Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Iban communities launch new logging road blockade

Iban communities launch new logging road blockade PDF Print
Tuesday, 15 September 2009 21:33

By Sadia HQ c/o Bruno Manser Fonds

Simunjan Sarawak. About 120 Iban Natives, including women, from Kampung Ensika, Kampung Entanggor, Kampung Tungkah Iban and Kampung Arus Sebangan were in full force once again to set up a blockade to defend their communal land and forest from the destruction by the logging Company Hock Tong Hin (forest licence Holder  T/5090) and its contractor Forest Wealt SDN Bhd.

This is the second time they have set up a blockade to save their communal forest. The first blockade was made on 14th September 2006 and subsequently a suit was filed in 2007 (Suit No 22-118-2007) against the same licencee (Hock Tong Hin) when their contractor then was Roundtree Timber Sdn Bhd. The trial has been set for 8th December 2009.

Nicholas Mujah, their spokeman, said he had made a police report on the incident at Simunjan Police Station on the 9th and also logged a complaint with the Sarawak Forest Corporation whom he believes is the authority entrusted by the government of the day to deal with logging thieves in the state. I am very much saddened and gravely concerned that there has since been no action by the authorities to stop the state's assets and monies from being stolen in bright daylight. Mujah has a suspicion that there is collusion between the FSC, especially the SAPU section, and the logging Company.

Mujah further said that when he and his collegue went to the SFC office at Serian on 8th September 2009 to check the validity of the said logging operation, one man who later acknowledged himself to be from the logging concession T/5090 was seen to really control the office (like just sitting all over the tables belong to the corporation freely as if at first glance he was the boss there). And when I was attended to by one of the SFC officers only to be told that he is the officer from the logging company, he could only say that I have to refer my complaint to their head office in Kuching. Upon meeting the officer in charge by the name of David Mohamad, he took my statement and asked for my Identity Card to which I obliged. The said officer promised to call me a few days later to arrange transport for field investigations. I have, till this present day, not received any call from him besides having my calls to him being unanswered.

Meanwhile, at the blockade site, the communities had successfully met the mandor and stopped the locomotive-laden logs from being removed from the communal area. The blockade is still on-going for the 3rd day now. The people have yet to meet the police as normally expected.

Nicholas also said that the communities are determined to defend their land and forest even if there are arrests initiated by the police. I am already immune to this situation and I will face the authorities and challenge them in the court of justice if my communities are harassed or intimidated.

Comments (8)Add Comment
written by Richfyf, September 15, 2009 22:08:18
Expect the natives instead of the thieves that will be arrested by the Police.

Now you know why YB LKS ask for a new IGP
written by michael chick, September 16, 2009 00:13:38
Some idiot will start blaming TUN Bruno Manser again. How silly are these BOZO's calle DUMNO anyway???? Do they really have an IQ which approximates their age?
written by Bigdawg, September 16, 2009 03:59:58
Nikolas,

Time to think like Rentap.
written by goman2k3, September 16, 2009 04:01:00
NGOs should be campaigning for these dayaks who are brave enough to protest against these logging. Where are the dayak politicians like Jabu, Masing and Maging. They all are living in kuching in big houses and fat account in their bank/.
written by quietguy, September 16, 2009 06:55:35
This has been going on for years. In spite of this, why do the Ibans still see fit to vote for the BN, like what happened in Batang Ai?

goman2k3,
These are Ibans, not Dayaks.
written by michael chick, September 16, 2009 08:05:56
Hey quietguy, Ibans are a "subset/ subcomponent" of the Dayaks. You have Land Dayaks and Sea Dayaks. Goman2k3 is right.

Peace
written by wongnoball, September 16, 2009 09:21:56
Better tech IBAN to burn all tyres of truck better...during a Dark Stormy night...No truck no way to take illegal and Corruption Logs for sale....Keep doing it for 3 months and see how they can keep repairing...First contract gets cancelled assuming they have 3 months of stock pile...then their debt will eat into their profit ....keep doing it for 18 months or burn all the Forest logs and ALL go bankrupt including Taib.....Scorch Earth Policy...No one BENEFIT and see who survive better...Only way to end these Murderous and Rapist SCUM BN leaders of Sarawak!!
written by quietguy, September 16, 2009 13:47:51
michael chick, thanks for the explanation. I stand corrected.