Home arrow The Blogs arrow The Corridors of Power arrow MACC, lay off the opposition, investigate this instead!

MACC, lay off the opposition, investigate this instead! PDF Print
Friday, 11 September 2009 15:55

MACC wants to clean up it's extremely tarnished image. MACC wants to make a police report against anyone who accuses it of wrongdoing or abuse of power. MACC wants to investigate all the opposition leaders -- basically a 'fishing expedition' to try, with some luck, to catch opposition leaders who may have committed wrongdoings. But MACC refuses to take action on clear-cut crimes with documents to support the allegation of these crimes.

Samy Vellu's bank account the subject of police report
Susan Loone, Malaysiakini, 7:03pm Mon Jan 12th, 2004 

Parti Keadilan Rakyat (Keadilan) today lodged a police report on documents purportedly linking MIC president S Samy Vellu to the controversial misplacement of nine million Telekom shares intended for Maika Holdings.

In the report lodged at federal police headquarters in Bukit Aman this morning, Keadilan deputy Youth chief Faisal Sanusi claimed that the party had received documents containing allegations against Samy Vellu involving the Telekom shares.

Faisal told reporters that details of the allegations came from a letter dated Sept 15, 1994 written by the former chairperson of MIC public relations committee, V Subramaniam. He added although the information was available in 1994, no action seemed to have been taken by the police and Anti-Corruption Agency (ACA).

"The documents show him of having assets far beyond what a minister would hold on his normal salary," Faisal told reporters outside the police headquarters.

Malaysiakini has obtained photocopies of Samy Vellu's bank statements issued by the Bank of Commerce, which showed the transfers of millions of ringgit between March and May 1992 - at the height of the Maika's Telekom shares scandal. However, the veracity of the bank statements could not be determined. Subramaniam, who is not available for comment today, had since withdrawn the 1994 letter, which subsequently put a stop to the issue then.

"GK Rama Iyer, a much respected former Treasury official ... and chairman of Maika at the relevant period of 1990 has recently in a letter published in the Malay Mail on Dec 10, 2003, called for a reopening of the investigation by the ACA into the issue of how these 9 million shares never reached Maika," said Faisal. "We agree with and endorse his call."

Chief Inspector Mariapan Manikam from the public relations department received the 19-page report and documents attached from the complainants.

Mariapan said he would forward the documents to the relevant authorities immediately. In his 10-year-old letter, Subramaniam, who is also former PJ Barat MIC chief, alleged that investigations in 1992 on the matter was "frustrated due to fabricated documents and accounts and a false trail". The letter accused Samy Vellu of allegedly hijacking the Telekom shares which were intended to benefit Maika and the Indian community.

Samy Vellu, who is the works minister, has vehemently denied this. He is currently in New Delhi on official business and is unavailable for comment. Meanwhile, PKR vice-president R Sivarasa called on the police to immediately re-open an investigation into the allegations and forward the matter to the ACA, for re-investigation.

Sivarasa, who was also present during the press conference, urged Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi to explain to the Indian community how Maika lost the nine million shares, originally meant for its betterment.

"The Indian community, of which the shares should have benefitted, needs an immediate answer to this long-standing issue," he said.

In 1992, Maika Holdings was reported to have failed to account for much of the RM10 million worth of Telekom shares offered by the Finance Ministry for the benefit of the Indian Malaysian community. Only RM1 million worth of shares were retained by the investment arm while the remaining RM9 million shares were diverted to three private companies, two of which are RM2 companies and said to be proxies of the works minister. The controversy subsided after police and ACA investigations cleared Samy Vellu.

But the scandal erupted again a month ago following a row between the MIC president and his political rival and MIC splinter party - Indian Progressive Front - president MG Pandithan. Discontented Maika Holdings shareholders recently held a gathering to air their grouses. The company responded that the allegations were part of a plan to tarnish its image by those who were seeking to buy shares at a depreciated price.

Comments (34)Add Comment
written by DamnPekcek, September 11, 2009 16:33:07
While the raakyat is struggling to make a livings, these scumbags just channel the money to their own bank, and spend in a blink..
Semi-Value, this will haunt you like the indian actress haunting you son!!
and Bloody MACC, please walk the talk..
Or your balls will be nailed on the wall come next GE!
agree 431
written by Come clean, September 11, 2009 16:33:32
What have you got to say, MACC? See no evil, hear no evil?
agree 332
written by Wisdom above, September 11, 2009 16:39:00
How come Human Rights Party (HRP) from " Banned Hindraf " not attacking MIC ?
Human Rights Party (HRP) should demonstrate to get MACC to investigate these allegations ? SABM.
agree 197
written by Siregar, September 11, 2009 16:42:14
MACC adalah partai komponen BN yang tidak resmi. Mereka tidak akan menyiasat orang orang dari partai komponen mereka. Penyiasatan yang dilakukan adalah sandiwara untuk menutup mata orang ramai. Kalau mereka benar benar menyiasat tentu hampir keseluruhan pemimpin mereka ada di penjara.

Tolong tanya dengan Mat Mongli Gurujib.
written by NSTPravda, September 11, 2009 16:42:28
What are these? They are just numbers lah. We are looking for real people, i.e. real opposition people. The crime is not stealing, murdering, or corruption. The crime is being in opposition.
agree 123
written by ONGJJJ, September 11, 2009 16:57:23
Aisehman, RPK jangan la pecah tembelang. Kami is hanya samseng samseng tak berpelajaran tinggi. Matematik UPSR pun tak lulus mana boleh siasat, boleh kira sampai 5 ribu sahaja. Yang lebih besar, kami tak tahu kira. Sorry laa brader. Cuba PDRM, mungkin dia orang lebih pandai boleh tolong. Kalau tak silap lulus PMR sudah cukup asalkan ada connection.
written by bodohland_citizen, September 11, 2009 17:28:45
Hey old crook, you rob the poor and not shy about it. Your life is so disgusting, how can you eat and sleep peacefully huh ?
written by kampongmali, September 11, 2009 17:36:14
Samy & Co sodomised Malaysian Indians to bleed. Can someone make the report to police and charge Samy under sodomy??? smilies/grin.gif

Do you still want to runaway from this Samy? How many more thugs you need to threaten the Indians?

Dear Indian brothers and sisters of Malaysia,

Do you still think MIC is still relevant? Together we fight for Suara Rakyat which is Pakatan Rakyat.
written by arazak, September 11, 2009 17:52:03

Sorry.. ., Ahmad Said is busy watching that kiddy porn video with his son. No time to investigate Samy Value!
written by me_in, September 11, 2009 18:03:43
Ai yo yo Sami.
Ini macam banyak wang you ada ...mana mari.
Lu makan sampai cuci cicit .. 10 generasi pun tak bolih habis.
Kalau lu curi orang India punya wang, tolong pulang balik.
Kalau tidak lu mati nanti .. tak atau apa mau jadi.The fire wont take you,
it will be left to rot.

Sami oh Sami
written by TanBH, September 11, 2009 18:10:55
So, MACC what type of cock story are you going to say this time and what are you waitting for? You have been very efficient on the small cases, how about all the big cases like this? If you cannot do the job, the whole lots of you just resign and jump down from where Teoh Beng Hock did.
written by PeacefulMalaysia, September 11, 2009 18:47:40
Put this fat ass in JAIL

Use the Islamic law to stone him
We dont need him
Put him in a box and burn him
written by advocatusdiaboli, September 11, 2009 19:08:33
MACC are a bunch of bastards. They must be taught a good lesson.
written by SamSan, September 11, 2009 19:09:30
If nne believes in Bigdotcom's spin that Sdr Anwar is afraid to stand this fabricated sodomy trial for the second time, then they perhaps could also believe if this pariah fat arse bigdotcom piece of shit and slimeball also comes out with a similar new spin that Chandra Muzaffar, the lame handicapped scumbag had somehow overpowered and sodomised Saiful's dobor. In Malaysia semua dongeng Boleh!Che Det anak lelaki Sikandar Kutty Boleh!Tukar name kepada Iskandar Boleh!Mahlighai Cucu Cicit Sikandar Kutty dan kroni-kroninya saperti Toyol,Tamby Kecil Perogol Wanita Bawah Umur, Zakari Derus dan lain-lain hulubalang AMENO /BN Boleh!Perompak dan Pelanun AMENO /BN Boleh! Semua Boleh!
written by advocatusdiaboli, September 11, 2009 19:11:05
Castrate Semi Value and his Goons.
written by thor, September 11, 2009 19:46:24
Is this money he used to help the Kampong Buah Pala folks? smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
But then he didn't transfer any money for the Kampong Buah Pala folks right?

GOD SAVE OUR PEOPLE FROM THE WOLVES
written by usurper, September 11, 2009 19:51:07
Samy vellu is a theif. No questions about it. He was not only paid by the contractors and consultant engineers, he also robbed the Indians of their economic share. He stole from the Mariamman temple which operates the Batu Cave temple along with his crooked friend Nadarajah. Those days the devout Hindu donated gold and jewelery to the temple during Thaipusam. The "undial" or large donation urns were then transported to the Mariamman temple in Jalan Bandar, KL. Every year ineviatbly the Undials with the gold and jewellery would go missing and would land in the house of Nadarajah who shared it with Samy Vellu who were then all in the temple committee along with his good friend Dato Govindarajoo (now his nemesis). You see many a theives who together robbed their own people by decieving and cheating will eventually pay. Now Samy Vellu is confronting the 40 theives who have all turned against him. This chap Subramaniam is no exception. He was Samy Vellu's most trusted man. Carried millions of ringgit of his boss's corrupt money during the heydays. He fixed guys up with gangsters and the police to be in the good books of Samy Vellu. When Samy did not pay him he turned against him and releasing the above bank documents to the public and challenging Samy Vellu. After he withdrew the complain Samy allowed him back into his inner circle but this time he was under close scrutiny. He now wants to be the President of MIC and is back to usurping. You see, the cycle of events repeats again. All these corrupt and selfish people are now in the process of destruction. The hornets are fighting each other and would destroy themselves. The good people do not need to do much as the destructive process has started and has reached critical mass and so it is irreversible as in a nuclear fission. The outcome----all these scumbags will be anhilated!
written by Commonsenses, September 11, 2009 20:33:22
Alert alert Malaysian Insider site has been hacked with the message "Tribute to MalangSial" probably by indon hackers.
written by lakian, September 11, 2009 20:34:15
what do you,we expect from macc?macc actually was/is sharing this bloody money.so macc only go after small case because small case can share nothing to macc.
written by trublumalaysian, September 11, 2009 20:58:04
written by usurper, September 11, 2009 19:51:07
Samy vellu is a theif. No questions about it.

Dear Usurper,

Ditto to all you have written & pretty much spot-on. Btw, Nadarajah is the big-Wig's cousin. It's pretty much of a all-in-the-family thing. Sam the Veil always saw Malayalee's and Ceylonese as his biggest threat. and to say he doesn't practise caste politics? Heaven's to Betsy!

This guy is too much! No No.. no... he is 3 much!
written by Caretaker_y, September 11, 2009 21:21:28
Ahmad Said Hamtan & All your MACC mobsters & goons, you better Walk the Talk & Not The UMNO/BN cronies' Walk-Talk before you end up in Hell & burn for your dosa dosa all these while committed against the innocent Rakyats. Your latest torture & battering spree have resulted in the death & murder of Sdr Teoh Beng Hock. You 'manusia kurang' have deprived an unborn child of a father & love, robbed a wife of her husband & income and stole a loyal, hardworking & upcoming son from a Malaysian Citizen. Yet you still deny & keep avoiding the crime committed by your mobster and even your very own have submitted by MACC letterhead that the TP, Hishamuddin Hashim, was one of the killers who dare not clock-out that fateful morning after the murder of Sdr TBH.

T.Sivanesan is the living proof of your crime committed on him.

You & your mobster can keep on denying that they did not act barbaric & unprofessionally, while trying to obtain evidences of corruption or trying to plant false evidences on the innocent when under the instruction from your UMNO cronies to do the Opposition or those who oppose them otherwise.

The time is soon for your all to answer for the crimes committed by you & your goons.

Crime does not pay.
written by Msian Idol3, September 11, 2009 22:02:52
So many,many fat Minister thieves in Malaysia, including UMNO & MCA high officials. A recent case in point is the ridiculous wealthy Mahatir son who is part owner of San Miguel --- such genius in making money. Dare MACC to investigate. All of us knows the answers.
written by Ghifarix, September 11, 2009 22:39:43
There's only one option an option I will never surrender:UMNO/BN in its entirety must be vanquish without exception. They are all gone beyond redemption. No more jumping ship the lest and the most these bastards crooks can offer to the nation is the money back also as State Prosecution witnesses. These vultures have eaten pass the the carrion. Burn in hell! UMNO/BN are wicked greedy heartless. When I move around this country Rompin Jada Baik, Macan Guamusang, Sabah & Sarawak, Semenyih, Kuala Selangor, Perlis Terenganau just name the place and you'd wonder how could it be - poverty beyond comprehension, sometimes I cried. Per-capita,Poverty has two challengers; Illiteracy and corruption prolonged and harnessed by non other than UMNO/BN 52 years rule.
written by malsia1206, September 11, 2009 23:49:00
Indians have been the punching bags. From within - Maika. From external sources -cow head. They always have a choice in the ballot boxes.
written by mypanida, September 12, 2009 00:23:04
Ghifarix, Agreed with you totally. Those basturds are beyond redemption.Every races have their own carrion eaters and they will have to go. No compromise. We all be united to demolish these bloodsuckers to kingdom come. United, we shall overcome these feelings of helplessness and sense of destitution that is ingrained into the people all these years. We have to do what we could to jolt the people out of their induced comatose.
written by Davy McChester, September 12, 2009 03:12:40
It is the true desire of most Malaysian to see Samy vellu and gang behind bars for 30 years without any parole. And for those numb skull Indians who kept voting him despite the writing on the wall,please visit a psychiatric soon.If you were not able to see the damage this tyrant did to the Indian community for the last 30 years ,you surely have a serious family problem.
written by cheemengwong, September 12, 2009 10:07:43
I bet my last dollar nothing will happen to Semy. MACC will not touch him but will go and catch pregnant housewife accused of stealing some milk powder.
written by Jan, September 12, 2009 10:30:01
The govt is so adamant to want M'kini to withdraw those videos because those videos are so damning of the govt and in particular very damning of Kerismuddin. He made a very strategic error siding with those thugs and anybody 12 years up can tell who organised the protest. If they charge M'kini they will go deeper into blunder and the issue will just blow out of proportion for the whole world to see.
written by ibabonma, September 12, 2009 13:17:11
usurper said, "He (Samy) stole from the Mariamman temple which operates the Batu Cave temple along with his crooked friend Nadarajah."

Not to forget Umno also whacked our surau/mosque 'pasar malam contribution' and that's reason enough why I call Umno is a thief, a daylight robber.

written by Shimshon, September 12, 2009 16:59:24

The way I see it - is that Samy Vellu's ill-gotten wealth is nothing compared to UMNOputras, Mahathir's(the Father of Corruption re: $$$ and power-abuse), and others'.

Samy Velu's wealth is peanuts in comparison to UMNOputra, UMNO's cronies, all who'd generally have 100s of millions each; and the likes of Mahathir, a multibillionaire, most of it stashed/hoarded overseas.

They say that Khairy Jamaluddin passed the 1 billion rgt. mark during this fatherinlaw, Badawi's premiership.

See, how easy the Melayus, esp. UMNOputra "print money", have slush funds (ie off record massive wealth), use Petronas & etc national wealth - for themselves, and at the expense of true nationbuilding?!!

Najib and his cronies are extremely rich too. Minus Mahathir, Najib is the richest Malaysian!

So Samy Velu is just another "poor" Indian bugger.

written by MAMR, September 12, 2009 18:25:38
MACC, lay off the opposition, investigate this instead!

MACC, if after the above exposure you all still dont take action then I can brand you all are good for nothing and a waste of tax payers money. It is time for UMNO/BN Govt who had been protecting them be brought down in every byelections and next general election.
written by KARMANNGHIA, September 12, 2009 20:39:42
Dog Barking up the wrong tree.

smilies/cheesy.gif sit doggie, sit! go chase a stick doggie.
written by Sabahfan, September 13, 2009 01:15:11
what is there to expect when MACC is proven as the running BITCH for UMNO regime?

MACC is there simply to protect the interest of the regime and NOTHING ELSE.
written by Davy McChester, September 13, 2009 08:50:17
With all this solid evidence against Samy Vellu ,the MACC big goon the puppet of UMNOputras is scared to death initiating an investigation. Maybe UMNOputras are aware the repercussion on the UMNO overall health should Samy Vellu disseminate from the vault of his Southern Indian bank,in South India ,the dossier of 29 years of pay off to UMNO linked companies. He is not a stupid fellow for sure.The second tsunamai for UMNO would be worse than the 1st.