/lecturers prepare for all these as well. We have many bright and young academics eager to explore newer perspectives in politics, economic and cultural aspects of our world. Can they do these in a cognitively-controlled environment? How do we help them?

Critical thinking is not 'criticising'

It seems that there is a deeper meaning to "critical thinking" than just "criticising" something or anything.

It is a process of the personal evolution of metacognition (beyond cognition itself); to understand one's own thinking process and to govern it with the tools one acquire through interacting with the environment and processing information that will become meaningful through the complex neural connections made in the brain.

There has to be a good repertoire of knowledge in one's brain/mind/consciousness in order to understand the "dialectical and dialogical" aspect of thinking.

Our education system must encourage this development through the love of reading – the exploration of good and great books taught by teachers who love books and have the passion to challenge students to think and think. Thinking must be encouraged; students must live their daily lives in classrooms without fear of being punished or ridiculed for thinking critically and creatively.

Our classrooms must encourage dialogues and debates even if the subject matter is sensitive difficult, painful, and intellectually challenging. We must have good teachers to groom student to become brave thinkers and communicator of ideas. These teachers/professors themselves must embody the virtues of radical thinking and become beacons of hope for newer thinkers, much like what Socrates was to the Athenians in 5th Century B. C.

Radical thinkers must be celebrated and honored, not imprisoned and shamed. Only a shameless government doing shameful acts would jail good, ethical, socially-conscious thinkers who speak truth to power.

If in our universities, thinking means thinking about what the state dictates and students are being punished for speaking out on issues that concern their role as future inheritors of their society, we have a got a national problem.

Higher order thinking

The essence of higher order thinking skills is the "WHY" question and the "WHAT IF" and "WHY NOT THIS" ... these brings our students to critique dominant paradigm and allow them to conjure newer perspectives, much like what radical social futurists would do.

What is the culture of critical thinking in our Malaysian classrooms these days? Is it enabling the culture of thinking or retarding it?

Critical thinking is also not about running in the streets screaming for this or that change; it is a process of intellectual embodiment and the democratisation of one's personal understanding of the intellectual basis of change.

It is a process of constructing a "republic of virtue" in which each citizen is a philosopher-ruler in his/her own right. Each individual perhaps like the notion held by the Buddhist, is "aware" of the surrounding, mastering his/her own environment, aware of cause and effects of beingness, to identify oppressive signs and symbols that govern him/her and others, to destroy structures that are shacking, to essentially be able to look at his/her life like a crystal-ball.

Is this idea of creating world-wise radical intellectual and movers and shakers possible in our Malaysian educational system?

This is the greatest challenge of this century, for our nation especially. If we wish to remove the Internal Security Act, radically revise the Universities and University Colleges Act, and remove all Acts that are anathema to a healthy thinking culture, we must rethink how we think.

We owe a good education system to our children – a system that will teach children to systematically revolt against systems.

OUR USUAL REMINDER, FOLKS:
While the opinion in the article is mine,
the comments are yours;
present them rationally and ethically.
AND -- ABOLISH THE ISA -- NOW!

written by cheemengwong, September 18, 2009 01:36:59
Dear Dr,

High level thinking requires much mental and physical energy.

In Malaysia most students don't want to exert mental energy because it requires discipline, focus and a right mental attitude.

Instead most prefer physical exertion like carrying a cow's head around town after a Friday prayer session!

Most of them are interested in HIGH LEVEL CORRUPTION running in BILLIONS right now.

How doc?
written by SamYap, September 18, 2009 01:46:21
written by cheemengwong, September 18, 2009 01:36:59
.....Instead most prefer physical exertion like carrying a cow's head around town after a Friday prayer session!

Hahahaha! Damn good one!

Dr Azly, in summary we need to overhaul the entire education system. And that will be a herculean task. It will take years, but I guess we need to make start . But questions remains...when and how? There were still 5000 morons willing to vote a cheat in the recent PRK in Permatang Pasir....see what I mean?

And Selamat Hari Raya to you and your family!
written by bitterzone, September 18, 2009 05:10:09
UMNO don't want critical thinking!! Good grief, if Malaysia started training people to think critically the cabinet would be out of a job. For heavens sake dear man please don't suggest such things again!
written by goman2k3, September 18, 2009 05:34:16
Kelapa Lembu, kelapa babi, keras kepala, how to think lah. Middle man for government 20% or 10% for mega project senang dapat duit sahaja.
Malaysia will always go backwards if acceptance of the "pendatangs" is not overcome. At present, tolerance is also hard to come what more to say acceptance. 50 years have come and gone and even if we start to day it will take another 50 years. Cakap pun tak guna but here we all cakap cakap saja. That is why u tak balik kampung but duduk in US of America,
pandai, bijak.Brain drain even for smart melayu like u, what mpore to say about pendatang.
written by chiongguo, September 18, 2009 17:57:37
Instead of plagiarising, teach critical thinking

Critical thinking cannot be taught. It is already part of our mental makeup from very young. The mind filters out, critically,

things that doesn't fit into its own worldview or those that are uncomfortable. It is a defensive mechanism and at the same time

it is a self-defeating mechanism.

This basically meant that the more knowledge that we poured into this mind the less it is able to accept other point of views. A

good example are so many highly educated and knowledgeable posters in this forum. They no longer have the capacity to step back

and relook at their worldview and the premises of their belief system.

So the danger is too much knowledge without examining the filtering and thinking mechanism. Critical thinking is really not

thinking. How then do we really arrive at truth ? Fortunately the mind has another capacity that is seldom use or even been aware

of. This is our capacity for self-examination, the ability to step back to have a better look and a re-look at our understanding

and beliefs. The meta-congnitive ability of the mind is seldom if ever develop in our educational system. We are more interested

in pouring more garbage in the guise of knowledge into our children. Knowledge is overvalued. A thinking person will be able to

find whatever knowledge he needed but a knowledgeable person cannot think beyond whatever knowledge it has.

Meta cognitive ability cannot be taught but can be developed.

The essence of higher order thinking skills is the "WHY" question and the "WHAT IF" and "WHY NOT THIS"

These are not higher order thinking but tools of the blind. Logic, reason and rationalisations are blind. Which basically meant

that science and technology that we count so much on these days are blind. The truth of this can be proven to oneself. The next

time you have to solve a problem what does the mind goes through ? First it thinks that this is the answer, try it out and found

out that it is not so. We kept on going through our mind the next thing we could do and then dismissing it as not possible. All

these is like a blind man in a darken room looking for the door. He kept bumping against one obstacles after another. Questions

guide the blind man search for answers and it is no different from the cane that a blind man uses.

There is no higher order thinking. Abstraction is really not higher order thinking as it is nothing more than the ability of the

mind to look for patterns. This search itself is a process of trial and error and is blind and is no different from the lower

order thinking. But with abstraction the mind is able to bootstrap itself into gaining a modicum of insights into life and

reality.

The real higher order thinking is not thinking at all. It is the right brain, wholistic and intuitive aspect of the capacity of

the mind. And I am not talking about the synthetical ability. Once we stop thinking whole complete pictures often come to us. Many

scientists who had their breakthrough had access, in an instant, to this aspect of their mind. This aspect of the mind is now

gaining prominence and even harvard business school is teaching how to access this aspect of the mind.

I like the universal education program initiated by my teacher- lama yeshe and also a similar program by ven. vivekananda.
written by Fuminari, September 18, 2009 19:26:42
what umno be end thieves n bandits fear the most is critical thinking!!it is other wise then these tribalistic could self proclaim to be 'elite' n they could continue hoodwinking the majority,making them as dumb as possible;as such so that the so called 'elite' can continue robbing,stealing n raping the rakyat,the national coffer at their own whims n fancies!!this evil deed would eventually bring malaysia nowhere except to holland!!!
written by Davy McChester, September 21, 2009 10:39:51
In some societies particularly the Middle Eastern critical thinking will result in having your head chopped period. Rote learning and indoctrination from birth to death is how the masses are controlled. Anyone who acts outside these parameters becomes a state sanctioned target for death. You need to admit that there is more to be done than the eye can see. The fundamentals are wrong and have been designed to produce tyrants. You got to have reforms and it is not easy when man made edicts have become God 's. There is no critical thinking taking over mass hysteria triggered even by some stupid caricatures. Without reformation everything else is of no use. They would not work !
written by red1, September 22, 2009 05:52:03
People who lives along the Equator enjoy a year long summer too humid on a land too lavish to want to think about survival and innovation.

Only people living along belts of shifting plates and winter cold are forced to think and innovate.

That is why polynesians are lazy because they can. Changing that will fail. Period.
written by red1, September 22, 2009 06:30:26
After i written about this lazy native syndrom here in PendAtang Dengan Izin i remembered the story of 'Singapura dilanggar todak' where the story of a smart boy to save Singapore from flying fish was rewarded with death by the lords around the Sultan that fears he will replace their position.

That is one good reason why if we have smart people, they won't go up, because those up there are either lazy kiasi people or surrounded by kiasu people.