Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Interview with Jamaluddin Yusof, Pekida President

Interview with Jamaluddin Yusof, Pekida President PDF Print
Saturday, 12 September 2009 12:26

(NST) Q: Non-Muslims and some Malay Muslims think that Pekida is a Malay extremist group as you have been at the forefront of several protest and counter protests.

A: We deny this, we are not Malay extremists. We are an NGO that is registered with the Government that struggles for our race, religion and country. We understand and accept that Malaysia is a plural society with many ethnicites.

We cannot deny that the ethnic communities must be united and they cannot be communalist and ethno-centric. We are not assobiah (tribalistic). We are an NGO that serves society not just our members.

We are focused on community-oriented programmes such as giving out aid to single mothers and orphans at the district and village level.

Q: But at the same time, you are heavily involved in Malay political issues such as voicing your concern on Malay rights.

A: We are very much involved because we need to strengthen the Malay political position whether it be Pas or Umno. Malays cannot afford to be weak. We have to be cognizant of Malay political strength but we are not partisan.

If the Malay's position is threatened then the position of Islam is threatened and we need to rise up if that happens. This does not mean that we sideline others or deny them their rights.

They have the right to education to doing business. We believe in the social contract.

But when there are people who do not want to accept the social contract then we must voice out the rights of the Malays.

We understand the situation in Malaysia and we cannot just tell non-Malays to to go back to their countries. Islam does not allow that.

Q: You are also a strong proponent of ketuanan Melayu (Malay supremacy) which is not something very popular with non-Malays and some Malays.

A: Ketuanan Melayu is important because if we do not become tuan (masters) we become hamba (servants). We have power sharing where the Sultans and the Prime Minister are Malays and the Cabinet has ministers from all races. But Menteris Besar are another thing. Some of them make ridiculous decisions.

Q: Speaking of the protests you've voiced to state governments like those of Penang, Selangor and Perak, it seems that all the ones Pekida does not agree with happen to be Pakatan Rakyat State administrations.

A: If not for the issue of trying to build a Hindu temple in the middle of a Malay neighbourhood in Selangor, we would not complain. But the (Selangor Government's) decision is inappropriate, why couldn't they just have built it in a Indian area? This problem also got the attention of other NGOs.

There has been too many contentious decisions in Selangor as if those who are in power are not firm. Even though a Malay is the Menteri Besar it seems that his hands’ are tied. Some of his state executive council members do not agree with his decisions.

In Penang, we had asked for business opportunities to be fairly distributed to all. In Georgetown for instance, we understand that the majority is Chinese so it's difficult to give to Malays. What we are asking is that in Malay majority areas, opportunities should be given to Malays. We are not asking for equal distribution or 50-50 distribution, but suitable distribution.

We understand, if a Malay gets a stall to operate in a Chinese area, he might not get business so it would be more suitable to give to a Chinese businessman.

Q. Do you feel that the political and economic position of Malays in society is threatened?

A: Look at Perak, where (the previous Pakatan Rakyat administration) gave 999-year leases to Chinese new villages. Other places, you can only get a 66 or 99 years. It was a shock to Malays and it looks very unwise. There are Malays in Parti Keadilan Rakyat who are angry with the decision.

We have to voice our worries. If we make 10 demands, we will only get three or four of them. We cannot afford to be complacent before acting. People will not respect us if we stay quiet.

Q: But isn't the political strength of Malays manifested in Umno and its control of the government. Umno has also helped many Malays become successful businessmen.

A: Umno's help towards the Malays does not really reach the grassroots. at the village level. Not every Malay gets business opportunities except those with big companies and class A contractors.

There have been changes to the Malay's socio-economic position and the Government has helped much. But it is still not enough and Malays have a long way to go. Malays still need help.

There is too much red tape in the implementation of policies for Malays. If RM1 is allocated for a programme, only 30 sen reaches the kampung.

Q: But are Malays not better off now than they were decades ago?

A: There are changes, yes. There are many Malay graduates now, many of them are educated and many are in good jobs. But we still need to maintain peace and harmony. I am afraid that in the 13th general election, we will lose power. If a Malay leader loses power but is replaced with another Malay, that is o.k. But what if this is not the case?

Q: You mentioned the need for Malay Menteri Besar, were not the Pakatan Perak and Selangor MBs Malay? Does this not already mean that a Malay is the political leader in a State?

A: Not necessarily because (in the two States) it happened because of their individual constitutions. The law specifies that it must be a Malay Menteri Besar like in Perak. But in Selangor it looks like that the administration is only doing things so that they can remain in power. In Parti Keadilan Rakyat’s case (the party of Menteri Besar Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim), they received a lot of Chinese and Indian votes in the last general election so now they are bending over backwards to please the non-Malays.

The way they are going about it is like having a blanket that is too small to cover your whole body. You pull it up to cover your face, your feet are exposed. You want to cover your feet there’s not enough for your face. So you can’t please everyone. The temple issue was just the latest example of this.

Q: Legal experts argue that Malay power is actually enshrined in the Constitution and in the office of the nine Malay rulers. So Malays should not worry about losing their rights and special position.

A: These laws can be changed and the rulers are symbols to the Malays. Its no use having only symbols when the Malays are not strong enough to defend their Sultans. If Malay strength is not there, how can you say that the Malays are not threatened? Malaysia can one day turn into a republic and then the Sultans will not be there to protect the Malays.

So NGOs have to follow developments in Malaysian politics and play their roles. We cannot just sit back and watch.

written by Arowana, September 12, 2009 12:34:21
"If the Malay's position is threatened then the position of Islam is threatened"

Stupid Jamalludin, talking kork with cow brains.

Perkida is nothing more than an UMNO sponsored gangsters movement.
written by mvivek, September 12, 2009 12:39:07
Yeah, and the President of the United States of America is John F Kennedy!!!
written by HEADACHE, September 12, 2009 12:49:34
Malaysia is a majority Malay country. Malays will not lose their power. There is nothing to fear for the Malays.

But for greedy and selfish UMNO crooks, they got plenty to worry. To continue with power, they are willing to do anything.

Why can't all our politicians declare their wealth? Why can't we follow the practice of less corrupted nations?
written by ibabonma, September 12, 2009 12:52:03
Pekida are Malay gangsters working in camaraderie with Umno youth.

written by borneopeteliew, September 12, 2009 12:55:53
This gangster group is also known as "TIGA LINE."
written by ksauyong, September 12, 2009 13:01:36
Which community in Malaysia is in a position to threaten the Malays? And why should they do that? The other races only want to live in peace. But so called NGOs like yours always harp on race and religion to create fear and distrust. You do this for your own benefit and not for your race.
Race and religion has never been an issue at Independance 52 years ago, but now because of UMNO's BN, race and religion have caused a rift amongst the races, but only for the uneducated and ill-informed.
We will have to depend on Pakatan Rakyat to stop this rift before it becomes bigger. We cannot depend on UMNO's BN for our future.
written by Jan, September 12, 2009 13:09:48
For the life of me I don't know why there are always Malays who feel threatened. They are the majority race, control the govt, police, army, local authorities and just about everything else. Not only that minority races are dwindling in numbers yet they still feel threatened. Their insecurity is so bad they have to pull out their kerises to further threaten the minorities into leaving.
I thought South Africa is bad these people are worse.
written by Jan, September 12, 2009 13:11:53
I guess these malays will only be happy and feel secure when all the chinese and indians leave and the country flooded with Indons, Pakis and the Banglas.
written by clarity, September 12, 2009 13:39:01
Actually the only thing they feel threatened about, is that they might not be able to practise corruption anymore.
written by smeagrooo, September 12, 2009 13:49:37
they represent Islam and what utter nonsense example are they showing us all?

Are u guys buying this crap? I know some will but am glad majority wont.

Am glad NST did this interview. It is really damaging for UMNO.

Thank you NST!!!!
written by hellosunshine, September 12, 2009 13:59:46
Here we go again with the unwritten 'social contract' myth. So far, this is only talk and claim from the umnoputras on this so called 'social contract'. As in all legal transactions, there must be a written social contract or at least a voice recorded one.
written by Fart Fart Wah, September 12, 2009 14:01:33
If the Malay's position is threatened then the position of Islam is threatened"

This another MOOlayu speaking. It should be if Malays are allowed to more independent in thinking and free to choose I AND UMNO WILL LOOSE CONTROL OVER THE MALAYS. Therefore I have to make this a big issue and tell the Malays that they are being threatened..(.although the constitution gives them full protection,)
I must make the Malays look stupid like lembus and pull them by the nose so that they will always be kept in the UMooooNo kandang. What the Malays are getting now is what they should be getting as in the constitution but UMoooNo is not giving every Malay what it should be giving just like MIC or MCA...the crooks on top are stealing from them..all the way and pretending to take care of tnem.

All this is crap...AS AN NGO you should promote brother hood and intercultural understanding, friendship and love for neighbor and freedom of worship...YOUR brand of Islam kills this..it divides and alienates the Malay people from the others whom you call kafirs behind close doors...
Stop your load of BULL ..We have a Universal God..don'r make him a tunnel vision God...a God who looks through the terowong...
written by Spear Bing, September 12, 2009 14:02:50
If we have too many Malays in the like Jamaluddin Yusof in our midst, Malaysia will be doomed and retrogressed to feudalistic era.

It's not a good omen for the country to have human species with such stunted mentality. Malaysians will be living in an age of ignorance.
written by axppin, September 12, 2009 14:16:24
Kata kaki pukul? Tak kan dengan Hindraf pun takut. And Chindraf too??

written by C360, September 12, 2009 14:43:16
.. struggles for our race, religion and country. We understand and accept that Malaysia is a plural society with many ethnicites ..
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Read it carefully .. race above religion above country !!

And the S-OLE says he understands and accepts Malaysia as a plural society ? Ya rite .. this is the extremists speaking the first sentence in reply to the first question.

As the saying goes "my mother is the queen of england"
written by jason, September 12, 2009 16:03:40
“We deny this, we are not Malay extremists. We are an NGO that is registered with the Government that struggles for our race, religion and country”

Notes the “race, religion and country” , which is the UMNO motto. Jamaluddin Yusof, Pekida President, you are definitely an UMNO's dog and a racist. Any patriotic person/organisation would put country first before self/race. Only bigot and racist UMNO would put race and religion before country. You love your own race more than your own country. You and UMNO are true RACIST.
written by taxi90, September 12, 2009 17:56:16
Ketuanan Melayu is important because if we do not become tuan (masters) we become hamba (servants)

If does not want to be a slave, does he think it's perfectly fine for non malays to be one?Sounds like another sum zero jerkoff who believes in domination, not equality. Herd mentality and not rationality. The "If you are not with us, then you are against us" type.Continue feeding off Ketuanan Melayu. May you choke on it.
written by 4country, September 12, 2009 18:43:52
Inilah baru dikatakan layak menjadi President PEKIDA!Dengar hujahnya seperti bunyian geng-geng UMNO, seperti Syed Hamid, Hisapputing, MM2, Rais Anak Yatim, Ahmad Ismail dan semuanya.UMNO dah pegagng kuasa berepa lama dah? Melayu dah KUAT?Ketuanan Apa yang masih nak dilaungkan?Apa buah-telur Orang Melayu memiliki?Pasal apa Melayu masih dalam katagori MISKIN?PEKIDA samseng UMNO sekadar pandai mengentut dan mengikuti bau kentut UMNO aje.Tak Usah nak berlagak menjadikan diri sebagai jaguh Melayu.Kalau kau katakan kau sebagai wira Melayu, adakah Kamu ini MELAYU Tulen? Atau kau cuma campuran Aje?
written by burn22, September 12, 2009 19:50:50
a president huh? or a clown?
totally a very shallow minded person.
written by mikewang, September 12, 2009 19:51:27
Pekida is a front for UMNO to "main" racial politics which may be too embarrassing for UMNO to handle directly.
written by KARMANNGHIA, September 12, 2009 20:44:04
village idiot has spoken.

:d
written by Vertigo Cure, September 12, 2009 21:43:15
Think and talk like a corrupted racist just like UMNO.
written by SiHangChai, September 13, 2009 00:52:35
Perkida is full of shit and racist shits!. we don't need this kind of idiot group talking and making shit of other races.
written by Sabahfan, September 13, 2009 01:25:11
We should import the EDL from the UK and let them have a match with PUKIDA groups.. he he he

and who the fukk does this Jamaludin of PUKIDA thinks he is?

Did Allah give him the power to impose his islam on the rest of us???

like the answer for this please....
written by Rozlan, September 13, 2009 10:23:06
He spoke like a moron.If the President is a fool.What do we expect from the other PEKIDA members? The section 23 Shah Alam dialogue with MB Selangor had potrayed its members true behaviour
written by Bandit, September 13, 2009 12:51:07
smilies/grin.gif This Pkimak Gansgster movement should be asked why the Bhat and Rupiah is getting stronger while the Singapore dollar is hitting SG2.50 per RM1.00. This clowns will soon be wrapping Nasi Lemak with the ringgit. Your ketuanan melayu should be shuffed up your ass for this very reason our economy has gone bonkers because of you bloody racist. Pthui!!!!!
written by WatanSarawak, September 13, 2009 14:00:35
This is the prime example of a snake speaking with a forked tongue. His attempt to hiss his way through his rationale of his position tells the world he only has hate for those not of his own. Trying to cover his intent with nice sounding albeit not at all convincing words sends shivers down my spine. When the snake tempted the first humans to sin it used the same beautiful words and the humans fell fo it. I now see that same snake is speaking again.