Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow What if the UK applies the same principle as the Shah Alam Malays?

What if the UK applies the same principle as the Shah Alam Malays? PDF Print
Saturday, 12 September 2009 00:00

What if the UK applies the same principle as those propagated by the Shah Alam Malays? Meaning: places of worship should not be built in majority residential neighbourhoods of those not of that religion (like no temples or churches in Muslim-majority areas). Should, therefore, British Christians allow mosques in their non-Muslim-majority neighbourhoods?

In mid-2008, the estimated resident population of the UK was 61,383,000, up by 408,000 from the previous year -- out of which 2,000,000 are Muslims. And there is a ratio of one mosque for every 4,200 UK Muslims.

Source: http://www.statistics.gov.uk

This is the most comprehensive list you could find online of mosques and masjids in the United Kingdom

Source: http://www.islamicguide.co.uk/Mosques/Europe/UK

UK's Muslim population has risen to 2 million

Alan Travis, home affairs editor, Guardian, UK

The Muslim population in the United Kingdom may now number as many as 2 million, the home secretary, Jacqui Smith, disclosed yesterday during an official visit to Pakistan.

The last published official estimate of the size of the Muslim community in Britain was 1.6 million, based on the findings of the 2001 census. The updated Whitehall estimate confirms the position of Islam as the second largest faith community after Christianity, and means that Muslims now make up 3.3% of the UK population.

The 400,000 increase in the size of the Muslim community in less than seven years demonstrates its position as the fastest growing faith community in Britain, and also reflects the age structure of the community, with more than one-third under the age of 16 at the time of the 2001 census. Outside London, Pakistani Muslims make up more than 43% of the community, with Bangladeshis accounting for 17%, and those from India at 9%. In London, the Muslim community is more evenly split between Pakistani and Bangladeshi Muslims.

Smith, who was making a speech in Islamabad which highlighted Anglo-Pakistani counter-terrorist cooperation, stressed the Muslim contribution to British society. She quoted a new estimate of 10,000 Muslim millionaires in Britain and an overall community contribution of £31bn a year to the economy. Smith is the first British minister to visit Pakistan since the assassination of Benazir Bhutto and the elections in February and is holding ministerial meetings on counter-terrorism and immigration.

The home secretary acknowledged in her speech that there are four Pakistani Muslim MPs in the Commons, including two ministers, and more than 200 local councillors throughout the UK.

Smith said that "there is nothing Islamic about terrorism" and urged the majority Muslim communities in Britain and Pakistan to challenge the advocates of violent extremism and protect those most at risk of recruitment to their cause.

"We also need to support the institutions where these individuals operate, making them aware of and more resilient to the apologists for violent extremism. In my country that includes parts of our education system, our prisons, our youth clubs, and our community centres," she said in a speech to Pakistan's National Council of the Arts.

"We also want to ensure our universities provide high-quality learning about faith and Islam and to establish the UK as a centre of excellence outside the Islamic world for Islamic studies."

She highlighted the role of a Foreign Office programme which is designed to remove misconceptions about what it means to be a British Muslim. This programme, which has been running since 2005, creates opportunities for British Muslims to travel from the UK to Pakistan and elsewhere in the Islamic world to talk about Islam in modern Britain.

Comments (57)Add Comment
written by theAlphamale, September 12, 2009 00:19:12
It's a sad day to see how inconsiderate some Malaysians might be when it comes to religious issues. The UK has been practicing a great deal of democracy but what is most important is their tolerance and consideration with other religions in their country. We only learn tolerance, consideration and all other moral values in our Moral/Religious syllabus but unfortunately leaders are not practicing or giving any good example. smilies/angry.gif
agree 550
written by minds, September 12, 2009 00:26:43
this cow umno just know how to say hidup melayu hidup islam when umno is treaten to lose their hold of malaysia
agree 447
written by banzai, September 12, 2009 00:44:19
Why compared UK? So far away.
Just comapre our neibour country, Singapore.
You see mosques in Chinese majority area.
No problem for them.
In Kelantan, you see temples in Malay majority area, no problem.
So, section 23 pakai lah OTAK sendiri, bukan otak LEMBU.
agree 952
written by Xerxes, September 12, 2009 00:44:49
Why need to look so far? Just look at Singapore, HK and China. The Muslims are minorities in these places but did anyone stop them from building mosques (and some very impressive ones too).

The Shah Alam incident is just religious bigots manupilated by politicians who wanted to grab power by hook or by crook. Otherwise how do you explain the Home Minister who went out of his way not only to meet the protesters thus according them hero status but also make excuses for them and tried to justify their actions for them.
agree 614
written by Spear Bing, September 12, 2009 00:44:57
No need to rationalize and do comparative analysis over the cow-head demo.

Simply put, those demonstrators in Shah Alam have failed miserably to lodge their proper perspectives in their pea brain so as to embrace a greater depth in the acceptance and mutual understanding of each other's cultural and religious sensitivities.

And when their brain matter is filled to the brim with Quranic and Shariah verses, and leaving no room to embrace others' religious tolerance, then berserk, lunacy and amok will encapsulate their cellular synapses and neurotransmitters..... and the consequences can be destructive as a human atom bomb.

How many wars, genocides, civil strife were waged in the past world history have been the result of such total lack of perspectives?
agree 195
written by Kampong, September 12, 2009 00:50:40
Of course Malaysia is not UK and will never be UK, not even close, as long as the powers that be are allowed to stay around. Everything these people touch will invariably turn into either a scandal or an international joke. Shame, is not really in these people's vocabulary; they have grown so accustomed to be a laughing stock that would feel uneashy without screwing up bigtime once very so often.
agree 187
written by Jan, September 12, 2009 01:02:38
This is a sick country run by some very sick people.
agree 411
written by Daryl, September 12, 2009 01:32:02
I drive by a mosque and an Islamic school daily but haven't heard or hear anyone complain about it in the USA. Even in a "evil empire" like the American they allowed Muslim place to pray and educate their children.

Yet when the Selangor State government want to relocate a temple you have these so call 'Muslim' protest by carrying a cow head around. But, over 1MAlaysia government decide to take 'action'..... Sad indeed.
agree 261
written by orangmsia, September 12, 2009 01:35:35
samy vellu has no clue what he can do... just watch this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F_dcV9ZjmTc
written by tenang, September 12, 2009 02:03:28
I drive by a mosque and an Islamic school daily but haven't heard or hear anyone complain about it in the USA. Even in a "evil empire" like the American they allowed Muslim place to pray and educate their children.

To describe the situation in US more accurately, I think it is not a matter of allowing or not allowing as that I assume there is a higher power to give the permission. Freedom of religion is enshrined as part of the right of every citizen in US; No one is to allow or not allow you to practice your faith. While there are rule and regulation in US for everyone to comply, the rule and regulations are created and ammended to protect the freedom for religion, not another way around. That constitute the fundamental difference between us and US, and it is hard, albeit possible, to make comparison between the two.
written by roadbarra, September 12, 2009 02:06:37
the UK govt is very considerate but even that wasn't enough to stop UK born muslims from commitiing suicide bombings.
written by Davy McChester, September 12, 2009 02:42:44
A common known fact: the UK situation may change when it hits the 10% mark if the majority of the 10% is swayed and pressured by its own thick headed minority.The majority within UK's minority be on guard ! Learn to protect everybody's rights for your own survival. Do not go around like a bigot shouting "yours the only true God and religion. Malaysia's problem is an institutionalized one and the final product is what you get. A one track mind. A confused lot. And the UMNO politicians love the status quo. The brain washing starts at an early age in Malaysia.The religious reformation should begin in order to live in a global village. Tear all pages wherever there is inference to divide along race and religious lines.
written by JUST, September 12, 2009 06:43:00
52 years of destruction ............
written by Urangsabah, September 12, 2009 06:51:26
Haiyo..there British ma, here we got Utusan, Dr Tee, Amad Said of Penang, MoooooHideDin, HisAshame, Noth forgetting the Kaaarabau Head Group as well as The Town Hall Goons, an UMNOed Polis who don have any potential IGP so much so the OLD one need to be retained..............................

Maybe the issue arise due to Kejahilan berugama - a quote from Dr Tee
written by krising1, September 12, 2009 06:58:53
The state's view and action against such acts as seen in Shah Alam is very important. Now let us see how these UMNO sponsored terrorists are treated. The state affords protection to the terrorists during their acts of violence. Very much evidenced by the police standing by and taking no action. Then a Minister of the Crown during a full press conference sits with the chiefs of the terrorists and justifies their actions. After a lot of feet dragging, the state decides to charge 12 of them in court. See how they are treated. The press shows pictures of the terrorists waving hands and smiling and treated like heroes. They are considered Jihadists and NGOs and supporting them openly. No one is handcuffed or dragged like they do to opposition MPs and Speakers. So if you do not consider this state sponsored terrorism, what is?
written by NSTPravda, September 12, 2009 07:09:51
But of course, or else, our UMNO will send our brave little Krispuddin and MyUrine to collectively dangle their dongling little keris at them. Further, we might even use our vaunted C4 wielder to kidnap and C4 some pregnant British women. Our expertise has already been tried on Mongolians. But first we will send some cow heads first, as soon as we can get some British mad cows.
written by ibabonma, September 12, 2009 07:32:31
What your are seeing at Sec 23 Shah Alam is the extent of Samy Velu control over Umno. Umno has been relying on Samy to fill it coffer in ill-gotten funds. Umno just could not resolve this temple issue then, when they were in control of the Selangor state government because Samy was breathing on Umno’s back all the while.

Umno sebenarnya adalah lembu Samy Velu.

written by dano danny, September 12, 2009 09:01:21
This is the abuse you get when you mix religion and state! Power abusers hide behind the name of religion to protect their own interests!
written by daniel, September 12, 2009 09:05:47
Only 2 million muslims in UK? From actions like this you'd think there were 20 million! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S8QpQi_FNVo
written by onnetline, September 12, 2009 09:28:08
The ' cow heads ' protesters were UMNOs racist slave dogs trying to incite racial sentiments.
written by kavidibaku, September 12, 2009 09:37:53
Wait and watch.After 10 years, they will become majority and stop the christians from building churches.
written by smalluncle, September 12, 2009 09:53:07
Oh! Islam in Speak-ke England country!

Wonder they control the volume of Azan from there Mosque? If Yes, Can ABIM , Jais etc file a report and have them ISA and fed with food GOOD FOR DOG!

And if their Muslim brother publish articles in England, make sure they use word Allah and not god. Or the writer will be arrested if he choose to visit Malay-sia.

ummmm, maybe ........
written by Zapper, September 12, 2009 09:57:13
In Malaysia, the malays think that they are the only true believer of Islam and the religion belongs exclusively to them.
written by maisur, September 12, 2009 10:12:44
this is what you get when you vote UMNO secularists to power
written by jalapeno, September 12, 2009 10:19:05
I am wondering what the Muslims in Mosque-rich Bradford would do when the UK government build one Church within their community? Would they burn crosses? See, the only reason why the sickening cow-head incident happened in our country is because our government condone such act...or maybe support or even finance such act.
written by cheemengwong, September 12, 2009 10:43:04

One word-Civility.

Malays under UMNO lost it long time ago through their propaganda, wrong education and religious upbringing.

After all the Brits knows that when it comes to GOD... it is personal and the relationship and not outward demonstration that is important!
written by ultraman, September 12, 2009 11:01:36
If those 50 donkeys can behave like the British, we would already have achieved a developed nation status. Sorry we are still in the third world and would remain so with those monkey's mentality.
written by Vayu, September 12, 2009 12:00:40
Welcome to UK, welcome to a country that will see and get to enjoy what happened in the partitioning of Middle East and India. The clock has already begun to tick for its religious time bomb. UK has no option in this fate that is about befall on it.
written by JaguhKampung, September 12, 2009 12:25:45
This article is irrelevant.

It doesn't bother me because I won't be staying there. There's no NEP in UK.
written by bill, September 12, 2009 12:38:20
In Selangor itself, more than 80% of Residents in Bandar Sri Damansara are and 90 % of Bandar Utama are non muslim but you can find mosques and suraus only. Did the non Malays threaten with violence? Every friday afternoon the road leading to my house is packed with cars from outsiders attending prayers in the surau causing much inconvenience to local residents but we accept this as our Malaysia way of life. We respect their religious obligations and we hope others will respect ours too.
written by fairnessforall, September 12, 2009 12:41:06
worst still, if India were to apply the same principles as the Shah Alam sek23 malays, there would hardly be any mosques in India. Would the muslims accept it then, I wonder. After all whats good for others should also be good for them
written by batsman, September 12, 2009 12:45:42
The funny thing is - the Indonesians treat all Malaysians alike - fit to be swept off the streets of Jakarta, while we discriminate against each other. This must be the greatest joke of the century. heeheehee.
written by kc kua, September 12, 2009 13:32:35
You all sure, he know what is the question ask and what is he answer or not? All the question ask to him after answering the question just like slapping on his own face lah.

I wonder how come all the Malay can select such a people as their leader...as their leader is not knowing also what is he talking about. So, how can the Malay be "Maju" like that if they keep continue being confuse by such an "Kok Head"!
written by Jan, September 12, 2009 14:27:17
one box, you are right. We should not condemn all malays just because a few of them whose conduct leaves much to be desired. But still a lot of malays support UMNO in the last GE and the following seven by elections. These are the malays most of the criticisms are targetted.
written by mykantree, September 12, 2009 14:31:10
All and every reason quoted by the Mad Cow Head protesters are pure cowwash.There is absolutely no credibility to their reasons for the protest.There is no reason here to repeat why their reasons are nonsense.The protest is a pure and simple UMNO extremist manufactured gathering of some miserable and mentally exploited muslims to create some politico-religious headaches for PR.

But the saddest outcome of that protest are the following;
1.Clear-cut collusion between UMNO and PDRM for its organisation.
2.Clear-cut and unequivocal support of the BN government for muslim extremists.
3.That the Selangor state government gave in to these few muslim extremists by changing the planned relocation of the hindu temple, even if its 100m away. Today 100 meters, tomorrow 1000 meters.Today the Christians and Hindus, tomorrow who else?

written by Mirage, September 12, 2009 15:05:02
Grow UP BN....the cow is also a creation of GOD. Humiliating it does not give you any advantage but makes the whole BN esp UMNO look stupid, disrespectful and disgraceful. With this episode, One Malaysia should read "rakyat minoriti di ketepikan" dan "rakyat Melayu di utamakan" Otherwise how else do you explain Hishamudin's action and Ahmad Said's statement which is all pro-malays.

written by Angela Ooi, September 12, 2009 15:23:49
The difference here is that England is a developed country populated with people who read and think well; while in wanna-be developed Malaysia, majority of the leaders (Malays)are nincompooops who do not read much, think much and therefore unable to articulate anything of substance. If there are TRUE Muslim leaders among the BN in this country, then these shameful, distateful deeds would not have surfaced.
written by C360, September 12, 2009 15:26:23
1 mosque to every 4,200 muslims ?

Hmm, we hv some 60% malays from 25 mil population (correct the figures i quote if i am mistaken). Thats 15mil malays ? Divide that by 4,200 .. means that we shud comparatively have some 3,571 mosques.

If we hv less than that, are you trying to tell me that the British are far more proliferate at promoting and supporting Islam than Malaysia, an Islamic country (according to some) ? Maybe the bigots want to excuse themselves now and say Malaysia is a secular country.
written by johnT, September 12, 2009 15:36:55
Than it is time for Thailand to declare themself a Buddist Country, Western as a Christian Country, and India as a Hindu country. Philipines as a Chatolic country,
written by pakasia, September 12, 2009 15:49:52
UMNO Malays are narrow minded.

To certain extent, highly jealous, sensitive and emotional tribe of this world.
written by lamakawan, September 12, 2009 17:22:30
Malaysia ,today, has the most intolerant home minister on record. His name is kerismuddin of the kris fame!!! He even went out of his way to support openly the demonstrators that dragged a butchered cow's head to the state parliament of Selangor!!!! What a minister with such a low intelligence!!!
Shame on you, Hishamuudin. If your reputed father had known of such a stupid act by you, his head would have overturned in his grave!!!!!!
A real idiot, you are!!!!
written by taxi90, September 12, 2009 18:10:33
The reason why UK is so different from Malaysia? Plenty obvious.

UK is a christian/secular country while Malaysia belongs to the Islamic basket. Muslims in non muslim countries will start asking for mosques and state donations on the basis on 'minority rights, equality etc etc' and they will get it. While muslims in muslim countries think that Islam needs to take precedent over infidel needs and the hindus, buddhists better shut up before they get what is coming to them.

That's the difference.
written by Fuminari, September 12, 2009 18:36:18
come on!the truth is umno is not about islam,reality is...umno is about bunch of tribalistic goons,thieves n bandits hiding behind the racial n religious curtain with self gain political agenda ,so that they could attain power by spinning those under informed or confused mind of the arithmetic majority ;as such so that they could jus rip,rob n rape the rakyat,the nation at their own whim n fancy.umno is not about nation building,it is not about building the future for the rakyat.umno is about building individual wealth,palace,mansion both local or oversea; for their own future,for their own spouse n siblings,for their cronnies!!
written by zids, September 12, 2009 18:54:30
I've heard it said - I can't recall where - that Muslims today are only Islam by name and riuals but not in practice, whereas the non-Muslims (particularly in the west) embody values that Islam uphold.

Shame.
written by Steven Ong, September 12, 2009 18:59:32
What are we trying to proof by comparing Malaysia with civilised and modern free nations, such as UK, Singapore and Hong Kong? Are we saying that in a Muslim control nation, other religious faith are suppressed or prohibited entirely? or are we just saying some Muslims are intolerant to other faiths? Facts are facts, its so clear. Cant you see it? The FACT is in a Muslim majority Country, Islam and Muslims are supreme and other faiths are sidelined, supressed or totally forbiden. Saudi Arabia ,the origin of Islam is a total 'faith dictatorship' ( sorry, I can't get the word. Or how you describe a communist country? Where no other party is allowed? Sorry, its a fact isnt it? Is hard trying to discuss about Islam with Muslims. They are so easily aroused and troubles seem a step away )True or false? Unless Muslims are willing to revise their beliefs, and live as the rest of the free and modern civilisation,by their conscience, its hopeless trying to show them ( I mean the hardcore Muslim ) the facts.
written by Steven Ong, September 12, 2009 19:15:18
If one is really good, patient, tolerant, kind and loving, one would not be bothered about other's faith or criticism or redicule or insults or threats. Why bother with others , if he/she chose to be evil and wicked and smear his heart, soul and mind with rubbish and filth? Can you insult me? or redicule me? Not a bit, You can say anything bad about me, my belief or my father or mother, I still dont care! Its your mouth, you can smeared it with shit if you like. What is that to me? If you try to insult my faith, I would just explain the facts and truth. I am not going to get angry and stump on dead cow head ( a waste of one's energy really )I still love you, because to me you are misguided and I am sorry that you chose to live in filth. Its my job to teach and enlighthen you. Because I LOVE you all.
written by dassky2000, September 12, 2009 19:31:12
"this cow umno just know how to say hidup melayu hidup islam when umno is treaten to lose their hold of malaysia"

The malay muslims in Malaysia are feeling insecure lah kawan. When they feel threaten, they start shouting , hidup this hidup that, kalau tak hidup guna kacip fatimah atau ali kafe.

Apart from religion, the most spoken and talked about subject in a group of malays will be tenaga batin, how to improve sexual activity, what and what not to use. Or street politics. Itu lah Tenaga Nasional selalu blackout aje.

For once they must think, where their roots are from. Just like any other malaysian, the malays are also migrants.
written by max_crazy, September 12, 2009 20:02:43
if the UK applies the same principle as the Shah Alam Malays,i am sure a lot of NORDIN will coming out.
written by PRman, September 12, 2009 20:45:26
Its sad to see some people to misuse religion for their own benefit. Shame on them!
written by Mafioso, September 12, 2009 21:51:19
Why are the so called pious and religious person so intolerant? If you are a pious person as those who champion for their religion, why do such things? Is this the way you want to teach your children?
written by maisur, September 13, 2009 00:42:39
by the way, the lembus during the "cow head" incident are UMNO SECULARISTS. they professs secularism as many of MT readers do. everyone knows this fact. they have nothing to do with islam

written by Aria, September 13, 2009 12:24:50
Governments in the UK, Australia, Canada etc are very tolerant to the public and at the same time they will not support racism or any religious slander from anyone.
BN sets up the emotions for racism and najib wants 1 malaysia? What was the motive for BN to support the cow head mob? If riots had taken place emergency ruling would have been implemented. Which means the federal government (BN) takes over Selangor. BN is prepared to destroy this country to stay in power. Malaysia cannot have a government like BN.
written by AtanSian, September 13, 2009 16:46:37
This childish understand of God and religion actually filters down from the very top.Remember we allow no other religioud buldings or house of worship to be built near a State Mosque, or be higher. If God cares, then Tibetan Houses of worship will win God's favor, hands down. They are the highest in the world and according to such simplistic thinking, nearest to God.
written by KotaDamansara73, September 14, 2009 00:11:02
How can you compare Malays to British Muslims?

Malays here are primitive people.
written by sueteh, September 14, 2009 18:09:45
In Brickfields Jln Berhala (correct?), in Melaka, you can find a mosque, a surau, a chinese temple, a indian temple, a church alongside the same stretch of road. So what is the problem??

If Seksyen 23 Shah Alam penduduk only mau MASJID and SURAU, bagi saja lah. They are very religious mah. I jamin, every day without FAIL, they will faithfully do the 5 times sembahyang. After that, they will congregate at surau and masjid to listen to dakwah and taklimat while chanting using the beads. Everyday, they will discipline themselves to sit before the Quran to recite it, to understand it to resonate together with their souls, minds, spirits. They will definitely pay their ZAKAT without FAIL. Then, they also plan for Umrah and Haji. Whom am I refering to? Penduduk kawasan Seksyen 23 Shah Alam. Dan juga keseluruhan kawasan Shah Alam. Apa lagi?? Gua lupa la..ya lah..gua bukan Muslim mah.

Kepada Sultan Selangor, saya meminta pendapat Tuanku terhadap perkara ini. Terima kasih.

IF those Malay Muslims CAN do all the above, ok lah..we the Chinese & Indians pindah from Shah Alam. Ok PakCik Khalid Ibrahim?? Not me la..i stay at Hulu Langat. Tak da masalah you know..actually in Hulu Langat, got one restaurant serving beer, Hulu Langat kawasan PAS kan? Not sure la.