Home arrow Guest Columnists arrow Pakatan Rakyat not supporting PAS Youth call to ban beer

Pakatan Rakyat not supporting PAS Youth call to ban beer PDF Print
Tuesday, 15 September 2009 15:58

(Malay Mail) - PAS Youth says its proposal to ban the sale of beer in Muslim-majority areas in Pakatan-ruled States was only a suggestion.

“It was merely a suggestion on our part and it is something the Pakatan leadership can choose to accept or reject,” Pas Youth deputy chief Azman Shapawi Ab Rani said.

“There is no disappointment or any ill-feeling on our part if they reject it. We are only giving suggestions based on what we believe is the best policy to be implemented in Muslim-majority areas in Pakatan-ruled States.”

Yesterday, Opposition Leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim announced the rejection of the proposal by the Pakatan Rakyat leadership.

Azman Shapawi said it’s fine if they have a better suggestion but if that wasn’t the case, then they should try and see if our suggestion can be implemented.

“Our goal is merely to present ideas for the leadership to come to a decision that will be beneficial for the people,” he said.

Anwar, in response to Pas Youth’s proposal to impose a ban on selling beer in all Muslim-majority areas in Pakatan-ruled States, said that such proposals, forwarded last Saturday by Azman Shapawi, were only suggestions to be deliberated by the Pakatan leadership.

Anwar denied that Pakatan would eventually consider imposing a ban on the sale of beer in Muslim-majority areas as suggested by the Islamic party.

He said the Pakatan leadership had accepted the present policy of self-regulation by all convenience stores in predominantly Muslim areas.

Yesterday, Malay Mail reported that Pas Youth’s call for a wider ban of liquor sales wasn’t going down well, even with its own compatriots.

Selangor Local Government, Study and Research Committee chairman Ronnie Liu questioned why only the issue of liquor was brought up when there were other social ills like gambling.

Liu was also baffled by Azman Shapawi’s push for such guidelines to be imposed in Perak when the State was no longer governed by Pakatan Rakyat.

Subsequently, Kedah Menteri Besar Datuk Seri Azizan Abdul Razak was quoted by Bernama as saying that he was in the dark about the call by Pas Youth.

He said that he didn’t see an urgent need for this to be implemented as Kedah already had its own laws on regulating the sale of beer and alcohol.

Comments (25)Add Comment
written by ibabonma, September 15, 2009 16:15:33
Azman Shapawi Ab Rani,

How to implement your proposal? How many Malays or non-Malays by percentage for that matter are staying in my residential area? You need to do head-count before giving out liquor license? Gila punya kerja.

written by Richfyf, September 15, 2009 16:22:32
Everyone have their right to their own opinion. At least the PAS youth give a written proposal to the government and allow them to evaluate it. They did not shout MB Bodoh or parade to the MB office with a cow head and banner "TAKE BEER".

They just doing what they feel their members wants that all. Its a proposal and not a DEMAND like what UMNO would have organise. No one from PAS youth demand that BLOOD will flow if their demand are not met.

I might not agree with their stand BUT I will support their RIGHT to their VIEWS.
written by ekt tan, September 15, 2009 16:31:13
The most effective way to ban beer and alcohol is to cut off the main source of supply. Shut down breweries, ban all importation and make it a narcotic drug. Even better, impose a death sentance for any Muslim caught drinking or in pocession of any form of alcohol product. PAS should consider these options. When this beer and alcohol issues are resolved, they find another agenda like banning entertainment, thus no more TV and movies. Over the years there will be no telephones, cars, electricity and the list goes on.
written by Zapper, September 15, 2009 16:31:40
PAS Youth....bangun from your sleep. Do not impose your religion to others. Mutual respect is important in our country. Trying to be holier than thou will lead you no where. By the way, is it your responsibility to ensure that all Malaysian will have to follow what you preach?? Want to go to heaven, go after those corrupted politicians.

The rakyat from all walks of life will love you for that!!
written by Bosan, September 15, 2009 16:36:25
Azman Shapawi said it’s fine if they have a better suggestion but if that wasn’t the case, then they should try and see if our suggestion can be implemented

Azman, we don't have any suggestion and we don't need any suggestion. The present law is sufficient, the enforcement is the problem if they don't perform professionally and efficiently.Let me ask you, Azman,possesing syabu,dadah,ecstasy pills more than a certain amount will get you death sentence, still many people are willing to do it. I'm waiting for your suggestion on how to avoid people trafficking these deadly substances before you even think of banning beer in Malay majority area which is depriving the rights of all non Islamic consumers.
written by Rozlan, September 15, 2009 16:52:22
How can they demanded to ban beer.Beer is not classified under alcoholic drink what???.It is a beverage like FN Orange,Pepsi Cola,Coca Cola.
written by sampalee, September 15, 2009 16:58:48
The politicians create the problem.Take our simple ganja[hemp]which was so much cheaper to grow than tobacco and have less long term damage to health than smoking tobacco.The giant tobacco companies out to protect their lucrative business colluded with business and come with all sorts of FALSE report on smoking of hemp,that it is now accepted worldwide as an outlawed and dangerous drug.
Similarly,the reverse spin is given to alcohol and in the form of beers and stout pass on to the public as beverages.Our society have compromise every virtue in the greed of profit and pass it off as tolerence.

Gambling is a no no with every religions and yet our muslim umno government can find acceptance by legalising them with licenses

It is very clear religions protect mankind,while politic bring about confusion for evil to survive in the midst justified by warp up rational thinking.
written by harryo, September 15, 2009 17:43:49
Come on PAS let us all come to a compromise. We want PR to govern but if there is no compromise and felexibilty, its will fail even before it takes over the Government in GE13.
written by miwaki, September 15, 2009 18:01:01
I'm a Chinese living in Chinese majority area and beer is easily available here.Coffee shops,7-Eleven,grocery stores and pubs are everywhere but I do not purchase and consume beer in my life simply because I do not know how to drink !

If I know how to drink,you can ban sale of beer in my area or the state that I live,I still can buy it from other states.Don't behave like kids,we are grown up already !
written by oneofthesedays, September 15, 2009 18:35:17
Please don't taliBAN our country.
written by burmen, September 15, 2009 18:49:04
The best solution is for PAS to leave PR, they can be a pain in 'the you know where'. They just bloody got nothing better to air to gain some cheap publicity but simply call for the ban of this and that.

PAS please stand on your own in the 13GE and campaign for your various bans. Let's see how many seats you can get.

Stupid idiots these PAS, riding on PR popularity to flex your muscles. They make Islam a religion of force.
written by maisur, September 15, 2009 19:06:59
reading from the comments above, we can see how shallow minded are the MT readers (read non-muslims). PAS youth made a suggestion and when their suggestion was rejected, they were OK with it.

this is what we call maturity, not like stupid readers above (except richfyf) who could not accept any suggestions that don't befit them even if the suggestion only involve the muslims.

in fact a stupid donkey called burmen even suggested PAS to leave PR. hello donkey... it is better for you to leave malaysia if you cannot listen to any suggestions. baghal!
written by Fuminari, September 15, 2009 19:07:59
so what??is that a big deal???everyone is free to voice their own opinion,adopted or not;that's another matter,it isn't a big deal at all.
written by Concerned Malaysian, September 15, 2009 21:51:29
I am not sure what is going on the minds of PAS Youth team? Why not goto Kuala Terangganu to ban or revoke the license of cheap motel where muslim couple were caught for Khalwat ( close proximity. Why not do that in all Pakatan states. will it stop these Muslims to stay away from Khalwat! Hoi...mangkuk ingatlah.

Why not educate the Muslim to stay away from Khalwat, alcohol, corruption and other vices. Educate dont take the easy way to stop/ban anything that you all cannot control your desire ( nafsu). Kawal nafsu jangan kata sebarangan....build more suraus when you have big enough mosques...yet every taman got a surau...it is not the amount of suraus that make the muslim to pray 5 times but the iman to pray and follow quran and the the prophet (bpbuh)....think lah fellow muslims..don't take the easy way out..just to show how islamic you are....fiki-fikir dulu..
written by orangbukit, September 15, 2009 23:01:23
To Pas Youth leader,

Please forget about scoring political mileage and move on to bigger things like winning the minds and hearts of the rakyat.

Another by-election coming....let's work on that.
written by Jit Dharma, September 16, 2009 00:02:28
The problem is not the proposal, you have a right to that, the problem is the way UMNO will pounce on such a suggestion to create further problems for PR. Why are the Star and Malay Mail so bothered with this issue if not to create fear among non-Muslims. Please accept DSAI's guidance on this issue, and move on to other more more pressing issues. PAS has come a long way, and has won a great deal of respect and cannot afford to squander it. It is good that you can deal with the issue in a diplomatic way.
written by Daryl, September 16, 2009 00:27:02
Dear PAS Youth

We need you guys to come up with future leaders not perform tasks like a moral policemen or policewomen. People will get their sip of alcohol if they want too and you have to realize those you caught are poor Muslims not those rich Muslims. What are you doing is create more burden on the poor and the rich get away with it. Do you call that justice? If you cannot implement something fairly you might as well not do it at all. Instead go catch those that are driving while under influence and those that sells alcohol to minors. Give them a big fine and if they cause accidents make sure push for criminal charges is in order if need too. That will not only win Muslim but non-Muslims as well and more people will be involved as a Malaysian agenda not Islamic agenda.

Please think first before you want to be a defender of Islam instead spreading the good will of Islam.
written by ibat, September 16, 2009 01:04:21
Dear Pas leaders!! You have a party that has proven its resilience and you guys can really shoot double barrel shotguns. Trouble is you have tendencies to have one of the barrels pointing at your own face!! Grow up and do your party, its members and the country justice. As daryl said, stop trying to be moral policemen (that role is reserved for the americans). Quoting oneofthesedays: "Please don't taliBAN our country"
written by Areyaar, September 16, 2009 01:57:19
If ever there is an actual ban on the sale of beer in certain areas, you can bet your very last dollar on the almost confirmed reality that beer and other alcoholic drinks will be brought in anyway to meet the demand and supply situation. Then PAS Youth will start making loud noises to appoint vigilante groups to hunt down and arrest (for whipping maybe?), those responsible for the illegal sale of alcohol.

And let's not forget that other spin-off industry the ban is most likely to produce: the production and sale of moon-shine. Bootleg beer will probably sell even better than the original stuff as it will likely be cheaper. Then when people start dying because they consumed poisonous bootleg, what will PAS Youth do?

They better understand that while they scream from the rooftops about "protecting" the rakyat from the evils of alcohol, they had better be prepared for the repurcussions that a ban will surely bring about.

And once again, they dissapoint. Instead of spending the huge amounts of energy and manpower they have in resolving bigger, more threatening issues like the growing menace of Mat Rempits, corruption, human-rights abuse etc, they pick on an issue like the sale of alcohol to score some small time triumph.

But we must thank them for continuing to enlighten the general public on their twisted logic. They will go into a frenzy because of a rock concert, but say nothing about gangs of Mat Rempits attacking helpless members of the public, the same public they say they want to protect.

Way to go PAS Youth! You continue to show us your true colours.
written by MsLim, September 16, 2009 07:24:35
Come on lah PAS, temptations are everywhere. People who are not allowed to consume beer just have to be strong against temptations.
written by Mark C, September 16, 2009 09:55:06
actually i do reckon the manner as to how Pas youth goes about proposing their ideas is a good exercise of democracy. It's more civilized compared to the seksen 23 cow head protesters.

It's a democratic process by which equal members of a coalition voices their opinions and suggestions and the Pakatan leadership can discuss on it. IMHO, this action is really laudable and commendable. In truth I think the youth wing has come along way and is in stark contrasts to the seksen 23 fiasco.

Do not be taken by the spin medias like malay Mail. Like YB Tony Pua said, Pakatan Rakyat is more viable than most people think and the MSMs would make us believe.
written by ROBERTNGTG, September 16, 2009 10:12:00
PAS Youth says its proposal to ban the sale of beer in Muslim-majority areas in Pakatan-ruled States was only a suggestion.

“It was merely a suggestion on our part and it is something the Pakatan leadership can choose to accept or reject,” Pas Youth deputy chief Azman Shapawi Ab Rani said.

WE FULLY SUPPORT TOK GURU'S WISDOM OF JUDGEMENT AND EXPRESSION. WHY CANT U BLOKES JUST RESPECT HIS OPINIONS AND HV TO MAKE A BLOODY FOOL OF YOURSELVES??? WE SHARE A COMMON PLATFORM IN WANTING TO GET RID OF A COMMON ENEMY - BEEND/AMENO. SO JUST LEARN HOW TO SHARE THIS PLATFORM AND NOT PUSH OUT YOUR COMRADES AND END UP FEELING LIKE A BLOODY IDIOT.
written by alarcarte, September 16, 2009 14:30:46
written by Rozlan, September 15, 2009 16:52:22
Beer is not classified under alcoholic drink what???.It is a beverage like FN Orange,Pepsi Cola,Coca Cola.

They can always re-classify beer into Alcoholic drinks, a couple of beers won't make you drunk but more than that and you will.

Restrict the sale of alcoholic drinks to certain outlet or specialize Alcohol shops and banning Muslim from these shops might be the answer.

By the way, alcoholic drinks are extremely easy to produce (fermented sugar juice only-mah), banning it only drives people to produce their own alcoholic drinks.

written by Fairminded, September 16, 2009 14:47:25
PAS youth do have the right to suggest as in an open democratic PKR process. And we should all resort to civil debate instead of name calling. I too oppose the banning of beer sales. It is like everyone pointed out - how to you determine or draw the line as which religion followers is the majority in a given area and it will open up the pandoras box because questions will arise such as - will you ban beef sales in Hindu area? Will you ban suara calls from mosque in non muslim area etc. I think it is best to leave it to the individual to test his/her faith in the teachings of Islam. If a muslim wanted to drink beer he/she can buy it anywhere. Banning beer sales is not the solution but better understanding and faith in their religion is the answer.
written by justiceseeker, September 16, 2009 22:45:58
The issue is very simple. Alcohol consumption is a life style of non muslims and not that of muslims. That being the case PAS youth or PAS itself should focus their attention on the muslims themselves. It should not involve intruding into the life styles of non muslims. It dosent matter on the geographic location of the non muslims. I could be living in a 99% muslim area but that does not mean I should not be celebrating Christmas or my birthday parties where wine, beers and the likes are the order of the day. Listen PAS why on earth do you feel so insecure that you have to impose your lifestyles on others. Why on the other hand do you have to keep talking about religion all the time. Is religion your only past time in life. Aren’t you bothered about your economic well being and your standards of living. Be concerned about your childrens educational development and the development of the country. I don't have to be listening about religion from a bunch of youths and furthermore religion to me is personal.