Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow Do we really own that land we own? (UPDATED WITH CHINESE TRANSLATION)

Do we really own that land we own? (UPDATED WITH CHINESE TRANSLATION) PDF Print
Thursday, 17 September 2009 00:06

The long and the short of it is we do not own that land which we own. We only have the right to use that land. The land belongs to the government. And the government can take it back from us any time it so wishes.

I have thus far not commented on the Kampong Buah Pala land issue in Penang. One reason is because so much has already been said about the matter that there is very little I can add to the issue.

It appears that most comments made about the matter are very emotional in nature and the angle being taken is that poor Indian landowners are being oppressed by powerful people. The fact that the government of Penang is a Pakatan Rakyat government makes these people even angrier. They had expected the Pakatan Rakyat government to fight for the people rather than ‘take the side’ of the developer.

Some have even slammed Lim Guan Eng. They wanted Guan Eng to reverse the decision of the previous Barisan Nasional government. They just can’t understand why the Pakatan Rakyat Chief Minister, and from the DAP on top of that, is not the rakyat’s ‘champion’ as they had expected him to be.

I remember back in the old days when my grandfather’s land was acquired by the government. He was then still the Governor of Penang and he had just completed his retirement home on a plot of land in the Lake Gardens in Kuala Lumpur.

The government, however, wanted that plot of land plus the few surrounding it to build Malaysia’s new Parliament House. So the government acquired all the land on that hill and my grandfather lost his retirement home even before the paint on the walls could dry.

I remember seeing the house being given the finishing touches and not long after that it was totally demolished.

My grandfather may have been the Governor of Penang, but if the government wants to take his land then there is nothing you can do about it.

Over the last 50 years I have seen many plots of land acquired by the government. Some of them belonged to my friends and family. Even my own land was once acquired by the government.

Unfortunately, there is nothing much we can do if the government wishes to acquire our land. You see, under the National Land Code, we only have rights over the land as long as we pay the cukai tanah and as long as the government does not need it back. Once the government needs it then we lose that right to the land, never mind how many generations that land has been in the family.

In fact, our right over that land is only as far as the approved land usage of the land is concerned. If we need to change the usage then we need to apply for permission and only if the government approves the conversion of that land can we change the usage.

Therefore, agricultural land must only be for agricultural purposes and even then if it is for padi planting then it can only be used for planting padi and not for planting other agricultural produce.

In short, we can’t simply do whatever we like with ‘our’ land even though we may think we own that land.

Furthermore, our right to the land is only the space within six feet above it and six feet below it, so to speak. Therefore, if we discover oil 100 feet below our land, that oil does not belong to us but to the government. And we can’t stop any plane from flying over our land because the air space more than six feet above our land does not belong to us but to the government. In fact, even to fill your land or level it you need government approval.

Okay, maybe I am over-simplifying the argument, but this is as simple as I can explain it without throwing in too much legal jargon and whatnot.

The long and the short of it is we do not own that land which we own. We only have the right to use that land. The land belongs to the government. And the government can take it back from us any time it so wishes.

But the government can’t just take back our land for the heck of it. There must be a reason for doing so. And the reason must be that they need to develop the land for the needs of the community. So we, the individual, must lose our land so that the community can benefit.

Nevertheless, I remember more than 25 years ago when the Terengganu government acquired big chunks of land just for the heck of it. You see, at that time the state government had plenty of cash and did not know how to spend it -- thanks to the oil royalty it was receiving. So they just acquired as much land as they could get their hands on and built up a huge land bank for future development purposes.

The government did not even know what it was going to do with the land after acquiring it. And all the land belonged to Malays but they had not choice but to surrender their land. And many of them were padi farmers who lost their livelihood. Of course, the cash soon ran out whereas if they still had their land they could continue planting padi.

One thing to note is that the government can’t take back the land for free. The landowner must be compensated. And the compensation must be according to market value plus whatever loss we might suffer.

So, while we can’t challenge the government when it wants to take back our land, we can, however, challenge how much compensation we will receive.

Once the government takes back our land we can’t refuse to accept the compensation that the government wants to pay us. We accept the compensation but we ask for it to be noted that we accept the compensation ‘under protest’. Then we file in court a demand for more compensation.

Say the government acquires our 10,000 square feet land and pays us RM50.00 per square foot as compensation. We may feel this is too low. The compensation should actually be RM120.00 per square foot according to market value. Then there is our house sitting on the land which is worth at least RM350,000.00 if we were to build it today.

So we go to court and challenge the compensation. If the court agrees with us then the government has to pay us the difference of RM70.00 per square foot plus another RM350,000.00 for the house.

But we must first accept the RM50.00 per square foot compensation. We can’t refuse to accept it. If we do not accept the compensation then we can't demand the extra or shortfall. But on accepting the compensation we must note on the papers that we are accepting it under protest so that we can go to court to ask for more.

There is no issue about whether the Penang government can or cannot acquire the Kampong Buah Pala land. It can. The one thing we can argue about is whether the government acquired the land following the proper procedure. The next thing would be, if we are the legal owner of that land, is to challenge the compensation we are being paid, assuming we feel the compensation is too low.

Of course, we must also separate the legal issue from the moral issue. Maybe the government is legally allowed to acquire the land and did, in fact, acquire it following the proper procedure. But is it morally right for them to acquire the land? Is the land being acquired for the sake of development so that it will benefit the entire community or is it being acquired so that someone can make money from it and become very rich?

In short, the intention (niat) behind this whole thing has to be explored. Right, from the legal point of view, might not be right from the moral point of view. For example, it is legally right for the Minister to sign a detention order and detain you without trial for ten years just because you criticised Rosmah Mansor. But is it morally right in spite of the fact that he did it the legal way?

This should be the issue debated with regards to the Kampong Buah Pala land issue. And if the acquisition was because of a larger agenda then we need to go to part two. And part two would be are the landowners, even if they are squatters with no titles over the land, being paid the proper compensation?

Unfortunately, we can’t stand in the way of progress. But we must not become a victim of progress. Sure, sometimes when they widen roads and build schools and hospitals we end up having to make way for this development. But we must be properly compensated for our loss and not short-changed.

If we argue that you can develop the country but please do not touch my land, then there would be no development because most times development will have to be done in the built-up areas and not in the deep isolated jungles where no privately-owned land would be involved.

The Kampong Buah Pala folks are not the first to lose their land -- and neither will they be the last. Penang is crowded and most of the land is no longer government-owned. To continue developing Penang would mean it would affect private land. So what does the Penang government do? Stop all development?

Translated into Chinese at: http://ccliew.blogspot.com/2009/09/blog-post_19.html

written by by2020, September 17, 2009 00:33:51
In the Kampong Buah Pala case, it is crystal clear that the government acquire the land for the benefit of those BN cronies!

Any Tom and Harry also can successfully develop such a land given the prime location!
written by Super Admin, September 17, 2009 00:37:47
Dear by2020, then the next thing to consider is can the present government breach the agreement entered into by the old government? If Pakatan Rakyat does not honour legal agreements when it comes to power then investors will be scared of investing in Pakatan Rakyat run states. Governments must be seen as honouring agreements, even if it was entered into by previous governments. That is why Selangor is having a difficult time terminating agreements entered into by the previous BN government as much as they would like to do so.
agree 137
written by verifunny, September 17, 2009 00:38:25
Kampong Buah Pala people should know that Umnono/The-End is waiting for Lim to make mistake and send him to hell. If they can fault Lim when he gives the land back, it might be the end of his political career since the country have kangaroo courts.

Kampong Buah Pala people should know that Gerakan is their enemy. They are the ones that sold away the land.

Kampong Buah Pala people should know that it is not easy for PR to set things right unless the whole of Malaysia gave PR two third majority.
agree 128
written by GoMalaysian.********.Com, September 17, 2009 00:45:15
You should watch this Episode of 15Malaysia...
Talk about poor family in Malaysia and how is their fate!

House
by Linus Chung
release 24 Aug 2009

[Watch the Video!!!]
written by Wisdom above, September 17, 2009 00:56:45
Can you explain this line ? "even if they are squatters with no titles over the land, being paid the proper compensation?" Squatters can claim rights under UK Land Laws precedences. But under previous Malaya TORREN LAND SYSTEM and current NLC , squatters do not enjoy such rights ! Federal Court ruling on KBP has set a Precedent that will bind all future similar cases. Very obvious to note that UTHAYA was bashing Penang PR government simply to champion and promote his new political party? SABM.
written by Super Admin, September 17, 2009 01:19:35
Dear one box, you can't even transfer the earth on your land to another plot without permission or sell the earth on your land to someone else.
written by Mama Juwie, September 17, 2009 01:56:01
People,

We need to understand the continuity in the government system. The agreement between the previous ruling government and any third party should be honoured to avoid lengthy and expensive legal suits, which in the end will cost the Rakyat. For example, if Pakatan Rakyat takes over the Federal Government, it still has to continue honouring Malaysia's contract to supply water to Singapore throughout the contractual period, even though the signing representative was Tunku Abdul Rahman from Parti Perikatan (it is continued even by the then newly-formed Barisan Nasional). Failure to honour it will cost the Rakyat a huge financial loss for legal damages, but more importantly our international reputation is at stake.

These are the things we need to face when government changes. It is indeed pricey (millions of Ringgit plus loss of sentimental value in the case of Kg Buah Pala), but it is way better than allowing corrupt arseholes continuing to rape the national coffer (usually in billions every damn year).
written by goman2k3, September 17, 2009 02:44:25
From my experience it all about whom you know in the government.I am sure your RPK's grand father was compensated well for his house and land. My family have 2 cases of land being acquired by government, one for building a hospital and one for road building. Case on being an agriculture land and no market price to compare we were paid below what we think it is worth. On a second case we were fortunate to know some one up there and we ere compensated by the government for another parcel of land of better value although it took about nearly 10 years.To acquire a private land the government must have a good reason to do so such as for public purposes.
If you remember the case when Mujahideen was the CM in jOhor the acquire large area of private held land in the name of the government and then sold it to a private company, making good money lah. The Johor government was sued by the company and he was rescued by TDM.
Another experience was trying to convert a residencial plot of land to commercial. We never get the conversion though the land was just next to a hundreds of shoplots. It is all about money money and whom you know.
I agreed with RPK that we cannot stop progres and development but we do need to have sound planning to have a good city or town. New York is not only know for it fanancial center but it is about the central park and times square. London and it famous Hyde Park, Jmaes Park and Green Park.
Kampung Buah Pala was sold by BN and LGE has done his best under the situation to get them a house to people who do not have any legal right anymore. It is not the best outcome for the people but the best out of the worst situation.
Those who promise 3 millions for each family, where are they hiding???
written by Victory or Death, September 17, 2009 03:30:31
Dear one box,

First ,I need to say I used to have a very thorough grounding of land laws and rights because it is related to my profession.Secondly ,I need to emphasize the word "used to" because I sat for my exams some 30 years ago.

To the best of my recollection, RPK is to all intent and purposes correct though not literally right in saying you own only 6 feet of the land below.

All minerals found on any land are reserved to the State.

As for the above matter, perhaps RPK is deliberately exagerating it to say you only own 6 feet above the ground because if you will "own" as much as you can build.

Anything ,you do not own and which is air space is generally free for all.For certain you cannot stop an air-plane to fly over your land.It is their right to do so.

Subject to some caveats and exceptions, the above is the general rule on land ownership rights.Citizens generally do not own the land, they only own rights over their land.
The sovereign is the true owner of all lands.

Therefore, RPK is in essence correct.

written by raven1958, September 17, 2009 04:50:22

In this land of plenty....the government should focus on giving every citizen a roof over his head, food on the table, decent education and if possible good public transport first and then do the rest later....

Somehow..in the BN's warped sense of priorities...it has come to the conclusion that it can wash its hands off all social responsibilities and let private developers run and feed Malaysia....

If you do this then the average house in Subang Jaya is going to cost more then some places in the UK when our per capita income is propably a tenth of theirs....

Many of this country's problems are BN made...

Just a little study down to that red dot down south plus some common sense could go a long way in solving many of Malaysia's headaches....but that would have to wait till the PR comes to power...

I certainly disagree that PR should not try to breach agreements signed by lanuns like Toyol...if there is malice or downright thievery in the deal...the PR government has been put there to use the legal channel to injunct or challege such a deal. It cannot take the easy way out just so it has no money and wants development and the developers money.

In the information age, it is safer to do the right thing and loose an election...

The PR needs to get a grip of things especially in Penang and Selangor. Many in these states now know that development is a dirty word. Almost every KL (kawasan lapang) including playgrounds and fields have dissapeared. Unlike Singapore where open spaces are safeguarded...KL, Selangor and Penang have even sacrificed pedestrian walkways to make way for even wider roads.

Trying to earn a source of income through developers is the surest way to loose power.
written by Commonsenses, September 18, 2009 00:00:35
Actually if one examined the current political/ethnic problems in Malaysia, we can traced it to the failure of government social engineering policy or NEP. The perception of the general public currently seems to be that certain groups of Malays, with the support of some wealthy Chinese and Indian are cornering or fronting for the former to rape the resources of the country by virtue of their control over the federal government resources and thus the taxes collected from the people. They made political decisions in secrecy and utilising the Official Secret Acts to hide knowledge of corruption and impropriety. The recent PKFZ controversy is a prime example and in the past the dozen of toll concession agreements are examples of such wrong doings. In the process of negotiating those agreements civil servants became beneficiary of such misapproriation and abused of powers.The private sectors aligned to these people will not hesitate to grease them to the maximum knowing fully well that the returns from rights granted from the government will be worth much more. Meanwhile, the public will have to pay for the costs in many more generations to come. It high time that the people should realised that polician must be held accountable for every sen of taxes they pay if not then Malaysians deserved the government they voted to power.
written by one box, September 19, 2009 00:47:38
Dear Super Admin & Victory of Death,

I learnt a lot from reading Malaysia Today, either general knowledge and specific to Malaysia of anything.

For this specific instance, I don't think RPK is exaggerating anything. Becasue he also quoted National Land Code. I am writing this in the interest of RPK because I do belive in him. And I want to ensure that his articles are correct. However, I don't blindly follow. I give different perspective, constructive comments.

As far as moving earth from one location to another, I know the situation.

From VoD's comment, that he has "expert" knowledget albeit 30 years ago, "RPK is to all intent and purposes correct though not literally right in saying you own only 6 feet of the land below."

Otherwise, the next day, we'll hear someone start a conversation by quoting this.
written by talk2stop, September 20, 2009 17:46:11
In a civilised goverment, they will take any land back for developement. The country must come first before individual. What compound the problem is that in Malaysia it makes into a political and a racial kicking issues. I think Malaysia got a bottomless hole problem here. So keep filling.
written by Oxy, September 21, 2009 00:32:42
Instead of beating about the bush,and to cry over spilt milk,
let us focus on a current critical issue affecting all Malaysians.
The KL Sentral land used to be a KTM marshalling yard.
Now instead of dedicating it for a Integrated Transport hub, which obviously should include the Interstate Bus Terminal to serve the needs of commuters, it has been
hijacked by UEM for an RM11 billion 5-star exclusive enclave for the super rich
in the very heart of the city.
Does MT readers really know what is going on there about its land transaction?