Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Sarawak top politician under fire over Penan rape issue

Sarawak top politician under fire over Penan rape issue PDF Print
Sunday, 13 September 2009 09:28

Media Release, Bruno Manser Fund, Basel/Switzerland

Deputy Chief Minister Alfred Jabu asked to step down “for his incompetence” in dealing with sexual violence committed against indigenous girls and women

Following the release of a Malaysian government report that confirmed systematic sexual abuse of indigenous girls and women by loggers in the East Malaysian state of Sarawak, the state’s political leadership is increasingly being criticized over its failure to handle the sensitive issue in an appropriate way.

On Saturday, Sarawak’s Deputy Chief Minister, Alfred Jabu, has been asked to resign by the oppositional Democratic Action Party (DAP) “for his incompetence” to deal with the issue. Jabu, who is in charge of Penan affairs by virtue of his position as Minister of Rural Development, has repeatedly refused to acknowledge that Penan girls were sexually abused and raped by timber workers.

In a Borneo Post interview published on 12 September 2009, Alfred Jabu insinuated that the Federal government’s report was being manipulated by “negative NGOs” although he admitted to not having seen the report published three days earlier by a National Task Force under the leadership of the Ministry of Women, Family and Community Development.

While the Malaysian Mirror commented that Jabu appeared to be “in self-denial” over the report and tagged him as “the odd man out on this serious issue”, Sarawak DAP State Assemblywoman, Violet Yong, asked Jabu to resign. “The State government must be answerable on the issue of Penans who were confirmed raped”, Yong said, according to Sarawak Update, a local news channel. “Jabu is not close to the ground and fails to see what is happening there.”

When the Bruno Manser Fund first reported the sexual abuse cases in September 2008, Jabu said it would be “a waste of time to investigate” the Penan’s allegations. Meanwhile, the Bangkok-based Asian Forum for Human Rights and Development has called on the Malaysian Government to immediately identify, arrest and bring to court rapists and sexual rights violators of Penan girls and women of Baram, Sarawak.

Bruno Manser Fund

Association for the Peoples of the Rainforest

Socinstrasse 37

4051 Basel, Switzerland

+41 61 261 94 74

www.bmf.ch, This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it

Comments (7)Add Comment
written by RumahPanjai, September 13, 2009 11:37:02
The federal government report has made Jabu and many other Sarawask iban political leaders look like fools! Such incompetency speaks volume of useless ministers. There is yet to be found a a dayak leader in Sarawak who genuinely cares for the interests of natives and Sarawakians in general.
written by Kathy, September 13, 2009 17:02:43
Taib, as the Chief Minister, must carry the responsibility for allowing his deputy to meander on in this mode. It would appear that the native leaders of Sarawak can't look after their own. What hope then is there for others? It is obvious, isn't it, that these so-called BN leaders in Sarawak, be they Dayaks, Chinese, Malays/Melanaus, are only in it for what they can get out of the country. To them Sarawak is one big birthday cake to be sliced up and divided amongst them, with the largest slice going to Taib, of course. When will the people of Sarawak wake up to this fact?
written by Wakeupmsia, September 13, 2009 23:56:41
Sabah and Sarawak..............you have a long way to go. The problem is these people still vote for these idiotic politicians like Cow Bung. It just beyond comprehension and logic smilies/shocked.gif
written by Tom n Jerry, September 14, 2009 06:05:37
Najib knows how to win the hearts of these *pendatangs*with mycards;even go to Tawau and buka puasa with them;you must know it means a lot to these poor pendatangs to have a good meal for free(of course using taxpayers money)so they really vote BN;they dont use their brains;haVING ONE MEAL WITH pm;OTHER MEALS THEY DIG UP FROM THE GARBAGE;OR ROB AND STEAL FROM PEOPLE LIKE YOU AND ME;HOW PATHETIC smilies/angry.gif
written by Tom n Jerry, September 14, 2009 06:17:25
Wake up call for all conscientious Malaysians;its now or never;just imagine the security that we possess 50 years ago and today;I slept with doors open 50 years ago;nothing happened;today,with doors locked and preparing breakfast in the kitchen,my room was ransacked in 10 minutes while I was in the kitchen;at6.30am in the morning;petrifying it seems,but this is only the tip of the iceberg;when I went to ladge a police report,it took me 3 solid hours to line up;was ultimately turned away because I could not produce my IC evewn though I know its number!so having an IC is not good enough,when you lose it you must produce a photosta copy to lodge a police report;how pathetic!Today I am like a pendatang;no mycard;no ATM cards and no money(cash in hand);this is the reality of life in Malaysia;or rather in Tawau,where the pendatangs outnumber the locals 2:1;petrifying but sadly nothing could be done;or is it sheer coincidence that pendatangs are welcomed to dilute the ratio of PR supporters;food for thought!
written by Tom n Jerry, September 14, 2009 06:37:03
When all efforts failed to get one pathetic report fro m the police;I had to engage the service of my adopted son from Kota Kinabalu;he flew to Tawau upon my earnest request to seek help from his ffffffffffirst cousin who was incidently a police bantuan;only then did I manage to lodge a police report;it tokk another 7 to 8 days before the report could be available to me;it had to be couriered to me from Tawau to KK;just imagione the time;money and number of people involved to get one lousy report from the police;more shock to come after this;when I tried to apply for a replacement mycard from the Pendaftaran,I was asked to pay RM110 for the replacement!the reason being my mycard was misplaced;how on earth they come up with such a stupid report is beyond my comprehension;Ibrahim and his entourage must be sleeping all this while;they cant even make a report which is factual;instead of saying the mycard was stolen;they mentioned telah hilang,not kena curi!I am still baffled to this day why the discrepancy;was it done on purpose or sheer ignorance;surely debatable! smilies/angry.gif
written by RakyatMY, September 14, 2009 08:10:22
Why is is a body from Thailand seems to be more interested to protect the Malaysian natives?