Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow At least I have the last laugh

At least I have the last laugh PDF Print
Tuesday, 15 September 2009 15:13

Investigations carried out by the UPM in Serdang, near here, found that a large chunk of the book contents were lifted from the websites, and some materials are said to have been lifted word-for-word.

Raja Petra ordered to pay RM4 million in damages

Tan Chew Chin, New Straits Times, 27 March 2008

The Alor Star High Court yesterday ordered blogger Raja Petra Raja Kamarudin to pay RM2 million to Universiti Utara Malaysia (UUM) vice-chancellor Tan Sri Dr Nordin Kardi in general damages over an article he posted on his website "Malaysia Today" two years ago.

Deputy High Court Registrar Priscilla Gengadaran also ordered Raja Petra to pay RM2 million to the university over the article which appeared on the website on Dec 16, 2006.

Raja Petra and two defendants did not defend themselves and they also failed to appoint counsel.

Nordin, the first plaintiff, and UUM, the second plaintiff, had filed a defamation suit against Raja Petra (first defendant) and three others -- Parti Keadilan Rakyat (second defendant), chief editor of the opposition party's organ, Suara Keadilan (third defendant) and editor of the bulletin (fourth defendant) -- on Feb 25 last year.

Nordin and UUM claimed that Raja Petra and the three other defendants had published the libellous article with intention to tarnish his and UUM's good name and integrity.

The article Dato' Dr Nordin Kardi Ciplak Karya Saya? Mohon Penjelasan... (Dato' Dr Nordin Kardi plagiarises my works? Please explain...) was first published in Raja Petra's website, "Malaysia Today", on Dec 16, 2006.

The article authored by Muhtar Haji Suhaili had claimed his works Mahasiswa dan Tanggujawab Menguruskan Kejayaan (Graduands and the Responsibility in Managing Success) was plagiarised by a person who had used the name Dato' Nordin Kardi.

As it turned out, Raja Petra had picked up the article which was posted on a website at http://muhtarsuhaili.tripod.com.

The article was subsequently published in Suara Keadilan on Dec 27, 2006.

In her judgement, Priscilla also ordered the chief editor and editor of Suara Keadilan to each pay Nordin RM1 million for publishing the article.

They also each have to pay UUM RM500,000.

Nordin and UUM were represented by Mohd Khairul Azam Abdul Aziz.

Priscilla, however, has yet to fix a trial date for the PKR which is represented by R. Sivarasa.

Meanwhile, Nordin described the judgment as a landmark decision against a cyber misconduct.

"I hope others who might have been defamed by cyber misconduct would consider legal action against the wrongdoers.

"I also hope the High Court decision would serve as a deterrent against any attempt to invade the integrity of an individual or institution," he said.

FURTHER READING: Others, not you, decide what you are

Copy-cat lecturers 'wrote' guide book for UPM

Malaysian Mirror, Tuesday, 15 September 2009

We all know about lazy students who siphon information from the Internet and passing it to their lecturers as ‘research’.

What we do not expect is lecturers doing the same thing and passing their work to the students as a ‘guide book.’  Worse, they were getting royalties for what they did.

A 64-page book, titled Writing an Effective Resume and authored by two academicians of the Universiti Putra Malaysia (UPM) was said to have contained plagiarised materials of several American university websites, including Harvard and Albion College.

It was meant to help management students on writing resumes that are impactful and attractive to potential employers.

However, investigations carried out by the UPM in Serdang, near here, found that a large chunk of the book contents were lifted from the websites, and some materials are said to have been lifted word-for-word.

A professor and a PhD holder

Media reports said the book was written by two academicians and published two years ago. One of the authors is a professor while the other had just received her PhD from the university, recognised as a leading research-intensive public university.

Formerly known as Universiti Pertanian Malaysia, UPM offers undergraduate and postgraduate courses with a research focus on agricultural sciences and related fields.

Suspicions that the guide book may have been plagiarized, arose about a year ago and investigations were immediately started.

The two lecturers have since been questioned and given a warning, which will be included in their service record. It does not look for their career development.

UPM vice-chancellor Dr Nik Mustapha R Abdullah said the university’s legal department had advised the management to give ‘’very stern warnings’ to the two lecturers.

Book will be removed from shelves

He added, however, that neither one will be suspended but they have to return to the university any royalties they had received from the book.

The plagiarised guide book will be removed from the varsity’s shelves, he told The Star.

He said officers from the legal department had questioned the authors and had made suggestions to the UPM management on the disciplinary action that could be taken against the two, who had regretted their action and had apologized for it.

Contacted by the daily, Higher Education Minister Mohamed Khaled Nordin said the ministry viewed that matter seriously, adding: “We will leave it to the university to conduct their investigation and to take the necessary action.”

Higher Education Ministry director-general Prof Dr Radin Umar Radin Sohadi acknowledged receiving complaints, adding that  investigations are ongoing.

"We certainly cannot accept plagiarism, especially in the higher education environment," he told theSun daily, adding that punitive action would be taken under the Universities and University Colleges Act and Statutory Bodies (Discipline and Surcharge) Act (Act 605).

The authors and publishers of the original material have not been notified.

Comments (31)Add Comment
written by DreamLady, September 15, 2009 15:42:43
Professors with muka tembuk! Where are you guys going to hide your faces when you keep telling the students not to plagirize other people's work??? These are the sort of learned educators who have in the country, they are immoral, and shameless!!!

MALAYSIA BOLIH!!!
agree 218
written by bodohland_citizen, September 15, 2009 15:44:01
Biasalah Uncle Pete, sudah jadi adat nak cari duit cara mudah, macam macam pilihan mereka ada !
written by citizenmy, September 15, 2009 15:44:15
In fact this PHD Holder had done an extensive research in the Internet, and decided to Copy the best material and take credit for it.
If PHD Holders also like this, what to say about others..Malaysia Boleh!!!!
agree 116
written by ibabonma, September 15, 2009 15:44:16
RPK, those who laugh last, laugh the loudest and surely at the displeasure of AG Gani or Guni setail.

written by teohchye, September 15, 2009 15:55:05
Hey, this is Malaysia Boleh at its best! But the Gomen people are the ones laughing all the way to the bank, with the Rakyat's money. These leeches have got to be stopped before they suck the whole country dry! Enough is enough, these scumbags and slimeballs must be got rid of once and for all.
written by jaz, September 15, 2009 15:59:10
Hah! That's what you get for cheating. Shame on you. How to set example to your students? This is the quality of PHD holders in Malaysia? What to do? What to do?
written by cheemengwong, September 15, 2009 16:03:01
I know of at least 2 businessmen having PhD and employees have to address them as Doctor. They never do any doctoral disserations! On their table, they put their names as Dr. Wong, Dr. Kee. How shameful.
written by Admiral Tojo, September 15, 2009 16:04:10
Ha! Ha! Ha! What a great shame. So does that not mean that the coruts were also taken for a ride by these so called Professors? Should the judgement made on RPK and Suara Keadilan be reversed, with damages thrown in? It is wishful thinking I suppose since these courts are best for kangaroos.

written by arazak, September 15, 2009 16:19:32

Don't look further;

1. Negara ku, plagerized from Mamoola Moon or Trang Bulan (whatever)!
2. One Malaysia, plagerized from One Israel

Another thing, I would like to suggest, that professor who won the lawsuit under the kangroo court; go and "Tanam kangkong" with the money. Than you will be rightfully be called Professor Kangkong!

Or, maybe he can start a small IPP. . ., what's that IPP?
written by eeyaw, September 15, 2009 16:45:50
Pete this 'plagiarism' disease is pandemic in Malaysia across all levels of society. Remember the High Court Judge who used Chili-man Lingam to write his judgement. Thanks to Umno this is ketuanan in your face!!!! smilies/angry.gif
written by TWOG, September 15, 2009 16:51:00
written by arazak, September 15, 2009 16:19:32
Don't look further;
1. Negara ku, plagerized from Mamoola Moon or Trang Bulan (whatever)!
2. One Malaysia, plagerized from One Israel

Aiyah Arazak, you also don't have to look that far to the Middle East.
One People, One Nation, One Singapore.
written by harmanamri, September 15, 2009 17:12:08
This is the Nordin Kardi who, in the televised debate between DS Anwar Ibrahim and Shabry Cheek last year asked, what has IPP got to do with price of petrol (Bangang punya profesor)!
written by Mr Bean, September 15, 2009 17:32:01
It all went back to the standard of tertiary education in Malaysia.

They were spoon fed, gone to university thru back doors, scholarship provided etc.

At the end of production line, poor quality graduates, but good in cheating.

Malaysia Boleh
written by Surind Raj, September 15, 2009 17:33:53
written by Surind Raj, September 15, 2009 17:36:30
written by SiHangChai, September 15, 2009 18:16:05
I am not surprise with this quality of profs or lecturers and things happening in UPM. In fact, my boss, banking staff who went to study at UPM for her Master in HR and graduated in late 1990s did plagrise my work as part of her assignment and thesis. She has been asking me to write HR Mgmt papers for Board of Directors saying requested by COO, and I only discovered when the COO told me that he did not request her for such assignment. I saw the title of her thesis in the UPM graduate web site, and did some enquiries and reported to UPM Graduate school but nobody come back to me.

As a a a top senior mgmt staff with a reputable company now in HR, I must say that I do not hire any UPM graduates unless I read their thesis and project papers. Sorry, I don't believe and have confident in UPM education results anymore.
written by 1st2stay, September 15, 2009 18:18:38
The good Nik Mustapha, VC of UPM, tries hard to contain the damage.
In vain.
The main author of that book happens to have obtained her Bachelor’s Degree in Law at the International Islamic University.

To jaz's: "This is the quality of PHD holders in Malaysia?" Ohio State University, it is.
written by ultraman, September 15, 2009 18:33:52
The University view this seriously! - Standard statement.
We warned the lecturers agaibnst this action! - Another standard statement.
Hey, this is the standard statement ofour government.
Another standard procedure of Malaysia Boleh : - NO ACTION!!!!
But if against opposition: ACTION DENGAN SEGERA!!!
written by techboy_88, September 15, 2009 19:03:34
Let's have the book for free as collector's item before it goes to the dustbin. Hahaha!
written by Vayu, September 15, 2009 19:27:44
Plagiarism is nothing new. It goes back a long long time even to religious books. Until the day when people have sufficient maturity to discuss such things openly, such things will remain hidden. Today's investigative softwares reveal a lot of things previously kept from public.
written by SBennit, September 15, 2009 21:55:52
And they were given only warning!....isnt this a jailable offence??

Copy this article and send to various overseas universities.

This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it
written by thirdeye, September 15, 2009 22:22:09
Let us be honest for once. The truth is abundantly clear. Our PUBLIC UNIS are overrun by grossly incompetent persons. PhD dari mana pun tak tahu. The orang putih just happy to accept d money so he dishes out PhDs knowing these people are going ack to some "third world country with a piece of paper which is worth SHIT and they dont care. Malaysia Boleh. Public Unis boleh. Yahoo
written by panca, September 15, 2009 23:06:43
The round hat these 'guys' wore were made from discarded carton boxes 'stolen' from recycled factory ah?
written by johnT, September 15, 2009 23:14:11
Malaysia is following Lee Kuan Yew, Whoever become pembangkang will be bangkrupcy. Very bad
written by bobdylan, September 15, 2009 23:28:03
Even Jesus when they(moneychangers) defiled His Father's House took a wip and wipped them out. This is our beloved country sometimes as u say so often the ends justify the means. Look at what these morons have done to the country.

However, it takes a great man like you to understand them. On the cross Jesus forgave the very people who were about to kill Him. After what you have gone through i am in no position to tell you that you are wrong.

I have a question though, why is it that everytime i write something negative about PKR or LGE the comment is lowly rated. Cant we agree to disagree. In fact one of my comments have even been erased.

written by sataysticks, September 16, 2009 00:22:05
Anyone who has read Journalist Rose Ismail article in the NST some years ago would know that one of top public university's VC only had a general degree. Another was caught for Plagiarism and yet ended up as the VC because of his political connections.

Fortunately, these 2 from UPM were caught, lots of them pass off Plagiarism as genuine research. It so common in our public universities. Look at our former Deputy Education Minister Mahathir Khir (ex MP of Sg Petani) and datul Elias Omar. For years they were called "DR" when in fact they never confirmed their PhDs!
written by penangboi, September 16, 2009 01:23:47
Now, anybody still wondering why Malaysian Universities have dropped into a bottomless abyss in their rankings?

This is also the result of NEP policies trying to achieve the numbers by all means even if it means having to lower the entrance exams standards to let in bumiputras into universities. Superficial face-saving results must be maintained by all means at the expense of producing hopeless graduates who are only trained in plagiarism.

So, still think UMNO/BN with their NEP policies are good for the country and for the rakyat?

Wake up everybody. Under BN/UMNO we are heading down the gutters.

We need to act to save ourselves.

Let's start with Bagan Pinang and kick UMNO/BN out; then march onwards to GE 13.

The rot must be excised.
written by Angela Ooi, September 16, 2009 07:51:25
Vindication sure is sweet, dear Raja Petra please counter sue them and take them to the cleaners (these scums DO need the cleaning anyway)
Their shameful and selfish actions have tarnished and tarred all the legitimate graduands...present, past and future. Everyday Malaysia Boleh La La Land is still going great guns making LOL negative headlines around the world.
written by freerpk, September 16, 2009 08:37:06
If the above article is correct..this chap is also a Tan Sri, man!!!Malysia is really wonderful
written by Xerxes, September 16, 2009 11:52:32
UPM may not have suspended or sack them but if these two academicians have any pride left in them they should just do the decent thing and resign. I cannot for the life of me imagine how they can stand in front of the lecture hall and preach to the students why they must not plagiarise.

This soft rap on the knuckles is sending a wrong message to other academicians in other universities. They know that it is worth to take the risk and the worst they can get is a warning. But if they get away with it, the sky is the limit.
written by teo siew chin, September 16, 2009 12:29:00
kinda like the picture of "that" batu lifted from the internet.. smilies/wink.gif