Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow Trying to lock the stable door after the horse has bolted

Trying to lock the stable door after the horse has bolted PDF Print
Wednesday, 09 September 2009 15:56

More than a year ago, Malaysia Today triggered the alarm bell by revealing that Maybank, a taxpayer-owned bank, was about to blow billions in a stupid deal. None of the politicians from Pakatan Rakyat took up the case though. Maybe they felt since it was Malaysia Today that revealed it then there was no need to panic. But NST and BT also reported the matter, although they tried to make it sound like a positive move. Now, everyone is trying to lock the stable door after the horse has bolted.

Another RM2 billion loss?

By Steadyaku47

http://blog.limkitsiang.com/, 9 September 2009

Tell me who would be stupid enough to go and buy a bank in Indonesia? You tell me who would do that? Then if that was not enough you go and take a running jump into Pakistan and buy another bank there. But wait there is more! While they are doing that why not pick up a bank in Vietnam. In all they spent an incredible RM10.8 billion to acquire these three banks. Who would be stupid enough to do this when Maybank has been advise AGAINST making the purchase? Maybank belongs to the Government and so they will take instructions from the Government. Taking instructions from a Government run by idiots who thinks that Maybank is also Maybank. So in essence it is the Barisan Government that is stupid enough to go and buy three Banks in Indonesia, Pakistan and Vietnam for RM10.8 billion.

Now Malayan Banking has confirmed that it lost RM2 billion in this escapade. Now which UMNO guy made a few hundred million in commission from these purchases? Who are the usual suspects? Najib as the Minister of Finance has to be suspect number one – but if MACC does the questioning they will say that he is just ‘helping with inquires’. But Najib must beware that even helping with inquiries can be dangerous if Muhyiddin has anything to do about it.

Najib must have been advised by that Nor Mohamed Yaacob because he had experience of losing more billion when he was with Bank Negara – around RM30 billion in fact.

This latest escapades would have been hysterically funny if it had happened in one of those tin pot African country where you would need half the money in the Banks just to buy a loaf of bread. And of course as far as Najib is concern this is a ‘victimless crime’ because it does no physical harm to any person or property, or to which was in fact consented, and is currently illegal if based on statutory laws. As victimless as PKFZ and all those plundering of the nation resources. Well Najib I got news for you. The Rakyat now knows that in the end they pay !! That RM37.23 million Aidilfitri bonus for Felda – we all pay. That RN500 million for Razak Baginda – we pay. Soon you will be paying for this that you are now making the Rakyat pay…and then it will be Good Night for you.

Maybank wins bid for Indonesia's BII

By Adeline Paul Raj

New Straits Times, 27 March 2008

MALAYSIA'S biggest bank, Malayan Banking Bhd (Maybank), has won a bid to take control of Bank Internasional Indonesia (BII) for US$1.5 billion (about RM4.8 billion), a major step for the lender to expand in the region. BII is Indonesia's sixth largest bank in terms of assets, with over 230 branches.

"This acquisition will transform our growth prospects in Indonesia and significantly enhance our regional presence," Maybank acting chief executive officer Datuk Aminuddin Md Desa told reporters at a briefing yesterday in Kuala Lumpur.

To comply with takeover rules, Maybank will also offer to buy the remaining 44 per cent of BII, which could push its total bill to US$2.7 billion (RM8.6 billion). It plans to fund this internally. The deal comes just days after it agreed to buy a 15 per cent stake in Vietnam's An Binh Bank for RM430 million.

Maybank's bid for BII, at 4.6 times book value, appears steep, an indication of the stiff fight from bigger rivals and limited opportunities in the region. Analysts said that it was probably the most expensive bank purchase ever in Indonesia. Research firms like Citigroup had expected it to pay US$1.8 billion (RM5.7 billion) for all of BII.

Aminuddin, however, believes it is worth paying the hefty premium to get a controlling stake in a crucial market like Indonesia. The country has no foreign shareholding limits and offers one of the highest growth potential in the region. "It's an opportunity we couldn't afford to miss," he said.

A Reuters report said Maybank had beaten Bank of China for BII, after Europe's biggest lender, HSBC, dropped out in the last leg of the race. According to Aminuddin, BII will start contributing profits in the third year after the deal is completed. Maybank's strategy is to tap the remittance business and, later, trade finance. With BII, revenue contribution from Maybank's international operations will jump to 30 per cent in the next one or two years from about 19 per cent currently, he said.

In the first stage of the BII deal, which could take three months to complete, Maybank will pay RM4.8 billion to buy all of Sorak Financial Holdings Pte Ltd, which holds 56 per cent of BII. Sorak is owned by Singapore investment arm Temasek (75 per cent) and South Korea's Kookmin Bank (25 per cent). Maybank will then make a RM3.8 billion offer to buy out BII's minority shareholders.

On whether Maybank intends to take BII private, Aminuddin said it was still too early to say as it would depend on how minority shareholders respond to the offer. He pointed out, however, that Indonesian law states that as long as there are at least 3,000 public shareholders, a company can be kept listed no matter what the public shareholding spread is. Maybank, whose shares traded at RM8.95 yesterday before being suspended for the announcement, expects to complete the entire deal in six months. Temasek is selling its stake in BII to comply with Indonesian laws that forbid a foreign investor from owning more than one bank.

Temasek comes full circle with BII stake

Early this year, however, Temasek indicated that it was selling its BII stake. Eventually, an agreement to sell the stake to Maybank for US$1.1 billion was announced in March.

Business Times, 11 August 2008

Temasek Holdings’ trouble-plagued bid to sell a stake in Indonesia's PT Bank Internasional Indonesia to Malaysia's Maybank holds a significance beyond the deal itself. More than just a transaction gone awry, it also reflects the changing realities facing the Singapore investment company.

The story of BII in Temasek's portfolio, in fact, says a lot about the shifts in its investment history over the last few years.

It will not be too much of an exaggeration to say that the road to Barclays and Merrill Lynch started with two Indonesian banks in the early 2000s. BII was one of the first major overseas investments by Temasek. Back in 2003, Temasek led a consortium called Sorak Financial Holdings, which also included Kookmin Bank, Barclays and Swiss-based ICB Financial Group Holdings, to clinch ownership of BII after reaching an agreement with the Indonesian Bank Restructuring Agency (Ibra).

Sorak paid 1.9 trillion rupiah (S$380 million at the time) for a 51 per cent stake in BII. The BII acquisition came just after Temasek and Deutsche Bank acquired a 62 per cent stake in another Indonesian lender, Bank Danamon, earlier that year.

Until then, Temasek's major investments had been mostly Singapore-centric. So BII, together with Danamon, marked the start of Temasek's overseas investments, as well as the beginning of its investments in foreign banks. Some questioned the acquisitions at the time, while others saw a political motive (buying the two banks, which were distressed entities restructured for sale by Ibra, was seen as contributing to Indonesia's recovery from the Asian crisis).

But there was also a clear commercial imperative: It was a genuine opportunity to buy financial assets at attractive valuations with the potential for strong returns — a theme that would run through to the present time.

Temasek went on to buy over Barclays and ICB's stakes in BII, and is estimated to have invested at least S$455 million in all in the bank.

Then came one of the regulatory shifts that have become all too familiar to Temasek. New foreign ownership rules under the Indonesian central bank's single presence policy, which takes effect by the end of 2010, meant that Temasek had to reduce its Indonesian bank portfolio by half.

Until late last year, the preferred option seemed to be a merger of BII and Danamon to meet the new rules. BII went as far as to say that it was drafting a proposal to merge with Danamon. The two banks complemented each other, said BII president-director Henry Ho.

Early this year, however, Temasek indicated that it was selling its BII stake. Eventually, an agreement to sell the stake to Maybank for US$1.1 billion was announced in March.

What led to the change of heart? First, it could be reflective of Temasek's growing caution, even disappointment, over the Indonesian market. The regulatory shifts and flip-flops in Indonesia, including that involving Temasek's telco investment Indosat, suggested that reducing its Indonesian exposure might be a prudent option.

At the same time, while the financial sector in Indonesia appeared healthy, critics have charged that it was vulnerable to a sudden reversal of fortunes because of the inflow of hot money into the stock market and the spike, until recently, in international commodity prices.

The second factor might hold some irony. If the path to Barclays and Merrill had started with BII and Danamon, then the decision to sell BII could also be traced to Temasek's push west-wards. Temasek's investments in Barclays and Merrill, beginning last year, signified a new global thrust beyond regional acquisitions.

That meant realigning the portfolio, and raising funds for new investments by disposing of existing assets. There could be one more reason at play: the billions pumped into Barclays and Merrill, while undeniably long-term in nature, are currently sitting on huge paper losses. It would be nice to book a profit somewhere, and the sale of the BII stake to Maybank would have yielded a useful S$1 billion, according to some estimates.

Of course, in the neighbourhood scheme of things, Malaysian central bank Bank Negara put the brakes on the deal last month. Apparently, it was worried that Maybank could suffer losses from overpaying (not unreasonable, given that the price is 4.7 times over book) for BII. It is still unclear how things would pan out, but as it is, it is a setback for Temasek.

It is now forced to revisit its options for BII, including merging it with Danamon. And if Temasek continues to put the BII stake up for sale, it is unlikely to fetch a price as high as the one Maybank was willing to pay, given the circumstances. Another lesson in the realities of investing in the region then. No wonder even ailing US and European banks look so attractive.

Najib: Deal good for Maybank

New Straits Times, October 2008

Maybank's decision to acquire a controlling stake in PT Bank Internasional Indonesia (BII) was made before the global economic downturn, Datuk Seri Najib Razak said.

Therefore, he said, it was too late for Maybank to back out of the acquisition.

Asked if the move was a good idea considering the current state of the global economy, the deputy prime minister and finance minister said the decision was a commercial one which was up to Maybank to decide on without government intervention.

Najib, however, insisted that the move was still a good one for the country.

"It (Maybank) will own the fifth largest Indonesian bank and become a regional bank," he said at the cabinet's open house at the Putra World Trade Centre on Wednesday.

Maybank shelled out RM4.26 billion for a 55.6 per cent stake in BII on Tuesday.

It was given a RM759 million rebate after the original price was deemed too high given the current economic scenario.

The initial price was more than four times the book value of the bank, resulting in several parties demanding that a new deal, at two to three times the book value, be hammered out.

Maybank stood to forfeit its RM480 million deposit from the original tender if it pulled out of the deal.

written by Kathy, September 09, 2009 16:11:56
I'm speechless, RPK. I won't let any one of them look after my weekly housekeeping money for sure. smilies/grin.gif
agree 133
written by SocratesI, September 09, 2009 16:20:19

Which is why I bank with all the foreign banks ... how to let these b@st@rds get hold of my hard-earned money?? Their having my EPF money under their control is already a source of sonstant nightmares to me every night !!!

Vote for Pakatan Rakyat ! DOWN with Barisan Najis !
agree 143
written by Liberian, September 09, 2009 16:22:16
Watch out next will be Sime Darby, they just show loss. But they are going on Shopping spree to African Countries. They will be going to Cameroon on October. They just concluded a deal in Liberia but not started yet. The moment Najib said go global, all the cronies in FELDA, FELCRA, RISDA and Sime Daarby are laughing thru their arse. They will empty the kitty before next election.
written by loosecannon, September 09, 2009 16:44:21
Want to bet that someone made a very handsome commission or consultation fee and he's linked to Umno? That's what it's all about. Commission, commission and more commission.
written by Wisdom above, September 09, 2009 17:00:55
THAT IS WHY ,we urgently need a strong two party system so that one party will keep an eye on the other. They treat commissions as their unquestionable " ENTITLEMENT".As things stand now, the present leadership can do anything they like and we can only sit back and watch helplessly.For the moment JUST EXPOSE their ABUSES in 100% details for all Anak Bangsa Malaysia to read. The Rakyat is the JURY come any by-elections and GE13 !SABM .
written by Oscar Winner, September 09, 2009 17:13:29
Have we ever heard of huge profits by GLCs and govt investment arms?? No. What we so often hear now and then are huge losses or scandals to the tune of billions or hundreds of million. Do they ever care about returns for the benefits of the rakyat? All they care about are immediate gains for themselves and cronies. Make hay while the sun shines, that's all they care about. Rakyat? Pergi mampus lah, that's what they think. Let's change the govt so that financial help can be given to the poor and the unfortunate. The country cannot go on bleeding
written by arazak, September 09, 2009 17:13:48
Najib: Deal good for Maybank
-----------------------------------

Yeah right. . ., good deal for those thieving clowns running the bank and you.. ., you people gets enough commission to feed that “haram” money for your 7 generations to come!

Not a good deal for the rakyaat though, as those money already lost belong to us!

You, son of a . . .! You make me sick!
written by Vera, September 09, 2009 17:23:00
I think more will be plundered knowing that PR will most likely take over Putra Jaya come the 13th GE. AS an interim measure, Bagan Pinang voters should vote for PAS to send a strong signal to BN that their days are numbered.
written by cheemengwong, September 09, 2009 17:23:57

If you talk to Najib, Paklah or Muhiddin, they will tell you that the horse has bolted but we still need to shut the door because the shit is still there. Someone need to clean up the Shit.
written by clarity, September 09, 2009 18:33:15
Get the MACC to question Amirsham. He left after the deals were concluded and to guarantee himm safe passage, they transferred him to Parliament which is not his cup of tea. All the shit will come out on who got what if they grill him.
written by KotaDamansara73, September 09, 2009 19:44:00
Every GLC's CEO or executive thinks that they are Robert Kuok, Quek Leng Chan or Tony Fernandez. IN fact they are not. They are just corporate climber and many happen to be connected.

So there is no genuine businessman inside running GLCs. The lesson is, NEVER buy GLC's stock. Because you never know, how stupid UMNO and GLC's executive can become. EVeryday Hidup! Melayu! Hidup! Islam. The brain become stupider and stupider. Even the stupidest pig will not be as stupid as them.
written by ONGJJJ, September 09, 2009 20:06:07
Singapore was literally laughing it way to the bank with such a sweet deal at the expense of Malaysia.
written by CBP, September 09, 2009 20:28:22
hmm.... i think if PR get to win by next G.E , it's the end of malaysia, probably they'll notice that this country is already "empty".

written by Ghifarix, September 09, 2009 21:04:59
RPK I've got to hand it to you, in fact we (Malaysian's) have to be thankful to you. You have the staying power the tenacity and the ethic to hold on to a struggle as mammoth as our corruption albeit without ulterior motives; one can say the same for Anwar Ibrahim and Tok Guru and those close to you all. Our nation is sick and contagion GOD Forbid! I guess Anwar will find difficulty after assuming control of the Gomen in picking a team void of reproach. May Allah bring us Malaysians during this sacred month of RAMADAN to the light. I hope this is our last Ramadan with the current Gomen in power.
written by hellosunshine, September 09, 2009 21:07:20
I hope and pray some smart guys in PR are keeping tab on all these pillaging and plundering like there's no tomorrow by these BN pirates. We want every bloodstained red cent returned from each and everyone of them after GE13. Please expose all the plundering in a who's who list and how much they plundered during the GE13 elections. I am really pissed! smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by miwaki, September 09, 2009 21:11:58
Najib and his buddies in government are starting to learn about merger and aquisition,this is a course in University for students studying for a degree in Finance.Well,as a novice,he has to do it by trial and error before he learn the trick of the trade.After all he is using tax payers money to learn,not his own money !

There are plenty of countries they can venture into,countries such as Myanmar,Laos,Congo,Papua New Guinea,Somalia,Nepal,Sudan and countries we never heard of.These people are idiots with third world mentality and they are fond of third world countries when they are planning thier business ventures.

A bunch of useless,nincompoot bankers !
written by Kampong, September 09, 2009 21:32:54
Remember the famous words from the Cina woman "Cash flow? What cash flow?" The best capable crooks, brought to you by BN.
written by archie, September 09, 2009 22:00:30
Temasek itself suffered massive losses when it divested its holdings in Bank of America (converted from Merrill Lynch shares) and Barclays.

Temasek bought a 9% stake in Merrill for 5.9 billion US dollars in Dec 2007 when the global financial crisis just started. Within half a year, Merrill went belly up and was taken over by Bank of America. Temasek sold its 3.8% stake in Bank of America at a reported loss of 4.6 billion US dollars in Q1 2009.

Temasek bought a 2% stake in Barclays for 975 million British pounds in July 2007. It sold its Barclays shares in Dec 2008-Jan 2009 for a loss of 500 million British pounds.

You don't win all the time.
written by Fuminari, September 09, 2009 23:03:42
rakyat,oh fellow rakyat!!why should we pay tax??to feed the umno thives n bandits plus their dogs???
written by sydput, September 10, 2009 00:24:43
CIMB, whose CEO is Najib's brother made much cheaper deals buying banks overseas.
selangor MB, when he as CEO at Guthrie, also made an expensive acquisition in indonesia.
BII was partly owned by daim before he sold his shares to temasek.
Why maybank buy a bank in pakistan, a possible failed state, is a mystery, unless the pashtun drug lords require banking services in their drug business.
I do not understand why CIMB, with presence in Malaysia, singapore, thailand and indonesia, did not offer cross trading of shares in those markets to any of their clients, i.e. you can buy shares in indoneisa/thailand or singapore by calling your local broker in KL, or even form a CIMB asean index for the merged stock exchnages.
written by defendermalaysia, September 10, 2009 00:32:49
If anyone of you ever goes to Jakatra, please count the number of banks on the left side and right side of Jakatra main road. I have try to count it about nearly 120 banks only on the jakatra main road. In Indonesia it seems easy to get a bank license and even a plastic factory can own a bank ezample Maspion Bank own by Maspion plastic company. So we wonder when Maybank is going to buy another 100 banks along the jakatra main road ?
written by Fart Fart Wah, September 10, 2009 01:03:04
Another TAi chee act. Just like the Mr Mahathir David Copperfield...now you see now you don't...and then tai chee...by running amok with the mouth blaming the west and blaming everybody...

Another UNNO Moolayu....episode...where they pocket the money..and the rakyat pays....as Mahathir puts it easily...taapa..apa nama...rakyat muda lupa....
written by Angela Ooi, September 10, 2009 07:21:54
People, we have to remember all these sodid, shitty deals DONT BENEFIT us and we are paying it through our noses as our gaji is NOT KEEPIN UP WITH THE COST OF LIVING. This type of BN deals sure BENEFIT SOME BIGWIG UMNO WARLORDS and
no one else.
written by TwilightYears, September 10, 2009 08:17:57
We do not have to worry about Maybank. All the money is safe with the backing of the government. What is 2 billion? You can only build 100 hospitals without specialists and a few hundred thousands low cost houses for the unwanted poor. What is 2 billion loss? The government has already lost billions. Putting money in Maybank is still safer than putting it under your pillow without the police force sleeping on the job and robbers and thieves roam the streets freely. What is 2 billion? Only a few hundred millions go into the pocket of the filthy rich.

In Malaysia, 2 billion is nothing when the street is lined with gold and there is no poverty. Malaysia is a paradise for the corrupted rich and adulterer who goes about making money without a care in the world. It is a paradise where millionair politician exhibit their sexual prowlness for free where VCD is given in the internet. There is no shame to lose billions when there is no shame to show off immorality.

Malaysia is unique.
written by Mapel101, September 10, 2009 10:36:12
What? Maybank bought BIL? OMG! I'm speechless. smilies/shocked.gif
written by Xerxes, September 10, 2009 10:56:55
Temasek is laughing all the way to the bank at Maybanks's expense. In our haste to emulate the aggressive banking acquisitions of Temasek, our banks were jumping into all these with their eyes closed. Fyrthermore, they refuse to admit they are mere novices in international banking and financial matters and thinks that just because we share a similar langauge and culture with Indonesia, we will succeed where Singapore has faile. Well, we kena conned nice and proper. Of course along the way, make some pocket money to be shared with the politicians.

And another thing. Noticed that in Bolehland, all those who screwed up big time gets promoted or their tenure are extended? This culture is not lost on all those aspiring for top positions of power. Go for the mega, sexy projects that must be counted in the billions, mess it up and wait to be promoted.
written by jaz, September 10, 2009 15:37:04
With all that money they stashed from corruptions and robbing the rakyat blind. Might as well buy out the Swiss banks to hide your dough.