Home arrow Guest Columnists arrow 'Not even RM100mil can match the worth of my battered prince'

'Not even RM100mil can match the worth of my battered prince' PDF Print
Friday, 18 September 2009 00:36

Honeymah Dylyani, Malaysian Mirror

My son is precious! Not even RM100mil can match his worth. No amount of money!

This was the outburst from Tunku Dara Naquiah Tuanku Jaafar to reports on the Internet and the international media that the Negri Sembilan royalty had demanded RM50mil from the Johor royalty as compensation over an assault incident involving two princes from their respective royal houses.

royal-bashing-3.jpgHer son, Tunku Nadzimuddin Tunku Mudzaffar , 37, was allegedly battered by the Raja Muda of Johor, Tunku Ismail Idris Abdul Majid Abu Bakar Iskandar Tunku Ibrahim, at the Crowne Plaza Hotel here on Oct 24, 2008.

The Johor prince was allegedly armed with a gun, which he purportedly used to hit Tunku Nadzimuddin in the head and face.

The Negri Sembilan family has filed a police report and is hoping that after 11 months there would be some results of the investigations.

Tunku  Naquiah , the eldest daughter of the late Tuanku Jaafar Tuanku Abdul Rahman, the former Yang di Pertuan Besar of Negri Sembilan, denied that she demanded any kind of compensation from Johor.

No demand for compensation

“No, I did not demand any kind of compensation, even though there were people advising me to ask for a sum of money.

“The A-G even advised us to settle the matter out of court,” she told a press conference here Thursday.

Her husband, Tunku Mudzaffar Tunku Mustapha as well as Tunku Nadzimuddin and his wife, Nur Azini Mohd Kamal, were present together with the family lawyer, M Puravalen, a friend Shamshuddhuha Ishak,and another family member, Tunku Imran.

“I want justice to be done. In any civilised society, if you point a gun at someone you are committing a criminal offence and should be charged. And, in most cases, get a term in prison immediately,” said Tunku Naquiah.

Photographs of the battered prince, an institutional clients’ manager with MAA KL Mutual Bhd, were shown to the media.

royal bashing 2.jpgRelating the time she learned about the incident, Tunku Naquiah, said she received a call from Nur Azini at about 3am on Oct 25, 2008 and rushed to the hotel accompanied by her brother, Tunku Nadzaruddin and four policemen.

I threatened the hotel staff to take me to the 25th floor of the hotel (where her son and his friends were purportedly being held) or I’d call the police,” she said, adding that she later took her son to the Kuala Lumpur Hospital.

Brief phone call from Johor mum

On Oct 26, the family lodged a report at the Dang Wangi police station.

Tunku Naquiyah said she received a brief phone call from Raja Zarith Sofia, Tunku Ismail’s mother, who only said she was sorry that her son had bashed up Tunku Jimi, the nickname used by Tunku Nadzimuddin.

Asked why she was only making a statement now, she said after the death of her father and the marriage of Tunku Nadzimuddin, now was the right time now to seek justice.

On whether the case would have an impact on the upcoming by-election in Bagan Pinang, since the Negri Sembilan household is known to be supportive of Umno, she said it has nothing to do with politics.

“The AG had promised me a fair investigation and I am still waiting for that,” she said.

The family would discuss with their lawyers on the next course of action to take.

Following constitutional changes in the 1990s, members of royal households – with exception of the rulers - are not immune from prosecution and can be charged for criminal offences in the ordinary courts.

Recapping the events that led to the incident, Tunku Nadzimmudin said he was earlier at a club  with his girlfriend (now his wife) and other friends after recuperating from a year-long chemotherapy treatment for his Hodgkin Lymphoma cancer (a cancer originating from a type of white blood cells called lymphocytes).

royal bashing 1.jpgWhile at the club, he heard that several friends who were waiting for him there had been assaulted by several people claiming to be bodyguards of Tunku Ismail.

RMJ called to 'apologise'

They were later contacted by an unknown person who said that the RMJ (Raja Muda Johor) wanted to see him at the Crowne Plaza hotel to apologise.

When they reached there, said Tunku Nadzimmudin, he and his friends were forced into a lift and assaulted by the Johor prince.

“The lift stopped at the 25th floor, where we were forced into a room,” he said, adding that he saw his friend Shamshu Dhuha Ishak unconscious.

“My friends and I were held in the room for quite some time until my mother and uncle (Tunku  Nadzaruddin) rescued us. They were in the corridor with four policemen.

AG acts on complaint

Meanwhile, Attorney-General Abdul abdul-gani-patail.jpgGani Patail has promised the government will take action after a thorough investigation.

So far, 41 statements have been recorded from witnesses at two places in Kuala Lumpur on Oct 24 last year, he added.

Therefore the investigation paper has to be thoroughly studied and I will not hesitate to announce my decision once it is done, Gani said in a statement issued late Thursday.

An investigation paper was first submitted to the AG's Chambers on Nov 18 but returned to the police on Dec 1 for further investigations, he added.It was only resubmitted to the prosecution's office in Kuala Lumpur on Wednesday and to him on Thursday.

Nevertheless, there have been ongoing advice and contact between the police and my officers, Gani said.

written by yellowkingdom, September 18, 2009 00:46:32
Let the show begin .....
written by Mama Juwie, September 18, 2009 00:53:42
AG: Ahmad! Oh Ahmad! Where are you, for God sake?!!!
Prosecutor Mamat: Yes boss, I'm here boss... Ada apa?
AG: Where is the file for Raja Muda Johor? The stupid file where he bashed up one royal colleague! I WANT IT NOW!!!!
Prosecutor Ahmad: Oh, that file... I, er, flushed it down the toilet...
AG: WHAAATTTTTTTT??????! WTF?????!!!!!! Why did you do that? Now the victim's mother, that byatch is chasing my arse for that file! Who told you to flush it away, hah Ahmad??!!!
Prosecutor Ahmad: Errr, actually, it was YOU who instructed me to flush it into the toilet bowl....
AG: HAAAH??????!!!!
[DUSHHH!!!]
[AG faints on the floor, with white foam oozing from his mouth]
written by burmen, September 18, 2009 00:56:25
You think the AG dare to charge the Johore 'royal' household members meh? I'll cut my dick off and feed it to the ducklings.

He'll probably tell to two warring sides to keep quite and settle amicably and don't put him in a difficult position. This is not his job.

His job is to only concentrate and charge opposition politicians,
agree 148
written by jasonsel, September 18, 2009 01:33:16
Gani Patail ..... for yr sake i hope yr great grand children have a long line of other kids to pay for yr sins while you burn in hell
written by 1351, September 18, 2009 01:34:19
This is a matter of grave public concern, not because the cast involves two royal prince's but the inaction of the AG and the police. That should be the focus of our concern and what it says of both Prosecutor's office and that of the IGP.

All said, I admire the patient exemplified by Tunku Dara(upon hitting the wall and the anguish of waiting for further action) but the allegation/s is severe ie. brutal assault in a public space and allegation of a gun being sighted.

There is ample grounds for a civil suit and it boggles me why no attempt was made to pursue such avenue. Even if the AG and IGP keep mum, there is a police report that was filed the following day of the alleged assault.

If proven, coupled with witness testimony, it would be difficult for the wrongdoer's to deny their part in the assault no matter if there is no video evidence or inaction by those tasked with investigating the case. Furthermore, the burden of proof in the civil arena is lesser than that of a criminal case.

written by SamYap, September 18, 2009 01:35:04
"My son is precious! Not even RM100mil can match his worth. No amount of money!
This was the outburst from Tunku Dara Naquiah Tuanku Jaafar'

Really? Then what does Tunku Dara think of those who died in the police stations and at the MACC? Does Tunku think that the lawyer Rozli should have sued for more than a paltry sum of RM50 Million from MACC?

100 Million? Sheesh! There are many families who don't even have more than RM100 to spare for Aidil Fitri! And we live in a country with the famous TWIN TOWERS!
written by cheemengwong, September 18, 2009 01:46:13
Spending Raayat's money and get into Royal fights at posh clubs while the Raayat are working hard to pay more taxes so that they can fight some more!

Ridiculous.

Now they want to spend public money some more using the court's time which is better spend on more urgent cases!

Dopid.
written by Fuminari, September 18, 2009 03:17:07
wwf parasite.
written by Daryl, September 18, 2009 03:55:08
smilies/smiley.gif smilies/smiley.gif smilies/smiley.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif

MCA vs. MCA
MIC vs. MIC
Royalty vs. Royalty
Now when are we going to have

UMNO vs. UMNO

We are still waiting Ku Li.
Is time to rumble
written by Khan, September 19, 2009 00:03:21
"Recapping the events that led to the incident, Tunku Nadzimmudin said he was earlier at a club with his girlfriend (now his wife) and other friends after recuperating from a year-long chemotherapy treatment for his Hodgkin Lymphoma cancer (a cancer originating from a type of white blood cells called lymphocytes)."

Hey Royalty! God had given you another life as not many survive cancer. It would have been better off if you were to head to mosque to thank God rather than heading to a club with women for drinking spree! So you Royalties are Head of Islam in your respective countries?

written by Jan, September 19, 2009 00:53:57
I wonder why the Johor Prince whacked the NS prince. He can't be walloping anyone without rhyme or reason. Usually when men fight it's about money, pride or women I wonder which.
written by fireduck, September 19, 2009 01:59:35
"The AG had promised me a fair investigation and I am still waiting for that,” she said.

Would probably be easier to wait for a new AG to be appointed upon the death of this present one. This AG seems to know that he is AG for life, so that's one reason why he is super slow. And he's AG for life because so many UMNO(BN) big wigs depend on him for 'protection'.
written by rpremkumar2u, September 19, 2009 04:25:29
The AG is probably in deep discussion with that Tonto, Musa. How come they called a press conference this time ar? Whatever decision that requires balls to make will certainly see that their future foray into Johor will have to be cancelled. Now what about those shady characters who have been running around with Musa's blessings? Mere rumours is it? Got SDs what. MACC hmm...?
written by SamBall, September 19, 2009 06:06:53
the sultans of spin; bloody parasites
written by hellosunshine, September 19, 2009 14:19:50
In the Republic of Indonesia, Singapore, Taiwan, South Korea and even China, you don't get to see such royal dirty laundry news anymore. smilies/wink.gif
written by Awang Hitam, September 19, 2009 22:59:42
Now Gunny Patail will surely "patai"!
Patai means MATI in Tagalog, I was told by my friend from Manila.
written by Fart Fart Wah, September 20, 2009 01:53:15
the same old story..
royalty...women wine and song
wine women and song
song wine and women
it was raining women women women...in the East Coast..and a suit of 100 million
Women screwing up the throne in Perak..gamuda..
...and there will come some more from the south till the north..
CIS!!!
written by hakuna, September 20, 2009 04:14:03
Royalties have yellow blood and thus are so sacred.
Gani Patah ill- you are a mockery to the whole system. Tak malu ke!!!
written by born2reign, September 20, 2009 20:11:54
"My son is precious! Not even RM100mil can match his worth. No amount of money!"

This was the outburst from Tunku Dara Naquiah Tuanku Jaafar to reports on the Internet and the international media that the Negri Sembilan royalty had demanded RM50mil from the Johor royalty as compensation over an assault incident involving two princes from their respective royal houses.

At least you still have your son. Teoh Beng Hock is gone, did you even complain then how uncivilised your polis diraja has become? Did you even bother to challenge the PM and his administration? And that was over RM2,400. Welcome to Malaysia, looks like you just left your castle. Let me know if you want a rundown and tour on the real lives of Malaysians.

written by roadbarra, September 21, 2009 05:42:03
many malaysians doubt that justice can prevail in this country anymore. everybody is corrupted to the core.
written by red1, September 21, 2009 09:15:40
King Henry the VII was worst.
written by red1, September 21, 2009 09:59:14
how many times already said, "Justice Can Be Blind".
written by SiHangChai, September 21, 2009 12:17:54
what some muslim royalities be presented at bars?