Home arrow Guest Columnists arrow Ramasamy: Plagiarism rampant in M'sian universities

Ramasamy: Plagiarism rampant in M'sian universities PDF Print
Wednesday, 16 September 2009 16:27

Written by Regina William, The Edge   

The federal government should take a more serious stance on plagiarism, or be prepared for Malaysian universities to rot and sink further into the doldrums.

Penang Deputy Chief Minister II Professor P Ramasamy, who served 25 years as a lecturer at Universiti Putra Malaysia (UPM), said such incidents were rampant.

"This is a serious matter and I know of a lecturer there who plagiarised 10 books but all he got was a slap on the wrist. Only his promotion was frozen and he later joined another university."

"When I was an adviser at the university, even students were doing the same."

"When I questioned them, they said even the lecturers plagiarised the student's work."

"Many students also plagiarised to do their thesis," he said at a press conference after the Malaysia Day celebrations at Komtar.

Ramasamy added the action taken against the perpetrators was not punitive enough.

"Malaysia can forget about enhancing the status of our universities to be world class if these matters are swept under the carpet without serious action being taken."

"Copying has become the norm and there is no ethics and with these happening, 1Malaysia is far from being achieved," he added.

written by ultraman, September 16, 2009 16:38:04
Not surprise in view of our third rate lecturers that we have.
written by concernedinmalaysia, September 16, 2009 16:39:38
I don't see what the problem is....can get everything here pirated, got pirate dvd, got pirate software, got pirate music, got pirate handphone, got pirate designer clothes and handbag, got pirate university degree now, so?
written by AngryTaxpayer, September 16, 2009 16:41:39
Shame!! Shame!!!

And these lecturers are still around!!??
written by garuda, September 16, 2009 16:56:55
Look at the quality of lecturers in universties, it seems that Indians/Chinese dont make good lecturers i suppose as opposed to private colleges where they account for over 90%!!
Such is the favoritism for UMNO that education is for UMNO sponsored people only, even staff, lecturers everyone!!
What do u expect when everyone is UMNO personnel? surely they will manipulate the marks and decide the level of passing out as we hv learnt from experiences.
Where else do we see such disparity than in our universities?? see for yrself the abject shame and teh one sided race based policy this UMNO regime practices
written by mick_err_stan, September 16, 2009 17:02:11
I'm not surprise. NEP can only produce sub-standard graduate. The intellectual have migrated. What is left behind can only copy.... with a kopi-O license in education what do one expect...... Sheeeesh !!!!
written by miwaki, September 16, 2009 17:04:46
My advice to potential copy-cats,plagiarise by all means but please do not copy word by word.To avoid being discovered,please do not copy from English books,try looking for books written in Mongolian,Tamil,Urdu or Chinese.
written by batsman, September 16, 2009 17:16:12
It is all about making money. The teachers of Chinese schools make it in a different way. They get commissions from homework books. I am told a headmaster in a big schools can earn as much as a couple of hundred thousand a year just from such commissions. It is the parents of the school kids who have to bear the cost of the work books.

So govt educational system is rotten in one way and the Chinese schools system is rotten in another way. So wat's new? 1Malaysia Boleh.
written by batsman, September 16, 2009 17:26:45
Does this mean now that international standing of Malaysian universities will further slide down the list? I don;t think plagiarised thesis is one of the factors that determine the standing, so we may still be quite safe. heeheehee
written by batsman, September 16, 2009 17:27:57
Pirate lecturers and professors are also not a factor considered in the list, so we are doubly safe.
written by freerpk, September 16, 2009 17:31:41
Sometimes you can blame the academic staff. If you need to do reseach and publish world class studies you need money. Money needed to fund lab tests, technicians who are knowledgable to do advance tests, equipments for the tests etc etc. Unfortunately money is in short supply for the universities and so the end result is that low grade papers are churned out just to fulfil the yearly quota. Give the universities what they gave PKFZ and you can see the academia churning out world class research papers.
written by Jan, September 16, 2009 17:36:07
Thanks to the abuse of NEP policies we have half past six graduates who became lecturers churning out quarter past six graduates who are now perfessors plagiarising other peoples' work.
It won't be long we will have the first batch of octo past six gradautes and the govt is wondering why public university graduates are unemployable. They spend millions more trying to make them employable not realising the solution is really to hire the best lecturers/vice chancellors irregardless of race and admit students purely on merit, not the bluff merit they are so used to.
written by 1st2stay, September 16, 2009 17:40:47
Ramasamy is correct. But don't put all blame squarely on the lecturers. It is those walking the corridors of power who have the wet dreams of Malaysia as a beacon of science and research. So the VCs get as part of their KPIs terms of global rankings (THES, e.g.) that must be achieved. Therefore, this KPI is passed down in the form of mandated numbers of publications, journal articles, books, grants for research and consultancy, etc.
And then there is the ranking of the IPTAs, the 'bintangs' dished out by the Ministry, the accreditation as Research University (RU), or even APEX university. All this creates an enormous pressure on the staff.

If you argue that this is likewise worldwide, right. Though, still with a difference: Staff elsewhere is selected without considering social obligations; and is informed at the time of recruitment of what is expected. As my friends working in the local universities tell me, in Malaysia this is different: here we have ever moving targets, and a number of staff is taken by surprise when specific targets are suddenly announced.
The gist is, one cannot 'produce' a world-class university within a few years, simply through administrative acts. The powers that be pretend, not to be aware of all this, despite their thorough western education.
written by Democrats, September 16, 2009 17:45:27
What do you expect? Even our culture and national theme is suspected plagarised from others!
written by Richfyf, September 16, 2009 17:58:07
I am not surprise Even the leader of our country plagarised. Where do you think the idea of 1Malaysia comes from if not from the Malaysian Malaysia!!!
written by citizenmy, September 16, 2009 18:17:42
This is the education culture our great Tun Mahathir had created...create more numbers, but no quality.
written by C360, September 16, 2009 18:36:34
Its just a continuation of scroowing up the education system
written by Nunudada, September 16, 2009 19:02:42
When quantity is needed,then quality has to be sacrificed.Malaysians today are literate no doubt but they are not that well educated.The easy way is fast but always andwithout gives rise to hiccups.
written by sataysticks, September 16, 2009 19:14:10
One of the lecturers who taught me English Lit. at UPM confessed that when she did her Masters in English at Ohio, her desertation was written by a Hong Kong friend. She used to give us notes and insist that her name be quoted when we answer exam questions.

Later, we found out whatever she claimed as hers were actually taken from a book not available at UPM library but was available at UKM.

This was about 20 years ago.
written by Krepot, September 16, 2009 19:36:18
Call me a racist if you must, but my observations show:
this illness seems to happen to only one race!
They just don't have the will, neither the pride to do it right!
written by Wakeupmsia, September 16, 2009 19:52:49
Couldn't agree with Krepot more. Krepot is right. The attitude of this race have been molded by AMNO for so long to the extend that many are having thinking deficiencies. A vast contrast of this race in Singapore. The masses study locally where the standard has no standard while the AMNOputras children are send abroad. This race needs to change for the betterment of themselves and for the country. Vote out BN. Vote in Pakatan.
written by cruzeiro, September 16, 2009 19:54:47
How come nobody says anything about "Thesis for a fee" syndicates which are apparently rampant in our Universities?
These guys offering the services even write their numbers on toilet walls!!
Can't the police get involved in this to discourage these shameless practices?
written by PeacefulMalaysia, September 16, 2009 20:16:48
This shows why we HAVE SO MANY MELAYUs with Doctorates

I am suprised because most of them cant speak a straight sentence of ENGLISH

POORAH MELAYU
written by flexus, September 16, 2009 20:39:57
the bloody university gives 500ringgit to do Final Year Projects,
ask for receipts in the form of RM50's and has another 10 procedures to make claims that one will end up not making the claim in the end.
I had to take out from my own pockets to cover
my project and then the university takes ownership after its over
and i find the fcuking lecturer using my research and tools to upgrade
his research and have new material for his class.so y not ??..
the education system in this country stinks
written by budakindia, September 16, 2009 22:32:14
It's a small wonder why Indonesians are angry with us! Copycats! Wahahaha! smilies/grin.gif
written by Vayu, September 16, 2009 22:40:39
Malaysian public universities = Expensive, imported, stylish, high quality, brilliantly coloured photo-copiers!
written by Bigdawg, September 16, 2009 22:46:43
Is this how it was with the " I've changed my mode; I now speak bahasa orang puteh ! " fella ??
written by mikewang, September 16, 2009 23:39:46
Haha .. shall we now find university professors, lecturers and students demanding the resignation of Prof. Ramasamy over his "ciplak" comments?
written by raven1958, September 17, 2009 01:32:54
Mana itu KPI minister...listen-up....

If you put a donkey as a Professor and ask him to publish 30 papers to meet your KPI....this is what you get ....copy cats...

Is that so hard to understand for UMNO's Education Minister....