Home arrow Guest Columnists arrow Malaysia Day Call for Peace and Unity

Malaysia Day Call for Peace and Unity PDF Print
Wednesday, 16 September 2009 12:57

(Malaysian Mirror) - In the true spirit of Malaysia Day, the crème de la crème of the country’s civil society gathered early this morning to eat a pre-dawn vegetarian meal together - signaling their hopes and wishes for peace and unity in the nation.

malaysia_day.jpgThe event Fast for the Nation, Peace for Malaysia was mooted by prominent citizens from across the political divide such as Marina Mahathir, former Bar Council president Ambiga Sreenevasan and Chief High Priest of Malaysia Venerable K Sri Dhammaratana Nayaka Maha Thera.

“This is more than just having sahur together.If you look at the composition of the people attending, you will notice it is apolitical,” analyst Mustapha Ong told the Malaysian Mirror.

“Folks from across the political divide are coming together urging peace and unity. And given the recent bouts of political and racial tensions, this is a timely reminder to us all that our ties with each other as Malaysians must be constantly renewed. We should never take each other lightly or for granted.”

Give and take

Malaysia became independent from British rule on August 31, 1957. And on September 16, 1963, Sabah and Sarawak joined the peninsula states to form Malaysia.

Similar events will be held for buka puasa  today at Cawan in Bangsar and Rumah Anak Bangsa Malaysia at 66, Lorong Setiabistari 1, Bukit Damansara, Kuala Lumpur.

Some of those present at this morning’s event also expressed the hope that the country’s top leaders would take stock of the current situation and respond wisely.

“But there must be give and take. As the people voice their wishes and aspirations, they must also play their part. They should try to rally behind Prime Minister Najib Razak and give his government a chance to carry out its mandate,” said Mustapha.

Comments (7)Add Comment
written by Democrats, September 16, 2009 13:37:24
MALAYSIA Day should be the day Sarawakian and Sabahan take stock of it own standing in the Federation of Malaysia. They are hundreds of miles away from Putrajaya and West malaysia, and ordinary west malaysians cannot even be bothered to know Kadazans are from Sabah not Sarawak, and that Kota Kinabalu is in Sabah, not Sarawak....

All that oil and timber money to built highways in West malaysia while Sarawakians have no roads or electricity, yet the East Malaysians are the one keeping BN-UMNO as the federal government. Happy Malaysia day!
written by KetamPadang, September 16, 2009 16:20:17

"Malaysia became independent from British rule on August 31, 1957. And on September 16, 1963, Sabah and Sarawak joined the peninsula states to form Malaysia."

The above sentences need correction or whosoever wrote or typed it should make correction... It NOT MALAYSIA that became independent from British rule on August 31, 1957. It MALAYA.
written by DavidBKK, September 16, 2009 16:46:06
Who is this Mustapha Ong? I thought this gathering is supposed to be apolitical. Why are you suggesting that we rally behind the PM and the BN govt to 'give his government a chance to carry out its mandate'. We all know who are the culprits behind all the recent political and racial tensions. That's why we are breaking fast together for Divine intervention to put a stop to all this nonsense. Here you are asking us to back the very people who started it all.
written by whoisthis, September 16, 2009 17:22:29
1Malaysia.

When Najib first heard the suggestion by his advisers, he aked them what it means.

It means building a Strong Team of Malaysians for All Races. Calling the Team 1Malaysia.

So he quickly summoned Dato Nazmi of Proton and told him.

"I have been advised to built a Strong Malaysian Team for All Races. So can you make sure that Lotus can built me a Strong 1Malaysia Team for the F1 Races."
written by Ghifarix, September 16, 2009 18:28:12
Where got war? All we have is a Gomen terrorizing the people terrorizing Truth, looting the treasury and sodomizing the Courts. Lets talk truth to the Gomen- what peace?
written by boblskee, September 17, 2009 03:10:36
Who is this Mustapha Ong?

Short answer ..

* He was the Private Sec to the Mahathir era Info Minister, Mohd Rahmat

* He was alleged to have attempted to bribe an Arab NY cabdriver to frame Anwar Ibrahim in a sex for hire scandal in Sodomy 1 back in the late 90s

* He is the father of Omar Ong, one of the notorious 4th Floor Boys of the Pak Lah era

Having said that .. the event was an open one. Non-partisan or at least bi-partisan. There was an understanding that we were participating as Malaysians and leaving our political leanings at home. For me, this was a low down hijack of the event's agenda in collusion with the MCA affiliated Malaysian Insider!

.. nuff said?
written by boblskee, September 17, 2009 03:15:53
Ooops .. I meant the Malaysian Mirror!