Home arrow Guest Columnists arrow Gerakan blames Umno for polls defeat

Gerakan blames Umno for polls defeat PDF Print
Thursday, 17 September 2009 18:53

Giam Say Khoon, The Sun Daily

Gerakan acting presidentTan Sri Dr Koh Tsu Koon yesterday blamed the “arrogance of power” of certain Umno leaders for the party’s defeat in the generalelection.

After chairing a four-hour central delegatesbriefi ng on the elections yesterday, Kohsaid the party took the election results as anindicator of people being dissatisfi ed with whatthey perceived as the“arrogance of power” of the Barisan Nasional (BN).

“Certain Umno leaders’ deed, words andactions, in the past two years, have resulted in a feeling of resentment,” he said.

“However, we are very critical that we mayhave not done enough and did not do enough.Perhaps that power had got into our head after
leading Penang for 39 years.

”Koh said Gerakan would like to play a role of reformer in the BN but has to reform itself fi rst.

The party will also play the role of a constructive opposition in Penang, Kedah, Perak and Selangor, where it has had the administration experience in the past. 

Asked whether Gerakan will be able to survive the crisis, Koh said the party’s future isin the members’ hands.
“If we start to do more things that are correct and move on to voice out the people’s concern and to work out viable solutionsto many problems that the people face ...
we have the confi dence to continue to berelevant,” he said.

Despite the feeling of sadness for losing somany seats, he was glad to see the delegates were highly spirited and ready to continue the fight along the party’s principles, which are non-racial based.

Koh said that during the briefi ng, which was also attended by party adviser Datuk Seri Dr Lim Keng Yaik, the delegates stressed that the renewal process should start as soon as possible.

“There were also constructive criticisms which demand the party’s top leadership to be more vocal in speaking up for the people,” he said.

“We admitted that we were too busy with government work in the past and we might have been separated from the people.

”Koh said the delegates also hoped that BN, specially Umno, will introduce renewal that is multi-racial in nature.

He said the party will not be celebrating its 40th anniversary but will do a lot of soulsearching and consolidation work.“We resolved to go back to basics, people, politics and conscience and to move forward into the future,” he said.

Koh said the next 10 years will be the most challenging for the party and hoped that by its 50th anniversary, the party will regain its political position.

He said he will now be working full time for the party, while some of the leaders will also devote their time for the party’s rebuilding effort.

His immediate plan is to make sure that all members recovered from the shock of electoral defeat and are re motivated to move the party forward.

Koh said the delegates had also called for early party elections. The elections had been postponed to next year but the party will be re-looking its decision.

“The key party leaders and I will be going for nationwide dialogue with the grassroots next week. We will decide on the election date after the tour,” he said.

Asked whether the delegates had proposed that the party withdraw from BN,

Koh said there was only one delegate who requested to have a meeting to discuss the

matter.

“I said we can discuss it in the normal delegates conference or dialogue session. We are a democratic and open party and are open to all ideas,” he said.

On the proposal for an anti-hopping law by Minister in the Prime Minister Department Datuk Zaid Ibrahim, Koh said that in principle, he agreed that if a candidate is elected because he contested under a party fl ag and decides to jump ship, it is unfair to the voters who voted him.

written by Kacang Tanah, September 17, 2009 19:01:14
People of Malaysia could have been enjoying a better livng without robbers and gangsters from BN perticularly UMNO.
BN need not undergo reform, just get lost or go to hell.
written by DreamLady, September 17, 2009 19:02:04
I am amazed that Dr. Tan Tzu Koon becomes very vocal and brave to speak his mind. It is high time for those with brains to speak up, no matter the consequence.

Dr., keep up with the good work, love to hear you blasting away at the goons!!!!
disagree 18
written by cheemengwong, September 17, 2009 19:08:17
Firstly, Tsu Koon must admit that in Gerakan, he is the one to take the blame before he starts pointing fingers at others.

He never do anything radical while Gerakan was doing well. The only thing they did was say Yes to every UMNO decision making... good or bad.

Blame yourself. Maybe you should resign and let others more capable to take over Gerakan. Otherwise, get Gerakan to join PKR/PR to make a difference!

You can complain and point fingers and be very sure the by the next GE, Gerakan is no more!
written by axppin, September 17, 2009 19:12:13
Oii Soo Koon. Agreed on the arrogance of the UMNO leaders. But perhaps you should also self-admit that you and the Gerakan leaders have behaved like arrogant bastardds yourselves. If you also dare, name these arrogant UMNO bastardds. General statement like that many people can also do.

written by Richfyf, September 17, 2009 19:15:19
Art of war Enemy of our enemy is an ally. Go ahead Gerakan. You are right. Gerakan lost the polls because of UMNO. MIC is right too that the people did not reject MIC but BN. Yeah now UMNO will have its hands full facing the attack from within.

Come on PR give some support for MIC and Gerakan to go against UMNO.

This is a very nice wayang for us to watch. I had enough of hearing BN spin of DAP and PAS. Now lets see what sleeping together for 50 years have done to them. I hope MCA will join the fray soon.
written by No nonsense, September 17, 2009 19:17:48
”Koh said Gerakan would like to play a role of reformer in the BN but has to reform itself fi rst.

As long as Gerakan and Mca are being lap-dogs of Amno there will never, I say it again, never will have the support of the chinese community. What ever you people do now makes no different except leaving BN. Dont you think being lap-dogs is a damn bloody shame? Dont blame your big brother Amno cause if you do your part right you all will not be what youb are today. Please do not play the blame game now it is too late, very late. Get lost.
written by coolandy, September 17, 2009 19:23:47
Koh Tsy Koon is still trying to play the beggar's role, hoping for UMNO this and that. Truly, never seen a person who depends so much on HOPE.

This guy really blur!

Keep hoping instead of grabbing the bull by it's horns. A responsible leader should have taken the blame and commit harakiri.

Now I hope that he does it, better late than never.

written by Jan, September 17, 2009 19:29:57
Dear Tsu Koon,
UMNO's arrogance is only half the story. You and your party is perceived to be meek and subservient to your big brother UMNO. Remember just before the elections KJ walked all over you and you hardly protested. You should have stood up to him and give him a big tight slap. If you have done that I bet you are still the CM of Penang today.
written by onnetline, September 17, 2009 19:45:56
Talking about taking a greater role but factually ....... a no balls beggar role ! ! !
written by Rainbowseahorse, September 17, 2009 20:04:50
Su-Kun, are you & Gerakan hearing the threat from that Homoshitdin to fill Karamunting??
Welll, if that is not sheer arrogance, what do you call that?
So, what are you waiting for?? Show some balls and take that Homoshitdin down to size and get back some respect & support from the people!
written by JaguhKampung, September 17, 2009 20:10:10
Good analysis but perhaps not precise or specific enough for some members to know what to do. Setting a 10 years target is also realistic. Gerakan has always gave the impression that the party is a party of professionals and it is hoped that it will continue to be that way. If there member were to be more brave and not fear of losing their position and seats to voice out, it may not have fared that bad. You may have to wait for DAP to make grave mistakes to recapture Penang or anywhere.
written by loosecannon, September 17, 2009 20:34:05
Too late lah Ah Koon. A lot of damage has been done. Gerakan is a gone case. The whole problem was due to Gerakan, MIC and MCA being manipulated by Umno. Your so called power sharing were just a way for Umno to use you to bait the Chinese and Indian votes over the years. Your "behind close door" meetings were nothing but a charade to fool your own selves.
written by MMhunter, September 17, 2009 20:36:51
Gerakan blames Umno for polls defeat ....presidentTan Sri Dr Koh Tsu Koon can we have the names now please.
written by Arubin, September 17, 2009 21:09:49
Hmmph. When he was CM of Penang, he licks UMNO's boots. Now that he's a nobody, he puts the blame on someone else. Typical...

Whatever flaws UMNO might have, its your own damn fault that you didn't dare stand up to them when you were in a position to do so. You waited until you have nothing before you made some noise. You think anyone would listen to you now?
written by lamakawan, September 17, 2009 21:11:17
Why open your mouth only after one a half years after the election ?
By the time you stand up and be counted, the next elections is around the corner.
No need to complain, man, just stand up and leave the BN !!!!
written by ceong2000, September 17, 2009 21:30:58
What is goe is gone so do you think the the water will flow twice in the same river ? Ask yourself first as what you have done for the Penangites---NOTHING but you are clever to sell land and pocket the input.Now that you lost and put the blame on the PR government.Too smart another thing is that you said the you will ever become the minister thru the backdoor so what happen now and ask the Penangites to believe you again.Don't talk cock as you know that if you don't take this opportunity then is goodbye to you come the next election.So that you can pocket something before you retired forever.Don't blame people as your party is slowly dying off..........RIP.
written by BennyG, September 17, 2009 22:21:00
Now I know why Gerakan kept Koh as its leader as no other leader will be able to accept such a lame excuse and blame others for its failure.

But I am glad that Koh, Samy, MCA, what's that name again IP..er... are in BN (UMNO) team. Oh! Forgotten to thank Keris man and continued support for the cow fellas. Please keep all of them till 2013. Please UMNO, listen to the voters for once. Keep them all for GE13. Thank you!

written by MSA, September 17, 2009 22:27:28
Hail!!! The implosion of BN is near with every component party accusing UMNO being responsible for the dismal performance of BN in the last GE..
written by latihanQ, September 17, 2009 22:51:27
What KTK is implying is that Gerakan was bullied by UMNO.
If that is the case, KTK should have the guts to stand firm to UMNO. Instead, all we see is him crying like a wimp and peeing in his pants everytime UMNO barks.
Gerakan's days are truly numbered with cowards like him leading the party to certain doom and oblivion.
written by raven1958, September 17, 2009 23:02:36
KTK....dont tell me you fellas didnt know...anyone who joins UMNO ( a bunch of wild, greedy, filthy animals)...will end up as Eunuchs...

Too late KTK...every Malaysian knew and will forever know how once upon a time there was a party called Gerakan....and how they sold their people including their mothers and daughters so that they can make a couple of bucks with UMNO....

People with no bals like the Gerakan, MIC, MCA and PPP should just commit harakiri or wither away.
written by InEffective, September 17, 2009 23:03:19
This KTK is the brand of politician who will ensure that you will always be a 2nd class citizen with subordinated rights and opportunities. (of course he has arranged for his self-interests to be cared for first)

Good luck to you families and children.
written by Hakim Joe, September 17, 2009 23:29:23
Apa macam Mr KPI man? Why you talk so much cock? Just give the BN election machinery zero points lah! AAB and OKT are no longer around but Semi Value, Kayveas and yourself are still (unfortunately) here so give yourselves a big zero as well!

written by goldeneye, September 17, 2009 23:51:37
And why did you let Umno walk all over you? You've become so subservient to Umno that Umno calls all the shots and then you complain Umno didn't fire the right shots. It's your fault for giving Umno all the shots in the first place.
written by sataysticks, September 17, 2009 23:53:04
It's still not tooo late. Unzip and show your "kris" to Azhar now. It's now or now. Do it man, do it ...
written by Shiva, September 18, 2009 00:38:50
KSK, how since are you to reveal the real truth about the kampung buah pala land scan to umno cronies
written by C360, September 18, 2009 00:39:55
I do not support "attacks from within BN"

Let us, the Rakyat, put an end to all race-based parties coalitions aka BN. Let us put an end to the racial divide brought upon us by a Govt that led us astray.

IF Gerakan, MIC and MCA, need, to get a life, it will have to be outside BN. that's because we, the Rakyat, reject the political minority that stays in power against the will of the majority, helped by distorted rules of engagement in our elections mechanisms and imbalanced constituency demarcations and sizing.
written by chebella, September 18, 2009 01:35:57
u lead your party to a massive defeat

the only right thing to do is to resign and not point fingers

written by Windchime, September 18, 2009 01:58:54
Why waste time somemore? Just have the decency to close shop lah.. sounds better!