Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Urgent message to Hindraf leaders

Urgent message to Hindraf leaders PDF Print
Tuesday, 12 February 2008 14:52

By Little Bird

Hindraf is planning another peaceful gathering, this time to Parliament on the 16th February. My humble request to Hindraf is to call this thing off. It will backfire.

The General Elections are going to be held soon. The anti-establishment atmosphere and anti-government sentiment is still very strong. For the first time in our history, thousands of Malay and non-Malay voters are disappointed with the government and they are ready to vote for the opposition.

Up to this moment, it appears that this anti-government sentiment is still holding strong. If Hindraf goes ahead with their 'protest of roses' this 16th February, there is a high risk that it will make the Malays and also many other people close ranks and rally around the government instead. The sentiment will swing back in favour of BN.

After the last Hindraf protest, much anti-government sentiment disappeared, especially among the Malays. The anti-government Malays rallied around the government again. It is BN who benefited most from the last round of Hindraf protests. The Indians have not won any real concessions from the government at all. Five Hindraf leaders are in jail. The Indian vote does not count at all. As we speak now, plans are already underway to relocate pockets of Indian squatters and other residents from Indian areas like Klang, Perak and elsewhere.

What the Hindraf protests have done is permanently impact the Indian vote. After 1999, the voting demography of anti-government Kelantan Malays in Kuala Lumpur has been completely erased. They have moved out, moved in, torn down, built up and rearranged places where Kelantan Malays congregated. Do you think the same thing cannot be done with the Indians?

On 16th February, no matter how peaceful the march, the police will be asked to spray water cannons and teargas. There will be chaos. This time the state media and other apparatus will be fully-prepared and ready to show the protesters in the worst possible light in all the Malay language media and newspapers. It will make the Malays rally around BN again.

So, for the greater good, Hindraf should call off this peaceful protest on 16th February. It is too close to the elections and there is a great opportunity to whip up and maintain anti-government sentiment. We may be able to deny the BN their 2/3 majority or better. This is a golden chance for us all. Do not spoil the party.

I suggest, instead, that Hindraf organise a 'One million Indians in Prayer & Commitment' session on the 16th of February or some other closest date. You can have this at your temples, community centres , homes, etc., without involving any public places. Invite other Malaysians to join you in support. We will come. Make it an event where Indians reaffirm their vows and commitments to their country, their families, neighbours and friends. Invite Malaysians of all races to come and show support. We will come. Lets make it a peaceful multi cultural Malaysian event but spearheaded by Hindraf.

If Hindraf goes ahead with their protest on the 16th of February, you will only be doing BN a great favour. Please think wisely and call of the planned protest.

Comments (32)Add Comment
written by cruzeiro, February 12, 2008 15:22:25
I agree, Li'l Bird - they should call it off.
They should quit playing the race-religion card, that BN plays.

Worst of all, they plan to use kids who are ignorant of politics to achieve their goals!
That is a truly low-down tactic if you ask me .... shameful, really.
written by murali, February 12, 2008 15:26:25
i do agree with Little Bird. But at the same time i feel that Hindraf have to and will carry on with the roses march just to show that they'r not in favour of any political parties.

But to bring any justice to the struggles of Hindraf and the Indians minority and also to many other Malaysians we do need to show our protest by atleast reducing the present goverment's majority by not voting for them in the coming GE. Ofcourse around this time we do have strong anti-goverment sentiments, tks to HINDRAF and BERSIH and others.

HINDRAF MUST RE-CONSIDER.
written by ez24get, February 12, 2008 15:33:40
I quite agree on the points raised by Little Bird. A huge "demonstration" by Hindraf at this moment near to the GE is going to sway the malay fence-sitter voters to BN.

Malays forms 65% of the population and if 10% of them are undecided or fence-sitters at the moment, it is going to have a huge impact on the outcome of the GE the purpose of which realistically is to reduce the 2/3 majority of the present Government.

Though I'm not an indian, I fully support Hindraf's causes and the non-violence resistance which Hindraf advocated. It is very effective in supporting the causes of malaysian indians no matter how much the present UMNO regime tried to play down Hindraf's effect or deflect their shortcomings.

As a thought, would it not be better if you had not invite adults to join in on this occasion? If it involves your daughter and, say 10,000 adults, wouldn't this gives PDRM the excuse to term the whole gathering as another Hindraf demonstration and use the acid-laced water canons and tear gas on the people including your daughter? Wouldn't this allow the BN spin doctors to take advantage of the situation and sway the malay fence-sitter voters to the BN?

If you wish to carry on with your objective of freeing the 5 ISA Hindraf detainees, it would be far better it were your daughter and say, 50 other children from poor indian families offering roses to the PM. This is would make your appeal stand out, gain more symphathy and attract the attention of all malaysians especially indians and the foreign media. The innocence of a few children are sometimes more powerful than the banners and shouts of a thousand adults. And it is difficult to counter-defend; the PDRM would not dare use water canons and tear gas lest they are termed as bullies and heartless!

Doing it this way, it's a win, win, win for Hindraf considering the following scenarios:-

1. If the PM accepts the roses from his daughter without freeing the 5 ISA Hindraf detainees, then it looks bad on him; he is seen as not magnanimous as the father is still being detained. Bad for the General Election.

2. If the PM accepts the roses from his daughter and frees the 5 ISA Hindraf detainees, then Hindraf's objective is attained. Hindraf detainees can campaign in GE and this is bad for PM.

3. If the PM does not accept the roses from his daughter or if the PDRM uses the water canons and tear gas, this is even worst for the PM in the GE.

Just my 2 cents opinion!
written by Cash Money, February 12, 2008 15:42:36
The march must go on and if humanity is to prevail
this will be the acid test for PM and his followers.

Little Bird go spread the message the Rakyat is on its way.
written by astina, February 12, 2008 15:48:09
If Little bird can think of such possiblites...am pretty sure HINDRAF leaders could also see it plainly ..
The million dollar question is ..Is the gathering being held to promote HINDRAF or BN??
hmmm..fishy fishy
written by rocky, February 12, 2008 15:48:50
keep it small Hindraf..and the daughters will do with some adult supervision!
written by rayfire, February 12, 2008 15:49:30
I agree with ez24get!
Don't involve massive crowd of adults instead, have childrens only, guided by one or two responsible adults to accompany them.
Don't bring full force of Makkal Sakhti there, instead, use the Makkal Sakthi to churn positive results in General Election instead.
Since the event is already organised, proceed as recommended by ez24get.
That way ,the possible backfire can be avoided!
Unggal muyarchi vetriperea yen valthukkal!
written by Thiru, February 12, 2008 16:21:45
"Up to this moment, it appears that this anti-government sentiment is still holding strong. If Hindraf goes ahead with their 'protest of roses' this 16th February, there is a high risk that it will make the Malays and also many other people close ranks and rally around the government instead. The sentiment will swing back in favour of BN." litle bird said.

You really think so? Yeh there is always something to hinder isnt it? But you have to do what you have to do and move on rain or shine. Would that be better or follow what you have to say.

written by temenggong, February 12, 2008 16:29:14
Yeah, yeah. Suddenly everyone is a strategist!

The people will decide! And walk with roses!

Either you are with us, or not. Shameful really.
written by kamal, February 12, 2008 16:33:07
Little birds points are noted.

HINDRAF now faces the problem of INTEGRITY, which is an important element in any society. They need to carry out as planned.

Parliament is expected to be dissolved on 13 February 2008, so there is no reason for anyone to accept the roses since it is only a caretaker government.

The Malaysian society is fully aware that Indians are marginalised and will be a MENACE to society will no firm and concrete programme is undertaken. UMNO may use their 'tricks'using the PDRM to show the crowd was uncontrolable and they (PDRM) need to take stock of the situation. Police brutality is on a rise for no proper reason but just to show they are supreme.

If the police use acid laced water cannon and show their police brutality on this peaceful crowd in front of Parliament House, then BN and PDRM will face the greatest challenge in history.

The HINDRAF 5 will continue to remain in Kamunting since they will strongly campaign against BN.

Its true UMNO will try to 'bullshit' the Malays but the Malays are not 'stupid'. Malays are caring and loving people and known that Indians are treated like 'pariah' and need help.

Read my blog KAMAL-TALKS http://kamal-talksmalaysia.********.com

written by orangmsia, February 12, 2008 16:42:50
Better have the rally before election. If after the election, government won't give a damn.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3atg7bGgc7k
written by Sutha, February 12, 2008 16:48:50

The full moon day (Chap Goh Mei) this February will be a perfect day for gathering at all temples nationwide, to pray for justice and release of the Hindraf 5.

Can the Hindraf promoters make this Call for Prayers ?

URGENT PLEASE!!!
written by chin, February 12, 2008 16:50:06
I am with Temenggong.

These suggestions by Little Bird is just more smart ass, no action talk that has condemned us to UMNO rule for so long.

I believe it will help inform Malaysians what is happening to their country.

I believe more Malays will vote for the opposition, it is a shameful thing for anyone to willingly victimise others for their own gain. And mostly only the elite Malays actually gain from the NEP, many Malays are actually disgusted with the UMNO elite's greed. We can count on these Malays to walk away from UMNO.

written by temenggong, February 12, 2008 16:51:29
The Roses Campaign was planned in late December. It is going just through the routines and motions, and no the roses won't be accepted. Everyone knows that. It is called exhausting the options, fully divest the Indians from BN, and strengthen the opposition malays and chinese.
written by ultraman, February 12, 2008 16:52:49
While I support HINDERF's cause, I do agree with Little Bird's suggestion.
Kindly hold back the march for the sake of our nation.
Atstake is the reduction of BN majority and thus we have more voices to shout at those corrupt officials.
written by fireduck, February 12, 2008 17:04:50
I am not against this Hindraf event. Do it if you feel so strongly about it. But, just take a while to think it through, in the bigger picture sense. Will it really achieve whatever objective it is set out to achieve? Is it to free the ISA 5? Is it to elevate the misery of the marginalised Indians? And if the PM does receive the roses and then says he will look into the 'request', what will you have achieve? That joker will take months, if not years, to 'look into it'. And it will definitely be after the election, anyhow. And in the meantime, the media will spin it in such a way that make UMNO and the BN look and smell like roses, and like the champion of the people's causes, not you, Hindraf.

And are these problems so communal in nature? What about the rest of the ISA detainees? What about the poor Malays, poor Chinese, the poor Sabahans, Sarawakians? No doubt, the plight of the Indian community brought up by Hindraf, is a valid one, but it is time for us to further highlight how all these are brought about by the discriminatory policies of the govt. where only their cronies benefit.

It is an issue of bad government without any checks and balances. So, it is imperative for us not to cloud the bigger picture of seeking better governance, more equitable policies, more transparency and accountability, and a stronger opposition to provide the necessary checks against abuses in the system.

Since the General Election is so close now, please use our time, attention and energies wisely. Do not distract or give reasons for BN, UMNO or the govt to distract us from the real issues. If we rakyat, can achieve our objective of denying the BN the 2/3 majority, then we can move on to solving all these festering problems in our nation. Only if we have a strong opposition, or a change of government can we hope to have real progress and change in our policies and our future.

Close ranks too, all you Opposition parties. You guys are simply dancing to the tune of BN's 'Divide & Rule' song. Each of you, whether DAP or PKR or PAS, or whatever, are just a 98lb weakling against the BN machinery. Everyone and his cat and dog knows that. But together, you can make a huge impact in the end results. We are positive on that! But you must prove yourself worthy first, by closing ranks and coming up with real meaningful cooperation, .....and giving us rakyat THE opportunity to play our part.
written by temenggong, February 12, 2008 17:11:11
Don't be surprised to see Pas, PKR, DAP and NGO leaders during the Roses Campaign accompanying 200 children! There are simultaneous campaigns in London, New York and Los Angeles involving several international NGOs and rights groups.

The malays and chinese will be able to clearly see whats happening, that BN is falling, that the Indians are not the problem, and that the tide has shifted! This campaign will lead to more malays and chinese walking away from BN.

Cut the sanctimonious crap and BE THERE! Don't forget the roses.
written by hiro, February 12, 2008 17:28:51
It's a really tricky situation. To march is to show that the government has not really addressed the issues.

Not to march is to admit defeat.

To march in smaller numbers is to give ammunition to the government to claim that they are beginning to do the right things for the Indians.

I believe it may be necessary to march, but there are many ways to marching so as not to be seen as confrontational. Timing, dresscode, pace, message, discipline... all these can be adjusted for a truly civilised procession to the Parliament House.
written by hakunamatata, February 12, 2008 18:23:05
Little Bird's suggestions are good and he does have Hindraf at heart.
It is a difficult scenario to fathom exactly how it will be perceived but the Malays are not that gullible to see this as a confrontation. The Malays are aware of exactly what is going on and neither are they reaping NEP except the UMNOPUTRAS.
It is best to have the march with Bersih and all others - a total package.
The only thing the march may bring forth MAYBE the release of all those detained under ISA - for this reason it should carry on.
written by indianputra, February 12, 2008 18:56:39
I am AMAZED AT YOU BLOGGERS!!! You agree to everything written by columnist. When Waythyamoorthy wrote the article earlier today all of you agreed with him.. Now little bird writes another article and you all agree with him too. DAMN IT!! This is the problem with Malaysians. Although some of you have shown some intelligence in your comments, you are all the SAME!!! LALANGS!! and that's typical of Malaysian Rakyat..

Litle Bird, who told you that Malays will unite if HINDRAF Rally takes place on the 16th>> Are you just dreaming?. From what I know, from what I hear, from what I read, the MALAYS ARE IN FULL SUPPORT OF HINDRAF AND THEIR ACTIVITIES. It is not the aim of HINDRAF TO TAKE AWAY WHAT MALAYS HAVE NOW!! During the last HINDRAF Rally, it is the MALAYS WHO GAVE SHELTER TO THE INDIANS when the people were rained with chemicals and tear gas.

Understand the normal Malays.. They are kind, they are caring, they will support the downtrodden and they prefer Indians to Chinese. (This is not a racial alur, but a fact you all know!)

I want the March on the 16th. to go on. and I can tell you there will be close to 100,000 Indians there. I want to see if Pak Lah really approaches the 5 year old girl and accept the roses. I want to know what he will tell the girl about the 5 detainees. And if the police and FRU come out with their weapons... so what?? NOTHING NEW IN MALAYSIA right!

Litlle bird, please support this rally the way you supported the Bersih Rally. Don't bring in cock and bull stories to say BN will take advantage of the situation and that means you are implying that the Rakyat are fools!
written by Arum, February 12, 2008 19:31:20
The idea of civil disobedient and rally is to make the injustice on Malaysian Indian visible.Doing the act of making it in mass number will be a profound way of anouncing it to all Malaysian.How often have non Indians ever thought of the plight of Indians.It is because of Hindraf that the awareness was created.Now everyone is talking about it.For Malays to side UMNO in GE because of this rally shows,how shallow are the voters.

Its the job of the opposition parties to explain to voters.

Malays ,who vote BN because of the rally will never help non malays in years to come.The struggle of Indians will go on and on .

written by Stormquest, February 12, 2008 20:41:56
Little Bird,

While your concern is legitimate, it may be too little, too late, as the word is already out on this. It may be more productive if PAS, PKR, DAP, NGO's, bloggers and others join them in a true Muhibbah move. It would help alleviate concerns, and would highlight that this is purely a human rights issue & not an issue of Indians/Hindus .vs. Malays/Muslims, which was never the case to begin with. Also, don't forget that Waythamoorthy has written an open letter, also published on MT, calling on Malaysians irrespective of colour and creed to join them. Isn't it time that we stand side by side as Malaysians, and not as Malays, Indians, Chinese, and others?

It's also a fact that Indian votes do count. Otherwise, we wouldn't be seeing BN twisting themselves up in a knot, trying to figure out how to win back Indian votes. Besides, Indians are the kingmakers in this coming election. Kit Siang has said so, and Anwar clearly realizes this. I think that many Indians are also prepared to vote for PAS this time around. Wouldn't it then be ironic if 80% of the Indians vote for the opposition and 10% of the Malay fence-sitters swing back to BN? It's up to everyone from HINDRAF, PAS, PKR, DAP, bloggers, etc, to convince Malay fence sitters to not look at this as a racial/religious issue, but as a human rights issue.
written by Flex Tan, February 12, 2008 21:16:31
LATEST NEWS;

TOP GENERALS HAVE MET BEHIND DOORS AND AGREED 60% GARANTEED SEATS FOR BN TO FORM GOVT IS NOT SUFFICIENT....

GE TO BE POSTPONED TO 2009, WHILE ALL AGENTS & PARTY MACHINARIES CONTINUE ....
written by aiyomanaboleh, February 12, 2008 22:43:03
I guess it is not easy to be a leader and make a decision in these circumstances. Turn left may lead to victory turn right may lead to disaster.

But if the march is on, I hope the turnout is multi racial. This is to show the government that the protest is universal. That the rakyat does not see race as an issue when an injustice is done.
written by Uncorruptible, February 12, 2008 22:58:27
HINDRAF, let me repeat what everybody is saying.
DON'T hope anymore on the BN/UMNO government. They have failed everybody the last 50 years, aneh. They will never change, but only tell more and more lies and continue their corruption. Your grandchildren will continue to suffer.
PRAY TELL your members to vote for the OPPOSITION !!! This time we change the government forever. This time is our last hope. The bn will make sure we will not have a better chance than this. Vaanakanm.
written by manny_california_usa, February 13, 2008 00:06:37
Everything you do in Malaysia against the BN government, it 'backfires'. The government is so paranoid that even if someone 'fart's', it will backfire, so don't get so worried and sad. We have a strong anti-government movements in Malaysia so go ahead with the rally.

I personally want to see what the government can do to this young children. This time if they use water canon or tear gas against these young innocent children, i am taking it to the CNN and whitehouse. This i promise towards the Malaysian citizen. Don't worry guys, you guys are not alone, we are here too.

Its about time we teach this corrupted government a lesson.
written by mara koman, February 13, 2008 08:34:33

Since its been planned, would not be good to back off,, but would plsm keep it small , with a few kids a few adult to guide them.

BN strategy is very clear,,

-so wht happens Badawi talks the roses,, smiles, and comes out in front headlines,, so publicity for him is it. But is the 5 hindraf be out the next day or before the election ??
-Wht diff does it make if a mass rally takes place,, wht would tbe repercussion to the sentiment at the moment.?? Its so vague.

-Would be usefull makal sakti work towards getting samy out,, draw mass petitio, No confidence to samy. Hand the petition to badawi. Will that be more fulfilling..