Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow Bangun! The court's in session

Bangun! The court's in session PDF Print
Thursday, 10 September 2009 00:20

The following article is a work of fiction and any resemblance to people still living, already dead, or about to die is purely coincidental.

Bangun!

All rise. The judge walks in and takes his seat.

Duduk!

All sit down again.

Case number 1651/09, the Shah Alam High Court, Public Prosecutor versus Mohd Azmir Mohd Zin, Ahmad Suhairi Zakaria, Mohd Hilmi Ni, Eyzra Ezhar Ramlz, Ibrahim Sabri and Ahmad Mahayuddhn Abd Manaf. Will all the accused please come forward and enter the dock.

The six enter the dock.

Okay. What is the charge? Please read out the charges to all the accused.

Yes, your honour. You, Mohd Azmir Mohd Zin, Ahmad Suhairi Zakaria, Mohd Hilmi Ni, Eyzra Ezhar Ramlz, Ibrahim Sabri and Ahmad Mahayuddhn Abd Manaf, are accused of dragging a cow’s head after Friday prayers on…….

Hold on. What are they being charged for?

Sedition, your honour.

Sedition? How come I don’t get to hear sodomy cases? I want to hear a sodomy case. Is there any sodomy involved here?

No, your honour. Only sedition.

How did they commit sedition?

They dragged a cow’s head to the Selangor State Secretariat building.

How can they commit sedition against a cow? Dragging a cow is not seditious.

It was not a cow, your honour. It was a cow’s head.

Of course you have to drag a cow by the head. I know that. You can’t drag a cow by the tail.

It was not a live cow, your honour. It was a dead cow.

These six accused dragged a dead cow?

Not a dead cow, your honour. Just a cow’s head. They cut off the head and just dragged the head.

They needed six people just to drag one cow’s head?

No, your honour. Only two dragged the cow’s head. In fact, they carried it by the horns. Not actually dragged it along the ground.

Then how come six are being charged if only two dragged the cow’s head? Did they take turns to drag the cow’s head?

No, your honour. Two dragged the cow’s head. The other four stepped on the cow’s head and spit on it.

So this is sedition against the cow?

Not sedition against the cow, your honour. They committed sedition because their act was an insult to Hindus.

Was the cow owned by a Hindu man?

No, your honour. We have not yet established who owned the cow.

Did the owner of the cow make a police report?

No, your honour. But many Hindus did make police reports.

But none of these Hindus owned the cow?

No, your honour.

Then why are they so upset?

Because they feel insulted.

Aiyah! This case is getting very complicated even before the trial can start. Can’t we just charge them for sodomy instead? I want to hear a sodomy case. Judges become famous when they hear sodomy cases, not cases involving cow’s heads.

We can’t, your honour. There is no sodomy involved here.

I’m sure if the police investigate properly they will find someone who has been sodomised.

Well, your honour, I think Umno has been sodomised.

There you are. So there is sodomy involved. Can we amend the charges to sodomy against Umno instead?

But your honour, Umno was not literally sodomised. It’s more like figure of speech sodomised. Umno was sodomised politically.

Anwar Ibrahim did not literally sodomise anyone either. He sort of politically sodomised Dr Mahathir Mohamad. But that did not stop the government from charging him and finding him guilty of sodomy. Why can’t these six be charged for sodomy, for politically sodomising Umno? I want to hear a sodomy case.

For this particular case we can’t, your honour. But maybe we can give you another sodomy case to hear. Tiong King Sing just sodomised Ong Tee Keat by revealing the details of the RM10 million cash donation. It is now public knowledge and there is even a Statutory Declaration floating around.

Fantastic. Make sure that that case comes to my court. Where did the crime occur?

In Petaling Jaya, your honour.

Ah, then that comes under my court’s jurisdiction. Okay, let us proceed with this sedition case then. Are there any witnesses involved? How many witnesses are going to be called and how many days will we need for this case?

Initially, there were some videos of the crime.

Are the videos going to be entered as evidence? Then the accused might as well just plead guilty and save the court’s time. If there are videos then they have no defence.

The videos were available, your honour. But now the MCMC has asked Malaysiakini to remove the videos under threat. So the videos are no longer available.

So the evidence no longer exists?

No, your honour.

If there is no longer any evidence why waste the court’s time with a trial? Just drop the charges.

We can’t, your honour. We have to make the Hindus happy by at least pretending that we are putting the six on trial and then later either drop the charges or find them not guilty due to lack of video evidence.

Why later? Why not now?

We can’t, your honour. There is a by-election coming up soon in Port Dickson and there are about 20% Hindu voters there. This will make the Hindu voters very unhappy. We can only drop the charges after Umno wins the by-election. If not Umno is going to be sodomised good and proper.

Ah, if Umno loses the by-election can’t we then change the charge to sodomy since Umno was sodomised in the by-election?

Umno can’t lose the by-election, your honour.

Why not?

Because there are more than 5,000 postal voters in a total of only 14,000 registered voters.

I see. So the opposition is going to be sodomised instead then.

Sort of, your honour.

And these six people being charged are also opposition members?

They are, your honour.

I always said Anwar Ibrahim’s people are troublemakers. All opposition people are troublemakers. I have already decided to find them guilty even before the trial starts.

These six are not Anwar Ibrahim’s people, your honour.

You said they are opposition supporters.

They are Umno supporters, your honour.

But you said they are opposition supporters.

Yes, your honour. Umno is the opposition in Selangor.

Comments (38)Add Comment
written by charcoy feng, September 10, 2009 00:35:42
That sums it all......
agree 336
written by storm62, September 10, 2009 00:38:36
and they shouted obscene words at MB Khalid, your honour....

MB Khalid was sworn-in by the Sultan of Selangor....

does that mean they also "derhaka" the Sultan's subject, your honour?
agree 518
written by SiHangChai, September 10, 2009 00:39:13
Mooooooood. We are should be acquinted as we have eaten too much of tainted cow meat only we discovered the cow is suffered from mad cow disease. We told our cow is OK until we discover a few outsiders came uninvited and offered us some rendang. We thought the meal came in good faith to feed out stomach little we know that this cow has been relocated here without asking us if there is a cow farm in our area. Anyway, who cares, slaughter the cow first and blame the others for the cow.
written by magickriver, September 10, 2009 00:39:25
Hee hee hee. Nothing like a bit of courtroom humor a la Instant Cafe Theatre! Good one, Pete. Could hear you chuckling all the way here... smilies/wink.gif
agree 183
written by storm62, September 10, 2009 00:40:04
Najis = Satu Malaysia

Toyol = Sapu Malaysia

MIC = Kutu Malaysia

MCA = Batu Malaysia

UMNO = Tipu Malaysia

PR = BerSatulah Malaysia!!! Hidup PR!!!

agree 367
written by malsia1206, September 10, 2009 00:43:42
I get the feeling I have more confidence in this Judge than the CJ who had ruled on the Perak Speakers' suits.
agree 130
written by Namolos, September 10, 2009 00:44:34
Charge the dead cow HEAD for giving these six[6]IDIOTS a DEAD 'BLOW JOB'

Get that Perak Judge again to sit on this case if this Judge can only think of 'Sodomy'
written by arazak, September 10, 2009 00:45:24
Ha, ha, ha. . ., that was hilarious!

Lucky thing I did not spill out the iftar contents from my stomach!
written by Arowana, September 10, 2009 00:48:49
Hahahahaha, your honor my honor ? DUN Perak speaker issue an honor fiasco !!!

Go PR, you have at least 18 votes from me in Bagan Pinang.
written by Oscar Winner, September 10, 2009 00:50:05
I wonder when we are able to watch a sitcom with this kind of script. It's hilarious. Good enough for David Lettermen's Late Night Show.

Bagan Pinang voters, be ready to sodomise UMNO!!
written by Steven Tan, September 10, 2009 00:56:56
Not this time. This time around our Indian Brothers and Sisters going to plug UMNO/BN properly as well as our Chinese and Malay Brothers and Sisters. This time around UNMO/BN going to fly kite (or may be WAU) in Bagan Pinang

Hidup PAS! Hidup PKR! Hidup DAP! Hidup Kerajaan Pakatan Rakyat!
written by storm62, September 10, 2009 00:58:44
ha ha ha....hello Pete, i just can't imagine you're the co-STAR of "Comedy Court"...ha ha ha....sure it's gonna be a "Blog Buster"....simply hilarious!

anyway, i like the last part, whereby they forgot they are the opposition in Selangor...hi hi hi.
written by goman2k3, September 10, 2009 01:23:25
Well done RPK, let make it into a broadway show in KL.
written by Fart Fart Wah, September 10, 2009 01:24:29
Well your honor if you want a sodomy case..we can change it.
Change to what???
Well we can say they sodomised the cow!!!!!
HolyCow!!! Do you have evidence?? This will be sensational since it is the opposition..
We had your honor..but now we do not have it your honor...
what do you mean??
Well..that part of the cow was panggangged....and it was eaten..
written by johntyc, September 10, 2009 01:25:02
The last line is epic!
written by rocky, September 10, 2009 01:37:29
haha. UMNO COWards la.
written by Spear Bing, September 10, 2009 03:08:03

Do we have Chapters 2,3, 4,5, and more as and when the court sessions are adjourned and later on resumed? Please continue with your reporting.

We need more of this hilarious parody in times of stress and pressure!!!
written by goman2k3, September 10, 2009 04:41:00
"Defence lawyer Salehuddin Saidin said his clients were carrying the cow head to illustrate the state government's stupidity - and did not intend to offend local Hindus.
For Malays, the cow symbolises stupidity, not an insult to any other religion," Mr Salehuddin told the Associated Press"

One pig headed lawyer claims that his clients did not bring the cow head now another cow head lawyer admitted bringing the cow head. Great by-product of our education system. Are they that pig headed or what? Whom are they trying to cow,themselves? Kerismuddin did the flip flop inviting them to his office and pronounced that they did no wrong but now the 12 scrape goats are being charge for sedition and illegal assembly. How about another "good" malay muslim who wanted to rape the female Adun. Where is the religious enforcer? Don't they want to arrest him or it is alright to rape female ADUN if she is a muslim and from opposition. Ah, I forgotten that in syariah law as told by RPK that prostituting your wife carries less punishment that drinking beer. Maybe threatening to rape is ok in syariah law.
Any muslim from UMNO to enlighten us.
written by educationist, September 10, 2009 05:02:40
Hmm... amidst the satire and humour is the message that charging those morons is just political expediency!
Will the prosecution present a solid case or one full of holes to enable those morons to be acquitted!
We shall see.
written by Akutakata, September 10, 2009 08:14:03
Even sound funny but this explained our judges standard....LOL
written by Navigator, September 10, 2009 09:11:42
That's brilliant, RPK. You are a very versatile and imaginative writer. Also one who has high principles.
written by hellosunshine, September 10, 2009 09:44:30
Good one, mate. I guess the courtroom scenario must be quite close to RPK's description and no wonder photos of these bastards in the news showed them coming out of the kangaroo courtroom with big wide smiles and arrogantly raising their hands in defiance. Is it possible to name all these bastards with their business/employment companies, address etc in MT for all to see? Let's put pressure on them and their employers by boycotting these bastards and show them and potential racial and religious bigots are shunned by the rakyat. smilies/angry.gif
written by truthbespoken, September 10, 2009 09:53:05
While Pete's courtroom satire is cleverly composed and funny, the part on courtroom pretences sadly reflects the usual nonchalant behaviour and standard of many judges in the country. More often than not, those dumb-playing judges appear sly than learned to the public. Still, thank you once again Pete for brightening our day while you impart a very effective and relevant message.
written by ONGJJJ, September 10, 2009 10:00:20
Damn good script for Comedy Court. Great read for this morning. BTW, sound more like facts than fiction to me.
written by adamckteh, September 10, 2009 10:49:57
Real humor.
written by teo siew chin, September 10, 2009 11:53:34
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAA !
hope most of the rakyat dont think like the judge.
written by ChandraJ, September 10, 2009 11:54:15
Pete, at the 9th line from bottom the Prosecutor was heard to have said, "Sod off, your honour" and not as stated in the news aricle above.
written by eeyaw, September 10, 2009 11:59:20
Aduh Pete! We used to have "Kangaroo Court" now a 'Cow Court'. Mooooooo..... smilies/grin.gif
written by A MI, September 10, 2009 12:02:19
Al Jazeera must have got hold of the same work of fiction. I saw them air clips of the video air this morning.

Wonder of MCMC gonna throw a threat at them too? smilies/grin.gif
written by hiiijack, September 10, 2009 12:37:16
The best part of all is the last sentence,thanks RPK you made my day.Stay safe and god bless you and family.
written by rpremkumar2u, September 10, 2009 15:50:46
COWabunga!
written by AtanSian, September 10, 2009 16:07:09
Ha ha. I have not read anything so funny for some time.

Also, It was not a cow. It was a calf. It was too young to have horns.
It had only the stubb of a pair of horns just coming out.
They held the head by the ears, all through during the march.
Perhaps the prosecution would like to make a case that this was even more cruel.
written by pakasia, September 10, 2009 22:44:36
Allah will punish the 6 Malays who gave Islam a bad name!
written by safetyknob, September 11, 2009 01:04:20
Clear case of cruelty to animal! No doubt the Hindus feel insulted & so does other sane Malaysians. However the party that was most insulted is the dead cow. How would you like to have your head chopped off, dragged around & spat on? First degree murder of the cow/calf!
written by JustWorld, September 11, 2009 09:00:33
If I am the trial judge for this case, I would have get a cow...no...a bull to sodomise the six idiots in front of the public....as punishment....hehehe!
written by fairnessforall, September 11, 2009 14:57:50
lol...good one RPK. Had a good laugh. Comedy court should do something like this.
written by dassky2000, September 11, 2009 20:02:01
hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahah, there is no other better way to describe the malaysian courts and the politicians. Phew, what an episode. I love you RPK> Selamat berpuasa and Selamat Hari Raya Aidil Fitri wherever you are.
written by Berean, September 14, 2009 01:43:47
Absolutely well done! The last part also caught me by surprise.

Hope the indians and chinese wake up and fight for their rights, which will create a much better Malaysia for all, including the Malays.

Look at the Malays in Singapore. They are doing relatively well and you certainly don't see them wanting to move to Malaysia.